Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Hotwater Physa

Species information and description

1. Background

Hotwater Physa, Physella wrighti, is a freshwater snail globally endemic to Liard River Hotsprings located in Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park, BC (Figure 1).  The snail was first collected in 1973 and taxonomically described in 1985 (Te and Clarke 1985). Over 80 hotsprings are known throughout BC, and there have been few recent surveys of the invertebrate fauna at these hotsprings (e.g. Lee and Ackerman 1998; Salter 2001 and 2003; Remigio et al. 2001; Wethington and Guralnick 2004).

image

Figure 1.  Global location of Hotwater Physa (Salter 2003).

1.1 Species Assessment Information

The Status Report and Assessment Summary for Hotwater Physa is available from the Committee on the Status for Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) Secretariat (www.cosewic.gc.ca).

Common name: Hotwater Physa

Scientific name: Physella wrighti

COSEWIC Status: Endangered April 1998.

SARA Status: Endangered June 2003.

Last Examination and Change: May 2000.  No change.

Canadian Occurrence: British Columbia (BC).

Reason for designation: Small endemic population with narrow ecological requirements occurring in an extremely restricted area subject to threats resulting from human use of hot springs pools.  Probability of extinction is high.

Status history: Last assessment based on existing status report.

1.2 Description

Hotwater Physa, Physella wrighti (Te and Clarke 1985), is a freshwater snail classified in the gastropod family Physidae (generally referred to as physids) (Pulmonata: Physidae). Hotwater Physa has a very small blackish/grey shell ranging from 3.25 – 9.1 mm. The shell is sinistrally (i.e., opening to the left) coiled with an ear-shaped aperture, an outer lip callus along its rim, a curved perimeter and a narrow elongate-ovate shape (Figure 2) (Lee and Ackerman 1998).

Figure 2a. Hotwater Physa, Physella wrighti.

Figure 2a. Hotwater Physa, Physella wrighti.

Illustration by Trent Hoover, used with permission.

 Hotwater Physa on emergent vegetation : Close viewHotwater Physa on emergent vegetation

Figure 2b and c. Hotwater Physa on emergent vegetation. Photos by Mike Rowe, used with permission.

The Hotwater Physa is currently acknowledged by the American Fisheries Society as a unique species. Te and Clarke (1985) used morphological, anatomical, cladistic and phenetic analyses to describe the species and concluded that “P. wrighti is certainly a primitive species not closely related to any other species in northwestern North American and it is virtually impossible that it could have evolved as such a distinct species since the end of the Pleistocene”, and suggested that Hotwater Physamay have been at its type locality for 100,000 years.  

Molecular systematic relationships have been completed between P. wrighti and Physella johnsoni, an endemic snail to Banff Hotsprings, Alberta.  P. johnsoni is listed as Endangered by COSEWIC.  The relationship between both P. wrighti and P. johnsoni has been examined to determine the origins of these two species and their inter-specific relationships.  Remigio et al.’s (2001) molecular data supports continued recognition of Hotwater Physa as an endemic species but suggests the species probably arose from a population isolated during the most recent glacial retreat. Further, both species are endemic to their respective locations and that P. wrighti was likely the source ancestral population from which P. johnsoni was derived (Remigio et al. 2001).

More recently, molecular evidence has been used to assess species age and relationships and this has yielded contradictory results. Wethington (2002) found fault with Remigio et al.’s (2001) study design, and concluded from molecular data of physid hotspring endemics that there is not a monophyletic hot spring physid group and that members of the closely related Physa gyrina species group includes the putative Hotwater Physa. This group can invade or survive introduction to hot water environments and can develop distinctive shells in as few as five generations (Wethington and Guralnick 2004) and so are not distinct species but habituated populations. Taylor (2003) also regards Hotwater Physa to be a synonym of P. gyrina. An authoritative decision will probably not be available until the American Fisheries Society updates the mollusc species list that currently includes Hotwater Physa as a distinct species (Turgeon et al. 1998). 

Physids are very common throughout North America and are very difficult to identify, it is possible that other species may occur within Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park. Additional Physella species endemic to hotsprings complexes in BC and western Canada have yet to be fully studied. A snail of the family Physidae is present in Deer River hotspring, which is approximately 50 km from Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park. Initial examinations by biologists determined this snail to be Physella virginia, but a genetic comparison of its relationship to P.wrighti has not been completed.

1.3 Populations and distribution

The Hotwater Physa is known globally from one location at Liard River Hotsprings complex in the Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park, BC.  The snail was initially reported from one breeding population along a 34 metre stretch of Alpha Stream, at the outlet of Alpha Pool (Figure 3) (Lee and Ackerman 1998).  This outlet is also the type locality for the species (Te and Clarke 1985; Lee and Ackerman 1998). 

The snail has since been observed to occupy additional habitats within the hotsprings complex, including Alpha and Beta Pools and the entire length of Alpha Stream (Figure 3) (Salter 2001, 2003). The area with the highest recorded density is downstream from the weir that impounds water flowing from Alpha Pool, specifically in a section from two metres below the weir at the head of the stream to 34 metres downstream (Salter, 2003). In 1997, the highest concentrations of snails were observed approximately 20 metres downstream from the weir (Lee and Ackerman 1998).Alpha Pool and Beta Pool have distinct sources and the two outflows do not connect. In previous surveys (Lee and Ackerman 1998) there was no observation of snails in Beta Pool. The recent population expansion in to Beta Pool may be due to previous populations being overlooked or to recent passive dispersal by park users or wildlife.

Researchers believe the distribution of the Hotwater Physa within Liard River Hotsprings complex varies spatially and temporally and the species likely occupies additional areas within the hotsprings complex (Salter, pers. comm.).  It is unlikely that new occurrences found within the Liard River Hotsprings complex are another species, although there is a remote possibility that specimens of P. gyrina are indirectly or unknowingly brought into Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park through wildlife or transfer by people.  P. wrighti from P. gyrina can not be distinguished by the human eye.  Currently, the only visual means of distinguishing these two species is through dissections by a trained individual. 

The population trend has not been measured or tracked for Hotwater Physa.  Some population estimates of Hotwater Physa in upper Alpha Stream have been calculated. On October 1, 1997, the conservative population estimate within Alpha Stream was 979 – 1735 individuals (Lee and Ackerman 1998). In August 2000 and January 2001 the population in Alpha Stream was estimated at 5185-7000 individuals (Salter 2001, 2003). There has been no evidence of a decline in the population (Salter, pers. comm.). It is possible the snails congregate based on a combination of temperature, abiotic factors and biological cycles. As population estimates and species range both have increased over time, this population appears to be stable or expanding. However, it is premature to calculate population estimates based on one or two-day sampling efforts taken years apart.

The distribution of the Hotwater Physa within the Liard River hotsprings complex has not been thoroughly studied. Salter (2003) noted larger numbers of snails in the cooler perimeter of Alpha Pool, Alpha Stream and Beta Pool. The temperature in Alpha Pool and Beta Pool has been recorded daily by data loggers since July 2004 (Rowe, pers. comm.). Alpha Pool was artificially created through the installation of a dam and a weir. The dam backs up water directly from the hotwater vent (source) and creates a pool < 1.5 metre depth at a temperature varying between 40° - 44.5° Celsius, with temperatures > 45° Celsius at the source in July 2004 (Rowe, pers. comm.). A weir installed approximately 5 metres below the dam also captures the flow of a small cool water creek reducing the water temperature in this secondary pool to 38° Celsius in July 2004. This mixed source water tumbles over the weir to form Alpha Stream. This mixing of two water sources has affected the temperature distribution at the micro-habitat level in the area immediately downstream of the weir, but it is not certain how this may have influenced Hotwater Physa distribution. 

It is not known if snails congregate based on food sources alone, or more likely a combination of temperature, abiotic factors and biological cycles.  The cyclical nature of Hotwater Physa populations is unstudied. Researchers believe this population has remained stable since its first recording in 1973 (Lee, pers. comm., Salter pers. comm.), although this statement is an educated guess and some of the threats (Section 1.5) have since increased. 

 Distribution of the population

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la physe d'eau chaude

Information sur l'espèce et description

1. Contexte

La physe d’eau chaude, Physella wrighti, est un gastéropode d’eau douce endémique des sources thermales de la rivière Liard, dans le Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs, en C.-B (figure 1). Un spécimen de ce gastéropode a été recueilli pour la première fois en 1973, et la taxonomie de l’espèce a été établie en 1985 (Te et Clarke, 1985).Plus de 80 sources thermales ont été recensées en C.-B., et l’on dispose de quelques relevés récents sur la faune invertébrée vivant dans ces milieux particuliers (p. ex., Lee et Ackerman, 1998; Salter 2001 et 2003; Remigio et al., 2001; Wethington et Guralnick, 2004).

Figure 1. Localisation mondiale de la physe d’eau chaude (Salter, 2003).

Figure 1. Localisation mondiale de la physe d’eau chaude (Salter, 2003).

1.1 Information sur l’évaluation de l’espèce

Le rapport de situation et le résumé de l’évaluation concernant la physe d’eau chaude sont disponibles auprès du secrétariat du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) (www.cosepac.gc.ca).

Nom commun : physe d’eau chaude

Nom scientifique : Physella wrighti

Statut selon le COSEPAC : en voie de disparition, avril 1998.

Statut selon la LEP :en voie de disparition, juin 2003.

Dernier examen ou dernière modification : mai 2000 (aucune modification).

Présence au Canada : Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.).

Justification de la désignation : Petite population endémique avec des exigences écologiques précises que l’on ne trouve que dans une région très limitée et menacée par l’utilisation des bassins de sources chaudes par les humains. Probabilité de disparition élevée.

Historique du statut : Dernière évaluation fondée sur un rapport de situation existant.

1.2 Description

La physe d’eau chaude, Physella wrighti (Te et Clarke, 1985) est un gastéropode d’eau douce de la famille desPhysidae (généralement appelés physidés)(Pulmonata : Physidae). La physe d’eau chaude possède une très petite coquille de couleur gris-noir mesurant de 3,25 à 9,1 mm. La coquille, en forme de spirale sénestre (c.-à-d. qui s’ouvre à gauche), a une ouverture en forme d’oreille et un cal sur la lèvre externe de son rebord. Son périmètre est courbé et sa forme est étroitement allongée-ovale (figure 2) (Lee et Ackerman, 1998).

Figure 2a. Physe d’eau chaude, Physella wrighti.

Figure 2a. Physe d’eau chaude, Physella wrighti.

Illustration de Trent Hoover, utilisée avec sa permission.

photo photo

Figures 2b et c. Physe d’eau chaude sur de la végétation émergeante. Photos de Mike Rowe, utilisées avec sa permission.

À l’heure actuelle, l’American Fisheries Society considère que la physe d’eau chaude représente une espèce unique. Te et Clarke (1985) ont mené des analyses morphologiques, anatomiques, cladistiques et phénétiques pour décrire l’espèce et ont conclu que P. wrighti est sans aucun doute une espèce primitive sans lien de parenté étroit avec une quelconque autre espèce du nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord et qu’il est pratiquement impossible qu’il ait pu évoluer en tant qu’espèce distincte depuis la fin du pléistocène. Ils avancent que la physe d’eau chaude occuperait son emplacement actuel depuis 100 000 ans.

Une relation moléculaire taxonomique a été établie entreP. wrighti et Physella johnsoni, un gastéropode endémique des sources thermales de Banff, en Alberta. P. johnsoni est inscrit en tant qu’espèce en voie de disparition par le COSEPAC.On a examiné les liens entreP. wrighti et P. johnsoni pour déterminer les origines des deux espèces et leur interaction biotique. Les données moléculaires de Remigio et al. (2001) nous permettent de maintenir que la physe d’eau chaude est une espèce endémique, mais donnent à penser que l’espèce provient probablement d’une population qui a été isolée au moment du dernier retrait des glaciers. En outre, les deux espèces son endémiques de leurs emplacements respectifs, et P. wrighti est probablement la population ancestrale source à partir de laquelle P. johnsoni s’est développé (Remigio et al., 2001).

Plus récemment, on a utilisé des preuves moléculaires pour évaluer l’âge des espèces et les relations entre celles-ci. Or, ces analyses ont donné des résultats contradictoires. Wethington (2002) a en effet découvert des défaillances dans la méthodologie de l’étude de Remigio et al.(2001) et a conclu, à partir de données moléculaires sur des physidés d’eau chaude endémiques, que l’on n’était pas en présence d’un groupe de physidés d’eau chaude monophylétique et que le groupe de l’espèce Physa gyrina (qui est étroitement apparentée) comprendrait la physe d’eau chaude.Ce groupe peut envahir des environnements d’eau chaude ou survivre à son introduction dans de tels environnements et se doter de coquilles particulières en aussi peu que cinq générations (Wethington et Guralnick, 2004); ainsi, il ne s’agit pas d’espèces distinctes, mais plutôt de populations accoutumées.Taylor (2003) considère également que la physe d’eau chaude est de P. gyrina. Une décision faisant autorité ne sera probablement pas prise avant que l’American Fisheries Society ne mette à jour la liste des espèces de mollusques sur laquelle la physe d’eau chaude figure présentement en tant qu’espèce distincte (Turgeonet al., 1998).

Comme les physidés sont très communs en Amérique du Nord et très difficiles à identifier, il est possible que d’autres espèces puissent se trouver dans le Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs. D’autres espèces de physes endémiques aux complexes de sources thermales de la C.-B. et de l’ouest du Canada n’ont pas encore été complètement étudiées.Un gastéropode de la famille des physidés est présent dans la source thermale de Deer River, qui se situe à quelque 50 kilomètres du Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs. Des examens initiaux menés par des biologistes ont permis de déterminer que ce gastéropode est Physella virginia, mais on n’a pas terminé la comparaison génétique visant à déterminer sa relation avec P. wrighti.

1.3 Populations et répartition

La physe d’eau chaude a été recensée à un seul endroit dans le monde, à savoir dans le complexe de sources thermales de la rivière Liard, dans le parc provincial du même nom, en C.-B. À l’origine, on considérait que ce gastéropode provenait d’une population vivant le long d’un tronçon de 34 mètres du ruisseau Alpha, à la sortie du bassin Alpha (figure 3) (Lee et Ackerman, 1998), qui est aussi l’emplacement type de l’espèce (Te et Clarke, 1985; Lee et Ackerman, 1998).

Depuis, le gastéropode a été observé dans d’autres habitats du complexe des sources thermales, incluant les bassins Alpha et Bêta et toute la longueur du ruisseau Alpha (figure 3) (Salter, 2001, 2003). Le secteur où l’on a enregistré la plus forte concentration se situe en aval du déversoir qui retient l’eau du bassin Alpha, plus précisément dans un tronçon débutant à deux mètres du déversoir, en amont du cours d’eau, jusqu’à 34 mètres en aval (Salter, 2003). En 1997, les plus fortes concentrations de gastéropodes ont été observées à environ 20 mètres en aval du déversoir (Lee et Ackerman, 1998). Les bassins Alpha et Bêta possèdent des sources distinctes et les deux émissaires ne communiquent pas. Au cours des relevés précédents (Lee et Ackerman, 1998), on n’a pas observé de gastéropodes dans le bassin Bêta. L’expansion récente de la population dans le bassin Bêta pourrait être due au fait que l’on n’a pas vu les populations antérieures ou, encore, à une dispersion passive récente par des utilisateurs du parc ou par des animaux sauvages.

Les chercheurs pensent que la répartition de la physe d’eau chaude à l’intérieur du complexe des sources thermales de la rivière Liard varie dans l’espace et dans le temps, et que l’espèce occupe probablement d’autres zones dans le complexe des sources thermales (Salter, comm. pers.). Il est peu probable que les nouvelles observations faites dans le complexe des sources thermales de la rivière Liard concernent une autre espèce, bien qu’il y ait une faible possibilité que des spécimens de P. gyrina soient indirectement ou sans le savoir amenés dans le Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs par des animaux sauvages ou par les humains. On ne peut distinguer P. wrighti deP. gyrina à l’œil nu. À l’heure actuelle, le seul moyen visuel de distinguer ces deux espèces est par dissection par une personne formée.

On n’a pas mesuré ou suivi la tendance qu’affiche la population de physes d’eau chaude. Certaines estimations de la population de physes d’eau chaude dans le tronçon supérieur du ruisseau Alpha ont été établies. Au 1er octobre 1997, une estimation prudente de la population dans le ruisseau Alpha faisait état de 979 à 1735 individus (Lee et Ackerman, 1998).En août 2000 et en janvier 2001, la population dans le ruisseau Alpha était estimée entre 5185 et 7000 individus (Salter, 2001, 2003). Il n’y a pas de preuve de déclin de la population (Salter, comm. pers.).Il est possible que les gastéropodes se concentrent sous l’effet d’une combinaison de la température, de facteurs abiotiques et des cycles biologiques. Comme les estimations de la population et l’aire de répartition de l’espèce ont toutes deux augmenté avec le temps, la population semble stable ou en expansion. Toutefois, il est trop tôt pour établir des estimations de la population à partir d’efforts d’échantillonnage d’un ou deux jours consentis une année et quelques années plus tard.

La répartition de la physe d’eau chaude dans le complexe des sources thermales de la rivière Liard n’a pas été étudiée à fond. Salter (2003) a observé de plus grands nombres de gastéropodes dans le périmètre plus froid du bassin Alpha, du ruisseau Alpha et du bassin Bêta. Depuis juillet 2004, on a enregistré quotidiennement la température dans les bassins Alpha et Bêta à l’aide d’enregistreurs de données (Rowe, comm. pers.).Le bassin Alpha a été créé artificiellement par l’installation d’un barrage et d’un déversoir. Le barrage refoule l’eau directement à partir de la source d’eau chaude (source) et crée un bassin d’une profondeur inférieure à 1,5 mètre dont la température varie de 40 à 44,5° C, des températures supérieures à 45° C ayant été enregistrées à la source en juillet 2004 (Rowe, comm. pers.). Un déversoir installé à environ cinq mètres après le barrage retient également les eaux d’un petit ruisseau froid, ce qui abaisse la température de l’eau dans ce bassin secondaire à 38° C (juillet 2004). Cette eau de source mélangée s’écoule au-dessus du déversoir pour former le ruisseau Alpha.Ce mélange de deux sources d’eau a affecté la répartition de la température à l’échelle des micro-habitats dans le secteur situé immédiatement en aval du déversoir, mais on ne sait pas comment cela pourrait avoir influé sur la répartition de la physe d’eau chaude.

On ne sait pas si les gastéropodes se rassemblent autour des sources uniquement en raison de la présence de nourriture ou, plus probablement, sous l’effet d’une combinaison de la température, de facteurs abiotiques et des cycles biologiques. La nature cyclique des populations de physes d’eau chaude n’est pas étudiée. Les chercheurs pensent que cette population est demeurée stable depuis qu’on l’a pour la première fois observée en 1973 (Lee, comm. pers.; Salter, comm. pers.), bien que cette hypothèse repose sur l’intuition des experts et que certaines des menaces (section 1.5) aient augmenté depuis.

Figure 3. Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs.La figure montre les sites du complexe de sources thermales où l’on trouve des physes d’eau chaude (A, B et F) et où l’on a effectué des relevés sans trouver de gastéropodes (C et E) (Salter, 2003).

Figure 3. Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs.La figure montre les sites du complexe de sources thermales où l’on trouve des physes d’eau chaude (A, B et F) et où l’on a effectué des relevés sans trouver de gastéropodes (C et E) (Salter, 2003).