Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Banded Killifish
Fundulus Diaphanus
(Newfoundland Population)

Species Information

The Banded Killifish, Fundulus diaphanus (Lesueur 1817) is a member of the family Fundulidae (Nelson 1994). This species is one of only two members of the Fundulus genus found in Newfoundland, the other being the mummichog, F. heteroclitus. The Banded Killifish is described as having olive colored sides with numerous vertical bands and a contrasting dark coloration across the dorsal region. The vertical bands give rise to the common name “Banded” Killifish.

 

Distribution

The Banded Killifish is found in southeastern North America from Montana east to the Maritimes and south to south Carolina. In Canada, it is widely distributed in the Maritimes (but only from a few sites in Newfoundland) and also in suitable habitat of the St. Lawrence River valley of Quebec, through the Great Lakes watershed of southern Ontario to Lake Superior (Scott and Crossman 1973). A disjunct population is also found in Manitoba (Stewart-Hay 1954).

There are 7 known populations of Banded Killifish on the island of Newfoundland. The majority of these populations are clustered on the south and western coasts of the province. One of the most recent records of this species, from Indian Bay watershed (Backup and Third Ponds) on the northeast coast of the island is further east than previous records for this species. Initially, Fundulus diaphanus was only recognized from the very southwestern corner of Newfoundland in the Stephenville Crossing area. From 1980-1990, in addition to the Indian Bay occurrence, new population records include Freshwater Pond and the Rush Ponds (Winterland) on the Burin Peninsula, Ramea Island off the south coast, Loch Leven, and First Pond in the Grand Bay West area, near Port aux Basques.

The status of this species in Canada was first considered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 1989. Newfoundland populations were considered to be the biogeographically isolated from mainland populations and were assigned a status of Special Concern due to the limited area of occupancy, limitation of potential for range expansion and potential threats from logging and other activities leading to habitat degradation.

 

Habitat

Banded Killifish in Newfoundland depend on clear water, warm water temperatures for spawning, and dense submerged aquatic vegetation with a sandy or muddy substrate. This type of habitat is abundant throughout most watersheds in Newfoundland but the species is only found in a few of these watersheds. In addition, in watersheds where Banded Killifish occur and where there are many lakes with appropriate habitat areas, Fundulus diaphanus is often found only in very restricted areas within one or two lakes. Future research priorities should concentrate on habitat selection and use. Decline in this species in the future would likely be caused by habitat degradation and wetland drainage.

 

Biology

Newfoundland Banded Killifish grow to an average length of 73-92mm and live to a maximum of 3-4 years of age. Maturity is reached at an age of 1+ years and at a length of approximately 6cm. Banded Killifish practice external fertilization and females lay eggs equipped with adhesive threads that adhere to plants, leading to them being labeled plant-spawners. Spawning occurs in July and August at water temperatures of 19-24°C (Chippett In prep.).

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Fundulus diaphanus populations in Newfoundland occur over a wide range, but local populations are restricted to very confined regions within their respective watersheds. Banded Killifish populations in Newfoundland appear to be locally abundant in representative populations that were sampled. Although yearly data is not available, population estimates indicate that over 20 000 individuals exist in the Indian Bay watershed population on the northeast coast. Population estimates are not available for other populations.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

Any disturbance, whether natural or anthropogenic, on the southwest coast of Newfoundland, could have a devastating impact on this species due to the cluster of populations in that region. However, direct threats are not perceived in this region at this time. However, forestry practices in the Indian Bay watershed may impact on the population in that area in the next few years as much of the forest in this area is scheduled to undergo some form of clear cutting.

Suitable habitat is present island-wide but inland areas are restricted from immigration of Banded Killifish by rivers with steep gradients and other barriers to inland migration.

 

Special Significance of the Species

Fundulus diaphanus is the only freshwater fish of special concern in Newfoundland and represents this species at the eastern extent of its range. Clustered in very localized regions of the watersheds in which they occur, Banded Killifish, which rely on the invertebrate community for food, clear water for prey selection, and dense stands of macrophytes for reproduction, are an easily studied indicator species candidate for various measures of ecosystem integrity. Banded Killifish are also important forage fish for brook trout, Atlantic salmon and American eels and form portions of the diet of various waterfowl.

 

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

The Newfoundland populations of Banded Killifish are currently listed as a species of special concern by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. In addition, Fundulus diaphanus is one of 20 species protected under the Newfoundland and Labrador provincial government’s Endangered Species Act passed in August 2002. Aside from this protection, the only other protection is made available through the Federal Fisheries Act. The population at Grand Bay West may be included in an ecological reserve being proposed by the Parks and Natural Areas division of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Rush Ponds population on the Burin Peninsula is an Eastern Habitat Joint Venture site.

 

Summary of Status Report

Banded Killifish populations in Newfoundland are very fragmented in nature. In spite of 7 known population locales, the area of occurrence of these populations is less than 200 km2. These populations, with the exception of the Indian Bay watershed population, are clustered in relative close proximity on the southwestern portion of Newfoundland, maximizing the potential of natural disturbance, urban expansion, and industrial development, on 4 of the 7 recognized Newfoundland locales. The three populations surveyed directly (Indian Bay, Loch Leven, and Freshwater Pond) indicate that the species is locally abundant but actual population estimates are only available for the Indian Bay population.

The other major limiting factor impacting F. diaphanus in Newfoundland is rivers with steep gradients and other obstructions to inland migration. Habitat, in terms of substrate type and aquatic vegetation, is abundant in central regions, but is likely inaccessible to Banded Killifish due to these difficult migration routes.

The obvious habitat requirements associated with Banded Killifish throughout North America are not limiting factors in Newfoundland. However, habitat selection and use is still not fully understood and warrant further study.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Fondule barré
Fundulus diaphanus
(Population de Terre-Neuve)

Information sur l’espèce

Le fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus) (Lesueur, 1817), membre de la famille des Fundulidés (Nelson, 1994), est l’une des deux seules espèces du genre Fundulus vivant à Terre-Neuve, l’autre étant le choquemort (F. heteroclitus). Ses flancs de couleur olive présentent de nombreuses bandes verticales, et sa région dorsale est d’une couleur foncée contrastante. Les bandes verticales sont à l’origine du nom commun « fondule barré ».

 

Répartition

Le fondule barré vit dans le Sud-Est de l’Amérique du Nord, du Montana aux Maritimes et à la Caroline du Sud. Au Canada, il est largement répandu dans les Maritimes, mais il est présent dans quelques endroits seulement de Terre-Neuve. On le trouve aussi dans des habitats propices de la vallée du Saint-Laurent, au Québec, et dans le bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs, dans le Sud de l’Ontario, sauf dans le lac Supérieur (Scott et Crossman, 1974). Une population distincte vit également au Manitoba (Stewart-Hay, 1954).

Sept populations de fondules barrés vivent dans les eaux de l’île de Terre-Neuve. La majorité de ces populations sont regroupées sur les côtes sud et ouest de l’île. L’une des plus récentes observations de cette espèce, dans le bassin hydrographique Indian Bay (lacs Backup Pond et Third Pond), sur la côte nord-est de l’île, a été réalisée plus à l’est que les observations antérieures. À l’origine, on trouvait le fondule barré seulement à l’extrême Sud-Ouest de Terre-Neuve, dans la région de Stephenville Crossing. À partir des années 1980-1990, en plus de l’occurrence dans le bassin Indian Bay, on découvre de nouvelles populations : lac Freshwater Pond et lacs Rush Ponds (Winterland), sur la péninsule de Burin; îles Ramea, au large de la côte sud; Loch Leven; lac First Pond, dans la région de Grand Bay West, près de Port-aux-Basques.

La situation du fondule barré au Canada a pour la première fois été étudiée par le Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada (CSEMDC) en 1989. Les populations de Terre-Neuve, considérées comme biogéographiquement isolées des populations des eaux continentales, ont reçu la désignation de « préoccupantes » en raison de la zone d’occupation limitée, des faibles possibilités d’expansion de l’aire de répartition et des menaces potentielles dues à l’exploitation forestière et à d’autres activités favorisant la dégradation de l’habitat.

 

Habitat

Les populations de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve ont besoin d’une eau limpide et chaude (pour la fraye), d’une dense végétation aquatique submergée et d’un substrat sableux ou vaseux. Même si ce type d’habitat est abondant dans la plupart des bassins hydrographiques de l’île, on ne trouve l’espèce que dans quelques-uns d’entre eux. En outre, même dans les bassins abritant de nombreux lacs aux habitats propices pour les fondules barrés, on ne trouve ces derniers que dans des zones très restreintes, dans un ou deux lacs seulement. Il faudra concentrer les priorités des recherches à venir sur la sélection et l’utilisation de l’habitat. Le déclin des populations de fondules barrés dans le futur sera probablement causé par la dégradation des habitats et l’assèchement des milieux humides.

 

Biologie

Le fondule barré de Terre-Neuve atteint une longueur moyenne de 73 mm à 92 mm et vit jusqu’à un âge maximal de 3-4 ans. Il atteint la maturité à l’âge 1+, lorsqu’il mesure environ 6 cm. Chez le fondule barré, la fécondation est externe, et les femelles pondent des œufs munis de filaments adhésifs, qui s’attachent aux plantes. Le fondule barré est donc un poisson à ponte fixée sur les végétaux. La fraye a lieu en juillet et août, à une température allant de 19 °C à 24 °C (Chippett, en prép.).

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Les populations de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve occupent une vaste aire de répartition, mais chacune d’entre elles est limitée à des zones très confinées au sein de leur bassin hydrographique. D’après les populations représentatives échantillonnées, les populations de fondules barrés semblent être localement abondantes. Nous ne disposons pas de données annuelles, mais des estimations indiquent que plus de 20 000 poissons forment la population du bassin Indian Bay, sur la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve. Il n’y a pas d’estimations du nombre de poissons pour les autres populations.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Toutes les perturbations, naturelles ou anthropiques, qui surviennent sur la côte sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve peuvent avoir un effet dévastateur sur l’espèce en raison de la concentration des populations dans cette région. Toutefois, on ne perçoit aucune menace directe dans la région à l’heure actuelle. Par ailleurs, les pratiques forestières dans le bassin Indian Bay pourraient avoir des répercussions sur la population de cette région dans les années à venir. En effet, on prévoit soumettre à une coupe à blanc une grande partie de la forêt de la région.

Des habitats propices existent à l’échelle de l’île, mais les fondules barrés accèdent difficilement aux zones intérieures en raison des fortes pentes des cours d’eau et d’autres obstacles à la migration vers les eaux intérieures.

 

Importance particulière de l’espèce

Le fondule barré est le seul poisson d’eau douce préoccupant à Terre-Neuve. Les populations de l’île sont les représentants de l’espèce à la limite orientale de son aire de répartition. Rassemblés dans des zones très localisées des bassins hydrographiques, les fondules barrés, qui dépendent de la communauté d’invertébrés pour se nourrir, d’une eau limpide pour chasser les proies et de peuplements denses de macrophytes pour se reproduire, sont des indicateurs pouvant être facilement étudiés; l’espèce peut permettre de mesurer divers paramètres de l’intégrité des écosystèmes. Le fondule barré constitue un important poisson fourrage de l’omble de fontaine, du saumon atlantique et de l’anguille d’Amérique, et il fait partie du régime alimentaire de certaines espèces de sauvagine.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

Présentement le COSEPAC a désigné les populations de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve comme « préoccupantes ». De plus, l’espèce fait partie de la vingtaine d’espèces protégées en vertu de la Endangered Species Act du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, loi passée en août 2002. À part cette loi provinciale, seule la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral protège l’espèce. La population de Grand Bay West se trouvera peut-être au sein de la réserve écologique proposée par la division des parcs et des sites naturels du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, tandis que la population des lacs Rush Ponds, sur la péninsule de Burin, occupe un site du Plan conjoint des habitats de l’Est.

 

Résumé du rapport de situation

Les populations de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve sont très fragmentées. Il existe 7 populations connues, mais leur zone d’occurrence couvre moins de 200 km2. Ces populations, à l’exception de celle du bassin Indian Bay, sont concentrées dans des zones relativement près les unes des autres, dans la portion sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve, ce qui augmente le potentiel de perturbation par des facteurs naturels, par l’expansion urbaine et par le développement industriel sur 4 des 7 populations locales reconnues. Les 3 populations directement étudiées (Indian Bay, Loch Leven et Freshwater Pond) montrent que l’espèce est localement abondante. Des estimations ne sont toutefois disponibles que pour la population du bassin Indian Bay.

Les autres facteurs limitatifs importants du fondule barré de Terre-Neuve sont les cours d’eau aux fortes pentes et les autres obstacles à la migration vers les eaux intérieures. Les habitats, en termes de type de substrat et de végétation aquatique, sont abondants dans les régions centrales, mais probablement inaccessibles au fondule barré en raison de la difficulté des voies migratoires.

Les besoins du fondule barré en matière d’habitat reconnus ailleurs en Amérique du Nord ne constituent pas des facteurs limitatifs sur l’île de Terre-Neuve. Toutefois, la sélection et l’utilisation de l’habitat, encore peu connues, nécessitent d’autres études.