Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Banded Killifish
Fundulus diaphanus
Newfoundland Population
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

Class:

Actinopterygii

Order:

Cyprinodontiformes

Family:

Fundulidae

Genus:

Fundulus

Scientific Name:

Fundulus diaphanus (Lesueur 1817)

Common Name:

Eng. - Banded killifish; Fr. – fondule barré

 


Description

The Banded Killifish, Fundulus diaphanus (Lesueur 1817) is a member of the family Fundulidae containing 5 genera and approximately 48 species (Nelson 1994). Sometimes referred to as egg-laying toothcarps, adult killifish are usually small, reaching between 5-10 cm in length. The largest known killifish of the family Fundulidae, Fundulus grandissimus, have been found to measure 18 cm (Berra 1981). Many killifish are slender and pike-like in shape to aid in rapid swimming (Riehl and Baensch 1991) and some species have a flattened head and terminal mouth adapted for surface feeding, hence the name topminnows (Leim and Scott 1966; Scott and Crossman 1973; Houston 1990). Three species of the family Fundulidae, Fundulus diaphanus, F. heteroclitus, and F. notatus have been recorded in Canadian waters (Houston 1990). Of these three, only Fundulus diaphanus and F. heteroclitus are found in Newfoundland (Scott and Crossman 1964,1973; Houston 1990).

Fundulus diaphanus, the Banded Killifish, is described as having olive colored sides with numerous vertical bands and a contrasting dark coloration across the dorsal region. The number of bands anterior to the dorsal fin are useful as a means of determining the sex of live fish as a greater number of “anterior” bands (approximately >9) are evident in male Banded Killifish. Bands in females usually appear black in color, are thin and distinct, and often do not appear to span the full width of the body. Males, however, have pale, grey bands that are less distinct and closer together. Figure 1 provides an illustration of a Banded Killifish.


Figure 1: Illustration of the Banded Killifish

Illustration of the Banded Killifish.

From Scott and Crossman (1973), by permission.

Fundulus diaphanus is distinguished from F. heteroclitus by having a relatively thin caudal peduncle, larger gill rakers, usually numbering 5 or 6 (9-11 in F. heteroclitus), and having brachiostegal rays most often numbering 6,6 (5,5 in F. heteroclitus) (Scott and Crossman 1973). Fundulus heteroclitus is also most often associated with brackish waters whereas F. diaphanus, although euryhaline, is usually found in fresh water (Houston 1990).

Fundulus diaphanus (Lesueur, 1817) is divided into two subspecies; Fundulus diaphanus diaphanus (Lesueur), the eastern Banded Killifish, and F. d. menona (Jordan and Copeland), the western Banded Killifish. The eastern Banded Killifish differs from the western subspecies in several ways including a more anterior positioning of the dorsal fin, a greater number of anterior bars in males (9-15 diaphanus vs. 5‑0 menona) and more intense bars along the side that remain intact over the anterior back, a greater number of scale rows (45-49 diaphanus vs. 40-44 menona), and a combination of dorsal dorsal and anal fin rays totaling 24 to 26 (23 to 24 menona), as well as being much larger in size (110mm maximum diaphanus vs. 74mm maximum menona) (Trautman 1957; Hubbs and Lagler 1974). The eastern form occurs in the Atlantic drainage west to the Upper St. Lawrence and eastern Lake Ontario where it intergrades with the western form (Scott and Crossman 1973).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
fondule barré
Fundulus diaphanus
population de Terre-Neuve
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Classe :

Actinoptérygiens

Ordre :

Cyprinodontiformes

Famille :

Fundulidés

Genre :

Fundulus

Nom scientifique :

Fundulus diaphanus (Lesueur 1817)

Nom commun :

fondule barré (français); banded killifish (anglais)

 


Description

Le fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus) (Lesueur, 1817) fait partie de la famille des Fundulidés, qui comprend 5 genres et environ 48 espèces (Nelson, 1994). Les fondules adultes sont généralement petits; ils mesurent entre 5 cm et 10 cm de longueur. Le plus gros fondule de la famille des Fundulidés observé, un Fundulus grandissimus, mesurait 18 cm (Berra, 1981). Un grand nombre de fondules sont minces et ont la forme d’un brochet, ce qui en fait des nageurs rapides (Riehl et Baensch, 1991). Certaines espèces ont la tête aplatie et une bouche terminale adaptée à une alimentation en surface (Leim et Scott, 1966; Scott et Crossman, 1974; Houston, 1990). Trois espèces de la famille des Fundulidés, Fundulus diaphanus, F. heteroclituset F. notatus, vivent dans les eaux canadiennes (Houston, 1990). De ces trois espèces, seules Fundulus diaphanus etF. heteroclitus habitent les eaux de Terre-Neuve (Scott et Crossman, 1964, 1974; Houston, 1990).

Chez le fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus), les flancs sont de couleur olive et présentent de nombreuses barres verticales, et la région dorsale est d’une couleur foncée contrastante. Le nombre de barres situées en avant de la nageoire dorsale permet de déterminer le sexe des poissons vivants, les mâles en possédant un plus grand nombre (> 9) que les femelles. Chez ces dernières, les barres sont habituellement noires, minces et marquées. De plus, elles ne semblent pas couvrir toute la largeur du corps. Chez les mâles, par contre, les barres sont gris pâle, moins distinctes que chez les femelles et plus rapprochées. La figure 1 est une illustration du fondule barré.


Figure 1 : Illustration du fondule barré

Illustration du fondule barré.

Tirée de Scott et Crossman (1973), avec l’autorisation des auteurs.

Le fondule barré se distingue du choquemort (F. heteroclitus) par son pédoncule caudal relativement mince, ses branchicténies plus grosses au nombre de 5 ou de 6 (il y en a de 9 à 11 chez le choquemort) et ses rayons branchiostèges qui sont la plupart du temps au nombre de 6,6 (5,5 chez le choquemort) (Scott et Crossman, 1974). Le choquemort fréquente généralement des eaux saumâtres, alors que le fondule barré, bien qu’il soit euryhalin, vit surtout en eau douce (Houston, 1990).

Le fondule barré (Lesueur, 1817) se divise en deux sous-espèces : le fondule barré de l’Est, Fundulus diaphanus diaphanus (Lesueur), et le fondule barré de l’Ouest, F. d. menona (Jordan et Copeland). Le fondule barré de l’Est diffère du fondule barré de l’Ouest de plusieurs façons : emplacement plus antérieur de la nageoire dorsale; plus grand nombre de barres antérieures chez les mâles (de 9 à 15 chez le diaphanus; de 5 à 10 chez lemenona); barres plus intenses sur les flancs, demeurant intactes sur la partie antérieure du dos; plus grand nombre de rangées d’écailles (de 45 à 49 chez le diaphanus; de 40 à 44 chez le menona); combinaison de rayons des nageoires dorsale et anale totalisant de 24 à 26 (23 ou 24 chez le menona); taille nettement plus grande (longueur maximale de 110 mm chez le diaphanus; longueur maximale de 74 mm chez le menona) (Trautman, 1957; Hubbs et Lagler, 1974). La forme de l’Est vit dans le bassin de l’Atlantique, jusqu’au haut Saint-Laurent et à l’est du lac Ontario, où on observe des formes intermédiaires avec la forme de l’Ouest (Scott et Crossman, 1974).