Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Red Mulberry (Morus rubra) in Canada

8. Additional Information Requirements

Information gaps still exist and need to be filled in order to meet the population and distribution objectives set out in this recovery strategy. These gaps include:

  • Census Surveys and Population Information:Searches need to continue for as yet undocumented trees, recording new distribution, abundance, demography, health, genetic variation, habitat, threats, and trends. Updates are needed for many known populations.
  • Habitat Requirements: The habitat of Red Mulberry needs to be fully characterized, including a comparison of habitats in the two regions of its occurrence.
  • Hybridization Research: An expansion of the screening of trees for hybrid status is needed. In addition, it is imperative that White Mulberry removal and Red Mulberry enhancement trials, past, present and future, be monitored to evaluate the effect on Red Mulberry recruitment and community response to tree removal so that adaptive management can take place.
  • Disease and Causative Stress Factors: Whether the attack of opportunistic pathogens is as a result of stress from drought, low soil fertility, and/or poor canopy position and the severity of those threat(s) needs to be confirmed.
  • Pollination: Pollination distances for Red, White, and hybrid Mulberry need to be determined to inform hybrid and White Mulberry management.
  • Population Viability Analysis: Information (sex, fecundity, seed predation, germination, seed dispersion, survivorship, recruitment, dispersal) needs to be gathered to complete a population viability analysis17.
  • Transplantation: Factors that will increase the success of Red Mulberry establishment (e.g. seeds sown in the field vs. the use of older transplants) need to be determined.

17 In a population viability analysis, demographic information (age or size specific survival and reproductive probabilities) are collected and incorporated into models or simulations with the intent of projecting future populations and estimating the likelihood of extinction or persistence.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du mûrier rouge (Morus rubra) au Canada

8. Renseignements additionnels nécessaires

Les connaissances actuelles sont encore insuffisantes, et il faut corriger la situation pour pouvoir atteindre les objectifs liés aux populations et à la répartition décrits dans le présent programme de rétablissement. Voici la description des lacunes à combler :

  • Recensements et renseignements sur les populations : Il faut continuer de chercher les arbres qui n'ont pas encore été recensés, consigner la nouvelle répartition, l'abondance, les données démographiques, l'état de santé, les variations génétiques, l'habitat, les menaces et les tendances. Des mises à jour sont nécessaires pour un grand nombre des populations connues.
  • Besoins des habitats : L'habitat du mûrier rouge doit être entièrement décrit, y compris une comparaison des habitats dans les deux régions de son occurrence.
  • Recherche sur l'hybridation : Il faut resserrer les vérifications pour repérer les mûriers hybrides. De plus, il est impératif de surveiller l'enlèvement des mûriers blancs et les essais de renforcement du mûrier rouge, passés, présents et futurs, pour en évaluer l'effet sur le recrutement et voir comment l'environnement réagit à l'enlèvement des arbres et ainsi gérer de manière adaptative.
  • Maladies et facteurs de stress de causalité : Il faut confirmer si l'attaque d'agents pathogènes opportunistes résulte du stress causé par la sécheresse, la faible fertilité du sol et/ou la mauvaise position du couvert supérieur, et mesurer la gravité de ces menaces.
  • Pollinisation : Il faut connaître les distances de pollinisation des mûriers rouges, des mûriers blancs et des mûriers hybrides pour mieux gérer le mûrier blanc et le mûrier hybride.
  • Analyse de la viabilité des populations : Il faut recueillir de l'information (sexe, fécondité, prédation des graines, germination, dispersion des graines, survie, recrutement, dispersion) pour analyser la viabilité des populations17.
  • Repiquage : Il faut déterminer les facteurs qui accroîtront la réussite de l'établissement du mûrier rouge (p. ex. les graines plantées en plein champ par opposition à l'utilisation de vieux plants repiqués).

17 Dans une analyse de la viabilité des populations, les renseignements démographiques (probabilités de survie et de reproduction selon l'âge ou la taille) sont recueillis et intégrés à des modèles ou à des simulations permettant de projeter les populations futures et d'estimer la probabilité de disparition ou de pérennité.