Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Summary of Status Report

The Newfoundland populations of Banded Killifish, Fundulus diaphanus, were designated as vulnerable (species of special concern) by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada in 1989 (Houston 1990). This updated report recommends that this species be evaluated based on the following conclusions.

Banded Killifish populations in Newfoundland are very restricted in nature. In spite of 7 known population locales, the area of occurrence of these populations is less than 200 km2. In addition, these populations, with the exception of the Indian Bay watershed population, are clustered in relatively close proximity on the southwestern portion of Newfoundland, maximizing the potential of natural disturbance, urban expansion, and industrial development, on 4 of the 7 recognized Newfoundland locales.

The most likely limiting factor impacting F. diaphanus in Newfoundland is rivers with steep gradients and other obstructions to migration. This geographic feature will restrict this species to the coastal regions where it has been discovered thus far and prevent dispersal throughout the central insular waters of Newfoundland. Therefore, although appropriate habitat is abundant in these regions, much of it is inaccessible to Banded Killifish due to difficult migration routes.

The obvious habitat requirements associated with Banded Killifish throughout North America, which include dense submerged aquatic vegetation, muddy or sandy substrates, and warm water temperatures for spawning, are not limiting factors in Newfoundland. However, even in coastal watersheds that include easily passable linkages between several lakes with much habitat as described previously, Banded Killifish still remain restricted in one “isolated” geographical pocket population and do not appear to spread throughout the entire system. More information is required on the strict parameters surrounding habitat selection and use and the dispersal of Banded Killifish throughout watersheds in Newfoundland and this should be a priority for any future research on this species in Newfoundland.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

Résumé du rapport de situation

Les populations de fondules barrés (Fundulus diaphanus) de l’île de Terre-Neuve ont été désignées comme vulnérables (espèce préoccupante) par le Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada en 1989 (Houston, 1990). Le présent rapport mis à jour recommande que l’espèce soit évaluée d’après les conclusions qui suivent.

Les populations de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve sont très limitées. Bien qu’il y ait sept niches connues, la zone d’occurrence de ces populations mesure moins de 200 km2. En outre, ces populations, sauf celle du bassin Indian Bay, se trouvent à très grande proximité les unes des autres dans la portion sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve, ce qui augmente le potentiel de perturbation par des facteurs naturels, par l’expansion urbaine et par le développement industriel chez 4 des 7 populations.

Les facteurs limitatifs les plus probables pour le fondule barré sur l’île de Terre-Neuve sont les fortes pentes des cours d’eau et les autres obstacles à la migration. Cette caractéristique géographique confine l’espèce aux régions côtières, seuls endroits où on a découvert des individus jusqu’à maintenant, et empêche sa dispersion dans les eaux du centre de l’île. Par conséquent, bien que les habitats propices soient abondants dans ces régions, la plupart d’entre eux sont inaccessibles aux fondules barrés en raison de la difficulté des voies de migration.

Les besoins du fondule barré en matière d’habitat reconnus dans toute l’Amérique du Nord (dense végétation aquatique submergée, substrats vaseux ou sableux et eaux chaudes pour la fraye) ne sont pas des facteurs limitatifs pour les populations de l’île de Terre-Neuve. Toutefois, même dans les bassins hydrographiques côtiers où plusieurs lacs sont reliés entre eux par des cours d’eau facilement praticables et où se trouvent les habitats propices décrits ci-dessus, les poissons restent confinés dans une population géographique « isolée » et ne semblent pas se disperser dans tout le réseau. L’obtention d’autres données sur les paramètres stricts entourant la sélection et l’utilisation de l’habitat et la dispersion au sein des bassins de l’île est nécessaire et devrait constituer une priorité des études à venir sur le fondule barré de Terre-Neuve.