Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Red Mulberry (Morus rubra) in Canada

7. Critical Habitat Identification

Critical habitat is defined in section 2(1) of SARA as "the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species' critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species". This recovery strategy identifies critical habitat range-wide for native Red Mulberry in Canada, to the extent possible at this time based upon the best available information.

Geographical locations of known Red Mulberry trees were obtained from OMNR's NHIC (Figures 6, 7, 9-13, 16, and 19-22) and Ontario Parks (Figures 14 and 19), Parks Canada Agency (Figures 15 and 18), Royal Botanical Gardens (Figure 8), Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority (Figure 13), Janas et al. (2001; Figure 17), Essex Region Conservation Authority (Figure 24), and Gerry Waldron, M.Sc., Consulting Ecologist (Figure 23). Additional map components were provided by OMNR's Land Information Ontario (Figures 6-24), the North American Atlas (Figures 6-24), Conservation Halton (Figures 6-7), Parks Canada Agency (Figures 15 and 18), Hamilton Region Conservation Authority (Figure 8), Royal Botanical Gardens (Figure 8), and Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority (Figure 13).

This data was collected by regional, provincial, and federal agencies and their contractors, as well as by non-government organizations and individuals over the course of many years. The majority of trees were located during extensive searches in Hamilton, the Regional Municipality of Niagara and Essex County from 2000 to 2001, as part of the Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program for Endangered species in Ontario (Janas et al. 2001, Thompson 2002a). Targeted surveys at various locations were also completed from 2002 to 2004 and in 2007. Where possible, local experts were consulted regarding the continued existence of individual trees, knowledge regarding their genetic purity, accuracy of the data, and missing information.

Critical habitat has been identified for individuals that have been confirmed as pure-strain Red Mulberry trees through genetic testing or that were identified as Red Mulberry (as opposed to hybrid or White Mulberry) trees through morphological evaluation by species experts. Critical habitat has not been identified for trees that have been documented as hybrids through the techniques noted above, or for Red Mulberries that are known to have been planted or transplanted, or that have unverified origins. Records that are older than 20 years (pre 1990), with no verification through follow-up surveys, were deemed historical and were also not considered during critical habitat identification.

Critical habitat is based on UTM (Universal Transverse Mercator coordinate system) locations of individual trees, obtained using a GPS (geographic positioning system) unit. Coordinates, obtained using this technology, are expected to be accurate to approximately 10 m or better. Records obtained by Paul O’Hara from the Clappison Escarpment Woods, Waterdown Escarpment Woods, and Borer’s Creek Conservation Area/Rock Chapel Escarpment/Berry Tract populations have been excluded from consideration in critical habitat identification at this time, as data points have been determined to have an accuracy no better than 80- 100 m (N. Finney pers. comm. 2010).

Critical habitat is identified as a circle with a radius of 15 m surrounding the trunk of each live, individual, naturally occurring Red Mulberry tree, encompassing a critical habitat area of 707 m2 around each tree (see Figure 3). This is based on a critical root zone definition, used as a zone of protection for trees, of up to 36 times the diameter at breast height (dbh - i.e. the diameter of a tree 1.3 m above ground level) of a tree (Johnson 1997). Given that the maximum-recorded dbh for Red Mulberry in Canada is 40 cm (Farrar 1995), the maximum critical root zone is then calculated to be 15 m (40 cm x 36 = 14.4 m rounded up to the nearest metre). This is supported by a 12.7 m rooting radius reported for a mature White Mulberry tree (dbh not provided) (Stone and Kalisz 1990), which occurs in the same genus as Red Mulberry. To be precautious, the larger of the two values has been applied in the identification of critical habitat.

Figure 3: Conceptual Illustration of Critical Habitat (15 m Radius Tree Root Zone) around a Single Red Mulberry Tree

Figure 3. 15 m radius tree root zone

For locations where more than one Red Mulberry tree occurs, critical habitat also includes all Forest12, Woodland13, and Talus14 ELC community classes15 that fall within a shape, identified as the area within which critical habitat is found on the critical habitat maps, that encompasses the tree root zone of all Red Mulberry trees that are within 999 m or less of another Red Mulberry tree (see Figure 4A). On Middle Island, critical habitat also includes the Cultural Meadow/Cultural Thicket ELC community series, as this community is in the process of regenerating from former anthropogenic uses and is expected to succeed to woodland and eventually forest. The area within which critical habitat is found is represented by a minimum convex polygon16 around all Red Mulberry tree root zones falling within 999 m or less of another Red Mulberry tree at that location (see Figure 4B). One kilometre is considered the minimum separation distance needed to place trees into two separate populations rather than a single one (NatureServe 2010). As such, the 999 m value has been selected to ensure protection of all suitable habitats between trees within a Red Mulberry population.

Figure 4: Conceptual Illustration of A) the Area within which Critical Habitat is Found for Locations that have Two or More Red Mulberry Trees Separated by 999 m or Less and B) a Distance Greater than 999 m Between Red Mulberry Trees Resulting in Separate Polygons Related to Critical Habitat for Each Population

Figure 4. Conceptual illustration of A) the area within which critical habitat is found for locations that have two or more Red Mulberry trees separated by 999 m or less and B) a distance greater than 999 m between Red Mulberry trees resulting in separate polygons related to critical habitat for each population.

Across the species' range, the biophysical attributes of Red Mulberry critical habitat include moist, but well-drained, areas that have tree cover greater than 35% (Forest and Woodland ELC community classes). This includes:

  • floodplains and river valleys,
  • areas where additional light penetrates the tree canopy (e.g. forest gaps and edges),
  • Essex County, including Point Pelee National Park, Pelee, Middle, and East Sister Islands and the Municipality of Chatham-Kent: moist swales in sandy soils,
  • Niagara Escarpment and Peninsula: limestone-based, loamy soils, plus the Talus ELC community class in areas, especially along benches (flat areas) in the escarpment, where moisture levels remain high.

General locations of Red Mulberry critical habitat are shown in Figure 5. Site-specific critical habitat maps for 22 critical habitat parcels are provided in Appendix B. Where a Red Mulberry tree exists within 999 m of another Red Mulberry tree, the area within which critical habitat is found has been mapped. Only the areas within this boundary that meet the biophysical description of critical habitat outlined in this section are critical habitat.

Existing anthropogenic features are excluded from critical habitat as they are not suitable habitats for the long-term persistence of this species. These features include, but are not limited to existing infrastructure (e.g. roads, trails, and parking lots), existing cultivated areas (e.g. agricultural fields), and unnatural vegetation types (e.g. grassed areas and septic beds). In addition, all White Mulberry trees and hybrid mulberry trees are excluded from critical habitat as optimal habitat for Red Mulberry should be free from these trees.

Figure 5: General Locations of Critical Habitat for Red Mulberry in Canada

Figure 5: General locations of critical habitat for Red Mulberry in Canada.


7.1 Activities Likely to Result in the Destruction of Critical Habitat

Examples of activities, in or near critical habitat, likely to destroy critical habitat include, but are not limited to those outlined in Table 4 below.

Table 4: Examples of Activities Likely to Result in the Destruction of Critical Habitat

Effect of an Activity that May Destroy Critical HabitatExamples of Activities likely to Destroy Critical Habitat
Loss or fragmentation of critical habitat.Anthropogenic development within critical habitat (e.g. agricultural activities such as land clearing and/or tilling of the soil, industrial or residential development, or infrastructure developments such as new road, pipeline, water main, and wind power construction) or high intensity logging within critical habitat (clearing paths or other areas for log removal and/or stockpiling).
Damage to canopy or understory vegetation, increased evaporation leading to drying of the soil or soil compaction (which may result in reduced establishment of Red Mulberry recruits).Logging - removal of trees within critical habitat using practices that do not conform to low impact logging standards (e.g. Forest Stewardship Council 2004). Examples of logging activities that are likely to destroy critical habitat include clear-cutting, high-grading, and diameter limit cuts.
Alteration of drainage patterns, ground water flow and soil moisture levels within critical habitat.Property drainage (e.g. for agriculture or residential or industrial development) in or adjacent to critical habitat.
Alteration of forest vegetation resulting in increased hybridization with White Mulberry or hybrid mulberry trees and reduced production of pure Red Mulberry seed.Intentional planting of White Mulberry plants within critical habitat.
Increased shading, or alteration of forest canopy or understory vegetation, leading to competition with Red Mulberry seedlings or saplings.Intentional planting of non-native species within critical habitat.
Disturbance of soil (which may result in increased establishment of exotic plants) and/or destruction of vegetation.Vandalism or off-road vehicle use within critical habitat.


7.2 Schedule of Studies to Identify Critical Habitat

Additional work required to refine the population and distribution objectives and determine if critical habitat identification requires modification to support these objectives for recovery is outlined in Table 5.

Table 5: Schedule of Studies for the Identification of Critical Habitat

Description of Research ActivityExpected ResultsEstimated Timeline From Final Recovery Strategy Posting
Confirm status of Red Mulberry populations and individual trees where necessary.Update information on Red Mulberry population sizes and the presence/ absence of individual trees.3 years
Search suitable habitat (Niagara Escarpment, Brock University lands, Essex County, historic sites etc.) for Red Mulberry trees that have not previously been located.Improve knowledge of current distribution and abundance.4 years
Complete ELC surveys of extant populations of Red Mulberry.Vegetation communities are identified in areas surrounding existing trees, ground-truthed and mapped to the extent possible for all extant sites contributing to critical habitat definitions.4 years
Confirm the genetic purity of trees identified as Red Mulberry.Confirm the genetic purity of trees previously identified using morphological characteristics and separate true Red Mulberry trees from M. murrayana in order to confirm which individual trees require critical habitat protection.5 years
Complete critical habitat modeling and/or identification and delineation.Refine the population and distribution objectives based upon the above information if necessary. Identify optimal Red Mulberry habitat and modify critical habitat required to support the population and distribution objectives for the Canadian Red Mulberry population if necessary.6 years

12 Forests have a tree cover greater than 60%.
13 Woodlands have a tree cover greater than 35% and less than or equal to 60%.
14 Talus are slopes of rock rubble at the base of cliffs where coarse, rocky debris makes up more than 50% of the substrate surface and there is an average substrate depth of less than 15 cm.
15 A Community Class is an organizational level with the ELC system of classification that groups plant communities based on similar, generalized ecological patterns and processes.
16 A minimum convex polygon is the smallest shape, drawn with straight line segments, which will surround all straight line segments that can be drawn between any two points (in this case, Red Mulberry trees with their 15 m tree root zone). As an analogy, picture an elastic stretched around a group of pegs on a peg board.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du mûrier rouge (Morus rubra) au Canada

7. Habitat essentiel

Aux termes du paragraphe 2(1) de la LEP, l'habitat essentiel est « l'habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d'action élaboré à l'égard de l'espèce ». Le présent programme de rétablissement précise l'habitat essentiel dans toute l'aire de répartition du mûrier rouge indigène au Canada, dans la mesure du possible pour le moment, d'après les meilleurs renseignements disponibles.

L'emplacement géographique des mûriers rouges connus provient du CIPN du MRNO (figures 6, 7, 9-13, 16 et 19-22) et de Parcs Ontario (figures 14 et 19), de l'Agence Parcs Canada (figures 15 et 18), des Jardins botaniques royaux (figure 8), de l'Office de protection de la nature de la péninsule du Niagara (figure 13), de Janas et coll. (2001; figure 17), de l'Office de protection de la nature de la région d'Essex (figure 24) et de Gerry Waldron, M.Sc., écologiste-conseil (figure 23). Les cartes additionnelles ont été fournies par Information sur les terres de l'Ontario du MRNO (figures 6-24), de l'Atlas de l'Amérique du Nord (figures 6-24), de Conservation Halton (figures 6 et 7), de l'Agence Parcs Canada (figures 15 et 18), de l'Office de protection de la nature de la région de Hamilton (figure 8), des Jardins botaniques royaux (figure 8) et de l'Office de protection de la nature de la péninsule du Niagara (figure 13).

Ces données ont été recueillies par des organismes régionaux, provinciaux et fédéraux et leurs contractuels, de même que par des organismes non gouvernementaux et des particuliers au fil de nombreuses années. La plupart des arbres ont été trouvés au cours de recherches approfondies à Hamilton, dans la municipalité régionale du Niagara et le comté d'Essex de 2000 à 2001, dans le cadre du Programme d'encouragement fiscal pour les terres protégées pour les espèces en voie de disparition en Ontario (Janas et coll., 2001; Thompson, 2002a). Des relevés ciblés en divers endroits ont également été réalisés entre 2002 et 2004, de même qu'en 2007. Lorsqu'il a été possible de le faire, des experts locaux ont été consultés pour avoir leur avis sur la pérennité des individus, en savoir plus sur la pureté génétique, vérifier l'exactitude des données et obtenir des renseignements manquants.

On a déterminé l'habitat essentiel des arbres pour lesquels il est confirmé qu'il s'agit de mûriers rouges de souche pure par vérification génétique ou qui ont été identifiés comme des mûriers rouges (par opposition à des mûriers hybrides ou à des mûriers blancs) par évaluation morphologique d'experts de l'espèce. L'habitat essentiel n'a pas été précisé pour les arbres qui sont considérés comme des hybrides selon les techniques énumérées ci-dessus ou pour les mûriers rouges dont on sait qu'ils ont été plantés ou transplantés ou dont les origines n'ont pas été vérifiées. Des enregistrements datant de plus de 20 ans (avant 1990) et n'ayant pas été vérifiés par des relevés de suivi, ont été jugés historiques et n'ont pas non plus été considérés pour déterminer l'habitat essentiel.

L'habitat essentiel est fondé sur les emplacements UTM (grille de Mercator transverse universelle) des individus, établis à l'aide d'un GPS (système de positionnement géographique). Les coordonnées obtenues au moyen de cette technologie devraient être exactes à environ 10 m ou moins. Les enregistrements obtenus par Paul O’Hara des populations du boisé de l’escarpement Clappison, du boisé de l’escarpement Waterdown et de l’aire de conservation du ruisseau de Borer/escarpement de Rock Chapel/Berry Tract ont été exclus du processus de détermination de l’habitat essentiel pour le moment, puisqu’il a été établi que les points de données ne sont exacts qu’à 80 m à 100 m (comm. pers. de N. Finney, 2010).

L'habitat essentiel est précisé par un cercle au rayon de 15 m entourant le tronc de chaque mûrier rouge vivant, naturel, ce qui donne une superficie d'habitat essentiel de 707 m2 autour de chaque arbre (se reporter à la figure 3). Ces données sont fondées sur une définition de la zone d'enracinement essentielle, qui sert de zone de protection des arbres selon laquelle ladite zone doit avoir un rayon égal à jusqu'à 36 fois le diamètre de l'arbre à hauteur de poitrine (dhp, c.-à-d. le diamètre de l'arbre à 1,3 m au-dessus du sol) (Johnson, 1997). Compte tenu que le dhp maximal enregistré pour un mûrier rouge au Canada est de 40 cm (Farrar, 1995), la zone d'enracinement essentielle maximale a donc 15 m de rayon (40 cm x 36 cm = 14,4 m, arrondis au mètre le plus proche). Ces chiffres sont appuyés par un rayon d'enracinement de 12,7 m reconnu pour le mûrier blanc mature (dhp non fourni) (Stone et Kalisz, 1990), qui appartient au même genre que le mûrier rouge. Par souci de prudence, la plus importante des deux valeurs est utilisée pour déterminer la superficie de l'habitat essentiel.

Figure 3 : Illustration conceptuelle de l'habitat essentiel (zone d'enracinement au rayon de 15 m) autour d'un mûrier rouge

Figure 3 : Zone d'enracinement d'un rayon de 15 m

Dans les cas où il y a plus d'un mûrier rouge, l'habitat essentiel comprend également toutes les catégories de communautés CET12 de forêts13, de boisés14 et de talus d'éboulis15 se trouvant à l'intérieur d'une forme dans laquelle se trouve l'habitat essentiel sur les cartes et englobant la zone d'enracinement de tous les mûriers rouges qui se trouvent à 999 mètres ou moins les uns des autres (se reporter à la figure 4A). Dans l'île Middle, l'habitat essentiel comprend également la CET des prés/taillis culturels, car cette communauté est en cours de régénération à la suite des utilisations anthropiques antérieures; elle devrait redevenir un boisé et un jour, une forêt. La région dans laquelle l'habitat essentiel se trouve est représentée par un polygone convexe minimal16 autour de toutes les zones d'enracinement de mûriers rouges qui se trouvent à 999 m ou moins les uns des autres (se reporter à la figure 4B). Un kilomètre est considéré comme étant l'écart minimal nécessaire pour que des arbres figurent dans deux populations distinctes au lieu d'une seule (NatureServe, 2010). Pour cette raison, la valeur de 999 m a été choisie pour s'assurer de la protection de tous les habitats convenables entre les arbres d'une même population de mûrier rouge.

Figure 4 : Illustration conceptuelle A) de la superficie à l'intérieur de laquelle se trouve l'habitat essentiel des emplacements qui comptent deux mûriers rouges ou plus séparés par 999 m ou moins et B) d'une situation dans laquelle la distance entre deux mûriers est supérieure à 999 m, ce qui crée des polygones distincts d'habitat essentiel pour chaque population

Figure 4 : Illustration conceptuelle A) de la superficie à l'intérieur de laquelle se trouve l'habitat essentiel des emplacements qui comptent deux mûriers rouges ou plus séparés par 999 m ou moins et B) d'une situation dans laquelle la distance entre deux mûriers est supérieure à 999 m, ce qui crée des polygones distincts d'habitat essentiel pour chaque population.

Dans toute l'aire de répartition de l'espèce, les attributs biophysiques de l'habitat essentiel du mûrier rouge comprennent des zones humides, mais bien drainées dont le couvert forestier dépasse 35 % (catégorie de la CET des communautés de forêts et de boisés). Sont compris :

  • les plaines d'inondation et les vallées fluviales;
  • les zones où une lumière additionnelle perce le couvert forestier (p. ex. les échappées et les abords des forêts);
  • le comté d'Essex, y compris le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, les îles Pelée, Middle et Sister Est et la municipalité de Chatham-Kent : baissières humides dans des sols sablonneux;
  • l'escarpement et la péninsule du Niagara : sols calcaires loameux, plus la catégorie de la CET des talus d'éboulis à certains endroits, en particulier le long de replats (zones plates) de l'escarpement où les niveaux d'humidité demeurent élevés.

Les emplacements généraux des parcelles d'habitat essentiel du mûrier rouge sont indiqués à la figure 5. L'annexe B renferme les cartes régiospécifiques de l'habitat essentiel de 22 parcelles d'habitat essentiel. Lorsqu'il y a un mûrier rouge à moins de 999 m d'un autre mûrier rouge, la zone dans laquelle se trouve l'habitat essentiel a été cartographiée. Seules les zones situées dans ces limites et qui correspondent à la description biophysique de l'habitat essentiel décrit dans la présente section constituent un habitat essentiel.

Les caractéristiques anthropiques existantes sont exclues de l'habitat essentiel, car elles ne constituent pas des habitats qui conviennent à la pérennité de l'espèce. Au nombre des caractéristiques anthropiques exclues, mentionnons les infrastructures existantes (p. ex. les routes, les sentiers et les stationnements), les zones cultivées (p. ex. les champs agricoles) et les types de végétation non naturels (p. ex. les pelouses et les champs d'épuration). De plus, tous les mûriers blancs et les mûriers hybrides sont exclus de l'habitat essentiel, car l'habitat optimal du mûrier rouge ne devrait compter aucun de ces arbres.

Figure 5 : Emplacements généraux des parcelles d'habitat essentiel du mûrier rouge au Canada

Figure 5 : Emplacements généraux des parcelles d'habitat essentiel du mûrier rouge au Canada


7.1 Activités susceptibles d'entraîner la destruction de l'habitat essentiel

Le tableau 4 ci-dessous donne des exemples d'activités susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel proprement dit ou ses environs (liste non exhaustive).

Tableau 4 : Exemples d'activités susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel

Effet d'une activité susceptible de détruire l'habitat essentielExemples d'activités susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel
Perte ou fragmentation de l'habitat essentielDéveloppement anthropique dans l'habitat essentiel (p. ex. activités agricoles comme le défrichement, le travail du sol et la plantation de cultures, le développement industriel ou résidentiel, la construction d'infrastructures telles qu'une nouvelle route, un pipeline, une conduite des éoliennes) ou une exploitation forestière de haute intensité dans l'habitat essentiel (aménagement de sentiers ou autres sites pour l'enlèvement et/ou l'empilage de grumes).
Endommagement du couvert forestier ou de la végétation de sous-étage, évaporation accrue menant à l'assèchement du sol ou à sa compaction (ce qui peut nuire à l'établissement de nouveaux mûriers rouges)Exploitation forestière - enlèvement des arbres dans l'habitat essentiel selon des pratiques non conformes aux normes d'exploitation forestière écologique (p. ex. Forest Stewardship Council, 2004). Des exemples d'activités forestières susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel comprennent la coupe à blanc, l'écrémage et les coupes à diamètre limite.
Modification des réseaux de drainage, de l'écoulement des eaux souterraines, des degrés d'humidité du sol dans l'habitat essentielDrainage d'une propriété (p. ex. à des fins de développement agricole, industriel ou résidentiel) dans l'habitat essentiel ou à proximité
Modification de la végétation forestière entraînant une hausse de l'hybridation avec des mûriers blancs ou des mûriers hybrides et production réduite de graines de mûrier rouge purPlantation intentionnelle de mûriers blancs dans l'habitat essentiel
Accroissement de l'ombre ou modification du couvert forestier ou de la végétation de sous-étage, ce qui crée de la concurrence avec les semis ou les gaules de mûrier rougePlantation intentionnelle d'espèces non indigènes dans l'habitat essentiel
Perturbation du sol (qui peut entraîner une augmentation des plantes exotiques) et/ou la destruction de la végétationVandalisme ou véhicules hors route dans l'habitat essentiel


7.2 Calendrier des études visant l'identification de l'habitat essentiel

Le tableau 5 décrit les travaux additionnels nécessaires pour mieux définir les objectifs liés aux populations et à leur répartition et déterminer s'il faut modifier la description de l'habitat essentiel pour appuyer ces objectifs de rétablissement.

Tableau 5 : Calendrier des études visant l'identification de l'habitat essentiel

Description des recherchesRésultats attendusÉchéancier estimé, à compter du dépôt du programme de rétablissement définitif
Confirmer l'état des populations de mûrier rouge et d'arbres en particulier, au besoin.Mise à jour de l'information sur la taille des populations de mûrier rouge et la présence ou l'absence d'arbres.3 ans
Chercher dans les habitats convenables (escarpement du Niagara, terres de l'Université Brock, comté d'Essex, lieux historiques, etc.) pour y trouver des mûriers rouges non encore recensés.Amélioration des connaissances sur la répartition et l'abondance actuelles.4 ans
Procéder à des relevés de la CET des populations existantes de mûrier rouge.Identification des communautés végétales dans les zones entourant les arbres actuels, vérifiées au sol et cartographiées dans la mesure du possible pour tous les sites existants qui contribuent aux définitions de l'habitat essentiel.4 ans
Confirmer la pureté génétique des arbres reconnus comme des mûriers rouges.Confirmation de la pureté génétique des arbres déjà identifiés à l'aide des caractéristiques morphologiques et distinguer les véritables mûriers rouges de l'espèce M. murrayana afin de confirmer quels individus doivent voir leur habitat essentiel être protégé.5 ans
Modéliser, identifier et délimiter l'habitat essentiel.Précision des objectifs liés aux populations et à la répartition d'après l'information qui précède. Description de l'habitat optimal et modifications à y apporter pour appuyer les objectifs liés aux populations et à la répartition du mûrier rouge au Canada, au besoin.6 ans

12 Une communauté est un niveau structurel, dans le système de classification écologique des terres, qui regroupe les communautés végétales d'après des modèles et des processus écologiques semblables, géneralisés.
13 Les forêts ont un couvert forestier supérieur à 60 %.
14 Les boisés ont un couvert forestier supérieur à 35 %, mais inférieur ou égal à 60 %.
15 Les talus d'éboulis sont des pentes constituées de fragments ou de blocs au pied des falaises où des débris rocheux représentent plus de 50 % de la surface du substrat et où la profondeur moyenne de ce dernier est inférieure à 15 cm.
16 Un polygone convexe minimal est la plus petite forme dessinée avec des segments droits qui entourent tous les segments en ligne droite qui peuvent être tirées entre deux points, quels qu'ils soient (dans ce cas, les mûriers rouges avec leur zone d'enracinement de 15 m). Pour avoir une idée, imaginez un élastique entourant un groupe de chevilles sur une planchette de jeu.