Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

There are two limiting factors to be considered with respect to Banded Killifish populations in Newfoundland. These are forestry activity (or any other potential anthropogenic disturbance) and the potential impacts of forestry on freshwater watersheds inhabited by this species, and obstacles, such as steep river gradients and physical barriers, preventing inland migration and access to additional suitable habitat.

While little in the way of clear cutting is occurring on the west coast in the area around Banded Killifish populations (H. Smith, pers. comm.), much of the area surrounding several lakes in the Indian Bay watershed, particularly around Fourth Pond, directly connected to Third Pond, one of the lakes containing Banded Killifish, has been or is planned to be clear cut over the next 5 years (M. Wells, pers. comm.). Wells (2002) indicated statistically significant sediment accumulation increase for a 20 m buffer with selective harvesting within the Indian Bay watershed along a headwater stream (p=0.0172 for sediment > 1mm in diameter, 4-fold increase, p=0.0001 for sediment < 1mm in diameter, 5-fold). The effects of such increased suspended sediments include reductions in invertebrate abundances, decreased feeding success for sight feeding species, and dislocation and mortality of early life stages (Miller 1981). Sediments can also abrade and suffocate periphyton and macrophytes thus decreasing the primary production (Waters 1995). Desgagne and Lalancette (1984) indicated that Banded Killifish feed based on visual perception and as Richardson (1939) stated Banded Killifish make use of macrophytes in their reproductive cycle. Therefore these developments may have a severe impact on Banded Killifish populations in Indian Bay should this phenomenon occur throughout the watershed.

Despite the broadened distribution since the previous status report, the newest records are coastal in nature, likely confirming that migration inland is restricted by steep river gradients and impassable rapids or falls. This fact will likely mean that future discoveries will be coastal in nature and that further inland discoveries will be highly unlikely.

Other suggested limiting factors such as low water temperatures and the availability of suitable habitat (Gibson et al. 1984; Houston 1990) are probably not limiting to Banded Killifish in Newfoundland. Shallow regions in all population locales surveyed reached upper temperature limits of at least 23°C in July and August meaning that spawning should have been easily accomplished in these areas. However, in areas where Banded Killifish were restricted in distribution to one or two lakes, abundant suitable habitat in other lakes linked by easily passable brooks and streams showed no evidence of Banded Killifish presence. This trend is evident in several of the watersheds where populations occur and indicates a more detailed study of potential habitat parameters is required.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatif et menaces

Deux facteurs limitatifs sont à considérer pour les populations de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve : d’une part les activités forestières (ou toute autre perturbation anthropique potentielle) et leurs effets potentiels sur les bassins hydrographiques habités par l’espèce; d’autre part les obstacles, par exemple les fortes pentes de certains cours d’eau et les barrières physiques, qui empêchent la migration vers les eaux intérieures et l’accès à d’autres habitats propices.

Bien que, sur la côte ouest, on pratique peu la coupe à blanc dans les régions abritant les populations de fondules barrés (H. Smith, comm. pers.), la majeure partie des zones qui entourent plusieurs lacs du bassin Indian Bay, particulièrement celle autour du Fourth Pond (qui est directement lié au Third Pond, l’un des lacs abritant des fondules barrés), a été coupée à blanc ou devrait l’être au cours des cinq prochaines années (M. Wells, comm. pers.). Wells (2002) a signalé une augmentation statistiquement significative de l’accumulation des sédiments dans une zone tampon de 20 m faisant l’objet d’une coupe sélective au sein du bassin Indian Bay le long d’un cours d’eau de tête de bassin (p = 0,0172 pour les sédiments de > 1 mm de diamètre, x 4; p = 0,0001 pour les sédiments < 1 mm de diamètre, x 5). Les effets d’une telle augmentation des sédiments en suspension sont notamment : diminution de l’abondance des invertébrés; baisse du succès d’alimentation chez les espèces chassant à vue; perturbation et mortalité des premiers stades de vie (Miller, 1981). Les sédiments peuvent aussi abraser et étouffer le périphyton et les macrophytes, réduisant ainsi la production primaire (Waters, 1995). Desgagné et Lalancette (1984) signalent que le fondule barré fait appel à ses perceptions visuelles pour se nourrir. Par ailleurs, comme l’a indiqué Richardson (1939), l’espèce se sert des macrophytes pour se reproduire. Par conséquent, l’exploitation forestière peut avoir un effet considérable sur la population de fondules barrés du bassin Indian Bay si elle est pratiquée dans tout le bassin.

En dépit du fait que l’aire de répartition s’est étendue depuis la publication du dernier rapport de situation, les observations les plus récentes ont été réalisées sur les côtes, ce qui confirme probablement que la migration vers les eaux intérieures est freinée par les fortes pentes des cours d’eau, les rapides et les chutes infranchissables. Les futures découvertes auront sans doute lieu sur les côtes, et les observations dans les eaux intérieures seront très peu probables.

D’autres chercheurs jugent que des facteurs tels que les faibles températures de l’eau et la disponibilité de l’habitat (Gibson et al., 1984; Houston, 1990) ne sont probablement pas limitatifs pour le fondule barré sur l’île de Terre-Neuve. Les eaux peu profondes de toutes les niches examinées atteignaient une température maximale d’au moins 23 °C en juillet et en août; la fraye aurait donc pu s’y faire facilement. Toutefois, dans les régions où l’aire de répartition du fondule barré était limitée à un ou à deux lacs, les habitats propices et abondants dans d’autres lacs n’abritaient aucun fondule barré malgré l’existence de ruisseaux ou de rivières facilement praticables. Cette tendance est évidente dans plusieurs des bassins où vivent des populations de l’espèce. Il faut donc mener une étude plus détaillée sur les paramètres potentiels de l’habitat.