Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Red Mulberry (Morus rubra) in Canada

5. Population and Distribution

5.1 Population and Distribution Context

In 2000, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) designated Red Mulberry as Endangered because of its small and declining number of mature individuals (under 250) and its fragmented population (COSEWIC 2010).

Figure 1: North American Red Mulberry Distribution (Argus and White 1987)

Figure 1: North American Red Mulberry distribution (Argus and White 1987).

Red Mulberry reaches the northern edge of its range in southern Ontario where it is confined to the Carolinian Life Zone (Figure 1). While its range is somewhat diminished, there are no records to indicate that it was ever common or widespread here (Ambrose 1987). COSEWIC last assessed the species in 2000 based on 10 known locations, including six core populations of five or more trees, in two broad regions: 1) Essex County and the Municipality of Chatham-Kent, including Point Pelee National Park and Pelee, Middle, and East Sister Islands, adjacent to western Lake Erie and 2) Niagara, including the cities of Hamilton and Burlington. Occupation of these two areas may correspond to different historical migration paths from the central part of the range in the United States. The forest habitats in these two regions are quite different; Red Mulberry in Niagara occurs along the moist, calcareous9 Niagara Escarpment, while habitat along the Lake Erie shore is more open and sandy. These disparate ecological conditions appear to have given rise to genetic differentiation and local adaptation within Red Mulberry (K. S. Burgess pers. comm.).

Twenty-one extant populations (separated by at least 1 km) have now been confirmed (Table 2 and Figure 2). Of those, 10 are core populations of five or more trees (Thompson 2002b, Burgess et al. 2008a, Natural Heritage Information Centre [NHIC] unpub. data 2010). Of those 10, all are completely or almost entirely located on public or conservation lands. However, the impacts of nesting Double-crested Cormorants on the vegetation of Middle and East Sister Islands, in the western basin of Lake Erie, raise questions as to the long-term viability of these two populations. The remaining 11 populations, having only one or two trees each, may not be viable unless recovery work is undertaken to elevate their population size and minimize threats.

Overall, recruitment is low at all sites (K. S. Burgess pers. comm.). Red Mulberry seedlings are rarely encountered at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve (K. S. Burgess pers. comm.) and have only been infrequently observed in more stable forest communities, such as at Ball's Falls over the past 15 years. Although first year seedlings have been observed germinating at the edge of a gravel path under large fruiting trees at Point Pelee National Park, they did not survive for more than two years (Ambrose 1987). Numerous pollination experiments suggest that inbreeding depression in Red Mulberry is minimal (Burgess 2004a), although direct comparisons with Red Mulberry crosses within larger extant populations across the species range have not been made.

The largest population in the Niagara/Hamilton/Burlington region consists of approximately 155 trees of all age classes. The largest population in the Essex/Chatham-Kent region consists of approximately 55 trees of all ages. The total number of Red Mulberry trees, of all age classes, across the Canadian landscape is approximately 322 (Janas et al. 2001; Burgess et al. 2008a; Essex Region Conservation Authority unpub. data 2008; Parks Canada Agency unpub. data 2008; Ontario Parks unpub. data 2008, 2009; Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority unpub. data 2009; Royal Botanical Gardens unpub. data 2009; NHIC unpub. data 2010; and G. Waldron, pers. comm. 2010). Apparent increases in overall population size in recent years are due to the location of older, previously undiscovered trees, rather than recovery of the population.

The Canadian distribution of Red Mulberry shows decline when compared to historical records (Figure 2). A total of 36 occurrences have been recorded for Red Mulberry. However, five of these are now considered extirpated and another 10 historic (not observed in the past 20 years). The northern limits of the Red Mulberry range once extended to Whitby, but have since contracted south to the Burlington area (Ambrose 1987). At Point Pelee National Park, the loss of three genetically pure trees has been documented since the late 1990s (Burgess et al. 2008a). At some other sites, only hybrid forms can now be located; indicating that Red Mulberry likely occurred there in the past, but has been swamped by hybridization with the exotic White Mulberry (Ambrose 1999). The recorded loss of occurrences, as well as individual trees within occurrences, combined with minimal observed recruitment, indicates a decline is continuing.

Table 2: Location and Landownership of Red Mulberry Trees in Canada

Critical Habitat Parcel #LocationLandowner(s)
Core Populations (5 or more trees under 1 km away from at least one other individual)
228_1Clappison Escarpment Woods, HamiltonConservation Halton
228_2Waterdown Escarpment Woods, BurlingtonConservation Halton and private
228_3Borer's Creek Conservation Area/Rock Chapel Escarpment/Berry Tract, HamiltonHamilton Conservation Authority, Royal Botanical Gardens and private
228_4Niagara Glen/Niagara Parkway, Niagara FallsNiagara Parks Commission and Hydro One
228_8Ball's Falls Conservation Area, VinelandNiagara Peninsula Conservation Authority
228_9Rondeau Provincial Park - North, MorpethOntario Parks
228_12
228_13
Point Pelee National Park - South, Leamington (although historically one population, loss of a single, centrally located tree now places extant trees over 1 km apart. Critical habitat for this population is therefore mapped in two pieces)Parks Canada Agency
228_15Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve, Pelee Island, western Lake Erie basinOntario Parks
228_16Middle Island, Point Pelee National Park, western Lake Erie basinParks Canada Agency
228_17East Sister Island Provincial Nature Reserve, western Lake Erie basinOntario Parks
Non-Core Populations (4 or fewer trees under 1 km away from at least one other tree)
228_5St. David'sPrivate
228_6Leawood Court, St. CatharinesPrivate
228_7Pendale Plaza, St. CatharinesBrock University
228_10Rondeau Provincial Park - South, MorpethOntario Parks
228_11Point Pelee National Park - North, LeamingtonParks Canada Agency
228_14Stone Road Alvar, Pelee IslandEssex Region Conservation Authority
228_18Lot 6, Concession 3 East, KingsvillePrivate
228_19For the Birds, ColchesterPrivate
228_20Big Creek Study Site #40, AmherstburgPrivate
228_21Canard River Kentucky Coffee-tree Woods Environmentally Sensitive Area, McGregorPrivate
228_22LaSalle Candidate Natural Heritage Site CA5, LaSalleTown of LaSalle and private

Figure 2: Canadian Distribution of Red Mulberry (Updated from Thompson 2002b)

Figure 2: Canadian distribution of Red Mulberry (updated from Thompson 2002b).


5.2 Population and Distribution Objectives

The goal of this recovery strategy is to ensure persistence of Red Mulberry in Canada by conserving and restoring functioning metapopulations10 to long-term stability in the two broad regions of its occurrence.

The population and distribution objectives for Red Mulberry are:

  1. to maintain all currently existing populations of the species across its Canadian (Ontario) range and
  2. to prevent further decline in the number of individuals across the species' range.

These objectives will be revisited and potentially revised once new information becomes available. In particular, genetic work to confirm the total number and location of pure Red Mulberry trees in some of the largest populations in Canada may necessitate changes to the objectives. Recent research in the United States has identified a distinct species, Morus murrayana, in western Kentucky and the surrounding states, that has been previously identified as Red Mulberry (Galla et al. 2009). Further genetic research is required across the native Canadian population to determine if one or both native species of mulberry are present and to ascertain associated population size(s).

The impacts of nesting Double-crested Cormorants on the Middle Island and East Sister Island populations are severe enough that retention of these two populations cannot be guaranteed. In addition, while attempts need to be made to retain the 11 populations consisting of one or two trees each, given the extremely small size of these populations, the fact each tree bears either male or female flowers, and the potential for extirpation through natural events, long term maintenance of these populations remains uncertain, even if threats are reduced. For instance, the June 6, 2010 tornado that touched down from Harrow to Leamington passed very near one of the Essex County woodlands containing a Red Mulberry population of two trees. Other woodlands along the direct path of the tornado were devastated.

It should be noted that the second objective is not specifically to maintain the number of mature individuals. This is because: (1) the current population estimates are uncertain, given the possible occurrences of hybrids and of a new species; (2) a number of mature individuals are dying and their loss cannot likely be prevented; and (3) the only way to maintain populations is to facilitate regeneration or plant young (non-mature) trees.

The expectation under the objectives, and the best possible scenario, is that in future evaluations Red Mulberry will remain in the "Very Small Total Population" category of COSEWIC, but not fall in the "Small and Declining Number of Mature Individuals" category.

9 Calcareous refers to a calcium or calcium carbonate-based substrate.
10 A metapopulation is made up of a group of populations of the same species that are separated from one another, but that still experience exchange in individuals.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du mûrier rouge (Morus rubra) au Canada

5. Population et répartition

5.1 Contexte lié aux populations et à la répartition

En 2000, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a désigné le mûrier rouge espèce en voie de disparition parce que le nombre d'individus matures de cette espèce est peu élevé (moins de 250) et en déclin et que sa population est fragmentée (COSEPAC, 2010).

Figure 1 : Répartition nord américaine du mûrier rouge (Argus et White, 1987)

Figure 1 : Répartition nord américaine du mûrier rouge (Argus et White, 1987)

L'extrémité septentrionale de l'aire de répartition du mûrier rouge s'étend jusque dans le Sud de l'Ontario, où l'espèce est limitée à la zone biologique carolinienne (figure 1). Même si son aire de répartition est quelque peu diminuée, rien ne semble indiquer qu'il a déjà été courant ou répandu ici (Ambrose, 1987). Le COSEPAC a évalué l'espèce la dernière fois en 2000, d'après 10 sites connus, dont six populations de base de cinq arbres ou plus dans deux grandes régions : 1) le comté d'Essex et la municipalité de Chatham Kent, dont le parc national de la Pointe Pelée et les îles Pelée, Middle et Sister Est, dans le secteur de la pointe ouest du lac Érié, et 2) la région du Niagara, dont les villes de Hamilton et de Burlington. L'occupation de ces deux régions peut indiquer différentes voies de migration historiques depuis le centre de l'aire de répartition aux États Unis. Les habitats forestiers sont très différents dans ces deux régions; dans la région du Niagara, le mûrier rouge se trouve le long de l'escarpement humide et calcaire9 du Niagara, tandis que l'habitat le long de la rive du lac Érié est plus ouvert et sablonneux. Ces différentes conditions écologiques semblent avoir donné lieu à une différenciation génétique et à une adaptation locale du mûrier rouge (comm. pers. de K.S. Burgess).

Vingt et une populations existantes (séparées par au moins un kilomètre) sont maintenant confirmées (tableau 2 et figure 2). De ce nombre, 10 sont des populations de base de cinq individus ou plus (Thompson, 2002b; Burgess et coll., 2008a; Centre d'information sur le patrimoine naturel [CIPN], données inédites, 2010). Les 10 populations de base sont toutes entièrement ou presque entièrement situées sur des terres publiques ou des terres protégées. Les effets de la nidification des cormorans à aigrettes sur la végétation des îles Middle et Sister Est, dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié, font toutefois douter de la viabilité à long terme de ces deux populations. Les 11 autres populations, qui ne comptent qu'un ou deux arbres chacune, peuvent ne pas être viables à moins que des mesures de rétablissement ne soient mises en œuvre pour en augmenter la taille et réduire au minimum les menaces.

Globalement, le recrutement est faible dans tous les sites (comm. pers. de K.S. Burgess). Les semis de mûrier rouge sont rares dans la réserve naturelle provinciale Fish Point (comm. pers. de K.S. Burgess) et ont été observés seulement rarement dans les communautés forestières plus stables, par exemple à la chute Balls, au cours des 15 dernières années. Même si on a observé que des semis de la première année germaient aux abords d'un sentier de gravier sous de grands arbres fruitiers dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, ils n'ont pas survécu plus de deux ans (Ambrose, 1987). De nombreuses expériences de pollinisation donnent à penser que la dépression de consanguinité est faible dans le mûrier rouge (Burgess, 2004a), bien qu'il n'y ait pas eu de comparaisons directes avec les croisements de mûrier rouge dans les grandes populations existantes ailleurs dans l'aire de répartition de l'espèce.

La population la plus importante dans la région de Niagara/Hamilton/Burlington compte environ 155 arbres de toutes les catégories d'âge. La population la plus importante dans la région d'Essex/Chatham Kent compte environ 55 arbres de tous âges. Le nombre total de mûriers rouges de toutes les catégories d'âge dans le paysage canadien est d'environ 322 (Janas et coll., 2001; Burgess et coll. 2008a; Essex Region Conservation Authority, données inédites, 2008; Agence Parcs Canada, données inédites, 2008; Parcs Ontario, données inédites, 2008, 2009; Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority, données inédites, 2009; Jardins botaniques royaux, données inédites, 2009; CIPN, données inédites, 2010; et comm. pers. de G. Waldron, 2010). L'apparente augmentation de la population générale au cours des dernières années s'explique par la découverte de vieux individus auparavant non recensés, plutôt que par le rétablissement de la population.

La répartition canadienne du mûrier rouge indique un déclin par rapport aux relevés historiques (figure 2). Au total, 36 occurrences ont été consignées pour le mûrier rouge. Toutefois, 5 d'entre elles sont maintenant considérées comme des occurrences disparues et 10 autres sont historiques (n'ont pas été observées au cours des 20 dernières années). Les limites nord de l'aire de répartition du mûrier rouge se sont déjà étendues jusqu'à Whitby, mais ont depuis reculé jusqu'à la région de Burlington (Ambrose, 1987). Dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, la perte de trois individus génétiquement purs a été documentée depuis la fin des années 1990 (Burgess et coll., 2008a). À certains autres sites, on ne voit plus que des arbres hybrides, ce qui indique que le mûrier rouge s'y est probablement déjà trouvé par le passé, mais qu'il a été supplanté à la suite de l'hybridation avec le mûrier blanc exotique (Ambrose, 1999). La perte enregistrée d'occurrences, de même que la disparition d'arbres dans ces dernières, combinées à un recrutement minime observé, indiquent que le déclin se poursuit.

Tableau 2 : Emplacement et propriété des terres où se trouvent des mûriers rouges au Canada

No de parcelle d’habitat essentielSituation géographiquePropriétaire(s) foncier(s)
Populations de base (5 individus ou plus, à moins d'un kilomètre l'un de l'autre)
228_1Boisé de l'escarpement Clappison, HamiltonConservation Halton
228_2Boisé de l'escarpement Waterdown, BurlingtonConservation Halton et terres privées
228_3Aire de conservation du ruisseau de Borer/escarpement de Rock Chapel/Berry Tract, HamiltonOffice de protection de la nature de Hamilton, Jardins botaniques royaux et terres privées
228_4Vallée Niagara/promenade du Niagara, Niagara FallsCommission des parcs du Niagara et Hydro One
228_8Aire de conservation des chutes Balls, VinelandOffice de protection de la nature de la péninsule du Niagara
228_9Parc provincial Rondeau - nord, MorpethParcs Ontario
228_12
228_13
Parc national de la Pointe Pelée - sud, Leamington (bien que sur le plan historique, il n'y ait qu'une population, la perte d'un seul individu situé au centre place maintenant les individus existants à plus d'un kilomètre de distance les uns des autres. L'habitat essentiel de cette population est, par conséquent, cartographié en deux endroits)Agence Parcs Canada
228_15Réserve naturelle provinciale Fish Point, île Pelée, bassin ouest du lac ÉriéParcs Ontario
228_16Île Middle, parc national de la Pointe Pelée, bassin ouest du lac ÉriéAgence Parcs Canada
228_17Réserve naturelle provinciale de l'île Sister Est, bassin ouest du lac ÉriéParcs Ontario
Autres populations (4 individus ou moins, à moins d'un kilomètre l'un de l'autre)
228_5St. David'sTerres privées
228_6Leawood Court, St. CatharinesTerres privées
228_7Pendale Plaza, St. CatharinesUniversité Brock
228_10Parc provincial Rondeau - sud, MorpethParcs Ontario
228_11Parc national de la Pointe Pelée - nord, LeamingtonAgence Parcs Canada
228_14Alvar du chemin Stone, île PeléeOffice de protection de la nature de la région d'Essex
228_18Lot 6, concession 3 est, KingsvilleTerres privées
228_19Sanctuaire d'oiseaux For the Birds, ColchesterTerres privées
228_20Site 40, Étude sur le ruisseau Big, AmherstburgTerres privées
228_21Aire écologiquement vulnérable du boisé de chicot févier de la rivière CanardTerres privées
228_22Site CA5 - candidature au patrimoine naturel de LaSalle, LaSalleVille de LaSalle et terres privées

Figure 2 : Répartition du mûrier rouge au Canada (mise à jour à partir de Thompson, 2002b)

Figure 2 : Répartition du mûrier rouge au Canada (mise à jour à partir de Thompson, 2002b)


5.2 Objectifs liés aux populations et à la répartition

Le présent programme de rétablissement a pour objet d'assurer la pérennité du mûrier rouge au Canada par la conservation et la restauration de métapopulations10 dynamiques pour qu'elles soient stables à long terme dans les deux grandes régions de son occurrence.

Les objectifs liés aux populations et à la répartition du mûrier rouge sont les suivants :

  1. maintenir toutes les populations existantes de l'espèce dans toute l'aire de répartition canadienne (Ontario);
  2. empêcher que le nombre d'individus ne continue de diminuer dans l'aire de répartition de l'espèce.

Ces objectifs seront revus et peut être modifiés quand des nouvelles informations seront disponibles. Plus particulièrement, des études génétiques visant à confirmer le nombre total et l'emplacement de mûriers rouges purs pour certaines des populations les plus importantes au Canada pourraient exiger la modification des objectifs. Des recherches récentes réalisées aux États Unis ont identifié dans l'ouest du Kentucky et les États environnants, une espèce distincte, Morus murrayana, qu'on croyait auparavant du mûrier rouge (Galla et coll., 2009). D'autres études génétiques de la population indigène au Canada sont nécessaires pour déterminer s'il y a une ou deux espèces indigènes de mûrier et préciser la taille des populations associées.

Les effets de la nidification des cormorans à aigrettes sur les populations des îles Middle et Sister Est sont assez graves pour qu'on ne puisse garantir le maintien de ces deux populations. En outre, même si des tentatives doivent être faites pour maintenir les 11 populations qui comptent un ou deux individus chacune, leur maintien à long terme demeure incertain, même si les menaces sont réduites, en raison de la très petite taille de ces populations, du fait que chaque individu a des fleurs soit mâles ou femelles et de la possibilité de disparition que pourraient provoquer des événements naturels. Par exemple, la tornade du 6 juin 2010 survenue de Harrow à Leamington est passée très proche d'un boisé du comté d'Essex qui contenait une population de deux mûriers rouges.

Il est à noter que le deuxième objectif ne consiste pas spécifiquement à maintenir le nombre d'arbres matures. La raison en est : 1) que les estimations actuelles des populations sont incertaines, compte tenu des occurrences possibles d'hybrides et d'une nouvelle espèce; 2) que certains arbres matures sont en train de mourir et que la perte de ces arbres ne pourra vraisemblablement pas être évitée; et 3) que le seul moyen de maintenir les populations consiste à faciliter la régénération ou à planter de jeunes individus (non matures).

Compte tenu de ces objectifs, et en espérant le meilleur scénario possible, on s'attend à ce que dans les évaluations futures, le mûrier rouge demeure dans la catégorie « très petite population totale » du COSEPAC, mais ne passe pas à la catégorie « petit nombre en déclin d'individus matures ».

9 Le calcaire désigne un substrat à base de calcium ou de carbonate de calcium.
10 Une métapopulation se compose d'un groupe de populations de la même espèce séparées les unes des autres, mais dans lesquelles il y a tout de même des échanges d'individus.