Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Wolverine (Gulo gulo)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Assessment Summary

 

Assessment Summary – May 2003

Common name:

Wolverine (Eastern Population)

Scientific name:
Gulo gulo

Status:
Endangered

Reason for designation:
There have been no verified reports of this species in Quebec or Labrador for about 25 years, but there are unconfirmed reports almost every year. Any remaining population would be extremely small and therefore at high risk of extinction from stochastic events such as incidental harvest. The apparent lack of recovery despite the recent high local abundance of caribou suggests that this population may be extirpated.

Occurrence:
Quebec, Newfoundland-Labrador

Status history:
Canadian range considered as one population in April 1982 and designated Special Concern. Split into two populations in April 1989 (Western population and Eastern population). Eastern population was designated Endangered in April 1989 and confirmed in May 2003. Last assessment was based on an update status report.

 

Assessment Summary – May 2003

Common name:

Wolverine (Western population)

Scientific name:
Gulo gulo

Status:
Special Concern

Reason for designation:
Estimated total population size exceeds 13 000 mature individuals. Declines have been reported in Alberta and parts of British Columbia and Ontario. A distinct subspecies may be extirpated from Vancouver Island. Many pelts used locally are not included in official statistics, and harvest levels may be underreported. There is no evidence, however, of a decline in harvest. There are no data on overall population trends other than those provided by local knowledge and harvest monitoring programs. This species' habitat is increasingly fragmented by industrial activity, especially in the southern part of its range, and increased motorized access will increase harvest pressure and other disturbances. The species has a low reproductive rate and requires vast secure areas to maintain viable populations.

Occurrence:
Yukon Territory, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario

Status history:
Canadian range considered as one population in April 1982 and designated Special Concern. Split into two populations in April 1989 (Western population and Eastern populations). Western population was designated Special Concern in April 1989 and confirmed in May 2003. Last assessment was based on an update status report.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Carcajou (Gulo gulo)

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Sommaire de l’évaluation

 

Sommaire de l’évaluation – Mai 2003

Nom commun :

Carcajou (population de l'Est)

Nom scientifique :
Gulo gulo

Statut :
Espèce en voie de disparition

Justification de la désignation :
Il n'y a aucune observation vérifiée de cette espèce au Québec ou au Labrador depuis environ 25 ans, mais il y a des observations non confirmées presque chaque année. Toute population restante serait extrêmement petite et donc en danger élevé de disparition à cause de phénomènes stochastiques tels que les prises accessoires. L'absence apparente de rétablissement, malgré une grande abondance récente de caribous à l'échelle locale, indique que cette population pourrait avoir disparu du Canada.

Répartition :
Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Historique du statut :
L'espèce a été considérée comme une unité et a été désignée « préoccupante » en avril 1982. Division en deux populations en avril 1989 (population de l'Est et population de l'Ouest). La population de l'Est a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 1989 et en mai 2003. Dernière évaluation fondée sur une mise à jour d'un rapport de situation.

 

Sommaire de l’évaluation – Mai 2003

Nom commun :

Carcajou (population de l'Ouest)

Nom scientifique :
Gulo gulo

Statut :
Espèce préoccupante

Justification de la désignation :
La population totale estimée dépasse les 13 000 individus matures. Des déclins ont été signalés en Alberta et dans certaines régions de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Ontario. Une sous-espèce distincte pourrait avoir disparu de l'île de Vancouver. De nombreuses pelleteries utilisées à l'échelle locale ne sont pas incluses dans les statistiques officielles, et les taux de prises pourraient avoir été sous-déclarés. Cependant, il n'y a aucune preuve d'un déclin des prises. Il n'existe aucune donnée sur les tendances démographiques générales autre que celles fournies par les connaissances locales et les programmes de surveillance des prises. L'habitat de cette espèce est de plus en plus fragmenté par l'activité industrielle, surtout dans la partie sud de son aire de répartition; de plus, l'accès accru par véhicule motorisé augmentera la pression relative aux prises et d'autres perturbations. L'espèce a un taux de reproduction faible et nécessite de vastes aires protégées pour maintenir des populations viables.

Répartition :
Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nunavut, Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba et Ontario

Historique du statut :
L'espèce a été désignée comme une unité et a été désignée « préoccupante » en avril 1982. Division en deux populations en avril 1989 (population de l'Ouest et population de l'Est). La population de l'Ouest a été désignée « préoccupante » en avril 1989 et en mai 2003. Dernière évaluation fondée sur une mise à jour d'un rapport de situation.