Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Fundulus diaphanus occurs in North America from South Carolina in the southern United States northward to the Maritime provinces and Newfoundland in Canada, west through the states of New York, Pennsylvania, and southern Canada in the Great Lakes region as far west as the Yellowstone River in eastern Montana (Scott and Crossman 1973; Houston 1990). Figure 2 shows the distribution of Fundulus diaphanus in North America.


Canadian Range

Fundulus diaphanus is widely distributed in the Maritimes and also in suitable habitat of the St. Lawrence River valley of Quebec. In the Great Lakes watershed, Gilbert and Shute (1980) indicate records in all areas surrounding Lake Michigan, with most concentrated in the area northeast of the lake, numerous records along the western side of Lake Huron, few records (<10) on the eastern side, at least three records from southeastern Lake Superior, and records in both the northern and southern regions surrounding Lake Erie. In Ontario, the species was also reported from the Lake of the Woods in the northwestern portion of that province in 1986 (K. Stewart, pers. comm.). Gilbert and Shute (1980) describe the St. Lawrence River and the western New York and eastern Ontario drainages of Lake Ontario as the area of integradation between the diaphanus (eastern) and menona (western) subspecies. The western extent of the range of this species in Canada is Manitoba, where two specimens were collected from the Red River, near Winnipeg in 1954 (Stewart-Hay 1954), and one other from the southwest arm of Crowduck Lake (50°05' N, 95°08' W) in the Winnipeg River system in 1985 (Stewart et al. 1985; K. Stewart pers. comm.). The most easterly population record is from the Indian Bay watershed on the northeast coast of Newfoundland (49°04’N, 54°06’W) (M. van Zyll de Jong, pers. comm.).


Figure 2: North American Distribution of Banded Killifish

Figure 2: North American distribution of Banded Killifish.

Range taken from Scott and Crossman 1973 and Gilbert and Shute 1980; Actual population records from ROM data;Newfoundland additions from Chippett In prep.

The status of this species in Canada was first considered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 1989. Newfoundland populations were considered to be biogeographically isolated from mainland populations and were assigned a status of Special Concern due to the limited area of occupancy, limitation of potential for range expansion and potential threats from logging and other activities leading to habitat degradation. Populations elsewhere in Canada were deemed to be not at risk at that time.


Newfoundland Range

The eastern Banded Killifish, Fundulus diaphanus diaphanus was known from only four localities in southwestern insular Newfoundland (ROM data; Scott and Crossman 1973). F. d. diaphanus was first reported from specimens taken in brackish water at the head of St. George’s Bay, near Stephenville Crossing in 1951 (Templeman 1951). The distribution was then extended to include a freshwater lake, Loch Leven (48°10’N., 58°53’W.), 50 km to the south of Stephenville Crossing (Gibson et al. 1984) and Ramea Island located 7 km off the south coast of Newfoundland (Day 1993). The known range in Newfoundland was extended east to Freshwater Pond (47°06’N., 55°16’ W.) on the Burin Peninsula on the south coast of Newfoundland, when four specimens were taken in 1984 (Gibson et. al 1984).

Throughout the 1990's F. d. diaphanus was reported in several freshwater lakes in the Indian Bay watershed on the north side of Bonavista Bay in northeastern Newfoundland. The first record of the eastern Banded Killifish from this area was July 1993 when a single specimen was taken from an open area over a rocky outcrop in Second Pond (Indian Bay Big Pond) (49°04’N, 54°06’W) (M. van Zyll de Jong, pers. comm.). No additional specimens were taken until July-August 1997 when 9 killifish were captured in experimental fyke nets in Backup (49°05’N, 54°11’W) and Third ponds (49°03’N, 54°12’W) in the same watershed (personal observations). This population is further east than the Freshwater Pond population reported by Gibson et al. (1984). An angler caught a large Banded Killifish in June 1999 in a pond in the town of Winterland (J. Yetman, pers. comm.), just a few kilometers from the Freshwater Pond population referenced by Gibson et al. (1984). An additional population at First Pond (47°35’N, 59°10’W) was discovered during an aquatic plant study by researchers of the Sir Wilfred Grenfell Campus of Memorial University in lakes on the west coast of Newfoundland in the Grand Bay West area (H. Mann, pers. comm.). Figure 3 indicates known Newfoundland populations of Banded Killifish and the years when these populations were discovered or recorded.

While there may be unrecorded populations in close proximity to existing records on the southwest coast, it is extremely unlikely, given the exploratory netting and observation performed in both National parks, the Great Northern Peninsula, Central Newfoundland, the Avalon Peninsula and areas surrounding the Indian Bay population, any new population records will be reported in these areas. Therefore, the extent of the distribution is likely a cluster of populations in the southwestern region with an outlier population in the Indian Bay watershed in the Bonavista North region.


Figure 3: Newfoundland Distribution of Banded Killifish

Newfoundland distribution of Banded Killifish.

Year of record in parentheses (Chippett In prep.

Other areas surveyed where Banded Killifish were not observed or caught included Notre Dame provincial park and Beothuk park (formerly provincial), Trinity Bay near Winterton, Mint Brook in the Gambo area, and all other lakes in the Indian Bay watershed. Other unsuccessful preliminary surveys were performed in various lakes in the Gros Morne National Park area in conjunction with Parks Canada and the Memorial University Bonne Bay Field Station (T. Knight, pers. comm.) and by Parks Canada staff and the author in the Terra Nova National Park area (D. Cote, pers. comm.). Inland Fish (provincial department of Tourism, Culture, and Recreation) fyke netting programs on the Avalon Peninsula, the Millertown area in central Newfoundland, and on the Northern Peninsula in the Main Brook area have also failed to produce any new records of this species.

There is no conclusive information regarding the origin of the species on the island. Underhill (1986) provides an uncorroborated statement that the Banded Killifish have a marine origin from the Atlantic Provinces. However, he does not indicate by this, if this was a recent phenomenon, or if it related to population of the island following the last ice-age. Glaciation had a large impact on fish assemblages on the eastern coast of Canada due to glacial lakes/corridors etc., but the lineages of most species have yet to be determined. Researchers at the University of New Brunswick have recently begun to look at this issue and have hypothesized that the Banded Killifish may have evolved here after following the retreating ice sheets across the Gulf. They were then trapped in the freshwater lakes during uplift as the glaciers melted (A. Curry, pers. comm.). Underhill (1986) provides no evidence of migrations and there are no other occurrences in the literature to suggest or substantiate a supposition that such a small fish would be able to regularly migrate a passage of nearly 200 km across the Cabot Strait.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

Le fondule barré vit en Amérique du Nord, depuis la Caroline du Sud, dans le Sud des États-Unis, jusque dans les Maritimes et à Terre-Neuve, au Canada. On le trouve aussi dans les États de New York et de la Pennsylvanie et dans le Sud du Canada, dans la région des Grands Lacs, et encore plus à l’ouest, dans la rivière Yellowstone, dans l’Est du Montana (Scott et Crossman, 1974; Houston, 1990). La figure 2 montre la répartition du fondule barré en Amérique du Nord.


Figure 2 : Répartition nord-américaine du fondule barré

Figure 2 : Répartition nord-américaine du fondule barré.

Répartition tirée de Scott et Crossman (1973) et de Gilbert et Shute (1980); chiffres réels des populations tirés des données du ROM; ajout de la répartition à Terre-Neuve par Chippett (en prép.).


Répartition canadienne

Le fondule barré est très largement répandu dans les Maritimes. On le trouve également dans des habitats propices de la vallée du Saint-Laurent, au Québec. Dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, Gilbert et Shute (1980) l’ont observé dans toutes les zones entourant le lac Michigan, la plus forte concentration étant observée dans la zone située au nord-est du lac; nombreuses observations le long de la rive ouest du lac Huron; quelques observations (< 10) sur la rive est; au moins 3 mentions dans le Sud-Est du lac Supérieur; observations dans les zones nord et sud entourant le lac Érié. En Ontario, l’espèce a également été signalée en 1986 dans le lac des Bois, dans la portion nord-ouest de la province (K. Stewart, comm. pers.). D’après Gilbert et Shute (1980), le bassin hydrographique du Saint-Laurent ainsi que les bassins du lac Ontario se trouvant dans l’Ouest de l’État de New York et l’Est de l’Ontario constituent une zone où on observe des formes intermédiaires des sous-espèces diaphanus (est) et menona (ouest). La limite occidentale de l’aire de répartition du fondule barré au Canada est le Manitoba, où deux spécimens ont été recueillis dans la rivière Rouge, près de Winnipeg, en 1954 (Stewart-Hay, 1954), et un autre, dans le bras sud-ouest du lac Crowduck (50° 05’ N, 95° 08’ O), dans le réseau de la rivière Winnipeg, en 1985 (Stewart et al., 1985; K. Stewart, comm. pers.). La population la plus orientale a été observée dans le bassin Indian Bay, sur la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve (49° 04’ N, 54° 06’ O) (M. van Zyll de Jong, comm. pers.).

La situation du fondule barré au Canada a pour la première fois été étudiée par le Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada (CSEMDC) en 1989. Les populations de Terre-Neuve, considérées comme biogéographiquement isolées des populations des eaux intérieures, ont reçu la désignation de « préoccupantes » en raison de la zone d’occupation limitée, des faibles possibilités d’expansion de l’aire de répartition et des menaces potentielles dues à l’exploitation forestière et à d’autres activités favorisant la dégradation de l’habitat. Les populations vivant ailleurs au Canada n’étaient pas réputées être en péril à l’époque.


Répartition terre-neuvienne

Le fondule barré de l’Est (Fundulus diaphanus diaphanus) n’était connu que de quatre localités du Sud-Ouest de l’île de Terre-Neuve (données du ROM; Scott et Crossman, 1974). Il a pour la première fois été signalé grâce à des spécimens capturés dans les eaux saumâtres de l’embouchure de la baie St-Georges, près de Stephenville Crossing, en 1951 (Templeman, 1951). On a ensuite élargi l’aire de répartition pour englober un lac d’eau douce, le Loch Leven (48° 10’ N, 58° 53’ O), situé à 50 km au sud de Stephenville Crossing (Gibson et al., 1984), et les îles Ramea, situées à 7 km au large de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve (Day, 1993). L’aire de répartition terre-neuvienne connue a ensuite été étendue vers l’est, jusqu’au Freshwater Pond (47° 06’ N, 55° 16’ O), sur la péninsule de Burin (côte Sud de Terre-Neuve), où quatre spécimens ont été pêchés en 1984 (Gibson et al., 1984).

Pendant les années 1990, le fondule barré de l’Est a été signalé dans plusieurs lacs d’eau douce du bassin Indian Bay, du côté nord de la baie Bonavista, dans le Nord-Est de la province. Le premier individu de cette sous-espèce à avoir été observé dans cette région était un spécimen capturé en juillet 1993 dans le lac Second Pond (Indian Bay Big Pond) (49° 04 ’N, 54° 06’ O), au-dessus d’un affleurement rocheux, dans une zone à découvert (M. van Zyll de Jong, comm. pers.). Aucun autre spécimen n’a été capturé avant juillet-août 1997, quand 9 fondules barrés ont été pêchés au verveux expérimental dans le même bassin, dans les lacs Backup Pond (49° 05’ N, 54° 11’ O) et Third Pond (49° 03 ’N, 54° 12’ O) (obs. pers.). Cette population vit plus à l’est que celle du Freshwater Pond signalée par Gibson et al. (1984). En juin 1999, un pêcheur a capturé un gros fondule barré dans un lac de la ville de Winterland (J. Yetman, comm. pers.), à quelques kilomètres du Freshwater Pond, où Gibson et al. (1984) avaient décrit une population. Lors d’une étude sur les plantes aquatiques réalisée dans des lacs de la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve, dans la région de Grand Bay West, des chercheurs du campus Sir Wilfred Grenfell de l’université Memorial ont découvert une autre population dans le lac First Pond (47° 35’ N, 59° 10’ O) (H. Mann pers. comm.). La figure 3 montre les populations connues de fondules barrés à Terre-Neuve et mentionne les années de leur découverte ou de leur observation.

Des populations non recensées vivant près de celles observées sur la côte sud-ouest peuvent exister, mais il est très peu probable que de nouvelles populations soient découvertes dans les deux parcs nationaux, sur la péninsule du Nord, dans le Centre de Terre-Neuve, sur la péninsule d’Avalon et dans les secteurs entourant la population du bassin Indian Bay, étant donné les activités d’observation et de pêche exploratoire au filet qui y ont été menées. Par conséquent, l’aire de répartition du fondule barré correspond sans doute à une grappe de populations dans la région sud-ouest et à la population excentrique du bassin Indian Bay, dans la région de Bonavista Nord.

Parmi les autres régions étudiées où on n’a pas observé ni capturé de fondules barrés : parc provincial Notre Dame et parc Beothuk (anciennement un parc provincial); baie de la Trinité, près de Winterton; ruisseau Mint, dans la région de Gambo; tous les autres lacs dans le bassin Indian Bay. D’autres relevés préliminaires menés en collaboration avec Parcs Canada et la Bonne Bay Field Station de l’Université Memorial (T. Knight, comm. pers.) dans divers lacs du parc national du Gros-Morne ainsi que par le personnel de Parcs Canada et l’auteur dans le parc national Terra-Nova (D. Cote, comm. pers.) se sont révélés infructueux. On n’a pas non plus fait de nouvelles observations dans le cadre des programmes de pêche au verveux dans les eaux intérieures (ministère du tourisme, de la culture et des loisirs de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) mis en œuvre sur la péninsule d’Avalon, dans la région de Millertown (Centre de Terre-Neuve) et sur la péninsule du Nord (région de Main Brook).


Figure 3 : Répartition terre-neuvienne du fondule barré


Figure 3 : Répartition terre-neuvienne du fondule barré.

Années des observations entre parenthèses (Chippett, en prép.).

Il n’y a aucune donnée concluante concernant l’origine du fondule barré sur l’île de Terre-Neuve. Selon Underhill (1986), l’espèce serait issue d’une population marine des provinces de l’Atlantique, mais cela n’a pas été corroboré. Toutefois, cet auteur n’indique pas s’il s’agirait d’un phénomène récent ou si la population de l’île serait apparue après la dernière ère glaciaire. La glaciation, notamment du fait de l’existence de lacs et de couloirs glaciaires, a influé sur les assemblages de poissons de la côte est du Canada, mais le lignage de la plupart des espèces reste à déterminer. Des chercheurs de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick ont récemment entrepris d’étudier la question et ont formulé l’hypothèse que le fondule barré a peut-être évolué sur l’île de Terre-Neuve après avoir suivi le recul des glaces dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Ils sont restés pris dans les lacs d’eau douce pendant le soulèvement qui a suivi la fonte des glaciers (A. Curry, comm. pers.). Underhill (1986) n’apporte aucune preuve de migrations, et aucune autre mention dans la littérature scientifique ne laisse croire qu’un poisson aussi petit aurait pu migrer régulièrement pour franchir le passage de près de 200 km du détroit de Cabot.