Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the wolverine Gulo gulo in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

Biological Factors

Biological factors that limit wolverine populations include the species’ low intrinsic rate of increase and low natural densities which limit population growth rates and the ability to recolonize vacant habitats. Maternal den site availability may also limit successful reproduction. Repopulation may take several decades but is possible where factors favour wolverine survival (Johnson 1990, Vangen et al. 2001). Wolverine population recovery in Manitoba was thought to be due to the cessation of wolf poisoning, which also killed wolverines, the increase in the wolf population following the cessation of poisoning, and a trapping season closing date which offered some protection to females with kits. Habitat factors including an adequate ungulate prey base were also necessary. Recent harvest increases in northeastern Manitoba and northwestern Ontario are attributed to a wolverine population response to increased caribou numbers (Dawson 2000, Berezanski, pers. com., 2002).


Harvest and Predator Control

Wolverine trapping and hunting continue to be a threat in western jurisdictions; however, harvest management, including trapping closures, limited seasons, quotas, limited entry, and registered trapping concessions (Slough et al. 1987), and a reduced interest in trapping, have reduced these threats. High pelt prices and a lucrative market to supply zoos and game farms with live wolverines contributed to trapper effort and the overall wolverine harvest in the Yukon. There may be a certain level of financial return per unit effort below which wolverines are not targeted by trappers, as in areas where they are not common (Figure 3). There has been no legal harvest of wolverines in Labrador since 1950, in Quebec since 1981 (except in the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement territories) (Fortin et al. 2002) and in Ontario since 2001 (Dawson, pers. com., 2002).

There are winter trapping seasons for wolverines in the four western provinces and 3 territories. These seasons generally begin in November and terminate in January or February, extending to March or April in the territories. Wolverine harvest is prohibited in southern regions of the western provinces where the species is rare or does not occur. There are also fall (August to October) and/or winter hunting seasons in British Columbia and the territories. Bag limits for hunters are generally 1 wolverine, but may be more for residents of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. There are no quotas for trappers except in Alberta, where the limit is one wolverine.

There is mandatory reporting of wolverines harvested in the Yukon, British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan, either through pelt sealing or provincial fur royalties. Manitoba rescinded pelt sealing in 2001, although all pelts sold or exported must be reported. Wolverine furs exported from the Northwest Territories and Nunavut require permits, however, since a high proportion of wolverines are not exported to fur auctions (Table 1; Nunavut), the harvest has not been accurately documented. Carcass collection programs and harvest studies are being used to monitor harvest in those jurisdictions.

Gardner et al. (1993) estimated that the wolverine population in southcentral Alaska could sustain an annual harvest of 7-8% of the fall population. In a nearby study area the finite rate of population increase (λ) was 1.19, following an annual harvest rate of about 9% (Golden 2001). Golden noted that the annual harvest rate of 9% did not affect wolverine density. There was likely an immigration component from adjacent refugia, but this was not measured. The population was considered healthy and stable, with annual harvests in some areas being low to moderate with respect to annual sustainable yields. Golden (pers. com., 2002), recalculated his statistics using lower birth rates (mean of 0.375 females per adult female per year (F)) giving a λ of 0.86 and an estimated annual sustainable yield of 0.8% of the population. This estimate was based on the relatively small number of litter observations of Magoun (1985) and Copeland (1996). Using larger sample sizes of Pulliainen (1968) Golden arrived at a λ of 0.94 and an estimated annual sustainable yield of 2.5%. This may be more realistic, but it indicates that some local overharvest and exploitation of population refugia may be occurring. In a summary of mortality rates of radio-collared wolverines from 12 studies, J. Krebs (pers. com., 2002) estimated λ at 0.88 in trapped populations and 1.06 in untrapped populations. Again, immigration from untrapped areas is required to sustain wolverines in trapped areas.

Wolf poisoning was curtailed in most of western Canada in the 1970s. Local illegal wolf poisoning was documented in the Yukon in the 1990s and continues in Alberta under special permit. The elimination of poisoning favours wolverine population recovery.

Developments in arctic tundra frequently attract wolverines which may be killed as nuisance animals (Dumond, pers. com., 2002).


Habitat Threats

Habitat loss, habitat alienation and habitat fragmentation continue to threaten wolverine populations. Losses result from conversion of natural habitats for human land uses including urban and suburban developments, agriculture, forest plantations, and hydroelectric reservoirs. Clearcut logging does not result in permanent or even necessarily negative changes to habitats. Logging which mimics natural processes, such as fire, windthrow and insect outbreaks, and creates a landscape matrix of uneven aged forest stands, may actually diversify the prey base and maintain or improve wolverine habitat.

Habitat alienation may result from human activities, such as backcountry recreation, which impact wolverine behaviour patterns such as denning, travel and foraging.

Habitats are fragmented by major transportation arteries which impede wolverine movements and ultimately, gene flow and population stability.

Indirect effects on the prey base will also impact wolverine populations. Such effects include overhunting of ungulates, and ungulate population declines due to fragmentation of their habitats. Of particular concern are the declining mountain caribou populations of Alberta and British Columbia. The decline of these populations is linked to forestry practices and human disturbance.

The existence of parks which may act as refugia from trapping and resource developments are not the insurance to continued existence as described by both Kelsall (1981) and Dauphiné (1989). Parks in developed regions run the risk of holding isolated populations. Such fragmentation can lead to destabilization of populations and local extirpations. Wolverine populations within the parks are not buffered from trapping activities around their peripheries. Wolverines that reside partly in refugia are susceptible to harvest mortality. Treaty/Aboriginal and licensed wolverine trapping is permitted in many national parks and some provincial parks in British Columbia and Manitoba. Another problem with the quality of our current parks system to act as wolverine population refugia lies with the allowance of activities within parks including traversing roads (such as the Trans-Canada Highway), access roads, and activities such as snowmobiling and skiing. Major roads may act as barriers to movements (Austin 1998) and recreational activities during the late winter denning period may result in disturbance to females and their litters leading to relocation or abandonment (Magoun and Copeland 1998, Heinemeyer et al. 2001).

Hash (1987) concluded that “The future of the wolverine appears bright. The species has survived the pioneer periods of unregulated trapping, hunting, and predator control, accelerated and irresponsible natural resource development, and widespread habitat degradation”. He praised the national parks systems, and our greater environmental awareness and responsibility towards endangered species. This is an optimistic scenario which will require vigilance.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le carcajou (Gulo gulo) au Canada - Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Facteurs biologiques

Parmi les facteurs biologiques qui restreignent les populations de carcajous, citons le faible taux d’accroissement propre à l’espèce et les faibles densités naturelles. Ces facteurs limitent non seulement les taux de croissance démographique mais aussi l’aptitude à recoloniser des habitats vacants. La disponibilité de tanières propices à la mise bas peut aussi hypothéquer la reproduction. Une repopulation peut prendre plusieurs décennies, mais elle est possible s’il existe des facteurs favorables à la survie des carcajous (Johnson, 1990; Vangen et al., 2001). On a attribué le redressement de la population au Manitoba à la suspension du programme d’empoisonnement des loups, qui faisait des carcajous des victimes, à l’accroissement subséquent de l’effectif des loups et à la clôture de la saison de piégeage à une date permettant d’épargner les femelles avec des petits. Des facteurs relatifs à l’habitat, y compris un nombre adéquat de proies, en l’occurrence des ongulés, y ont également contribué. Quant aux récentes augmentations du nombre de prises dans le Nord-Est du Manitoba et le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario, elles résulteraient d’une réaction des populations de carcajous au nombre accru de caribous (Dawson 2000; Berezanski, comm. pers., 2002).


Lutte contre les prédateurs et récoltes

La chasse et le piégeage demeurent une menace pour l’espèce dans les régions de l’Ouest. Une menace que la gestion des récoltes a cependant réduite en fournissant des moyens, comme les interdictions de piéger, la durée limitée des saisons, les quotas, l’accès limité et l’enregistrement des concessions de piégeage (Slough et al., 1987), sans oublier que l’intérêt pour cette activité s'amoindrit. Les prix élevés des pelleteries et un marché lucratif qui alimentait les jardins zoologiques et les fermes à gibier en carcajous vivants ont stimulé l’effort de piégeage et contribué à l’ensemble des récoltes au Yukon. Il se peut qu’une disparité entre le profit et l’effort investi pousse les trappeurs à délaisser le piégeage, surtout dans les zones peu peuplées (figure 3). La récolte permise de carcajous ne s’exerce plus au Labrador depuis 1950, au Québec depuis 1981 (excepté à la baie James et dans les territoires du Nord québécois qui ont fait l’objet d’un accord) (Fortin et al., 2002) et en Ontario depuis 2001 (Dawson, comm. pers., 2002).

Les quatre provinces et les trois territoires de l’Ouest établissent des saisons de piégeage du carcajou au cours de l’hiver. Celles-ci débutent habituellement en novembre et se terminent en janvier ou en février, et s’étendent jusqu’en mars ou en avril dans les trois territoires. La capture est toutefois interdite dans les régions du Sud des provinces de l’Ouest où l’espèce est rare ou inexistante. Les trois territoires et la Colombie-Britannique permettent également la chasse d’automne (août-octobre) ou d’hiver, ou les deux. La limite de prises est en général d’un carcajou, excepté pour les habitants des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut. Les trappeurs ne sont pas soumis à un quota, sauf en Alberta, où il est d’un individu.

Au Yukon, en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, on doit obligatoirement déclarer les récoltes de carcajou, soit en scellant les pelleteries ou en payant des redevances aux autorités provinciales ou territoriales pour les fourrures. Le Manitoba a levé l’obligation de sceller les pelleteries en 2001, mais les peaux qui y sont recueillies doivent tout de même être déclarées. Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, on doit détenir un permis pour exporter les fourrures de carcajou; cependant, puisqu’un grand nombre d’entre elles ne sont pas exportées pour être vendues à l’encan (tableau 1 : Nunavut), les données recueillies ne sont pas très précises. Des programmes de collecte de carcasses et des études sur les prises ont été mis en place dans ces provinces et territoires pour surveiller la récolte.

Gardner et al. (1993) ont estimé que le nombre de carcajous du Centre-Sud de l’Alaska permettait de récolter annuellement entre 7 et 8 p. 100 de la population de l’automne. Dans un site d’étude à proximité, le taux maximal de croissance démographique (λ) était de 1,19, suivant un taux de récolte annuelle d’environ 9 p. 100 (Golden, 2001). Golden a précisé que ce dernier taux n’avait pas influé sur la densité de carcajous. L’immigration de carcajous provenant de refuges voisins, bien qu’elle ait vraisemblablement eu lieu, n’a pas été mesurée. En ce qui concerne les taux de rendement soutenus annuels, la population était considérée comme en bonne santé et stable, avec des récoltes annuelles allant de faibles à modérées dans certaines régions. Golden (comm. pers., 2002) a recompilé ses statistiques en se servant de taux de natalité plus bas (c’est-à-dire 0,375 femelle par femelle adulte par année (F)), ce qui ramenait la valeur de λ à 0,86 et le taux de rendement soutenu annuel à 0,8 p. 100 de la population. Cette estimation s’appuie sur le nombre relativement peu élevé de portées observées par Magoun (1985) et Copeland (1996). En utilisant les échantillons de plus grande taille de Pulliainen (1968), Golden a obtenu un λ de 0,94 et un taux de rendement soutenu annuel de 2,5 p. 100. Ces données sont probablement plus réalistes, mais elles montrent qu’il pourrait y avoir récolte excessive et exploitation des refuges de population localement. Dans un résumé analytique de douze études sur les taux de mortalité de carcajous portant un collier émetteur, J. Krebs (comm. pers, 2002) a évalué le λ à 0,88 dans les populations de carcajous soumises au piégeage et à 1,06 dans les autres populations. Là encore, l’immigration d’individus à partir de ces dernières est nécessaire pour assurer le maintien des populations soumises au piégeage.

Dans les années 1970, on a mis un frein à l’empoisonnement de loups dans la majeure partie de l’Ouest du Canada. On a recensé des actes d’empoisonnement illégal de loups par endroits au Yukon dans les années 1990, et il est encore permis de lutter contre les loups de cette façon en Alberta, moyennant un permis spécial. Le rétablissement de la population de carcajous sera favorisé par l’arrêt des empoisonnements.

La mise en valeur des ressources naturelles dans la toundra arctique attire fréquemment les carcajous, qui peuvent être tués parce qu’ils sont considérés comme nuisibles (Dumond, comm. pers., 2002).


Menaces pour les habitats

La disparition, l’aliénation et la fragmentation de l’habitat des carcajous est une menace continue pour le carcajou. Les pertes d’habitat sont causées par la conversion d’habitats naturels en vue de leur usage par les humains, comme le développement urbain et suburbain, l’agriculture, les plantations forestières et les réservoirs hydroélectriques. Les coupes à blanc n’entraînent pas nécessairement de changements permanents ou même négatifs pour les habitats. L’exploitation forestière, qui produit des effets comparables à ceux de phénomènes naturels, tels le feu, le déracinement d’arbres par le vent et les infestations d’insectes, et crée une mosaïque de peuplements forestiers inéquiens, peut en fait diversifier les proies et aider à maintenir ou à améliorer l’habitat du carcajou.

L’aliénation de l’habitat peut être causée par l’activité humaine, par exemple les loisirs dans l’arrière-pays, qui a des répercussions sur différents aspects du comportement des carcajous comme la mise bas, les déplacements et la recherche de nourriture.

Les habitats sont fragmentés par les voies de communication principales, qui entravent les déplacements du carcajou et, en bout de ligne, le flux génique et la stabilité de la population.

Les répercussions sur les proies, comme le fait que les ongulés soient chassés à outrance et que leur nombre diminue à cause de la fragmentation des habitats, vont aussi toucher indirectement les populations de carcajous. La baisse du nombre de caribous de montagne en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique, causée par les pratiques forestières et la présence humaine, est particulièrement préoccupante.

La présence de parcs qui peuvent servir de refuges aux carcajous contre le piégeage et les effets des activités d’exploitation des ressources naturelles ne garantit pas leur survie, comme l’ont décrit Kelsall (1981) et Dauphiné (1989). Les parcs des régions développées courent le risquent d’isoler des populations. Ce genre de fragmentation peut mener à une déstabilisation des effectifs et à l’extinction à certains endroits. Les carcajous qui vivent à cet endroit ne sont pas protégés totalement des activités de piégeage pratiquées en périphérie. Ceux qui passent une partie du temps dans les refuges sont tout de même susceptibles de se faire capturer et tuer. Le piégeage de carcajous visé par des traités ou pratiqué par des Autochtones ou au titre de permis est encore autorisé dans beaucoup de parcs nationaux et dans quelques parcs provinciaux de Colombie-Britannique et du Manitoba. De plus, le fait que les autorités des parcs permettent de pratiquer certains loisirs et activités, comme faire du ski ou de la motoneige et construire des routes, telles la transcanadienne et des routes d’accès, empêche les parcs de servir de refuges. Les routes principales peuvent restreindre les déplacements des carcajous (Austin, 1998), et les activités pratiquées pendant la période de mise bas de la fin de l’hiver peuvent déranger les femelles et leurs petits et causer leur fuite ou inciter les mères à abandonner leur portée (Magoun et Copeland, 1998; Heinemeyer et al., 2001).

Hash (1987) conclut que l’avenir du carcajou semble prometteur, en mentionnant que l'espèce a survécu à la période pionnière, caractérisée par le piégeage, la chasse et la lutte contre les prédateurs non réglementés, l'exploitation accélérée et irresponsable des ressources naturelles et la dégradation généralisée de l'habitat. Il fait l’éloge des réseaux de parcs nationaux, de notre conscience environnementale plus aiguisée devant les espèces en péril et de notre plus grande responsabilité envers celles-ci. Il s’agit d’un scénario optimiste qui exigera beaucoup de vigilance.