Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Hotwater Physa

Habitat and Actions

1.6 Critical Habitat

Hotwater Physa were initially reported from a 34 metre stretch of Alpha Stream at the outlet of Alpha Pool (Lee and Ackerman 1998). This is also the type locality for the species (Te and Clarke 1985). Hotwater Physa are maintained by the specific conditions in this section of the stream, including the amount of tufa formation andCharagrowth, and the surface area upon which bacterial and algal growth occurs (food). The geothermally heated water emerging from Alpha Pool does not vary significantly in temperature, emerging at approximately 38oC year round, and water enters Alpha Stream from Alpha Pool through a man-made weir at a rate of 80 – 81 litres/second (Peepre 1990). Given the endemism of Hotwater Physa to this unique and very localized stretch of habitat and the continued known persistence of the species below the weir since its initial recording in 1973, the critical habitat is expected to be largely located within the park boundaries.

Additional work must be completed to identify if additional Hotwater Physa habitat may be present within or outside of the park boundaries. A schedule of studies to identify critical habitat is outlined below (Section 1.6.1). These activities are not exhaustive and may lead to the discovery of further knowledge gaps that will need to be addressed. Until Critical Habitat can be defined, the areas listed in the currently occupied habitat (Section 1.3) are considered the most important areas in need of conservation.

1.6.1 Schedule of studies to identify critical habitat

Further information is required before locations within the hotsprings complex may be considered critical habitat for Hotwater Physa. The following schedule of studies (Table 1) lists the activities recommended over the next 5 years to identify critical habitat. 

Table 1. Schedule of studies recommended to identify critical habitat for Hotwater Physa.

Description of Activity Outcome/RationaleTimeline
Develop assessment methodology·         Standard survey protocol specifically to determine population abundance.  Methodology needs to be repeatable and with minimal disturbance to the snails and habitat. 2006 – 2007
Distribution surveys ·         Surveys within the hotsprings aquatic habitat, to document habitat use patterns, abundance and population structure. 2006 – 2011
·         Determine if there are additional viable populations/subpopulations of snails. 2006 – 2011
·         Delineate parameters of habitat use and relate to population fluctuations. These factors will help define the components of the aquatic habitat that are critical to the snail. 2006 – 2011
Identify critical habitat elements

·         Define the abiotic (including water temperature and flow, and tufa formation) and biotic (including Chara and aufwich occurrence) factors and compare to snail distribution as determined from surveys.

·         Determine the influence that stream dimensions, dynamics, pools and eddies and coarse woody debris and other substrates may have on the distribution of the snail

·         Identify elements considered to be critical to the snail’s survival.

2007 – 2011

1.7 Actions already completed or underway

1.7.1  Protection

Hotwater Physa and their occupied habitat are contained within the Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park, although the source of the geothermally heated water extends outside the park boundaries.  Under the Park Act (BC) the disturbance or destruction of habitat within parks is prohibited except for the development of recreational services. Hotwater Physa has been incorporated into management activities in the Liard River Hotsprings Park Master Plan, although it has been a number of years since the plan has been updated (Elliott, pers. comm.). Since the last update, there have been a series of improvements in monitoring of recreational activities, including having parks staff present at the main publicly used sites, as well as considerable signage to park users. Bathers must shower (to clean off potentially deleterious substances such as sunblock and insect repellent) before entering the hotsprings, and park users must stay on marked trails and boardwalks and not block the weirs, alter stream flow, damage park facilities or riparian vegetation. There is currently little signage specific to the snails, however, as there is concern that signs may inadvertently encourage recreational users to search for the snail and take specimens from the park.

The Fisheries Act (Canada) prohibits works which may result in harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat (Section 35) and prohibits the release of deleterious substances, such as contaminants, into fish-bearing waters (Section 36). The Fisheries Act applies to all fish habitat, therefore, it will provide protection of the source water from development inside and outside the park.

Hotwater Physa are protected under SARA from killing, harming, harassing, capturing or taking and from the destruction of their critical habitat once identified.  Exceptions may be made under SARA to permit activities that benefit the species or are required to enhance its chances of survival in the wild. Such activities would include dam and weir maintenance that is required to maintain the integrity of Alpha Pool and Alpha Stream. SARA (Section 73) requires that such activities do not jeopardize survival or recovery of the species and are conducted in a manner that minimizes harm.

1.7.2 Population Monitoring

Revised Status Report on the Hotwater Physa in Canada is in preparation by Jacquie Lee, independent malacologist, for COSEWIC.  Fieldwork is occurring in  summer 2006.

1.8 Knowledge Gaps

Threats

  • The effects of changes to the aquatic and riparian habitats on Hotwater Physa.
  • Changes to water quality – it is unknown to what level the introduction of substances by bathers, including shampoos, soaps, sunblock, bath oils, and urine, and natural elements of the water, including mineral content, pH, temperature shifts, sediment disturbances, organic debris and changes to streamside structure alter the water quality and how this may affect Hotwater Physa.
  • The source of the geothermally heated water has been identified as being outside the park and the route that it takes before emerging within the park is unknown.  Drilling into the source water at any point may markedly affect the flow of hot water within the Park.  Mitigating the risks from drilling activities will require additional assessment and the development of new standards and guidelines.
  • Effects of introduced species.

Critical habitat

  • Spatial and temporal distribution of the snail within the hotsprings complex and the ability of the snail to disperse between areas. Subpopulations of the snail within the Liard River Hotsprings complex occupy small areas and are known to congregate spatially and temporally at certain sites (Alpha Pool, Alpha Stream and Beta Pool). It is unknown what factors limit the dispersal and occupancy of sites, in-between sites, or elsewhere within the hotsprings complex.
  • Habitat specificity, abiotic and biotic needs.

1.9 Importance to people

The Hotwater Physa is endemic to Liard River Hotsprings and, like so many endemic species, it therefore holds distinctive adaptations of special scientific and conservation interest (Scudder 1989). The species is not known to have any commercial value.

First Nations

There is no evidence of its use by First Nations or other people of BC. However, both the Fort Nelson First Nation and the Kaska Nation include Liard River Hotsprings within their traditional territories. The Kaska Nation is represented by five member bands located in northern BC. The Fort Nelson First Nation is part of the Treaty 8 Tribal Association.

Recreational users of Liard River Hotsprings

It is estimated that Liard River Hotsprings Provincial Park receives over 40,000 bathers to the hotsprings each year (Rowe, pers. comm.) and is a popular stop-over for visitors traveling the Alaska highway.

1.9.1 Anticipated conflicts or challenges

In the short-term, priority recovery activities will involve inventory and continued protection within the park, and there are few anticipated conflicts with these activities. Protection of habitat at known sites and management of this hotsprings habitat will likely require minimal changes to current practices however conflicts with recreational use of these areas is possible.  Identifying the underground route of the geothermally heated water from source to the hotsprings represents a significant challenge.  Mitigative measures to ensure that oil and gas or geothermal exploration do not impact on the hot water source has the potential for conflict. A potential long-term challenge will be to garner public support and research interest in this group of animals as there are currently few active researchers for these snails.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la physe d'eau chaude

Habitat et mesures

1.6 Habitat essentiel

À l’origine, la présence de la physe d’eau chaude a été signalée dans un tronçon de 34 mètres du ruisseau Alpha, à la décharge du bassin Alpha (Lee et Ackerman, 1998). C’est également l’emplacement type de l’espèce (Te et Clarke, 1985).Les physes d’eau chaude demeurent à cet endroit en raison des conditions particulières régnant dans cette section du cours d’eau, notamment la quantité de tuf et la présence de Chara ainsi que l’étendue des surfaces propices à la croissance des bactéries et des algues (nourriture). La température de l’eau chauffée géothermiquement émergeant du bassin Alpha ne varie pas de façon significative et avoisine les 38° C tout au long de l’année ; l’eau chaude pénètre dans le ruisseau Alpha par l’entremise d’un déversoir artificiel à un débit de 80 à 81 litres/seconde (Peepre, 1990). Étant donné l’endémisme de la physe d’eau chaude à cette portion d’habitat unique et très localisée et la persistance prolongée de l’espèce sous le déversoir depuis son enregistrement initial en 1973, on s’attend à ce que l’habitat essentiel soit en grande partie localisé à l’intérieur des limites du parc.

Il faut effectuer d’autres travaux pour déterminer si d’autres habitats de la physe d’eau chaude sont présents à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur des limites du parc.On trouvera ci-après un calendrier d’études qui seront effectuées pour définir l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce (section 1.6.1).Ces activités ne sont pas exhaustives et pourraient mener à la découverte d’autres lacunes dans les connaissances que l’on devra combler.Tant que l’habitat essentiel n’est pas défini, les zones énumérées dans l’habitat actuellement occupé (section 1.3) sont considérées comme les zones les plus importantes à conserver.

1.6.1  Calendrier d’études visant à définir l’habitat essentiel

On doit produire davantage d’information avant de pouvoir considérer que des emplacements du complexe des sources thermales constituent l’habitat essentiel de la physe d’eau chaude. Le calendrier d’études suivant (tableau 1) énumère les activités recommandées qui devront être menées au cours des cinq prochaines années pour définir l’habitat essentiel.

Tableau 1. Calendrier d’études recommandées pour définir l’habitat essentiel de la physe d’eau chaude

Description de l’activitéRésultat/justificationÉchéancier
Élaboration d’une méthodologie d’évaluation·        Protocole de relevés standard visant particulièrement à déterminer l’abondance de la population. La méthodologie doit être répétable et causer le minimum de perturbation aux gastéropodes et à l’habitat.2006-2007
Relevés sur la répartition ·        Relevés dans l’habitat aquatique des sources thermales visant à documenter les profils de l’utilisation de l’habitat, l’abondance et la structure de la population.2006-2011
·        Déterminer s’il y a d’autres populations/sous-populations viables de gastéropodes.2006-2011
·        Délimiter les paramètres de l’utilisation de l’habitat et les relier aux fluctuations de la population.Ces facteurs nous aideront à définir les composants de l’habitat aquatique qui sont essentiels pour le gastéropode.2006-2011
Identification des éléments de l’habitat essentiel

·        Définir les facteurs abiotiques (dont la température et le débit de l’eau et la formation de tuf) et biotiques (dont l’occurrence de Chara et du biotecton) et faire une comparaison avec la répartition des gastéropodes telle que déterminée par les relevés.

·        Déterminer l’influence que les dimensions du cours d’eau, sa dynamique, les bassins et les zones de remous ainsi que les débris ligneux grossiers et d’autres substrats peuvent avoir sur la répartition des gastéropodes.

·        Identifier les éléments considérés comme étant essentiels pour la survie des gastéropodes.

2007-2011

1.7  Étapes déjà terminées ou en cours

1.7.1  Protection

La physe d’eau chaude et l’habitat qu’elle occupe se trouvent dans le Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs, bien que la source d’eau chauffée géothermiquement provienne de l’extérieur des limites du parc. En vertu de la Park Act (C.-B.), la perturbation ou la destruction de l’habitat à l’intérieur du parc est interdite, sauf pour l’aménagement de services récréatifs. La physe d’eau chaude a été intégrée dans les activités de gestion prévues dans le plan directeur du parc Liard River Hotsprings, bien que nombre d’années se soient écoulées depuis la dernière mise à jour du plan (Elliott, comm. pers.).Depuis la dernière mise à jour, une série d’améliorations ont été apportées à la surveillance des activités récréatives, dont la présence du personnel du parc dans les principaux sites utilisés par le public et une importante signalisation à l’intention des usagers du parc. Les baigneurs doivent se doucher (pour éliminer les substances potentiellement nocives comme les écrans solaires et les insectifuges) avant d’entrer dans les sources thermales, et les usagers du parc doivent demeurer sur des pistes balisées et des promenades de bois et ne pas bloquer les déversoirs, modifier le débit du cours d’eau ou, encore, endommager les installations du parc ou la végétation riveraine. Toutefois, il n’y a, à l’heure actuelle, que peu de signalisation concernant le gastéropode de façon précise, car on craint que les affiches n’incitent involontairement les visiteurs à chercher les gastéropodes et à prélever des spécimens.

La Loi sur les pêches (Canada) interdit les travaux qui pourraient entraîner la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l’habitat du poisson (article 35) ainsi que le rejet de substances nocives, comme des contaminants, dans des eaux où vivent des poissons (article 36). La Loi sur les pêches s’applique à l’ensemble de l’habitat du poisson; ainsi, elle assure la protection de l’eau de source contre les travaux d’aménagement qui pourraient être entrepris à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du parc.

La physe d’eau chaude est protégée en vertu de la LEP qui interdit de la tuer, de lui nuire, de la harceler, de la capturer ou de la prendre et qui interdit également de détruire son habitat essentiel une fois celui-ci identifié.Des exceptions sont prévues pour permettre des activités qui sont bénéfiques pour l’espèce ou qui sont nécessaires pour améliorer ses chances de survie à l’état sauvage. Ces activités comprennent l’entretien du barrage et du déversoir nécessaire pour préserver l’intégrité du bassin et du ruisseau Alpha. La LEP (article 73) exige que ces activités ne mettent pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce et soient menées de façon à limiter les dommages.

1.7.2  Surveillance de la population

Jacquie Lee, un malacologue indépendant, prépare actuellement un rapport révisé de la situation de la physe d’eau chaude au Canada à l’intention du COSEPAC.Le travail de terrain a été effectué à l’été 2006.

1.8 Lacunes dans les connaissances

Menaces

  • Effets des modifications des habitats aquatique et riverains sur la physe d’eau chaude.
  • Changements de la qualité de l’eau – on ne sait pas dans quelle mesure l’introduction de substances par les baigneurs, comme des shampooings, des savons, des écrans solaires, des huiles de bain et de l’urine, l’eau naturelle (minéraux, pH, variations de température, charge en sédiments et en débris organiques) et les modifications à la structure des berges altèrent la qualité de l’eau et peuvent affecter la physe d’eau chaude.
  • On sait que la source de l’eau chauffée géothermiquement se trouve à l’extérieur du parc, mais l’on ne sait pas quelle voie elle emprunte avant d’émerger à l’intérieur du parc. Tout forage à un point quelconque dans la nappe souterraine peut affecter de façon marquée le débit d’eau chaude dans le parc. L’atténuation des risques découlant des activités de forage nécessitera des évaluations supplémentaires et la mise en place de nouvelles normes et lignes directrices.
  • Effets des espèces introduites.

Habitat essentiel

  • Répartition spatiale et temporelle du gastéropode dans le complexe des sources thermales et capacité du gastéropode de se disperser dans les différents secteurs.Des sous-populations du gastéropode occupent de petites zones dans le complexe des sources thermales de la rivière Liard, et l’on sait qu’elles se concentrent spatialement et temporellement dans certains sites (bassin et ruisseau Alpha, bassin Bêta). Toutefois, on ne connaît pas les facteurs qui limitent la dispersion du gastéropode et la fréquentation des sites, des sites intermédiaires ou d’autres zones situées ailleurs dans le complexe des sources thermales.
  • Spécificité de l’habitat, besoins abiotiques et biotiques.

1.9 Importance pour les Canadiens

La physe d’eau chaude est une espèce endémique des sources thermales de la rivière Liard et, comme tant d’espèce endémique, elle présente des caractéristiques d’adaptation particulières qui sont d’un intérêt spécial pour les scientifiques et pour les fins de la conservation (Scudder, 1989). À ce que l’on sait, l’espèce n’a pas de valeur commerciale.

Premières nations

On ne dispose pas de preuves que les Premières nations ou d’autres groupes de la C.-B. utilisent la physe d’eau chaude.Toutefois, les sources thermales de la rivière Liard se trouvent sur les territoires traditionnels de la bande de Fort Nelson et de la nation Kaska. Cette dernière est constituée de cinq bandes qui occupent le nord de la C.-B. La bande de Fort Nelson fait partie de la Treaty 8 Tribal Association.

Usagers des sources thermales de la rivière Liard

On estime que le Parc provincial Liard River Hot Springs reçoit chaque année plus de 40 000 baigneurs (Rowe, comm. pers.); il est également très fréquenté par les visiteurs qui empruntent l’autoroute de l’Alaska.

1.9.1 Conflits ou enjeux anticipés

À court terme, les activités de rétablissement prioritaires comprendront la réalisation d’un inventaire et le maintien des mesures de protection dans le parc, et l’on anticipe qu’elles susciteront peu de conflits. La protection de l’habitat dans des sites connus et la gestion de cet habitat de source thermale nécessiteront vraisemblablement de petits changements aux pratiques actuelles, de sorte que des conflits sont possibles avec les usagers de ces secteurs. L’identification de la voie souterraine empruntée par l’eau chauffée géothermiquement depuis sa source jusqu’aux points d’émergence dans le complexe constitue un enjeu important. La mise en œuvre de mesures d’atténuation faisant en sorte que l’exploration pétrolière, gazière ou géothermique n’ait pas d’incidence sur la source d’eau chaude pourrait susciter des conflits. L’obtention du soutien du public et la stimulation de l’intérêt des chercheurs pour ce groupe d’animaux, qui mobilisent à l’heure actuelle peu de chercheurs, constituent un enjeu potentiel à long terme.