Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Banded Killifish, Newfoundland population in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Population estimates have not been attempted with this species previous to the current research (Houston 1990). Schnabel mark-recapture estimates were performed in the Indian Bay watershed in July and August of 1999. Water temperatures were lower in July and likely contributed to an estimate of 1209 individuals (95% confidence limits 619-3 423) whereas the August estimate was for 20 569 individuals (95% confidence limits 12 529-40 201). The relationship between temperature and killifish abundance in fyke net catches in three study sites between 1999-2001 was significant when the data are log transformed with a p-value of 0.000 (Figure 4) ( R-sq=0.190, F‑ratio=11.776, ss=45). Any future investigation of population size would best be performed in late July and through August when water temperatures are higher and killifish abundance and activity are at their highest levels (Chippett In prep.). Figure 4 indicates the relationship between water temperature and catch per unit effort of Banded Killifish in three Newfoundland lakes. In the absence of additional estimates, these data do not provide suitable information on population trends, but merely describe the condition of the Indian Bay population in 1999.


Figure 4: Relationship Between Banded Killifish Catch Per Unit Effort and Water Temperature in Three Newfoundland Lakes

Figure 4: Relationship between Banded Killifish catch per unit effort and water temperature in three Newfoundland lakes.

Loch Leven, Third Pond (Indian Bay Watershed), and Freshwater Pond (Chippett In prep.).

The catch per unit effort (CPUE) values presented in Table 1 are much higher for the Indian Bay watershed than for the Loch Leven and Freshwater Pond populations. The species is so restricted in distribution in the Indian Bay watershed that nets were always placed in areas where Banded Killifish were known to occur based on prior experience. As a result, the Indian Bay sampling may have targeted areas with greater numbers of Banded Killifish in the area. However, in the other populations, particularly Freshwater Pond, the range of the species is larger and individual fish would be found throughout a larger area making sampling site selection a factor. The large CPUE’s and the maximum numbers of killifish caught in fyke nets in July and August indicate that this species is locally abundant at Loch Leven, Freshwater Pond and Indian Bay, which is in agreement with Houston (1990). In Third Pond, in the Indian Bay watershed, Banded Killifish numbers reached maximums of nearly 200 killifish per net in late July and early August (Figure 4). At Loch Leven, large schools of Banded Killifish of approximately 25-40 individuals are easily observed in the sandy shallows, particularly on warm sunny days (personal observations). The size and movements of these schools in the shallows create the illusion of “bubbling” or “boiling” water as described by Gilhen (1974).

 

Table 1: Mean Catch Per Unit Effort (CPUE – Individuals/set) Values for Three Representative Newfoundland Banded Killifish Populations (Chippett In prep.)
Population# of net setsx CPUE
(Catch per Unit Effort)
Indian Bay2442
Loch Leven1029
Freshwater Pond1023

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve) au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Avant le présent rapport, on n’avait pas tenté d’estimer les populations de fondules barrés (Houston, 1990). Des estimations fondées sur la méthode de capture-marquage-recapture (CMR) de Schnabel ont été réalisées pour le bassin Indian Bay en juillet et en août 1999. La faible température de l’eau explique sans doute le nombre peu élevé de 1 209 individus estimé en juillet (intervalle de confiance à 95 p. 100 : 619-3 423). L’estimation en août s’élevait à 20 569 individus (intervalle de confiance à 95 p. 100 : 12 529-40 201). La corrélation entre la température et l’abondance des fondules barrés dans les captures au verveux dans trois zones d’étude (entre 1999 et 2001) est significative quand les données subissent une transformation logarithmique pour laquelle la valeur p est de 0,000 (figure 4) (R2 = 0,190; rapport F = 11,776; s2 = 45). Les études à venir sur la taille des populations devraient de préférence être effectuées à la fin juillet et pendant tout le mois d’août, c’est-à-dire quand la température de l’eau est plus élevée et que l’abondance et l’activité des fondules barrés sont à leur plus fort (Chippett, en prép.). La figure 4 montre la corrélation entre la température de l’eau et les captures par unité d’effort (CPUE) de fondules barrés dans trois lacs de Terre-Neuve. Faute d’autres estimations, ces données ne fournissent pas de renseignements utiles sur les tendances des populations; elles décrivent simplement l’état de la population du bassin Indian Bay en 1999.


Figure 4 : Corrélation entre les captures par unité d’effort (CPUE) de fondules barrés et la température de l’eau dans trois lacs de Terre-Neuve

Figure 4 : Corrélation entre les captures par unité d’effort (CPUE) de fondules barrés et la température de l’eau dans trois lacs de Terre-Neuve.

Loch Leven, Third Pond (bassin Indian Bay) et Freshwater Pond (Chippett, en prép.).


Les CPUE présentées dans le tableau 1 sont beaucoup plus élevées pour le bassin Indian Bay que pour les populations du Loch Leven et du Freshwater Pond. L’aire de répartition de l’espèce est tellement limitée dans le bassin Indian Bay que les filets ont toujours été placés dans des zones que les fondules barrés étaient réputés fréquenter selon les expériences passées. Par conséquent, l’échantillonnage du bassin Indian Bay peut avoir ciblé des zones où se trouvent un grand nombre de poissons. Toutefois, pour les autres populations, particulièrement celle du Freshwater Pond, l’aire de répartition est plus vaste, et on pourrait observer des individus dans une zone plus grande, ce qui fait de la sélection des sites d’échantillonnage un facteur à considérer. Les CPUE élevées et les nombres maximaux de fondules barrés capturés au verveux en juillet et en août montrent que l’espèce est localement abondante dans le Loch Leven, le Freshwater Pond et l’Indian Bay Pond, ce que corrobore Houston (1990). Dans le Third Pond, dans le bassin Indian Bay, le nombre de fondules barrés pris au verveux a atteint des maxima de près de 200 individus par filet à la fin juillet et au début août (figure 4). Dans le Loch Leven, de grands bancs de fondules barrés d’environ 25 à 40 individus sont facilement observables dans les zones sableuses peu profondes, surtout par temps chaud et ensoleillé (obs. pers.). La taille et le déplacement de ces bancs en eau peu profonde donnent l’impression que l’eau bouillonne (Gilhen, 1974).

 

Tableau 1 : Moyenne des captures par unité d’effort (CPUE – individus/filet) pour trois populations de fondules barrés représentatives de Terre-Neuve (Chippett, en prép.)
PopulationNbre de mouillagesx CPUE (captures par unité d’effort)
Indian Bay2442
Loch Leven1029
Freshwater Pond1023