Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Red Mulberry (Morus rubra) in Canada

3. Description of the Species and its Needs

3.1 Species Description

Red Mulberry is a dioecious1, although sometimes monoecious2 understory tree that typically reaches a height of 6 to 18 m (Ambrose 1987). The flowers are wind-pollinated, yellowish to reddish-green catkins3 that bloom in early spring (Ambrose 1987). Red Mulberry trees produce a moderate quantity of deep, red-coloured fruit that mature yearly in mid to late July (Ambrose 1987). The large, heart-shaped leaves are serrate4, long tipped, rough, and hairy and may have one to three lobes. Red Mulberry can be difficult to distinguish from White Mulberry (M. alba) and their hybrids (Ambrose 1987, 1999). Field guides that are representative of Red Mulberry before the introduction of White Mulberry in North America include: Peattie (1950), Braun (1961), Harlow and Harrar (1969) and Tomlinson (1980).

3.2 Species Needs

Across its North American range, the best site conditions for Red Mulberry are found in moist, sheltered coves near streams (Martin et al. 1961). In Canada, the species is native to the Carolinian Life Zone in Ontario. There, it occurs in fresh (damp) to moist, well-drained, forested habitats, including floodplains, bottomlands, the slopes and ravines along the southern portion of the Niagara escarpment and in swales5 on some western Lake Erie sand spits (Ambrose 1999). It occurs on sandy soils in the Essex-Chatham-Kent area and on limestone-based, loamy soils on the Niagara Peninsula (Ambrose 1999). While moderately shade tolerant, forest openings of exposed mineral soil, free of competition, appear to promote better recruitment (Ambrose 1999). Seedlings are sensitive to the heat of summer (Ambrose 1987).

As a wind pollinated species, groupings of trees within the pollen dispersal range are important to ensure the production of sufficient, viable seeds for colonization of new sites. Birds, and possibly small mammals, are important dispersal agents of Red Mulberry fruit (Ambrose 1987).

1 Dioecious plants have male and female flowers on separate plants.
2 Monoecious plants have male and female flowers on the same plant.
3 A catkin is a slender, often drooping, cylindrical flower cluster whose petals are absent or difficult to see.
4 Serrate refers to teeth on a leaf that are notched like a saw and point forward.
5 A swale is a long, narrow, shallow depression, often running parallel to a shoreline, which typically remains moister than bordering ridges of higher land.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du mûrier rouge (Morus rubra) au Canada

3. Description de l'espèce et de ses besoins

3.1 Description de l'espèce

Le mûrier rouge est un arbre de l'étage inférieur dioïque1, bien que parfois monoïque2, qui atteint le plus souvent une hauteur de 6 à 18 m (Ambrose, 1987). Les fleurs sont anémophiles, des chatons3 de couleur jaune rouge vert qui fleurissent au début du printemps (Ambrose, 1987). Les mûriers produisent une quantité moyenne de fruits de couleur rouge profond qui viennent annuellement à maturité du milieu à la fin juillet (Ambrose, 1987). Les grandes feuilles en forme de cœur sont dentelées4 à longue pointe, rugueuses et duveteuses et peuvent avoir d'un à trois lobes. Le mûrier rouge peut être difficile à distinguer du mûrier blanc (M. alba) et de leurs hybrides (Ambrose, 1987, 1999). Parmi les guides de poche qui représentent le mûrier rouge avant l'introduction du mûrier blanc en Amérique du Nord, mentionnons Peattie (1950), Braun (1961), Harlow et Harrar (1969) et Tomlinson (1980).

3.2 Besoins de l'espèce

Dans son aire de répartition nord américaine, le mûrier rouge vit dans les meilleures conditions lorsqu'il se trouve dans des anses humides protégées, à proximité de cours d'eau (Martin et coll., 1961). Au Canada, l'espèce est indigène dans la zone biologique carolinienne située en Ontario. Elle s'y trouve dans les habitats frais à humides, bien drainés et boisés, dont les plaines d'inondation, les bas fonds, les pentes et les ravins du versant sud de l'escarpement du Niagara et dans les baissières5 et certaines sablières à l'ouest du lac Érié (Ambrose, 1999). On observe également des mûriers rouges sur les sols sablonneux de la région d'Essex Chatham Kent et les sols calcaires loameux dans la péninsule Niagara (Ambrose, 1999). Le mûrier rouge tolère modérément l'ombre, mais les ouvertures dans les forêts au sol minéral exposé, où la concurrence est inexistante, semblent favoriser un meilleur recrutement (Ambrose, 1999). Les semis sont sensibles à la chaleur estivale (Ambrose, 1987).

Comme l'espèce est anémophile, les regroupements d'arbres dans l'aire de dispersion du pollen sont importants pour garantir la production de graines en nombre suffisant et viable pour la colonisation de nouveaux sites. Les oiseaux, et peut être les petits mammifères, sont d'importants agents de dispersion du fruit du mûrier rouge (Ambrose, 1987).

1 Les plantes dioïques ont des fleurs mâles et des fleurs femelles sur des pieds distincts.
2 Les plantes monoïques ont des fleurs mâles et femelles réunies sur le même pied.
3 Un chaton est un épi constitué de fleurs cylindriques dont les pétales souvent tombants sont inexistants ou difficiles à voir.
4 Ce mot renvoit aux pointes en forme de dents qui ressemblent à celles d'une scie et qui pointent vers le haut.
5 Une baissière est une longue dépression étroite et peu profonde qui suit souvent un rivage et qui demeure habituellement plus humide que les crêtes en bordure des hautes terres.