Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the wolverine Gulo gulo in Canada

Biology

General

This document is not intended to provide a comprehensive literature review of wolverine biology, since many published reviews exist (Wilson 1982, Hash 1987, Hatler 1989, Banci 1994, Petersen 1997, Biodiversity Legal Foundation 2000, Dawson 2000, Fortin et al. 2002). Rather, recent literature and personal communications, which provide essential information for a scientific assessment of the current status of wolverines in Canada, are assigned priority. Despite the apparent wealth of literature on wolverines, they remain one of the least studied North American medium to large-sized carnivores.

Habitat and population changes since the previous COSEWIC assessment are important criteria for determining the current status. Aspects of the species biology which contribute to the wolverine’s resiliency to harvest, sensitivity to habitat change and ability to re-colonize unsaturated or vacant habitats are also vital for assessing population vulnerability.


Reproduction

The reproductive rate and hence the population resiliency of wolverines is relatively low. Most wolverines become sexually mature at two years of age (Rausch and Pearson 1972, Banci and Harestad 1988). The proportion of adult female carcasses that were pregnant ranged from 92% (Rausch and Pearson 1972) to 74% (Banci and Harestad 1988). The pregnancy rate declined from 92% for 2 year olds to 37% for combined 6 year old and older age classes. Delayed implantation of the blastocyst permits breeding in summer when females tend to be more sedentary. The average number of fetuses ranged from 2.8 to 3.4 in a Yukon study (Banci and Harestad 1988). The latter study was based on carcasses, therefore the actual litter size, following the re-absorption of fetuses and stillbirths, was lower. The size of litters is greatest for females over the age of 6 (Banci 1994), but the pregnancy rate for those older females is lower. Reproductive rates observed in Alaska and Idaho were 0.69 and 0.89 kits per female per year respectively (Magoun 1985, Copeland 1996), since females gave birth 2 or more years apart. The rate of mortality among kits and the most successful age classes of females at raising kits to weaning are unknown factors.

The fact that female reproductive rates are highest in early adult years has implications for trapline management using untrapped areas as population refugia. The maintenance of refugia from trapping will ensure that older females are conserved, since trapping removes resident animals and vacant habitats are generally colonized by dispersing juveniles.

There is some debate over whether wolverine populations fluctuate with snowshoe hare (Lepus americanus) cycles, or if increased trappability leads to the perception of wolverine fluctuations (Hatler 1989). Hares are an important component of the wolverines’ diet (Banci 1987). Banci (1987) noted an increase in the harvest of adult males in March 1983 following the snowshoe hare population crash in 1982-83.


Survival

Wolverines are preyed on by bears, wolves, cougars (Puma concolor), golden eagles and other wolverines. These other predators may be encountered with greater frequency at carrion. In a summary of mortality rates of radio-collared wolverines from 12 studies, J. Krebs (pers. com., 2002) found that human caused mortality from trapping and road/rail kill accounted for 46% of deaths. Natural sources of mortality included predation by wolves, cougars and conspecifics (30% of non-human causes), and starvation (49% of non-human causes). Survival was < 0.75 among all age/sex classes in trapped areas, and > 0.84 in areas where trapping did not occur. Intrinsic rates of increase (λ) were estimated at 0.88 in trapped populations and 1.06 in untrapped populations. Survival was highest among adult females (0.88 in untrapped areas, 0.73 in trapped areas) and lowest among subadult males (0.45 in trapped areas) (Krebs, pers. com., 2002). This evidence suggests that trapped populations would decline without immigration from refugia from trapping.


Physiology

Wolverine kits reach adult body size by 7 months of age (Magoun 1985). Rapid growth of the energy-producing tissues (liver, heart, brain, and kidneys) requires a high metabolic rate early in life, which in turn places high energetic demands on the mother (Wilson 1982). The high metabolic rate should improve kits ability to thermoregulate during long foraging trips by the mother.  Kits are weaned at 9-10 weeks (Banci 1994). Both mother and kits may require more carbohydrates near the time of weaning when energy requirements peak (Wilson 1982).


Movements/Dispersal

Wolverines typically occupy home ranges that vary from about 50-400 km2 for females and 230-1580 km2 for males (Hornocker and Hash 1981, Gardner 1985, Magoun 1985, Whitman et al. 1986, Banci 1987, Copeland 1996). Lofroth (2001) documented an average home range of 3500 km2 for dispersing subadult males. There may be home range overlap between members of the same and opposite sexes (Krebs and Lewis 2000, Lofroth, pers. com., 2002), however this is poorly understood. Intersexual overlap is considered to be more common. A proportion of the population is transient at any given time. Transients are typically, but not always, yearlings. Yearling females tend to establish home ranges nearer their natal ranges than yearling males do, although both sexes are capable of long distance movements (Magoun 1985, Gardner et al. 1986, Mulders 2000). Males can disperse over 200 km (Copeland 1996; n=3), 378 km (Gardner et al. 1986), and 73 to 326 km (Mulders 2000; n=3). Magoun (1985) reported a 300 km movement by a female of unknown age, and Mulders (2000) reported movements by 5 females between 69 and 225 km. When estimating population densities, home range overlap and the presence of transients must be considered. Simple home range extrapolation (e.g., Banci 1994) results in an underestimation of population size.

Vangen et al. (2001) attributed sex-biased dispersal patterns to resource competition between females and competition for mates by males. Wolverines are able to traverse rugged terrain, including tundra and glaciers that would act as barriers to many species of mammals. Dispersal characteristics likely gave wolverines the capacity to recolonize gaps in their distribution in Scandinavia (Vangen et al. 2001). However, long distance movements place individuals at greater risk of mortality due to predation, trapping, accident or starvation (Copeland 1996).

The large home range size of wolverines increases its susceptibility to trapping. Refugia from trapping must necessarily be large enough to protect entire ranges of wolverines. The propensity of juveniles to disperse long distances is a key factor in gene flow.


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Wolverines are scavengers and predators, opportunistically feeding on abundant or readily procurable food. Fresh prey are eaten more during summer and carrion, including cached items, is used more in winter (Magoun 1987). Prey species may include rodents, snowshoe hares, birds, and young ungulates. The most common sources of carrion are caribou, moose (Alces alces), mountain sheep (Ovis dalli and O. canadensis), mountain goats (Oreamnos americanus), deer (Odocoileus hemionus and O. virginianus), and elk (Cervus elaphus) (Gardner 1985, Banci 1987, Magoun 1987, Mulders 2000, Lofroth 2001). Fish and marine mammals are also scavenged. Wolverines will also eat plant material such as berries. Studies in northern and southeastern British Columbia have shown that caribou and marmots (Marmota spp.) are important foods for denning females (Lofroth, pers. com., 2002). Marmots and other sciurids are important to adult females throughout the summer.

Large carnivores such as grizzly bears, wolves and cougars require large tracts of wilderness ecosystems which mirror the wolverine’s requirements but, more importantly, they generate carrion for wolverines. These carnivores compete with wolverines at kill sites, and are a potential source of wolverine mortality.

The highest densities of wolverines occur in the mountainous areas of the Yukon Territory, Northwest Territories, British Columbia and Alberta, where habitats, prey species, and ungulates are most diverse and abundant (Figure 3).


Behaviour/Adaptability

Wolverines prefer pristine areas; however, home ranges frequently overlap active traplines, cross-country ski trails, busy roads such as logging roads (E. Lofroth, per. com. 2002) and the edges of communities. However, large highways and other transportation corridors may act as barriers to movements and dispersal, and are significant sources of mortality. Austin (1998) found that wolverines avoided areas within 100 m of the Trans Canada Highway and preferred areas more than 1100 m away. They selected narrow crossings (<100 m). Lofroth (2001) hypothesized that wolverines prefer uncut forest stands within a matrix of cut and uncut stands, particularly where forest roads are active, a behaviour that increases trap vulnerability.

Wolverines are curious, and will investigate campsites, food caches and even cabins when humans are not present. Their propensity to “rob” food caches and cabins is a contributing factor in their mythology. Wolverines will opportunistically use snowmobile trails for travel and scavenging trapped animals and hunter kills. Wolverines are thought to be highly secretive; however, they are occasionally observed at a distance by people hiking or skiing above treeline and on glaciers, and hiking and rafting in the Arctic. In the Arctic, wolverines are frequently hunted from snowmobiles.

Denning females are sensitive to disturbance caused by researchers (Magoun and Copeland 1998), therefore snowmobiling and back-country skiing may similarly impact reproductive success (Heinemeyer et al. 2001, Lofroth, pers. com., 2002). Den relocation or litter abandonment may result.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Carcajou (Gulo gulo)

Biologie

Généralités

Le présent rapport n’a pas pour but de fournir une analyse documentaire exhaustive de la biologie du carcajou puisque l’on peut se procurer de nombreux autres documents sur le sujet (Wilson, 1982; Hash, 1987; Hatler, 1989; Banci, 1994; Petersen, 1997; Biodiversity Legal Foundation, 2000; Dawson, 2000; Fortin et al., 2002). Plus exactement, on accorde la priorité à la documentation récente et aux communications personnelles, qui fournissent des renseignements essentiels en vue d’établir scientifiquement la situation actuelle du carcajou au Canada. Malgré l’apparente abondance de documentation sur le carcajou, celui‑ci reste cependant l’un des carnivores de l’Amérique du Nord les moins étudiés parmi les carnivores de taille moyenne et de grande taille.

Les changements concernant l’habitat et la population du carcajou depuis le dernier rapport du COSEPAC sont d’importants critères servant à établir la situation actuelle. Certains aspects de la biologie de l’espèce qui concourent à la résilience du carcajou aux captures, à sa sensibilité aux changements de son habitat et à sa capacité à repeupler un habitat inoccupé ou peu occupé sont autant de facteurs primordiaux à prendre en compte pour évaluer la vulnérabilité de sa population.


Reproduction

Le taux de reproduction du carcajou est relativement bas et, par conséquent, la résilience de sa population aussi. La plupart des individus atteignent la maturité sexuelle à l’âge de deux ans (Rausch et Pearson, 1972; Banci et Harestad, 1988). La proportion de cadavres examinés de femelles adultes qui étaient gravides variait de 92 p. 100 (Rausch et Pearson, 1972) à 74 p. 100 (Banci et Harestad, 1988). Le taux de gestation baissait de 92 p. 100 chez les sujets de deux ans à 37 p. 100 chez les sujets de six ans ou plus. L’implantation différée du blastocyste fait en sorte que la procréation peut avoir lieu en été, lorsque les femelles ont tendance à être plus sédentaires. Dans une étude réalisée au Yukon, le nombre moyen de fœtus variait de 2,8 à 3,4 (Banci et Harestad, 1988). La seconde étude était fondée sur les cadavres; c’est pourquoi, après les cas de réabsorption de fœtus et de mort périnatale, le nombre réel de petits par portée était plus bas. Ce sont les femelles de plus de six ans qui ont les portées les plus importantes (Banci, 1994), mais leur taux de gestation est plus faible. Les taux de reproduction observés en Alaska et en Idaho étaient respectivement de 0,69 et de 0,89 petit par femelle par an (Magoun, 1985; Copeland, 1996) étant donné qu’elles ne mettaient bas que tous les deux ans, voire moins fréquemment. Le taux de mortalité chez les petits ainsi que la classe d’âge des femelles qui ont le plus de chance d’élever leurs petits jusqu’au sevrage restent inconnus.

La gestion des lignes de piégeage doit tenir compte du fait que le taux de reproduction des femelles est à son point culminant dans les premières années de l’âge adulte. Il faut donc réserver comme refuges des régions où le piégeage serait interdit. Le maintien de ce type de refuges assurera la protection des femelles plus âgées puisque le piégeage élimine les animaux résidents et que les habitats inoccupés sont généralement colonisés par les jeunes qui se dispersent.

La fluctuation de la population de carcajous est sujette à controverse : est‑elle fonction des cycles du lièvre d’Amérique (Lepus americanus) ou s’agit‑il simplement d’une perception en raison d’une vulnérabilité accrue du carcajou au piégeage (Hatler, 1989)? Les lièvres constituent un élément important du régime alimentaire du carcajou (Banci, 1987). Banci (1987) a remarqué une augmentation du nombre de captures de carcajous mâles en mars 1983, après la baisse importante du nombre de lièvres d’Amérique survenue en 1982‑1983.


Survie

Le carcajou est la proie des ours, des loups et des couguars (Puma concolor), des Aigles royaux et des autres carcajous; dans ces deux derniers cas. il peut être plus fréquemment confronté aux prédateurs à proximité des charognes. Dans un rapport sommaire sur les taux de mortalité de carcajous équipés de collier émetteur mesurés dans 12 études différentes, J. Krebs (comm. pers., 2002) a constaté que 46 p. 100 de la mortalité était imputable à l’homme (pièges et routes ou chemins de fer). Les facteurs naturels de mortalité incluaient la prédation par les loups, les couguars et d’autres carcajous (30 p. 100 des causes non imputables à l’homme) et la famine (49 p. 100 des causes non imputables à l’homme). Le taux de survie était inférieur à 0,75 dans les régions soumises au piégeage (quels que soient la tranche d’âge ou le sexe) et supérieur à 0,84 dans les régions sans pièges. Le taux intrinsèque d’accroissement (λ) était estimé à 0,88 dans les régions où le piégeage est pratiqué et à 1,06 dans les autres régions. Le taux de survie était le plus élevé chez les femelles adultes (0,88 dans les régions non soumises au piégeage et 0,73 dans les autres régions) et le plus bas chez les jeunes adultes mâles (0,45 dans les régions où le piégeage est pratiqué) (Krebs, comm. pers., 2002). Cela porte à croire que, sans immigration à partir des régions de refuge, les populations diminueraient dans les régions où l’on pratique le piégeage.


Physiologie

Le petit du carcajou atteint la taille adulte à sept mois (Magoun, 1985). La croissance rapide des tissus producteurs d’énergie (cerveau, cœur, foie et reins) nécessite un taux métabolique élevé dès le plus jeune âge, ce qui oblige la mère à répondre à son tour à des exigences énergétiques élevées (Wilson, 1982). Le taux métabolique élevé des petits devrait améliorer leur capacité de thermorégulation pendant les longues absences de la mère partie en quête de nourriture. Les petits sont sevrés après 9 à 10 semaines (Banci, 1994). La mère et ses petits peuvent avoir besoin de plus d’hydrates de carbone près du moment du sevrage, lorsque les besoins en énergie atteignent un sommet (Wilson, 1982).


Déplacements et dispersion

Les carcajous occupent des domaines vitaux qui varient à peu près de 50 à 400 km2 pour les femelles et de 230 à 1 580 km2 pour les mâles (Hornocker et Hash, 1981; Gardner, 1985; Magoun, 1985; Whitman et al., 1986; Banci, 1987; Copeland, 1996). Lofroth (2001) a attesté un domaine vital de 3 500 km2 en moyenne pour les jeunes mâles adultes qui se dispersent. Il peut y avoir chevauchement du domaine vital entre individus du même sexe ou de sexes opposés (Krebs et Lewis, 2000; Lofroth, comm. pers., 2002), cependant ce phénomène est mal compris. On pense que le chevauchement intersexuel est plus commun. Une partie de la population est, à tout moment, de passage. D’habitude, mais pas toujours, les individus qui ne font que passer sont des jeunes de l’année. Les jeunes femelles de l’année ont tendance à établir leur domaine vital plus près de leur lieu d’origine que les jeunes mâles, bien que les représentants des deux sexes soient en mesure de se déplacer sur de longues distances (Magoun, 1985; Gardner et al., 1986, Mulders, 2000). Les mâles peuvent se disperser sur plus de 200 km (Copeland, 1996; n = 3), sur 378 km (Gardner et al.,1986) et sur des distances de 73 à 326 km (Mulders, 2000; n = 3). Magoun (1985) a noté un déplacement de 300 km effectué par une femelle d’âge inconnu et Mulders (2000) a constaté des déplacements de cinq femelles sur des distances variant entre 69 et 225 km. Lorsque l’on évalue les densités de population, le chevauchement des domaines vitaux ainsi que la présence de carcajous de passage doivent être pris en compte. Une simple extrapolation (voir par exemple Banci, 1994) du domaine vital entraîne une sous‑estimation de la taille de la population.

Vangen et al. (2001) ont attribué les schémas de dispersion biaisés en fonction du sexe à la compétition pour les ressources entre les femelles et à la compétition pour trouver une partenaire entre les mâles. Le carcajou est capable d’emprunter des terrains accidentés, y compris des zones de toundra et des glaciers, qui constitueraient un obstacle pour de nombreux autres mammifères. Ses caractéristiques de dispersion ont probablement conféré au carcajou la capacité de repeupler des endroits de la Scandinavie qui faisaient défaut à sa répartition (Vangen et al., 2001). Cependant, des déplacements sur de longues distances lui font courir des risques plus élevés de mortalité en raison de la prédation, du piégeage, des accidents et de la famine (Copeland, 1996).

La taille conséquente du domaine vital du carcajou augmente sa vulnérabilité au piégeage. Les refuges doivent être suffisamment grands pour protéger des aires de répartition complètes. La propension des jeunes à se disperser sur de longues distances est un facteur clé du flux génique.


Nutrition et interactions interspécifiques

Le carcajou est un prédateur charognard opportuniste qui se nourrit des restes qu’il peut trouver en abondance ou se procurer aisément. Il mange davantage de chair fraîche l’été et réserve la charogne, ainsi que les aliments qu’il cache, pour l’hiver (Magoun, 1987). Parmi ses proies figurent diverses espèces, dont des rongeurs, des lièvres d’Amérique, des oiseaux et de jeunes ongulés. Le caribou, l’orignal (Alces alces), des mouflons (Ovis dalli et O. canadensis), la chèvre de montagne (Oreamnos americanus), des cerfs (Odocoileus hemionus et O. virginianus) et le wapiti (Cervus elaphus) sont ses principales sources de charogne (Gardner, 1985; Banci, 1987; Magoun, 1987; Mulders, 2000; Lofroth, 2001), mais il ne dédaigne pas celle de poisson ni de mammifère marin. Il se nourrit également de matières végétales, comme des baies. Des études menées dans le Nord et le Sud-Est de la Colombie-Britannique ont montré que le caribou et la marmotte (les Marmota) sont des proies recherchées par la femelle en tanière (Lofroth, comm. pers., 2002). Pendant l’été, les marmottes et d’autres animaux de la famille des Sciuridés sont essentiels aux femelles adultes.

Des carnivores de grande taille, comme le grizzli, le loup et le couguar, occupent de vastes étendues sauvages qui reflètent les besoins du carcajou. Quand celui-ci dispute les prises à ces chasseurs, premiers fournisseurs de charogne, il y trouve parfois la mort.

C’est dans les régions montagneuses du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord‑Ouest, ainsi que celles de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta, caractérisées tant par la grande diversité que l’abondance des habitats, des espèces de proies et des ongulés, que l’on relève les plus fortes densités de carcajous (figure 3).


Comportement et adaptabilité

Bien que le carcajou préfère les zones sauvages, son domaine vital empiète souvent sur des lignes de piégeage actives, des pistes de ski de fond, des routes achalandées, comme celles servant à l’exploitation forestière (E. Lofroth, comm. pers., 2002), et les limites de collectivités. Les grandes autoroutes et d’autres voies de transport, qui font parfois obstacle aux déplacements et à la dispersion des individus, sont la cause de nombreux accidents mortels. Austin (1998) a découvert que le carcajou évite de s’approcher à moins de 100 mètres de la route transcanadienne, préférant s’en éloigner de plus de 1 100 mètres. Il opte pour des lieux de traverse étroits (<100 m). Lofroth (2001) a avancé qu’il préfère les peuplements forestiers inexploités à l’intérieur d’une matrice de peuplements exploités et sauvages, en particulier lorsque les chemins forestiers sont achalandés, comportement qui accroît sa vulnérabilité au piégeage.

La curiosité du carcajou le pousse à explorer des terrains de camping, des caches de nourriture et même des chalets inoccupés. Cette propension à « piller » des caches de nourriture et des chalets ne contribue pas à redorer son image. Cet animal met à profit des pistes de motoneige pour se déplacer et dévorer les cadavres d’animaux piégés ainsi que les prises des chasseurs. C’est un animal qui semble très réservé, mais des randonneurs et des skieurs qui se trouvaient au-delà de la limite des arbres ou sur des glaciers, de même que des randonneurs et des personnes pratiquant le rafting dans l’Arctique ont pu l’observer à distance. Dans cette région, le carcajou est souvent la cible de chasseurs se déplaçant à motoneige.

Les activités de recherche menées sur le terrain dérangent la femelle en tanière (Magoun et Copeland, 1998). De même, les motoneigistes et les skieurs qui sillonnent l’arrière-pays sont susceptibles de compromettre la reproduction du carcajou (Heinemeyer et al., 2001; Lofroth, comm. pers., 2002). En effet, ces perturbations peuvent pousser la femelle à changer de tanière ou à abandonner sa portée.