Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Hotwater Physa

Needs of Hotwater physa

1.4 Needs of Hotwater Physa

1.4.1 Biological needs

Physids are generally considered to be detritivores and/or bacterial feeders (Brown 1991) and the habitat in which Hotwater Physa is found suggest that this is true for this species.  There have been no in-depth species-specific studies conducted on Hotwater Physa, although P. wrighti kept in captivity lived and reproduced on a diet of mixed brewer’s yeast and fish food (Lee and Ackerman 1998).

The snails in Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park are found most densely on Chara vulgaris.  C. vulgaris(orChara) is an algae which grows at the shallow edges of hotwater springs on rocks, submerged branches, introduced garbage and other submerged materials in the aquatic habitat (Salter pers. comm.) including rotting paper birch (Betula papyrifera) leaves(Lee and Ackerman 1998). This green algae (Class Charophyceae (Stoneworts)) and the outer cell layers are impregnated with calcium carbonate (Scagel et al. 1965) giving the plant a very crisp texture. Charagrows floating near the surface and forms dense mats attached at various intervals along the streamsides. When the spring water (high in calcium) cools, the calcium precipitates out onto the surface of the Chara and results in significant calcification of the plant, particularly those plants floating along the edges of the stream. Calcification of these plants and other surfaces eventually forms tufa, which is a crumbly and porous ‘rock’. The snails are probably not feeding directly on any of these substrates but are grazing on the aufwuch, which is the organic material that comes to encrust submerged substrates. 

There is no known information regarding species-specific reproduction of Hotwater Physa. The Physid family, in general, replace generations annually, thus an individual snail will likely live approximately one year. These snails are oviparous hermaphrodites that breed once; the young overwinter, mature into adults, lay eggs in the spring, and die after eggs are laid. However, these observations are from temperate areas and it is likely that physids living at constant warm temperature may lay eggs continuously until senescence.   Reproduction of P. wrighti has only been observed in captive specimens. In a heated aquarium with water from the hotspring, P. wrightilaid “clear crescent-shaped gelatinous egg masses containing 6 to 18 eggs laid above the water line in a temperature of approximately 25° Celsius with hatching after nine days (Lee and Ackerman 1998).  

Physids are pulmonate snails, which use a richly vascularized pulmonary cavity in the mantle to extract oxygen from air or water. Some physids rely on aerial respiration and are somewhat amphibious (Brown et al . 1998) whereas others fill the pulmonary cavity with water and use it as a derived gill (Russel-Hunter 1978).  The relative reliance ofthe Hotwater Physa on aerial or dissolved oxygen is unknown but the snails are usually found on substrates near a water/air interface (Figure 2a & B) as these substrates offer secure anchoring surfaces, allow grazing on organic material, and allow access to the air/water interface for oxygen acquisition.  

1.4.2 Biologically limiting factors

  1. Small and spatially isolated population:Globally, the Hotwater Physa is endemic only to the Liard River Hotsprings complex.  At least until the taxonomic uncertainty is clarified, the Hotwater Physais a unique species and as such there is no possibility of a rescue effect from outside of this hotsprings complex.  The population densities at sites within the Liard River Hotsprings complex vary, and the connectivity between these sites is limited.
  2. Small occupied area of population:Concentrated subpopulations of the snail within the Liard River Hotsprings complex occupy small areas on substrates at the edges of Alpha Pool, Alpha Stream and Beta Pool.  Dispersal and occupancy of sites are likely due to temperature and substrate availability at depths where these pulmonate snails can access air and food.
  3. Habitat specificity: Hotwater Physa is associated with hotwater springs; which may also be in demand from development and human use.  This species is restricted to its type locality, which makes it particularly susceptible to habitat disturbance.  Changes to temperature and flow regime would undoubtedly affect reproductive success. 
  4. Interspecificcompetition: Competition between Hotwater Physa and lymaeid and planorbid snails in other parts of the thermal spring ecosystem could be a limiting factor. However, the habitats of the physid and lymnaeid snails are distinct in cooler water habitats and appear not to overlap (Salter, 2003).
  5. Quality and quantity of food supply: Food supply is likely to be a limiting factor on a given population. Direct and indirect effects on food sources may be limiting to Hotwater Physa, including changes to riparian vegetation and habitat adjacent to the streamside.

1.4.3 Habitat needs

The specific habitat needs of Hotwater Physa and the dependent relationship the snails have on their hotsprings habitat has not been studied.  However, there are conclusions that can be drawn from knowledge of physids in general, and observations of Hotwater Physa in situ. The continued health of both the riparian and instream habitats are undoubtedly of vital importance to the survival of this species. 

Aquatic Habitat

Aquatic habitat factors thought to affect the habitat needs of Hotwater Physa are listed below. 

  1. Water temperature: The geothermally heated water emerges from Alpha Pool at approximately 38o Celsius year round. The water will naturally cool as it flows away from the emergence point and is further cooled by purposeful mixing within the pool. The water temperature undoubtedly influences many aspects of the life history of Hotwater Physa.
  2. Water flow: At the site of the highest concentration of Hotwater Physa, in Alpha Stream,water enters over the weir at a rate of 80 – 81 litres/second (annual average)(Peepre 1990). While the initial observations of the Hotwater Physa’srestriction to Alpha Stream could have been correlated to habitat requirements found only in the flowing water, subsequent observation of the snails within the pools negates this relationship. 
  3. Mineral composition and the content of dissolved substances in the water:  The mineral composition of the water affects the amount of tufa formation and the surface area upon which bacterial and algal growth occurs. 
  4. Chara, coarse woody debris and other substrates in the stream:Hotwater Physa has been observed grazing onChara, coarse woody debris and various other substrates. These substrates provide the surface area for the growth of algae and bacteria upon which the snail feeds, as well as an anchor in the water current of Alpha Stream. The abundance and distribution of these objects within the hotsprings habitat is likely important to the species. 
  5. Stream dynamics: The width, length and the depth of water throughout the hotsprings is variable, and it is not known if the snails will inhabit areas according to the stream dimensions. The stream will likely not become ice-covered, although the greatest temperature variation will occur in the winter months and will largely be in the pools and eddies. Research on the factors that influence the distribution of the Hotwater Physa within the hotsprings complex are included under the schedule of studies (Section 1.6.1). 
  6. Oxygen Requirements: The respiratory requirements of Hotwater Physa were previously described. Distribution throughout the hotsprings is probably influenced by the availability of suitable substrates at suitable depth for oxygen acquisition.

 Riparian Habitat

The habitat needs of the snail are both terrestrial and aquatic, and the quality of riparian habitat is as much a component to the health of the ecosystem as the water quality itself. Riparian habitat factors thought to affect the habitat needs of Hotwater Physa are categorized below.

  1. Streambank stability: Streambank stability and changes to this stability can affect Hotwater Physa habitat.  Snails are known to congregate on Chara, which float in eddies as well as attach to the water bank edges.  Soil compaction, disturbance and the removal of vegetation increases soil surface erosion into the hotsprings. In the first 60 metre section of Alpha Stream below the weir, there is a well defined, calcified channel with little sedimentation. However in the next 140 metres, the stream widens and slows due to an accumulation of sediment (presumably from Alpha Pool). This change may contribute to the habitat unsuitability for Hotwater Physa further downstream. 
  2. Riparian vegetation and shade:  The dependence of Hotwater Physa on allochthonous inputs, such as leaves, is unknown, but the snails have been observed grazing on the aufwuch on paper birch leaves within Alpha Stream (Lee & Ackerman 1998). The riparian vegetation also affects the amount of light reaching stream edges, which may influence the density and distribution of Chara, which appears to be a preferred substrate for Hotwater Physa.
  3. Ambient air temperatures: Outside air temperature will have an influence on the aquatic environment, although the effect on the temperature of the hotsprings is unknown.

1.5 Threats

Most threats to Hotwater Physa are a result of potential changes to the hotsprings habitat as a result of human activities, whether from recreational activities occurring within the park or the potential for industrial activities that could affect the source water entering the hotsprings complex.  The threat from human activities is of particular concern given the biological factors that limit the species (Section 1.4.2).

  1. Change to the flow regime as a result of human activities
    • Weir maintenance. The natural flow of water from Alpha Stream to Alpha Pool has been changed due to the installation of the dam and weir prior to knowledge of the endemic snail.  The mixed hot and cool water now exits through a narrow spillway in the top of the weir into the habitat colonized by Hotwater Physa.  Failure of the dam or the weir could result in a large surge of water flowing down the stream, and this flash flooding could physically move snails into unsuitable habitat and significantly alter existing Hotwater Physa habitat. Alternately, a decrease in the flow of water during dam or weir maintenance activities could expose snails to drying and also result in altered water temperature in the area below the weir as the hot and the cold water sources would not be pre-mixed. Routine maintenance and repair of the dam and weir are conducted to maintain the integrity of Alpha Pool and Stream, and maintains Hotwater Physa habitat.
    • Recreational activities. Blockages, erosion or alterations to the weir or pool banks from recreational users may alter the flow of the stream.  While these destructive activities are prohibited, park visitors have, for example, been known to block the outflow to the lower Alpha Pool.  Temperature loggers in Alpha Stream during the September 2005 Labour Day weekend showed that water levels fell below the height of the temperature logger (Rowe, pers. comm.).
    • Drilling activities for oil and gas exploration. Although there is currently no specific application, drilling activities for oil and gas exploration could potentially affect the geothermally heated water from its source outside of the park boundaries to where it surfaces within the park. In the event an interest arises in oil and gas exploration in this area, a more detailed risk assessment will be required to determine specific high risk areas and to develop mitigation strategies.
    • Hydroelectric development. There were historic hydroelectric evaluations in the Liard River in the early 1990’s and at least one site was identified outside the park boundaries on the Liard River.  This proposal, titled Devil’s Gorge Project, would flood the Liard Hotsprings and most of the adjacent campground as it would raise the water elevation to greater than 420m. This flooding would also allow aquatic species to access the hotsprings marsh that is located on a bench above the Liard River and currently are not connected through waterways (Hill, pers. comm.). In the event there is a renewed interest in this or other projects in future, further assessment of the risk to Hotwater Physa and their habitat will be required.
  2. Introduction of deleterious substances: It is estimated that Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park currently receives over 40,000 bathers to the springs each year (Rowe, pers. comm.).While bathers are asked to shower before entering the hotsprings and are prohibited from using soaps and shampoos while bathing, the introduction of insect repellents sunblock, shampoos, soaps, and bath oils is still possible. Water contamination likely has cumulative and possibly detrimental effects directly to the snails or their habitat.
  3. Physical habitat destruction or alteration: The boardwalks and trail structure established within the park discourages people from creating new trails to the stream edges. However, trampling and/or direct disturbance of the riparian areas and/or the Chara floating plant mats is possible from people walking within the aquatic habitats and downstream of Alpha Pool or Beta Pool, or from the stream edges through the riparian areas. Natural events, such as windthrow resulting in falling trees and changes to the riparian or channel structure, could also result in changes to the aquatic habitat that could be detrimental.
  4. Introduced species: The introduction of exotic plants or animals into the hotsprings could pose a threat to Hotwater Physa. In the past two years, there have been two known introductions of turtles into the hotsprings (Hansen, pers. comm.; Elliott, pers. comm.), although these animals were found and removed. Evidence from other hotsprings shows a high potential for devastating ecological effects from the introduction of exotic species with a tolerance for warm water. For example, the introduction of a mosquito fish (Gambusia affinis) into Banff Hotsprings for mosquito control resulted in the extinction of a subspecies of the Banff longnose dace (Rhinichthys cataractaesmithi) in 1987 (Environment Canada 2006).
  5. Collecting: Periodic inventory studies that involve work within the hotsprings complex require both a fish collection permit under the Wildlife Act (BC) and a Park Use Permit under the Parks Act (BC) as well as a permit under the Species at Risk Act (Canada) all of which ensure collections are conducted to standards that minimize harm. Illegal collection by park visitors has the potential to impact the Hotwater Physa population, although currently it is not likely a significant factor.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la physe d'eau chaude

Besoins de la physe d'eau chaude

1.4 Besoins de la physe d’eau chaude

1.4.1 Besoins biologiques

Les physidés sont généralement considérés comme détritivores ou des bactérivores (Brown, 1991), et l’habitat dans lequel on trouve la physe d’eau chaude donne à penser que c’est le cas pour cette espèce. Aucune étude poussée n’a été menée particulièrement sur la physe d’eau chaude, bien que P. wrighti élevé en captivité vive et se reproduise sous un régime composé d’un mélange de levures de bière et d’aliments pour poissons (Lee et Ackerman, 1998).

Les gastéropodes du Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs affichent leur densité la plus élevée sur Chara vulgaris. C. vulgaris (ou Chara) est une algue qui croît dans les limites peu profondes des sources thermales sur des rochers, des branches immergées, des détritus et d’autres matières immergées dans l’habitat aquatique (Salter, comm. pers.), y compris des feuilles de bouleau à papier (Betula papyrifera) en décomposition (Lee et Ackerman, 1998).Cette algue verte de la classe des charophycées (characées) et sa couche cellulaire externe sont imprégnées de carbonate de calcium (Scagel et al., 1965) qui donne à la plante une texture très crispée. Chara croît en flottant près de la surface et forme des mattes denses reliées à divers intervalles le long des berges. Lorsque l’eau des sources (riche en calcium) se refroidit, le calcium précipite à la surface deChara, ce qui entraîne une calcification importante de la plante, particulièrement lorsqu’elle flotte le long des berges des cours d’eau. La calcification de ces plantes et d’autres surfaces finit par former un tuf, une « roche » friable et poreuse.Les gastéropodes ne se nourrissent probablement pas directement sur l’un de ces substrats, mais broutent le biotecton, la matière organique qui incruste les substrats immergés.

On ne dispose pas d’information concernant la reproduction de la physe d’eau chaude. De façon générale, les animaux de la famille des physidés forment une nouvelle génération chaque année, de sorte qu’un gastéropode vit probablement environ un an. Ces gastéropodes sont ovipares et hermaphrodites et se reproduisent une seule fois.Les jeunes hivernent, deviennent des adultes, pondent des œufs au printemps puis meurent.Toutefois, ces observations proviennent de zones tempérées, et il est probable que les physidés vivant dans une eau constamment chaude pondent des œufs de façon continue jusqu’à la sénescence. On n’a observé la reproduction de P. wrighti que chez des spécimens captifs. Dans un aquarium chauffé contenant de l’eau d’une source thermale, P. wrighti a produit des masses d’œufs gélatineuses en forme de croissant contenant de 6 à 18 œufs au-dessus de la surface de l’eau à une température d’environ 25° C, et l’éclosion a été observée neuf jours plus tard (Lee et Ackerman, 1998).

Les physidés sont des gastéropodes pulmonés qui possèdent une cavité pulmonaire richement vascularisée dans leur manteau pour extraire l’oxygène de l’air ou de l’eau.Certains physidés respirent directement l’air et sont dans une certaine mesure amphibiens (Brown et al., 1998), tandis que d’autres remplissent leur cavité pulmonaire avec de l’eau et l’utilisent comme une branchie (Russel-Hunter, 1978). La dépendance relative de la physe d’eau chaude à l’égard de l’oxygène aérien ou dissous est inconnue, mais l’on trouve habituellement les gastéropodes sur des substrats près d’une interface air/eau (figures 2a et 2b), car ces substrats offrent des surfaces d’ancrage sûres et permettant le broutage de matières organiques et l’accès à l’interface air/eau pour l’acquisition d’oxygène.

1.4.2 Facteurs limitatifs sur le plan biologique

  1. Population petite et spatialement isolée.La physe d’eau chaude est uniquement endémique au complexe des sources thermales de la rivière Liard. Du moins tant que les incertitudes taxonomiques ne sont pas clarifiées, la physe d’eau chaude est une espèce unique, d’où l’impossibilité d’introduire des individus provenant de l’extérieur de ce complexe. Les densités de population dans les sites du complexe des sources thermales de Liard River varient, et les liens entre ces sites sont limités.
  2. Petite aire d’occurrence. Des sous-populations concentrées de gastéropodes dans le complexe des sources thermales occupent de petits secteurs sur des substrats situés sur les bords du bassin Alpha, du ruisseau Alpha et du bassin Bêta. La dispersion et l’occupation des sites sont probablement tributaires de la température et de la disponibilité du substrat à des profondeurs où ces gastéropodes pulmonés peuvent accéder à l’air et à la nourriture.
  3. Spécificité de l’habitat.La physe d’eau chaude est associée aux sources thermales, qui peuvent également être convoitées par les humains à des fins récréatives et de développement. L’espèce est confinée dans son habitat type, ce qui la rend particulièrement vulnérable aux perturbations de celui-ci. Des changements de température et de régime d’écoulement affecteront sans aucun doute sa reproduction.
  4. Concurrence interspécifique.La concurrence entre la physe d’eau chaude et les limnées et les planorbes dans d’autres parties de l’écosystème constitué par les sources thermales pourrait être un facteur limitatif. Toutefois, les habitats des physidés et des limnées sont distincts dans les zones d’eau froide et semblent ne pas se chevaucher (Salter, 2003).
  5. Quantité de nourriture et qualité de celle-ci.La présence de nourriture est vraisemblablement un facteur limitatif pour toute population. Des effets directs et indirects sur les sources de nourriture pourraient être des facteurs limitatifs pour la physe d’eau chaude, notamment des changements à la végétation riveraine et aux habitats adjacents aux berges des cours d’eau.

1.4.3  Besoins en habitat

Les besoins particuliers en habitat de la physe d’eau chaude et le rapport de dépendance qu’entretient ce gastéropode avec son habitat de source thermale n’ont pas été étudiés.Toutefois, on peut tirer des conclusions à partir des connaissances sur les physidés en général et des observations de la physe d’eau chaude sur place. Le maintien de la qualité des habitats riverains et de l’intérieur du cours d’eau est sans aucun doute d’une importance capitale pour la survie de cette espèce.

Habitat aquatique

Les facteurs de l’habitat aquatique qui, de l’avis des scientifiques, affectent les besoins en habitat de la physe d’eau chaude sont énumérés ci-après.

  1. Température de l’eau. L’eau chauffée géothermiquement émerge du bassin Alpha à environ 38° C tout au long de l’année. L’eau se refroidit naturellement à mesure qu’elle s’éloigne du point d’émergence et est encore refroidie par le mélange intentionnel des eaux du bassin. La température de l’eau influe donc sur nombre d’aspects du cycle biologique de la physe d’eau chaude.
  2. Débit de l’eau.Sur le site où l’on observe la plus forte concentration de physes d’eau chaude, à savoir le ruisseau Alpha, l’eau passe par dessus le déversoir à un débit de 80 à 81 litres par seconde (moyenne annuelle) (Peepre, 1990). Même si les observations initiales de confinement de la physe d’eau chaude au ruisseau Alpha peuvent être corrélées à des besoins en habitat limités à l’eau qui s’écoule, des observations subséquentes de gastéropodes dans les bassins viennent contredire cette relation.
  3. Teneur en minéraux et substances dissoutes dans l’eau.La teneur en minéraux de l’eau affecte la quantité de tuf et la surface sur laquelle la croissance des bactéries et des algues se produit.
  4. Chara, débris ligneux grossiers et autres substrats dans le cours d’eau.On a observé des physes d’eau chaude broutant sur Chara, des débris ligneux grossiers et différents autres substrats.Ces derniers offrent des surfaces pour la croissance des algues et des bactéries dont se nourrissent les gastéropodes ainsi que des points d’ancrage dans le courant du ruisseau Alpha. L’abondance et la répartition de ces objets dans l’habitat que représentent les sources thermales sont probablement importantes pour l’espèce.
  5. Dynamique du cours d’eau. La largeur, la longueur et la profondeur du cours d’eau qui traverse le complexe des sources thermales sont variables, et l’on ne sait pas si les gastéropodes occupent des secteurs en fonction des dimensions du cours d’eau.Ce dernier n’est vraisemblablement pas recouvert par les glaces, bien que la variation de température la plus importante soit enregistrée au cours des mois d’hiver et concerne en grande partie les bassins et les zones de remous. Les recherches sur les facteurs influant sur la répartition de la physe d’eau chaude dans le complexe des sources thermales font partie du calendrier des études (section 1.6.1).
  6. Besoins en oxygène.Les besoins ayant trait à la respiration de la physe d’eau chaude ont été précédemment décrits. La répartition des individus dans le complexe des sources thermales est probablement fonction de la disponibilité de substrats convenables à des profondeurs adéquates pour permettre l’acquisition de l’oxygène.

 Habitat riverain

Les besoins en habitat du gastéropode sont à la fois terrestres et aquatiques, et la qualité de l’habitat riverain est autant un composant de la qualité de l’écosystème que la qualité de l’eau elle-même. Les facteurs de l’habitat riverain qui affecteraient les besoins en habitat de la physe d’eau chaude sont les suivants.

  1. Stabilité des berges.La stabilité des berges et les changements qui la touchent peuvent affecter l’habitat de la physe d’eau chaude. On sait que les gastéropodes se rassemblent sur Chara, laquelle flotte dans les remous et se fixe sur les bords des berges.Le compactage et la perturbation du sol ainsi que le retrait de la végétation accroissent l’érosion à la surface du sol dans les sources thermales. Dans les 60 premiers mètres du ruisseau Alpha, sous le déversoir, se trouve un chenal bien défini, calcifié, affichant une faible sédimentation. Toutefois, dans les 140 mètres suivants, le cours d’eau s’élargit et le débit ralentit en raison d’une accumulation de sédiments (provenant probablement du bassin Alpha). Ce changement pourrait contribuer au fait que l’habitat situé plus loin en aval ne convient pas à la physe d’eau chaude.
  2. Végétation riveraine et ombre.La dépendance de la physe d’eau chaude à l’égard d’apports allochtones, telles que les feuilles, est inconnue, mais on a observé les gastéropodes broutant le biotecton sur des feuilles de bouleau à papier dans le ruisseau Alpha (Lee et Ackerman, 1998). La végétation riveraine influe également sur la quantité de lumière atteignant les berges du cours d’eau, ce qui peut avoir une incidence sur la densité et la répartition deChara, qui semble constituer le substrat préféré de la physe d’eau chaude.
  3. Température ambiante.La température de l’air a une incidence sur l’environnement aquatique, bien que ses effets sur la température des sources thermales soient inconnus.

1.5 Menaces

La plupart des menaces qui pèsent sur la physe d’eau chaude résultent de changements pouvant affecter l’habitat que représentent les sources thermales à la suite d’activités humaines, qu’il s’agisse d’activités récréatives dans le parc ou d’éventuelles activités industrielles qui pourraient affecter l’eau de source pénétrant dans le complexe.La menace liée à l’activité humaine est une source de préoccupations particulière étant donné les facteurs biologiques qui limitent l’espèce (section 1.4.2).

  1. Changement du régime d’écoulement dû aux activités humaines
    • Entretien du déversoir.Le débit naturel de l’eau entre le ruisseau Alpha et le bassin du même nom a été modifié avec l’installation du barrage et du déversoir avant que l’on ait découvert la population endémique de gastéropodes. Les eaux chaudes et froides mélangées traversent maintenant un évacuateur de crue étroit situé au sommet du déversoir et s’écoulent dans l’habitat colonisé par la physe d’eau chaude. Des défaillances à la hauteur du barrage ou du déversoir pourraient provoquer une augmentation subite et importante du débit dans le cours d’eau, laquelle pourrait entraîner les gastéropodes vers un habitat inapproprié et altérer de façon marquée leur habitat actuel.Réciproquement, une diminution du débit d’eau durant les activités d’entretien du barrage ou du déversoir pourrait exposer les gastéropodes à des conditions déshydratantes et altérer la température de l’eau dans la zone située sous le déversoir, puisque les eaux chaudes et froides n’auraient pas été mélangées au préalable.L’entretien et la réparation du barrage et du déversoir sont menés régulièrement de façon à maintenir l’intégrité du bassin et du ruisseau Alpha et à préserver l’habitat de la physe d’eau chaude.
    •  Activités récréatives.Le blocage, l’érosion ou l’altération du déversoir ou des berges du bassin par les utilisateurs du complexe pourrait modifier le débit du cours d’eau. Bien que ces activités destructrices soient interdites, on sait que les visiteurs du parc ont, par exemple, déjà bloqué l’émissaire du bassin Alpha. Les relevés thermométriques effectués dans le ruisseau Alpha durant la fin de semaine de la fête du Travail, au mois de septembre 2005, ont montré que les niveaux d’eau ont chuté en dessous de la hauteur d’eau de l’enregistreur de température (Rowe, comm. pers.).
    • Activités de forage pour l’exploration pétrolière et gazière.Bien qu’il n’y ait à l’heure actuelle aucune activité particulière, le forage aux fins de l’exploration pétrolière et gazière peut affecter l’eau chauffée géothermiquement depuis sa source, à l’extérieur des limites du parc, jusqu’à l’endroit où elle fait surface, dans le parc. Dans l’éventualité où un intérêt se manifesterait pour l’exploration pétrolière et gazière dans ce secteur, il faudrait effectuer une évaluation des risques plus détaillée pour déterminer les zones à risque élevé et élaborer des stratégies d’atténuation.
    • Aménagements hydroélectriques.Des évaluations du potentiel hydroélectrique ont été menées dans la rivière Liard au début des années 1990, et au moins un site a été relevé sur la rivière, à l’extérieur des limites du parc. Cette proposition, intitulée Projet de Devil’s Gorge, se traduirait par l’inondation du complexe des sources thermales de la rivière Liard et de la majeure partie du terrain de camping adjacent, car il élèverait le niveau d’eau à plus de 420 mètres. Cette inondation permettrait également aux espèces aquatiques d’accéder au marais des sources thermales, qui est situé sur une terrasse au-dessus de la rivière Liard et qui n’est pas, à l’heure actuelle, relié au complexe par des voies d’eau (Hill, comm. pers.). Advenant un regain d’intérêt pour ce projet ou pour d’autres projets, il faudrait évaluer de façon plus poussée le risque posé pour la physe d’eau chaude et pour son habitat.
  2. Introduction de substances nocives. On estime que le Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs reçoit actuellement plus de 40 000 baigneurs qui se rendent sources chaque année (Rowe, comm. pers.).Bien que l’on demande aux baigneurs de se doucher avant d’entrer dans les sources thermales et que l’on interdise l’utilisation de savons et de shampooings durant la baignade, l’introduction d’insectifuges, d’écrans solaires, de shampooings, de savons et d’huiles de bain est encore possible. La contamination de l’eau a vraisemblablement des effets directs cumulatifs et possiblement néfastes sur les gastéropodes ou sur leur habitat.
  3. Destruction ou altération de l’habitat physique. Les promenades de bois et la structure de pistes établies dans le parc dissuadent les visiteurs de créer de nouvelles pistes en bordure du cours d’eau. Toutefois, les dommages dus au piétinement ou la perturbation directe des zones riveraines ou des mattes de Chara flottantes sont possibles si des visiteurs marchent dans les habitats aquatiques et en aval des bassins Alpha et Bêta ou, encore, sur les berges du cours d’eau dans les zones riveraines. Des événements naturels, comme des chutes d’arbres sous l’effet du vent et des modifications des zones riveraines ou de la structure du chenal, peuvent également se traduire par des changements au sein de l’habitat aquatique qui peuvent se révéler néfastes.
  4. Espèces introduites. L’introduction de plantes ou d’animaux exotiques dans les sources thermales peut présenter une menace pour la physe d’eau chaude.Au cours des deux dernières années, on a observé deux introductions de tortues dans les sources thermales (Hansen, comm. pers.; Elliott, comm. pers.), bien que ces animaux aient été retrouvés et retirés. Les preuves dont on dispose concernant d’autres sources thermales démontrent que l’introduction d’espèces exotiques affichant une tolérance à l’eau chaude présente un potentiel élevé d’effets écologiques dévastateurs. Par exemple, l’introduction du gambusie (Gambusia affinis) dans les sources thermales de Banff pour la lutte contre les moustiques s’est traduite par l’extinction d’une sous-espèce de naseux des rapides (Rhinichthys cataractae smithi) en 1987 (Environnement Canada, 2006).
  5. Collecte. Les inventaires périodiques nécessitant que l’on travaille dans le complexe des sources thermales exigent que l’on possède un permis de collecte de poissons en vertu de la Wildlife Act (C.-B.), un permis d’utilisation du parc en vertu de la Parks Act (C.-B.) ainsi qu’un permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (Canada) qui, tous, visent à s’assurer que les collectes sont effectuées en fonction de normes qui réduisent au minimum les dommages.La collecte illégale par les visiteurs du parc peut avoir une incidence sur la population de physes d’eau chaude mais, à l’heure actuelle, cela n’est vraisemblablement pas un facteur important.