Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Red Mulberry (Morus rubra) in Canada

4. Threats

Populations of Red Mulberry in Canada face four significant threats listed in order of importance: hybridization; habitat loss and fragmentation, impacts from nesting Double-crested Cormorants, and disease and the stress factors that make trees susceptible. Threats posed by other exotic species and grazing by White-tailed Deer and snails are of lesser concern. Table 1 classifies each threat.

Table 1: Threat Classification

ThreatExtentCausal CertaintyOccurrenceFrequencySeverityOverall Level of Concern
HybridizationWidespreadHighCurrentContinuousHighHigh
Habitat Loss and FragmentationWidespreadHighCurrentContinuousHighHigh
Nesting Double-crested CormorantsLocalizedHighCurrentContinuousHighHigh
Disease & Causative Stress FactorsWidespreadHighCurrentContinuousMediumMedium
Other Exotic SpeciesWidespreadLowCurrentContinuousUnknownLow
HerbivoryUnknownLowUnknownUnknownUnknownLow


4.1 Hybridization

Hybridization with White Mulberry is the most significant, population level threat to Red Mulberry in Canada. White Mulberry was introduced from eastern Asia for the silkworm industry. It has naturalized across eastern North America and freely crossbreeds with Red Mulberry (Farrar 1995, Waldron 2003). Almost all Red Mulberry populations in Canada occur in communities mixed with White Mulberry; with hybrids between the two species common (Ambrose 1999). Burgess (2004a, Burgess et al. 2005) found that 53.7 % of the Red Mulberry trees in six of the core populations (five or more individuals less than 1 km away from at least one other individual) in southern Ontario were hybrids. Of those hybrids, approximately 67% were genetically more similar to White Mulberry than Red. Based on an analysis of the pollen pool in two different locations, Red Mulberry pollen production per tree is similar to that of hybrid and White Mulberry trees. However, because White and hybrid Mulberry trees are more common than their native counterpart, only 8% of the total mulberry pollen rain comes from the native Red Mulberry (Burgess et al. 2008b). Selective removal of White and hybrid mulberry trees in a 50 m diameter around reproductive, female Red Mulberry trees resulted in a 14% increase in pure Red Mulberry seed produced by those individuals (Burgess et al. 2008b). This shows that Red Mulberry is experiencing a strong mating disadvantage associated with its low abundance. The reduction in Red Mulberry offspring was found to be largely attributable to crossbreeding with hybrid trees.

From observations at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve, on Pelee Island, where frequent tree blow-downs have occurred, it appears that White and hybrid Mulberry trees establish naturally at a high rate while Red Mulberry seedlings are rarely encountered (K. S. Burgess pers. comm.). Transplant experiments show that seedling and juvenile survival and fitness were much higher for White Mulberry and their hybrids than Red Mulberry in all environments and that no habitat differentiation occurred between Red, White, and hybrid Mulberry trees that could shelter Red Mulberry from the effects of hybridization (Burgess and Husband 2006). In addition, offspring from female White Mulberry trees were more likely to survive than those from female Red Mulberry trees (Burgess and Husband 2004).

The large number of White Mulberry trees and hybrids across the landscape, and the genetic makeup of the hybrids, suggest that the Red Mulberry is being genetically assimilated by White Mulberry. Given the negative effect that hybridization has on mating and establishment in Red Mulberry (Burgess 2004a), it is likely that, without recovery action, hybridization may result in the extirpation of pure Red Mulberry in Canada. Furthermore, habitat disturbance promotes hybridization with rare taxa (Wolf et al. 2001).

4.2 Habitat Loss and Fragmentation

Loss of suitable habitat poses a threat to Red Mulberry of only slightly lesser magnitude to that of hybridization. Land clearing for agriculture, industry, urban development, and utility and transportation corridors has greatly reduced the amount of natural wooded habitat in Carolinian Life Zone of southwestern Ontario. In some areas within the historical range of Red Mulberry, less than 3% forest cover remains, much of which is highly fragmented (Larson et al. 1999). The historical range of Red Mulberry in Canada once extended through eastern Toronto to Whitby, but these sites have disappeared (Figure 2), likely due to land clearing and habitat degradation (Ambrose 1987). Two populations in the Niagara Region have been lost to construction in the last 20 years (G. Meyers pers. comm. 1985), and others were likely impacted by valley infilling and development adjacent to what are now small populations. In addition, natural events, like the June 6, 2010 Harrow to Leamington tornado that passed near one of the Essex County woodlands containing a small Red Mulberry population, have the potential to eliminate populations. The resultant increased distances between populations, particularly the smaller ones, enhances their susceptibility to natural randomly occurring events and/or anthropogenic impacts that could lead to extirpations of additional species' occurrences. Beyond clear cutting, other high intensity forestry practices (high grading or diameter limit cuts) can damage vegetation, cause soil compaction which may result in reduced Red Mulberry establishment, cause soil disturbance which may promote increased establishment of exotic plants and increase evaporation resulting in decreased soil moisture levels thereby increasing drought-related stress on individual trees.

4.3 Nesting Double-crested Cormorants

Ontario's Double-crested Cormorant (Phalocrocorax auritus) population has increased dramatically over the past 30 years. Large colonies of nesting cormorants are threatening the long-term persistence of Red Mulberry populations and their habitat on Middle Island (10 trees in 2002/3 [North-South Environmental Inc. 2004]) and East Sister Island (five trees [S. Dobbyn unpub. data 2009, NHIC unpub. data 2010]) in the western basin of Lake Erie. Research has shown that cormorants impact trees in their breeding locations by physically breaking branches, stripping foliage for nesting material (Korfanty et al. 1999) and through the deposition of excrement on trees, leaves, and soil. The latter can affect photosynthesis as well as soil chemistry (Hobara et al. 2001, Hebert et al. 2005).

Since 2000, an average of 4 897 nests have been recorded on Middle Island, while an average of 4 752 have been recorded on East Sister Island during the same period (Parks Canada unpub. data). Double-crested Cormorant population estimates for the islands, 24 485 and 23 760 respectively, are based on an average of 2.5 adults (includes non-breeding individuals loafing around each island) and 2.5 chicks per nest (Hatch and Weseloh 1999; T. Dobbie pers. comm. 2010). On Middle Island, cormorant nests have been found in Red Mulberry trees as well as in adjacent trees, with all but one Red Mulberry tree being negatively impacted. One Middle Island tree appears to be dead and another nearly so (T. Dobbie pers. comm. 2010). This population, in particular, is threatened with extirpation. On East Sister Island, the population may be less impacted as three of five trees are in areas of low to moderate cormorant nesting while another, in an area of more extreme impacts, appears to be faring well due to its location in a patch of lower trees and shrubs not yet used for nesting by cormorants (S. Dobbyn pers. comm. 2010).

4.4 Disease and Causative Stress Factors

Red Mulberry is known to suffer from twig blight, twig dieback, cankers, and root rot (Ambrose et al. 1998). Health assessments of four populations of Red Mulberry indicate that some populations are in very poor health, suffering population-level declines described as a "gradual, general deterioration" (McLaughlin and Greifenhagen 2002; Spisani et al. 2004). The former study concluded that no single pathogen was responsible for the disease symptoms. Rather, several opportunistic, canker-causing pathogens and two opportunistic root disease pathogens affected the diseased trees. These pathogens are not known to infect healthy tissues, but can successfully cause damage to stressed and weakened hosts. Probable factors causing such stress include drought, low soil fertility and/or poor or suppressed canopy position. The Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve and Point Pelee National Park populations were not found to be as healthy as the one at Rondeau Provincial Park due to a lower water table and less developed Red Mulberry tree canopies as a result of competition with neighbouring trees. The Royal Botanical Gardens population was found to have a broad range of health conditions based on more fertile and moist soils, but often suppressed canopy position (McLaughlin and Greifenhagen 2002).

Other research indicates that the species is highly sensitive to air pollution, with high levels likely making the species more susceptible to disease (Little 1995). In West Virginia, ozone damage to Red Mulberry leaves is believed to increase susceptibility to an opportunistic twig canker disease (Nectria cinnabarina) leading to the death of whole trees (O. Loucks pers. comm. 1996). Areas of reduced air quality may also be impacting populations through nitrogen enrichment, which has been identified to have a serious impact on natural grasslands (Wedin 1992). Similarly, soil enrichment from agricultural pollution may negatively impact soil microbes, which could make Red Mulberry habitats and populations more susceptible to White Mulberry colonization and hybridization. Studies of mycorrhizal6 functioning on other species have established a negative impact of nitrogen deposition, causing mycorrhizae to become more parasitic7 on plants rather than having the usual mutualistic8 relationships (Allen 1991). Given that many of these stress factors can, and do, occur together, they may have cumulative stress effects on Red Mulberry, increasing susceptibility to attack by opportunistic pathogens, leading to reductions in population size and potential extirpations.

4.5 Other Threats

The following are either unconfirmed threats or threats considered to be of low concern relative to the four primary threats listed above.

4.5.1 Other Exotic Species

Other invasive species, beyond White Mulberry, may negatively impact Red Mulberry or/and its habitat. Several introduced insect species are increasing their distribution across southern Ontario. Emerald Ash Borer (Agrilus planipennis) and Asian Long-horned Beetle (Anoplophora glabripennis) are two insects of high concern due to their invasive nature and ability to infest and kill healthy trees. The Emerald Ash Borer primarily targets ash species while the Asian Long-horned Beetle attacks a variety of tree species. The expansion of either or both insect ranges could alter forest composition and Red Mulberry habitat, with unknown impacts to Red Mulberry. Invasive plant species, such as European and Glossy Buckthorn (Rhamnus cathartica and R. frangula), Norway Maple (Acer platanoides), Tree of Heaven (Ailanthus altissima), European Alder (Alnus glutinosa), Garlic Mustard (Alliaria petiolata), and Dog-strangling Vine (Vincetoxicum nigrum), may pose a threat to mature Red Mulberry trees or their seedlings by aggressively competing for light, producing chemicals toxic to other plants or inhibiting mycorrhizal activity (Vaughn and Berhow 1999).

4.5.2 Herbivory

The fruit of Red Mulberry is an attractive food source of birds and small mammals, which, if eaten and dispersed before it is fully mature, may result in lower regeneration success (Johnson and Lyon 1976). High populations of gastropods can hinder seedling growth. Grazing by eight species of native snails and slugs was observed at Point Pelee National Park (T. Pearce pers. comm. 1992) to effectively eliminate seedlings (Ambrose 1991). Gastropod impacts at other sites are unknown. In areas of high deer populations, browsing of Red Mulberry has been observed and is a further hindrance to the establishment of new seedlings (Ambrose 1993, Thompson 2002b).

6 Mycorrhizal refers to a close, and mutually beneficial, association between a fungus and the roots of a tree in which the fungus is wrapped tightly around the tree rootlets or actually penetrates the cells of the tree roots.
7 A parasitic animal or plant lives in or on another plant or animal, obtaining the nourishment it needs from this individual without benefitting or harming the other plant or animal.
8 Mutualistic relationships refer to the way in which two different species interact in a way that benefits both.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du mûrier rouge (Morus rubra) au Canada

4. Menaces

Les populations de mûrier rouge au Canada sont exposées à quatre menaces énumérées par ordre d'importance : l'hybridation; la perte et la fragmentation de l'habitat; les effets de la nidification des cormorans à aigrettes; les maladies et les facteurs de stress qui rendent les arbres vulnérables. Les menaces posées par d'autres espèces exotiques et le broutage du cerf de Virginie et des escargots sont moins préoccupantes. Le tableau 1 classifie chacune des menaces.

Tableau 1 : Classification des menaces

MenaceAmpleurCertitude causaleOccurrenceFréquenceGravitéDegré général de préoccupa-tion
HybridationRépandueÉlevéeActuelleContinueÉlevéeÉlevé
Perte et fragmentation de l'habitatRépandueÉlevéeActuelleContinueÉlevéeÉlevé
Nidification des cormorans à aigrettesLocaliséeÉlevéeActuelleContinueÉlevéeÉlevé
Maladies et facteurs de stress de causalitéRépandueÉlevéeActuelleContinueMoyenneMoyen
Autres espèces exotiquesRépandueFaibleActuelleContinueInconnueFaible
Broutage des herbivoresInconnueFaibleInconnueInconnueInconnueFaible


4.1 Hybridation

L'hybridation avec le mûrier blanc est la plus importante menace pour les populations de mûrier rouge au Canada. Le mûrier blanc vient de l'Asie orientale et a été introduit pour les besoins de la sériciculture. L'espèce s'est acclimatée partout dans l'Est de l'Amérique du Nord et s'hybride naturellement avec le mûrier rouge (Farrar, 1995; Waldron, 2003). Presque toutes les populations de mûrier rouge au Canada se trouvent dans des communautés mélangées avec le mûrier blanc, et les hybrides des deux espèces sont courants (Ambrose, 1999). Burgess (2004a; Burgess et coll., 2005) a constaté que 53,7 % des mûriers rouges dans six des populations de base (cinq individus ou plus à moins d'un kilomètre d'au moins un autre individu) au sud de l'Ontario étaient des hybrides. De ce nombre, environ 67 % étaient génétiquement plus près du mûrier blanc que du mûrier rouge. D'après une analyse du pollen à deux endroits différents, la production de pollen du mûrier rouge par arbre est semblable à celle du mûrier hybride et du mûrier blanc. Toutefois, comme le mûrier blanc et le mûrier hybride sont plus courants que leur équivalent indigène, seulement 8 % de toute la pluie de pollen de mûrier vient du mûrier rouge indigène (Burgess et coll., 2008b). L'enlèvement sélectif des mûriers blancs et des mûriers hybrides dans un diamètre de 50 m autour des mûriers rouges femelles reproducteurs a donné lieu à une augmentation de 14 % des graines pures de mûrier rouge produites par ces arbres (Burgess et coll., 2008b). Cette expérience montre que le mûrier rouge est fortement défavorisé sur le plan de la reproduction parce qu'il est peu abondant. On a observé que la diminution de jeunes mûriers rouges s'explique en grande partie par le croisement avec des individus hybrides.

D'après des observations faites dans la réserve naturelle provinciale Fish Point, dans l'île Pelée, où il y a souvent des chablis, il semble que les mûriers blancs et les mûriers hybrides s'établissent naturellement à un rythme élevé, tandis que les semis de mûrier rouge sont rares (comm. pers. de K.S. Burgess). Lors d'expériences de repiquage, la survie des semis et des jeunes arbres et leur état se sont avérés de loin supérieurs pour les mûriers blancs et leurs hybrides, comparativement au mûrier rouge, et ce, dans tous les environnements, et il ne s'est produit aucune différenciation entre les habitats du mûrier rouge, du mûrier blanc et des mûriers hybrides, différenciation qui aurait pu protéger le mûrier rouge des effets de l'hybridation (Burgess et Husband, 2006). De plus, les descendants des mûriers blancs femelles étaient plus susceptibles de survivre que ceux des mûriers rouges (Burgess et Husband, 2004).

Le grand nombre de mûriers blancs et de mûriers hybrides dans le paysage et la composition génétique des hybrides donnent à penser que le mûrier rouge est sur le point d'être assimilé, sur le plan génétique, par le mûrier blanc. Compte tenu de l'effet néfaste de l'hybridation sur la reproduction et l'établissement du mûrier rouge (Burgess, 2004a), il est probable que sans mesure de rétablissement, l'hybridation entraînera la disparition du mûrier rouge pure race au Canada. La perturbation de l'habitat favorise en outre l'hybridation avec des taxons rares (Wolf et coll., 2001).

4.2 Perte et fragmentation de l'habitat

La perte d'un habitat convenable menace le mûrier rouge presque autant que l'hybridation. Le défrichement pour l'agriculture, l'industrie, le développement urbain et les corridors des services publics et de transport a grandement réduit l'étendue de l'habitat boisé naturel dans la zone biologique carolinienne du sud ouest de l'Ontario. Dans certains secteurs de l'aire de répartition historique du mûrier rouge, il reste moins de 3 % de couvert forestier, et une grande partie en est très fragmentée (Larson et coll., 1999). L'aire de répartition historique du mûrier rouge au Canada s'est déjà étendue jusqu'à l'est de Toronto, à Whitby, mais ces sites ont disparu (figure 2), probablement en raison du défrichement et de la dégradation de l'habitat (Ambrose, 1987). Dans la région du Niagara, deux populations ont disparu au cours des 20 dernières années en raison de la construction (comm. pers. de G. Meyers, 1985) et d'autres ont probablement souffert du remplissage de la vallée et du développement à proximité de populations maintenant réduites. Les événements naturels comme la tornade du 6 juin 2010 entre Harrow et Leamington, qui est passée à proximité de l'un des boisés du comté d'Essex où se trouve une petite population de mûrier rouge, peuvent faire disparaître des populations. Le fait que la distance entre les populations s'accroît par la suite, particulièrement entre les populations les moins nombreuses, rend celles-ci plus vulnérables aux événements naturels ponctuels et/ou aux incidences anthropiques, ce qui pourrait entraîner la disparition d'occurrences additionnelles de l'espèce. Outre les coupes à blanc, d'autres pratiques forestières drastiques (coupe d'écrémage ou à diamètre limite) peuvent endommager la végétation, entraîner la compaction du sol (ce qui peut nuire à l'établissement du mûrier rouge) et perturber le sol (ce qui peut favoriser l'établissement de plantes exotiques et l'évaporation), entraînant ainsi une diminution des niveaux d'humidité du sol et causant aux arbres un stress apparenté à la sécheresse.

4.3 Nidification des cormorans à aigrettes

La population ontarienne de cormorans à aigrettes (Phalocrocorax auritus) a augmenté de manière spectaculaire au cours des 30 dernières années. De grandes colonies de cormorans nicheurs menacent la pérennité des populations de mûrier rouge et leur habitat dans l'île Middle (10 arbres en 2002 2003 [North South Environmental Inc., 2004]) et l'île Sister Est (cinq arbres [S. Dobbyn, données inédites, 2009; CIPN, données inédites, 2010]) dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié. Les recherches ont montré que les cormorans nuisent aux arbres aux endroits où ils se reproduisent parce qu'ils brisent des branches et enlèvent des feuilles pour bâtir leur nid (Korfanty et coll., 1999), et que leurs excréments tombent sur les arbres, les feuilles et le sol. Ces dépôts peuvent nuire à la photosynthèse et modifier la chimie du sol (Hobara et coll., 2001; Hebert et coll., 2005).

Depuis 2000, 4 897 nids ont été répertoriés en moyenne dans l'île Middle, comparativement à 4 752 dans l'île Sister Est (Parcs Canada, données inédites). Les estimations des populations de cormorans à aigrettes dans les îles, respectivement 24 485 et 23 760, sont fondées sur une moyenne de 2,5 adultes (y compris les individus non reproducteurs qui fréquentent chacune des îles) et 2,5 oisillons par nid (Hatch et Weseloh, 1999; comm. pers. de T. Dobbie, 2010). Dans l'île Middle, des nids de cormoran ont été trouvés dans des mûriers rouges, de même que dans les arbres voisins, et tous sauf un mûrier rouge avaient été endommagés. Un arbre dans l'île Middle semblait mort et un autre l'était presque aussi (comm. pers. de T. Dobbie, 2010). Cette population, en particulier, est menacée de disparition. Dans l'île Sister Est, la population peut avoir subi moins de dommages, car trois des cinq arbres se trouvent dans des endroits où le cormoran niche peu ou moyennement tandis qu'une autre population, située dans une aire où les effets sont plus prononcés, semble en bon état parce qu'elle se trouve dans un regroupement d'arbres et d'arbustes de faible hauteur que les cormorans n'ont pas encore utilisés pour nicher (comm. pers. de S. Dobbyn, 2010).

4.4 Maladies et facteurs de stress de causalité

On sait que le mûrier rouge est atteint de la brûlure des rameaux, du dépérissement des rameaux, du chancre des arbres et du pourridié (Ambrose et coll., 1998). Les évaluations de la santé de quatre populations de mûrier rouge indiquent que certaines sont en très mauvais état, atteintes de déclin décrit comme une « détérioration générale graduelle » (McLaughlin et Greifenhagen, 2002; Spisani et coll., 2004). L'étude précédente a conclu qu'il n'y avait pas qu'un seul agent pathogène responsable des symptômes de maladie. Plusieurs agents opportunistes responsables du chancre et deux agents pathogènes opportunistes qui s'attaquent aux racines attaquaient les arbres malades. Ces agents pathogènes n'infectent pas les tissus sains, à ce que l'on sait, mais peuvent causer des dommages aux hôtes soumis à des stress et affaiblis. Ces stress sont probablement causés par des facteurs tels que la sécheresse, la faible fertilité du sol, la mauvaise position du couvert supérieur et/ou l'absence d'un tel couvert. Les populations de la réserve naturelle provinciale Fish Point et du parc national de la Pointe Pelée n'étaient pas en aussi bonne santé que celles du parc provincial Rondeau en raison du bas niveau de la nappe phréatique. Le couvert du mûrier rouge y était également moins développé à cause de la concurrence des arbres voisins. L'état de santé de la population des Jardins botaniques royaux varie beaucoup plus, selon la fertilité et l'humidité supérieures des sols, mais souvent en raison de l'emplacement exempt de couvert (McLaughlin et Greifenhagen, 2002).

Selon d'autres recherches, l'espèce est très sensible à la pollution atmosphérique, les taux très élevés la rendant probablement plus vulnérable à la maladie (Little, 1995). En Virginie occidentale, les dommages causés par l'ozone aux feuilles de mûrier rouge pourraient accroître la vulnérabilité à une maladie opportuniste du chancre des rameaux (Nectria cinnabarina), ce qui peut entraîner la mort d'arbres entiers (comm. pers. d'O. Loucks, 1996). Dans les endroits où la qualité de l'air est moindre, l'enrichissement de l'azote, qui a de profonds effets sur les prairies naturelles, peut également influencer les populations (Wedin, 1992). De même, l'enrichissement du sol en raison de la pollution agricole peut nuire aux microbes qui y vivent, ce qui pourrait rendre les habitats et la population de mûrier rouge plus vulnérables à la colonisation du mûrier blanc et à l'hybridation. Les études du fonctionnement mycorhizien6 sur d'autres espèces ont révélé les effets néfastes du dépôt d'azote, ce qui rend la mycorhize davantage parasitaire7 sur les plantes, elle qui entretient habituellement des liens de cohabitation bénéfiques8 (Allen, 1991). Compte tenu qu'un grand nombre de ces facteurs de stress peuvent agir simultanément - ce qu'ils font d'ailleurs -, ils peuvent avoir des effets cumulatifs sur le mûrier rouge, accroître sa vulnérabilité aux attaques des agents pathogènes opportunistes, ce qui entraîne le déclin des populations et d'éventuelles disparitions.

4.5 Autres menaces

Les paragraphes qui suivent décrivent des menaces non confirmées ou moins préoccupantes par rapport aux quatre principales décrites ci dessus.

4.5.1 Autres espèces exotiques

D'autres espèces envahissantes, outre le mûrier blanc, peuvent nuire au mûrier rouge et/ou à son habitat. Plusieurs espèces d'insectes introduites étendent leur aire de répartition dans le Sud de l'Ontario. L'agrile du frêne (Agrilus planipennis) et le longicorne asiatique (Anoplophora glabripennis) sont deux insectes très préoccupants en raison de leur nature envahissante et de leur capacité de nuire à des arbres sains et de les tuer. L'agrile du frêne cible en particulier les espèces de frêne tandis que le longicorne asiatique attaque diverses espèces ligneuses. L'expansion des aires de répartition de l'un ou l'autre de ces insectes ou des deux peut modifier la composition des forêts et l'habitat du mûrier rouge, et on ne connaît pas les répercussions qui pourraient s'ensuivre pour le mûrier rouge. Les espèces végétales envahissantes, par exemple le nerprun cathartique et le nerprun bourdaine (Rhamnus cathartica et R. frangula), l'érable plane (Acer platanoides), l'ailante glanduleux (Ailanthus altissima), l'aulne glutineux (Alnus glutinosa), l'alliaire officinale (Alliaria petiolata) et le dompte venin de Russie (Vincetoxicum nigrum) peuvent représenter une menace pour les mûriers rouges matures et leurs semis en les concurrençant férocement pour la lumière, produisant des produits chimiques toxiques pour les autres plantes ou en nuisant à l'activité mycorhizienne (Vaughn et Berhow, 1999).

4.5.2 Broutage des herbivores

Le fruit du mûrier rouge est une source de nourriture attrayante pour les oiseaux et les petits mammifères qui, s'il est mangé et dispersé avant d'arriver à pleine maturité peut nuire à la réussite de la régénération (Johnson et Lyon, 1976). De grandes populations de gastropodes peuvent nuire à la croissance des semis. On a observé le broutage de huit espèces d'escargots et de limaces indigènes dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée (comm. pers. de T. Pearce, 1992), activité ayant littéralement détruit les semis (Ambrose, 1991). On ne connaît pas l'incidence des gastropodes ailleurs. On a observé le broutage du mûrier rouge dans les régions où les populations de cerfs sont élevées, un autre frein à l'établissement des nouveaux semis (Ambrose, 1993; Thompson, 2002b).

6 La mycorhize désigne l'association étroite et mutuellement bénéfique d'un champignon et des racines d'un arbre entre lesquelles s'enroule étroitement le champignon et pénètre en fait les cellules des racines de l'arbre.
7 Un animal ou une plante parasite vit dans ou sur un autre animal ou une autre plante et se nourrit par l'intermédiaire de ce dernier ou cette dernière sans lui nuire ni lui être bénéfique.
8 Ces liens désignent la façon mutuellement bénéfique dont deux espèces interagissent.