Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Contact Information and questions

If you have questions about the Species at Risk Act or the consultation process, please feel free to contact us.

Dr. Jack Lawson

Research Scientist
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Marine Mammals Section
Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, White Hills
PO Box: PO Box 5667
St John's, Newfoundland
Canada   A1C 5X1

Telephone: (709) 772-2285

Fax:  (709) 772-4105

E-mail: lawsonj@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

In Person:  Any Fisheries and Oceans Office

Feedback Section

The government’s decision on whether or not to list the species will be based on a full description and understanding of the costs and benefits of the impacts of protection and recovery on individuals, organizations, Aboriginal Peoples, industries, and Canadian society in general.

How to use this workbook:

Please consider the questions provided below, and provide a response to any or all of the questions that interest you.  It is important that you indicate which species your comments are intended for. After you have completed the questions, please send the questions and answers only to:

Dr. Jack Lawson

Research Scientist
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Marine Mammals Section
Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre White Hills
PO Box: PO Box 5667
St John's, Newfoundland
Canada   A1C 5X1

Mail completed hard copies of the questions and answers to the address above.

Workbook answer sheets must be submitted by October 29,  2004.

Questions

Once a species is legally listed as a species of Special Concern, a management plan will need to be drafted.  Stakeholders will be asked to participate in the development of a management plan to ensure the conservation of the Harbour Porpoise.  It may evolve that management practices would be implemented that may have significant socio-economic impacts (positive or negative).  The government’s decision on whether or not to list the species will be based on a full description and understanding of the costs and benefits of the impacts on individuals, organizations, Aboriginal Peoples, industries, and Canadian society in general.   Please take some time to carefully answer the questions below and send in your answers by October 29, 2004.

Name:

Affiliation:

Species of Interest:

1.a)    Based on what you have learned about the Species at Risk Act, do you think the listing of the species of interest to you, would affect your activities?  How? 

b)       If a legal listing will affect your activities, do you see these effects as a cost or benefit to you?  In what way? 

c)       For you, would the costs or benefits of a legal listing change over time?  If so, how would they change and do you have any suggestions on how to minimize the impacts?  

2.       In order to be truly effective, the recovery of species at risk must be a cooperative process that includes organizations and individuals with knowledge of these species and the threats it faces.  How can relevant parties be included in the recovery of the species? 

3.       How can you as an individual, or your industry or organization as a group, participate in the recovery of the species?  Give examples of particular activities, if you can. 

4.       Please add any other comments or concerns (include additional sheets, if necessary). 

Please send us your comments by October 29, 2004

THANK YOU

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pour communiquer avec nous

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la Loi sur les espèces en péril ou du processus de consultation, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Jack Lawson (Ph.D.)

Chercheur scientifique
Pêches et Océans Canada
Section des mammifères marins
Centre des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, White Hills
C.P. 5667
St John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Canada   A1C 5X1

Téléphone : (709) 772-2285

Fax :  (709) 772-4105

Courriel : lawsonj@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

En personne : à n’importe quel bureau de Pêches et Océans

Partie réservée à vos commentaires

La décision que prendra le gouvernement d’inclure ou non l’espèce à la liste officielle sera fondée sur une description et une connaissance exhaustives des répercussions négatives et positives de la protection et du rétablissement de l’espèce sur les personnes, les organismes, les Premières nations, les industries et la société canadienne en général.  

Comment utiliser ce cahier

Veuillez lire les questions suivantes et répondre à celles qui vous intéressent. Il est important que vous précisiez à quelle espèce vous faites allusion dans votre réponse. Veuillez ensuite faire parvenir questions et réponses à :

Jack Lawson (Ph.D.)

Chercheur scientifique
Pêches et Océans Canada
Section des mammifères marins
Centre des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, White Hills
C.P. 5667
St John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Canada   A1C 5X1
                            

Le questionnaire rempli doit être envoyé à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessus.

Les cahiers doivent être reçus au plus tard le 29 oct 2004.

Questions

Une fois qu’une espèce figure dans la liste officielle en tant qu’espèce « préoccupante », un plan de gestion doit être établi. Les intervenants seront invités à prendre part au processus d’élaboration du plan de gestion visant la conservation du marsouin commun. Il est possible que des méthodes de gestion soient mises en œuvre qui pourraient avoir d’importantes répercussions socio-économiques (positives ou négatives). La décision que prendra le gouvernement d’inclure ou non l’espèce à la liste officielle sera fondée sur une description et une connaissance exhaustives des répercussions négatives et positives de la protection et du rétablissement de l’espèce sur les personnes, les organismes, les Premières nations, les industries et la société canadienne en général. Veuillez prendre le temps de répondre attentivement aux questions figurant ci-dessous et de nous faire parvenir vos réponses d’ici le 29 oct 2004 .   

Nom :  

Affiliation :

Espèce considérée :

1.a)    En vous fondant sur ce que vous savez de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, pensez-vous que l’ajout de l’espèce considérée à la liste officielle aura des répercussions sur vos activités? Si oui, de quelle manière?  

b)       Si l’ajout de l’espèce à la liste officielle a des répercussions sur vos activités, ces répercussions vont-elles être positives ou négatives pour vous? Précisez comment elles le seront. 

c)       Dans votre cas, les répercussions positives ou négatives de l’ajout de l’espèce à la liste évolueraient-elles avec le temps? Dans l’affirmative, comment évolueraient-elles? Avez-vous des suggestions sur la manière de réduire les effets négatifs? 

2.       Pour être véritablement efficace, le rétablissement des espèces en péril doit faire appel à la collaboration des organismes et des personnes qui connaissent ces espèces et les menaces pesant sur elles. Comment, selon vous, faire participer les parties concernées au rétablissement des espèces? 

3.        Comment, en tant que particulier ou collectivement comme industrie ou organisme, pouvez-vous participer au rétablissement de l’espèce considérée?  Si possible, citez des exemples d’interventions spécifiques.

4.        Faites-nous part ci-après de tout autre commentaire ou préoccupation  (joignez des feuilles séparées si nécessaire).

Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos commentaires d’ici le 29 oct 2004.

MERCI DE VOTRE PARTICIPATION.