Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Biology

General

Of the three Newfoundland populations sampled, the Loch Leven population had the largest mean total length at 91.9mm (56.5-106.3mm) while the Indian Bay population averaged 88.8mm (68.6-128.4mm) and Freshwater Pond population 73.2 mm (Chippett In prep.). In previous studies Banded Killifish adults usually ranged from 6-8cm (Cooper 1983). The 12.8cm record from Indian Bay is likely the largest recorded length for this species. Scott and Crossman (1973) indicated that a Banded Killifish measuring 11.4cm from Lake O’Law in Nova Scotia was the largest record prior to the Indian Bay record.

Carlander (1969) reported that individuals reach maturity at 1+ years and at a total length of about 6cm. The minimum size for mature females from the Newfoundland populations was noted to be 5.6cm (Chippett In prep.).


Reproduction

Banded Killifish are plant spawners and females release eggs attached to individual adhesive threads that adhere to aquatic vegetation once released. Males release milt and fertilize the eggs as they hang from the female papilla in clusters of 5‑10 eggs (Richardson 1939). Spawning is indicated as taking place in April to May with a temperature of 21°C being preferred (Carlander 1969) while other spawning observations have been documented at 23°C (McAllister and Coad 1974).

Banded Killifish in the Indian Bay watershed were observed exhibiting spawning behaviour in late June through to the middle of August when water temperatures reached between 19-23°C, most often in association with pondweed species of the genus Potamogeton.  Males undergo a drastic color change when spawning, developing a bright blue patch near the anal fin (Chippett In prep.; Scott and Crossman 1973). The lower portion of the body, including the area around the anal fin, transforms into a brilliant iridescent blue color. In areas where the water is dark or murky, particularly those with mud substrates like the Indian Bay watershed, the males can be identified by quick darting movements made obvious by the blue coloration against the dark substrate (Chippett In prep.). This color change is much more evident in the wild than in captivity.

Eggs taken from female fish in the Indian Bay watershed in late July were slightly larger (0= 2.2mm) than the 2.0mm reported by Cooper (1936) and large females contained as many as 420 eggs as compared to the 250 reported by Carlander (1969) (Chippett In prep.).


Physiology

Banded Killifish are tolerant of low oxygen levels and a wide range of temperatures (Scott and Crossman 1973; Houston 1990). Carlander (1969) observed Banded Killifish at 38.3°C while Rombough and Garside (1977) reported 34.5°C as the upper incipient temperature limit for this species. In Newfoundland, Banded Killifish spawning was observed at water temperatures of 22-24°C in the shallows and abundance of Fundulus diaphanus in fyke net catches was strongly related to water temperatures (Chippett In prep). These observations concur with those of Melisky et al. (1980) who found that Banded Killifish in Pennsylvania had a preference for waters of approximately 28.6°C and that fish in Nova Scotia prefer the lower temperature of 21.0°C. Banded Killifish move into deeper sections of lakes during late fall and winter before emerging into the shallows after the ice melts in April or May (J.G. Godin, pers. comm.).

Banded Killifish are euryhaline but usually inhabit freshwater streams and lakes, rarely existing in brackish or marine waters (Fritz and Garside 1974, 1975). This is true of the Newfoundland populations (Chippett In prep.). Fundulus diaphanus is tolerant, however, of salinities in excess of 20ppt, making dispersal through salt water possible (Griffith 1974). Underhill (1986) states that the Banded Killifish may have a maritime origin from the Atlantic provinces, but as indicated above, this is debatable. The populations on the south and west coasts appear close enough to make migration between the Newfoundland populations possible, but, such movement is undoubtedly small in scale (Chippett In prep.). The population on the northeast coast in the Indian Bay watershed may have been the result of an introduction, as anecdotal evidence by local anglers suggests; anglers from the Maritime provinces using minnows (live-bait) have traditionally fished in Backup and Third Ponds (W. Norris, pers. comm.). It is common for both Banded Killifish and Fundulus heteroclitus to be sold as live-bait in Nova Scotia and New Brunswic (A. Curry, pers. comm.).


Movements/Dispersal

Banded Killifish were observed in shallow, sheltered areas during the day in areas with abundant, dense, submerged aquatic vegetation, with very little observed migration during the daylight hours. However, data from fyke nets set in a variety of habitat types indicated a greater abundance of killifish in deeper, more exposed rocky areas suggesting nocturnal movements away from and/or between vegetated areas (Chippett In prep.).

The Banded Killifish in the Indian Bay watershed occupy a very restricted range. It is likely that the species has had little success in dispersing throughout the watershed due to long stretches of deep, open water where brook trout and Atlantic salmon predation would be substantially higher than would be the case in the weedy shallows (Chippett In prep.).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Keast and Webb (1966) indicated that despite the superior position of the mouth, Banded Killifish feed in all levels of the water column. Smaller individuals eat chironomid larvae, ostracods, cladocerans, copepods, and small quantities of amphipods and some flying insects while larger individuals feed on the aforementioned species and also take Odonata and Ephemoptera nymphs, molluscs, tubellarians, and small crustaceans (Keast and Webb 1966; Baker-Dittus 1978). While specific information on Banded Killifish feeding is not available for Newfoundland populations, specimens taken from the Indian Bay watershed did contain a high proportion of chironomid larvae (personal observations).

Fundulus diaphanus is a forage fish for larger species like Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar), brook trout (Salvelinus fontinalis) and American eels (Anguilla rostrata) and is also preyed upon by Belted Kingfishers (Megaceryle alcyon) and American Mergansers (Mergus merganser) (White 1953,1957; Scott and Crossman 1973). However, adult Banded Killifish are often observed in association with large schools of young brook trout of similar size and are caught in fyke nets with brook trout, American Eels (Anguilla rostrata),Three-spined Sticklebacks (Gasterosteus aculeatus), Atlantic Salmon adults and parr, and Rainbow Smelt (Osmerus mordax). Predation in Loch Leven is likely extremely high from the large population of American Eels in this area as indicated by the numbers in fyke net catches (Chippett In prep.).


Behaviour

Schooling

Banded Killifish adults (3-4 yrs) were usually observed in small schools of 3‑6 individuals while younger fish (1-2+ yrs) were most often recorded in schools of 8‑12 individuals. Schools remained in the same general area for long periods of time. Smaller fish use edges of areas of still water with abundant riparian vegetation for shelter while the adults (3-4 yrs) were found in more open areas, particularly at the outflows of streams and brooks (Chippett In prep.). Schooling likely plays a role in predator avoidance and feeding (Keast and Webb 1966; Godin and Morgan 1985).

Spawning

Banded Killifish in the Indian Bay watershed were observed exhibiting pre-spawning and spawning behaviour in late June through to the middle of August when water temperatures reached between 19-24°C (Chippett In prep.). As observed by Richardson (1939) males selected breeding areas in quiet weedy pools and defended these areas vigorously after which males and females of similar size paired off. The intense circling bouts between rival males were also observed to the extent of the pursued males being “forced” out of the water (personal observations).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Généralités

Des trois populations de Terre-Neuve échantillonnées, c’est dans celle du Loch Leven que la longueur totale moyenne était le plus élevée, à 91,9 mm (de 56,5 à 106,3 mm). La population du bassin Indian Bay avait une longueur moyenne de 88,8 mm (de 68,6 à 128,4 mm), et celle du Freshwater Pond, de 73,2 mm (Chippett, en prép.). Selon des études antérieures, les fondules barrés adultes mesuraient habituellement de 6 à 8 cm (Cooper, 1983). Le spécimen de 12,8 cm trouvé dans le bassin Indian Bay est probablement l’individu le plus long jamais observé. Avant lui, un fondule barré de 11,4 cm provenant du lac O’Law, en Nouvelle-Écosse, était le plus grand spécimen enregistré (Scott et Crossman, 1974).

D’après Carlander (1969), le fondule barré atteint la maturité à l’âge 1+ et à une longueur totale d’environ 6 cm. La taille minimale observée chez les femelles matures des populations de Terre-Neuve est de 5,6 cm (Chippett, en prép.).


Reproduction

Le fondule barré est un poisson à ponte fixée sur les végétaux; les œufs sont munis de filaments adhésifs qui, une fois pondus par la femelle, s’attachent à la végétation aquatique. Le mâle libère de la laitance et féconde les œufs alors qu’ils sont suspendus à la papille génitale de la femelle en groupes de 5 à 10 œufs (Richardson, 1939). La fraye aurait lieu d’avril à mai, à une température privilégiée de 21 °C selon Carlander (1969) ou de 23 °C selon d’autres observations documentées (McAllister et Coad, 1974).

Dans le bassin Indian Bay, on a observé que les fondules barrés frayent entre la fin juin et la mi-août, période où la température de l’eau varie entre 19 °C et 23 °C, le plus souvent en présence de potamots du genre Potamogeton. La livrée du mâle subit un changement radical de couleur pendant la fraye; une marque bleu vif apparaît près de la nageoire anale (Chippett, en prép.; Scott et Crossman, 1974). La portion inférieure du corps, notamment la région autour de la nageoire anale, devient d’un bleu brillant irisé. Dans les zones où l’eau est sombre ou trouble, particulièrement celles aux substrats vaseux comme le bassin Indian Bay, on peut repérer les mâles à leurs mouvements brusques et rapides, mis en évidence par le contraste entre le bleu vif de leur ventre et la couleur foncée du substrat (Chippett, en prép.). Ce changement de coloration est beaucoup plus évident en milieu sauvage qu’en captivité.

La taille des œufs des femelles du bassin Indian Bay prélevés à la fin juillet était légèrement supérieure (0= 2,2 mm) aux 2,0 mm signalés par Cooper (1936), et il pouvait y avoir jusqu’à 420 œufs chez les grosses femelles comparativement aux 250 œufs rapportés par Carlander (1969) (Chippett, en prép.).


Physiologie

Le fondule barré peut tolérer de faibles teneurs en oxygène et une grande variété de températures (Scott et Crossman, 1974; Houston, 1990). D’après Rombough et Garside (1977), une température de 34,5 °C constituerait la limite supérieure pour cette espèce, mais Carlander (1969) a observé des individus à 38,3 °C. Sur l’île de Terre-Neuve, la fraye a été observée à des températures de 22 à 24 °C en eau peu profonde, et l’abondance des captures au verveux était fortement liée à la température de l’eau (Chippett, en prép.). Ces observations corroborent celles de Melisky et al. (1980), qui ont constaté que les fondules barrés de la Pennsylvanie avaient une préférence pour des eaux d’environ 28,6 °C, alors que ceux de la Nouvelle-Écosse préféraient une température plus basse de 21,0 °C. Les fondules barrés se déplacent vers les parties plus profondes des lacs à la fin de l’automne et à l’hiver, puis retournent dans les zones peu profondes après la fonte des glaces, en avril ou en mai (J.G. Godin, comm. pers.).

Le fondule barré est euryhalin, mais il habite généralement des cours d’eau et des lacs d’eau douce; on le trouve rarement dans des eaux saumâtres ou marines (Fritz et Garside, 1974, 1975). Cette observation s’applique aux populations de Terre-Neuve (Chippett, en prép.). Notons toutefois que l’espèce peut tolérer une salinité dépassant les 20 parties par millier; la dispersion dans les eaux salées est donc possible (Griffith, 1974). Underhill (1986) croit que le fondule barré peut provenir des provinces de l’Atlantique, mais, comme nous l’avons mentionné ci-dessus, cela est discutable. Les populations des côtes sud et est de Terre-Neuve sont assez près les unes des autres pour autoriser l’hypothèse d’une migration entre ces populations, mais un tel échange est sans aucun doute de faible ampleur (Chippett, en prép.). La population de la côte nord-est, dans le bassin Indian Bay, a peut-être été introduite. C’est ce que laissent croire des preuves anecdotiques fournies par des pêcheurs locaux; en effet, des pêcheurs des provinces Maritimes viennent traditionnellement pêcher aux appâts vivants dans les lacs Backup Pond et Third Pond (W. Norris, comm. pers.). Le fondule barré et le choquemort (Fundulus heteroclitus) sont couramment vendus comme appâts en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick (A. Curry, comm. pers.).


Déplacements et dispersion

Les fondules barrés sont observés dans les eaux peu profondes et abritées durant le jour, dans des zones à végétation aquatique submergée abondante et dense, mais on signale très peu de déplacements diurnes. Toutefois, selon des données tirées de la pêche au verveux dans divers types d’habitats, les fondules barrés sont plus abondants dans les zones rocheuses plus profondes et plus exposées, ce qui peut indiquer des déplacements nocturnes (en dehors des zones de végétation ou entre celles-ci) (Chippett, en prép.).

Les fondules barrés du bassin Indian Bay occupent une aire de répartition très limitée. Il est probable que, si cette population s’est peu dispersée dans l’ensemble du bassin, c’est en raison de la présence de longues portions profondes et non protégées, où la prédation par l’omble de fontaine et le saumon atlantique est considérablement plus élevée que dans les zones peu profondes à végétation dense (Chippett, en prép.).


Nutrition et interactions interspécifiques

Selon Keast et Webb (1966), en dépit de la position supère de la bouche, le fondule barré se nourrit dans toutes les parties de la colonne d’eau. Les petits individus mangent des larves de chironomes, des ostracodes, des cladocères, des copépodes, de petites quantités d’amphipodes et quelques insectes aériens, alors que les gros individus se nourrissent, en plus des espèces susmentionnées, de nymphes des ordres des Odonates et des Éphéméroptères, de mollusques, de Turbellariés et de petits crustacés (Keast et Webb, 1966; Baker-Dittus, 1978). Il n’y a pas de données précises sur l’alimentation des fondules barrés des populations de Terre-Neuve, mais des spécimens provenant du bassin Indian Bay contenaient une grande proportion de larves de chironomes (obs. pers.).

Le fondule barré est un poisson fourrage pour de grandes espèces telles que le saumon atlantique (Salmo salar), l’omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis) et l’anguille d’Amérique (Anguilla rostrata). Il est aussi la proie du Martin-pêcheur d'Amérique (Megaceryle alcyon) et du Grand Harle (Mergus merganser) (White, 1953,1957; Scott et Crossman, 1974). Cependant, on observe souvent des fondules barrés adultes au milieu de grands bancs de jeunes ombles de fontaine de taille semblable. Des fondules barrés sont capturés au verveux en compagnie d’ombles de fontaine, d’anguilles d’Amérique, d’épinoches à trois épines (Gasterosteus aculeatus), de saumons atlantiques (adultes et tacons) ainsi que d’éperlans arc-en-ciel (Osmerus mordax). Dans le Loch Leven, la prédation est probablement très forte en raison de la grande population d’anguilles d’Amérique dans cette région, ce que confirme le nombre de poissons capturés au verveux (Chippett, en prép.).


Comportement

Rassemblement en bancs

Les fondules barrés adultes (3-4 ans) étaient habituellement observés en petits bancs de 3 à 6 individus, tandis que les plus jeunes (1-2 ans+) se trouvaient plutôt en bancs de 8 à 12 individus. Les bancs demeuraient dans le même secteur pendant de longues périodes. Les petits poissons utilisaient le bord des zones d’eau stagnante à végétation riveraine abondante servant d’abri, tandis que les adultes (3-4 ans) fréquentaient plutôt les zones à découvert, en particulier les embouchures de rivières et de ruisseaux (Chippett, en prép.). Le rassemblement en bancs joue probablement un rôle dans le comportement d’évitement des prédateurs et l’alimentation (Keast et Webb, 1966; Godin et Morgan, 1985).

Fraye

Les fondules barrés du bassin Indian Bay affichent des comportements de pré-fraye et de fraye de la fin juin à la mi-août, période pendant laquelle la température de l’eau varie entre 19 °C et 24 °C (Chippett, en prép.). Comme l’a observé Richardson (1939), les mâles choisissent des aires de reproduction dans des fosses herbeuses aux eaux tranquilles, qu’ils défendent vigoureusement. Les mâles et les femelles de taille semblable se sont appariés. Pendant les intenses combats en cercles entre mâles rivaux, il arrive que les mâles pourchassés soient forcés à sortir de l’eau (obs. pers.).