Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Yellow Rail in Canada

General Biology

The Yellow Rail’s biology was recently summarized by Bookhout (1995). Most of what is known about the nesting behaviour comes from Stalheim (1974, 1975), who studied birds in semi-captivity, and Stenzel (1982), who radio-tracked breeding birds in northern Michigan. Several publications have appeared since Bookhout (1995) (e.g. Robert et Laporte 1997, Robert et al., 1997) and others based on work from Québec (M. Robert and P. Laporte), New-Brunswick (G. Forbes and P. Kehoe), Oregon (M. Stern and K. Popper) and Texas (K. Mizell and D. Slack) should appear soon.


Breeding

Yellow Rails probably start breeding when they are a year old. Pair formation likely occurs on the breeding grounds (Bookhout 1995). Females have only one brood per season, although females that do not hatch their first clutch may renest (Stenzel 1982). Both males and females share the first stage of nest building, making crude scrapes in the vegetation. The hen finishes off the selected nest by herself, and continues to add to it throughout incubation and brooding (Stalheim 1974). The nest usually rests on the ground or just a few centimeters above it, and is typically covered with a concealing canopy of dead vegetation. Its walls are about 6-16 cm thick, made of fine vegetation woven into a cup 7-10 cm in diameter and 3-8 cm deep (Bookhout 1995, Robert and Laporte 1996). Yellow Rails may build more than one nest, using extra ones for brooding (Stenzel 1982).

The 7-10 eggs are laid a day apart. Incubation, carried out by the female alone, usually begins when laying is complete and continues for 17-18 days. Hatching is synchronous, and within a few hours the semiprecocial young can stand. Two days after hatching, the entire brood follows the hen away from the nest. The chicks have a small claw, or wing-claw, on each wing that they use to grip the vegetation as they roam around and when they climb back into the nest. They begin to feed themselves at about five days, are no longer brooded at three weeks, and fledge by 35 days (Stalheim 1974). Age at independence is unknown (Bookhout 1995).

Males may breed successively with two or more females, at least in captivity (Stalheim 1974). Unlike most other rallids, captive male Yellow Rails do not tend the young and stop associating with the female once incubation begins. However, Stenzel (1982), who worked in a natural setting, observed young in the company of both parents, as well as a male with chicks. He also observed a male with his mate at hatching time. The male Yellow Rail therefore could quite probably help taking care of the young--even if he is polygynous. Detailed studies of the mating system are lacking, and since non-monogamous mating is known to occur in the wild in only five of the world’s more than 130 rail species (del Hoyo et al., 1996), the Yellow Rail is sometimes presumed to form only monogamous pairs (Stenzel 1982, Bookhout 1995). Yet, other studies suggest that monogamy may not be the only mating system typical of this species: for example, both Stenzel (1982) and Robert and Laporte (1996) located nests of two females in the territory of one male.

Hatching success is likely very high; in Québec for example, all the eggs (9/9) in the nest found by Terrill (1943) hatched, and of the six nests found at l' Île aux Grues three had all the eggs hatch (9/9, 9/9, 9/9), two had 8 of 9 and 7 of 8 hatch and one had 7 of 9 hatch (Robert and Laporte 1996). Survival rates and nesting success should be similar to those found in other rails. Using birds of both sexes and all ages, Conway et al. (1994) found survival rates (from August to April) of 0.31 ± 0.26 for Soras and 0.55 ± 0.19 for Virginia Rails (Rallus limicola). They also found a nesting success rate of 0.53 for both species (which is a bit lower than for other rails).

When several pairs breed in the same marsh, activity areas of nesting birds overlap somewhat (Bookhout and Stenzel 1987). The males nonetheless patrol and seem to defend territories (Stalheim 1974, Bookhout 1995). Activity areas of mated males are often large compared to those of females. In Michigan, mated males occupied a mean area of about 8 ha (range: 5.8-10.5 ha), while females remained in a 1-2 ha area before incubation and a 0.5 ha area during incubation (Bookhout and Stenzel 1987). Densities of breeding males were one per 25 ha and one per 86 ha for Klamath Marsh National Wildlife Refuge and Seney National Wildlife Refuge, respectively (Bookhout 1995).


Migration and Movements

Yellow Rails usually arrive in the northern U.S. during the last week of April or the first week of May (Bookhout 1995). In southern Canada the first individuals are usually detected as early as 15 May (Robert and Laporte 1996, McGillivray and Semenchuk 1998). Water depth and temperature at breeding sites seem to affect establishment in spring (Stenzel 1982, Kaufman 1994). Very cold temperatures are avoided, and birds become lethargic and easy to capture (Stalheim 1974, Ripley 1977). Fall migration usually does not start until the second half of September or early October (Devitt 1939, Walkinshaw 1939, Manning 1952), continuing through October and early November. The latest date of fall occurrence in southern Québec is 26 October (Robert et al., 1995) and the earliest fall arrival in Louisiana is 6 October (Bookhout 1995).

Yellow Rails migrate at night, and some may migrate in groups: Pulich (1961) once recovered 13 individuals under a 500-m TV tower in Texas, and at least 28 flushed from a burning field in coastal North Carolina (Chapman 1969). They migrate in a broad front across the continent, as indicated by the distribution of published migration records (Cooke 1914, Bookhout 1995, AOU 1998). Even though they look like poor fliers, they cover impressive distances (Ripley 1977, Remsen and Parker 1990). Stalheim (1974) estimates that 2-3 weeks are required for the Yellow Rail to travel from the Gulf of Mexico to its breeding range.

In 15 years of banding Yellow Rails at Seney National Wildlife Refuge, Michigan, R. Urbanek observed that males lacked strong fidelity to breeding territories; each year the same territories were occupied by different males, and of 134 breeding males banded there, only two were recaptured, both the year after being banded (Bookhout 1995). Similar results were obtained on Ile aux Grues (Québec), which had nesting areas and non-nesting areas. Of 21 birds banded in the nesting areas from 1993-1995, only 2 (9.5%) were recaptured on the island during the nesting period the year after they were banded. This was despite the fact that all males calling on the island each year were banded (75 were banded over the years).

In a recent study, a few Yellow Rails moved along the St. Lawrence River corridor from their nesting area to Ile aux Grues in order to molt, seemingly because the island harbours the largest high-marshes (ca. 530 ha) along the St. Lawrence corridor and is apparently free of terrestrial predators (Robert and Laporte 1999). Although these movements may not have been indicative of a genuine molt migration, they suggest a molt migration similar in some ways to that of many waterfowl. Among rallids, Eurasian Coots (Fulica atra) and American Coots (F. americana) are the only species known to have developed true molt migrations (del Hoyo et al., 1996).


Food Habits

The most important food of Yellow Rails has traditionally been considered to be snails (Walkinshaw 1939, Stalheim 1974, Ripley 1977), but this has been based largely on anecdotal information. Yellow Rails definitely eat snails, but they also eat a variety of other invertebrates as well as seeds (Robert et al., 1997). For example, in Québec during summer, invertebrates and seeds had relative frequencies of 68% and 32%, respectively, with beetles (Coleoptera) representing almost two-thirds of the invertebrates taken. Spiders (Araneae) were second while other taxa (e.g. snails (Gastropoda) and flies (Diptera)) ranked much lower. Of the seeds identified, Cyperaceae and Juncaceae, particularly genera such as Carex, Juncus, and Eleocharis, were the most important food items. Winter, fall and spring food habits are probably similar to the summer diet, but the proportion of seeds could be higher (see Robert et al., 1997). In summary, the Yellow Rail is mostly an arthropod-feeder that complements its diet with seeds.

The Yellow Rail is probably a daytime feeder, like most other rails, foraging in areas of shallow water concealed by dense vegetation. It picks its food from ground, from the surface of, and sometimes from below (3-4 cm) the water surface. It drinks by dipping its bill in water while opening and closing it, then lifting it out horizontally (Stalheim 1974, Bookhout 1995).


Behaviour

The Yellow Rail’s “mouse-habits” are well-known by contemporary bird watchers and ornithologists. During daylight hours, it usually walks or runs, but almost never flies unless disturbed (for example if pursued by a dog)(Bookhout 1995, Robert 1997). It is particularly difficult to see upon approach, because, like other rails of its genus it usually remains stationary in the vegetation rather than fleeing as do other rails (Ripley 1977). It expertly slips through and hides in the dense marsh vegetation, aided by its buffy-and-black camouflage.

Its call is of particular interest, not only because it is often the only link between the bird and man, but also because it is quite peculiar. It is a rapid series of usually five monotonous and metallic ticks (or clicks) sounding like two pebbles tapped together: tick-tick, tick-tick-tick. In good atmospheric conditions, the clicking can be heard a kilometer away (Robert and Laporte 1996). Males click their “nuptial castanets” (Peabody 1922) much more often and regularly at night than during daytime.

Yellow Rail behaviour changes at night. Birds can be heard for hours, almost incessantly, often continuing until first light. They are much easier to flush or approach at night (Robert and Laporte 1996, Robert 1997). Many bird species living in dense vegetation are heard more regularly at night than by day, probably because their communication system is not dependent on vision, acoustic conditions are better, and the chances of attracting predators are reduced (Stalheim 1974). For example, three species that often nest in the same habitat as Yellow Rails-- Sedge Wren, Le Conte’s Sparrow, and Nelson’s Sharp-tailed Sparrow--also sing persistently at night, sometimes more than by day. This does not mean, as some have concluded, that the Yellow Rail is nocturnal. In many respects, it is much more active during the day than at night. For example, it does not feed at night, and its sexual and agonistic behaviours are much more frequent by day (Stalheim 1974). Moreover, it usually does not move about at night (unless disturbed), but calls from a stationary point (Stenzel 1982, Robert and Laporte 1996).

In Michigan (and probably in many other nesting localities across Canada and the U.S.), males usually cease calling in July (Stenzel 1982). The situation is similar in most localities where the species was recently found in Québec (Robert and Laporte 1996), except at Île aux Grues, where they usually stopped calling gradually from the first days of August until the last week of August. This difference is probably due to some individuals moving to Île aux Grues after nesting, apparently to molt. Although calling there ceases in late August, birds remain on the island for a few weeks afterwards and undergo a complete prebasic molt (Robert and Laporte 1996, Robert and Laporte 1999); as in other rallids, adult Yellow Rails lose all of their remiges and rectrices at once, as well as many body feathers, at the end of each summer before migrating south. They remain flightless for about two weeks (Stalheim 1974, Robert and Laporte 1996).

B. Eddleman (pers. comm.) suggests that Yellow Rails likely call very little or not at all on their wintering grounds. Very little is known about the species’ distribution and ecology in winter, and the fact that there has been no substantive survey and/or study of the Yellow Rail on the wintering grounds is probably due to this species remaining largely silent in winter. As part of the first such study, K. Mizell (pers. comm.) has found after two years of field work in Texas that the birds do not call, nor do they respond to playbacks.


Adaptability

The Yellow Rail is one of the most seldom seen nesting birds in the U.S. and Canada. However, during the nesting season, a calling male can be captured by slowly approaching it within about 15 m, then imitating the call by tapping two small stones persistently until it approaches, after which it can be captured with a hand net (Bookhout 1995, Robert and Laporte 1997). Males are usually easily manipulated and seem fairly resistant to handling. In one study, all 71 males that regurgitated after having tartar emetic injected down the esophagus showed no sign of illness when released and no significant differences were found in the weights of pre-treatment and post-treatment birds that were recaptured (Robert et al., 1997). However, females seem quite sensitive to handling during the nesting season (Stenzel 1982, M. Robert pers. obs.).

Stalheim (1974) maintained Yellow Rails in captivity, and some even reproduced. A major problem was inducing them to take prepared food; this had to be done gradually and the recipe had to be prepared with care. Probably the best way to ensure reproduction is to keep the birds in a natural setting that can provide natural live food and concealing vegetation (Stalheim 1974).

The dispersal capabilities of rallids in general are considered very good and this is probably also the case for Yellow Rails (Remsen and Parker 1990). Recent banding recoveries indicate that many individuals apparently move (sometimes many hundreds kilometers) along the St. Lawrence River corridor (Québec) from one site to another during their calling period (Robert and Laporte 1999). The ephemeral nature of marshes and wet grasslands habitats dictates that most rallids must be good dispersers. Most freshwater marshes proceed through various droughts, floods, and/or successional stages (Remsen and Parker 1990), which explains why Yellow Rails, like other rallids, may occur at unpredictable times and places. For example, in 1994, Yellow Rails were found in unusual numbers in the northern prairies, as in Saskatchewan and around North Dakota, while they were apparently absent from Churchill that year (Kaufman 1994). The population at the Seney National Wildlife Refuge also varied from 1 to 85 singing males from 1995 to 1998 (R. Urbanek, pers. comm.). In the Rainy River region of Ontario in 1995, which was a late, wet spring, an area 6 km southeast of the Big Marsh had numerous small meadows in which Yellow Rails could be heard; that same area in 1994, a dry year, had none singing (D. Elder, pers. comm.).

Yellow Rails are sometimes found in croplands, especially during migration. Maturerice fields seem to provide an appropriate “artificial” habitat for migrating (and probably wintering), and seem to be used extensively by Yellow Rails(Lowery 1974, Cardiff and Smalley 1989). This is not surprising because habitat selection may be influenced primarily by plant physiognomy and maximum water levels (Robert and Laporte, in prep.), and rice fields are very similar to sedge marshes in that they have dense, fairly low herbaceous vegetation where there is very little or almost no standing water but where the substrate usually remains saturated.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Râle jaune au Canada

Biologie

Récemment, Bookhout (1995) a décrit sommairement la biologie du Râle jaune. La plus grande partie de ce que nous savons sur le comportement de nidification de l’espèce provient de Stalheim (1974, 1975), qui a étudié des oiseaux en semi-captivité, et de Stenzel (1982), qui a suivi des oiseaux nicheurs par radiotélémesure dans le nord du Michigan. Plusieurs publications ont paru depuis les travaux de Bookhout (1995) (p. ex. Robert et Laporte, 1997; Robert et al., 1997), et d’autres, fondées sur des travaux réalisés au Québec (M. Robert et P. Laporte), au Nouveau-Brunswick (G. Forbes et P. Kehoe), en Oregon (M. Stern et K. Popper) et au Texas (K. Mizell et D. Slack), devraient paraître sous peu.


Reproduction

Les Râles jaunes commencent vraisemblablement à se reproduire à l’âge d’un an, et les couples se forment sans doute dans les lieux de nidification (Bookhout, 1995). Les femelles ne pondent qu’une fois par saison, mais celles qui n’amènent pas leur première couvée à éclosion peuvent nicher de nouveau (Stenzel, 1982). Les deux parents participent à la première étape de la construction du nid et creusent des trous grossiers dans la végétation. La femelle finit le nid seule et continue de le parfaire pendant toute la période d’incubation des œufs et de couvaison des jeunes (Stalheim, 1974). En général construit sur le sol ou quelques centimètres au-dessus, le nid est habituellement caché sous un couvert de végétation morte. Ses parois, de 6 à 16 cm d’épaisseur, sont faites d’un fin tissage de végétation en forme de coupe de 7 à 10 cm de diamètre et de 3 à 8 cm de profondeur (Bookhout, 1995; Robert et Laporte, 1996). Le Râle jaune construit parfois plus d’un nid, et se sert des nids supplémentaires pour la couvaison (Stenzel, 1982).

Les œufs, au nombre de 7 à 10, sont pondus au rythme d’un par jour. L’incubation, assurée par la femelle seule, débute en général à la ponte du dernier œuf et s’étend sur une période de 17 ou 18 jours. L’éclosion est synchrone, et le petit semiprécoce peut se tenir sur ses pattes quelques heures plus tard. Deux jours après l’éclosion, toute la couvée suit la mère dans ses déplacements hors du nid. Les jeunes portent un onglet sur chacune de leurs ailes et ils s’en servent pour s’agripper à la végétation lors de leurs déplacements et pour accéder au nid. Ils commencent à se nourrir seuls à environ cinq jours, ne sont plus couvés trois semaines après leur naissance, et sont en mesure de voler vers l’âge de 35 jours (Stalheim, 1974). On ignore à quel âge ils sont indépendants (Bookhout, 1995).

Les mâles peuvent s’accoupler successivement avec deux ou plusieurs femelles, du moins en captivité (Stalheim, 1974). Contrairement à la plupart des autres Rallidés, les Râles jaunes mâles en captivité ne participent pas aux soins des jeunes et cessent de fréquenter la femelle une fois l’incubation entamée. Toutefois, Stenzel (1982), qui a travaillé en milieu naturel, a observé des jeunes en compagnie de leurs deux parents, de même qu’un mâle accompagné de petits. Il a également aperçu un mâle avec sa femelle au moment de l’éclosion. Il est donc possible que le mâle collabore en partie aux soins des jeunes, même s’il est polygame. On ne possède aucune étude détaillée sur le système d’accouplement du Râle jaune et comme, sur les 130 espèces de râles et plus qu’on trouve dans le monde, seulement cinq sont connues pour être non monogames (del Hoyo et al., 1996), on présume parfois que le Râle jaune ne forme que des couples monogames (Stenzel, 1982; Bookhout, 1995). Certaines études indiquent toutefois que cette espèce pourrait ne pas se limiter à la monogamie : Stenzel (1982), par exemple, de même que Robert et Laporte (1996), ont trouvé des nids abritant deux femelles dans le territoire d’un même mâle.

Le succès d’éclosion est vraisemblablement très élevé; au Québec, par exemple, tous les œufs (9/9) du nid trouvé par Terrill (1943) ont éclos; dans trois des six nids trouvés à l’île aux Grues, tous les œufs (9/9, 9/9, 9/9) ont éclos, dans deux, 8 sur 9 et 7 sur 8, et dans le dernier, 7 sur 9 (Robert et Laporte, 1996). Les taux de survie et le succès de nidification devraient ressembler à ceux observés chez les autres râles. Conway et al. (1994), qui ont étudié des oiseaux des deux sexes et de tous âges, ont relevé des taux de survie (d’août à avril) de 0,31 ± 0,26 pour la Marouette de Caroline et de 0,55 ± 0,19 pour le Râle de Virginie (Rallus limicola). Ils ont également établi le taux de succès de nidification à 0,53 pour les deux espèces (ce qui est légèrement inférieur à celui des autres râles).

Lorsque plusieurs couples se reproduisent dans le même marais, les aires d’activité des oiseaux nicheurs se chevauchent quelque peu (Bookhout et Stenzel, 1987). Les mâles n’en patrouillent pas moins leur territoire et semblent le défendre (Stalheim, 1974; Bookhout, 1995). Les aires d’activité des mâles accouplés sont souvent étendues comparativement à celles des femelles. Au Michigan, les mâles accouplés occupaient un territoire moyen d’environ 8 ha (fourchette de 5,8 à 10,5 ha), tandis que les femelles se limitaient à 1 à 2 ha avant l’incubation des œufs, et à 0,5 ha pendant la couvaison des petits (Bookhout et Stenzel, 1987). La densité des mâles nicheurs s’élevait respectivement à un par 25 ha et à un par 86 ha dans le Klamath Marsh National Wildlife Refuge et le Seney National Wildlife Refuge (Bookhout, 1995).


Migrations et déplacements

Le Râle jaune arrive généralement dans le nord des États-Unis pendant la dernière semaine d’avril ou la première semaine de mai (Bookhout, 1995). Dans le sud du Canada, on aperçoit habituellement les premiers individus dès le 15 mai (Robert et Laporte, 1996; McGillivray et Semenchuk, 1998). La profondeur et la température de l’eau dans les sites de reproduction semblent influer sur l’établissement de l’espèce au printemps (Stenzel, 1982; Kaufman, 1994). Les oiseaux évitent les températures très basses, qui les rendent léthargiques et faciles à capturer (Stalheim, 1974; Ripley, 1977). La migration automnale ne débute généralement pas avant la deuxième moitié de septembre ou le début d’octobre (Devitt, 1939; Walkinshaw, 1939; Manning, 1952), et se poursuit en octobre et au début novembre. La date la plus tardive à laquelle on a observé un individu dans le sud du Québec est le 26 octobre (Robert et al., 1995) et la date la plus hâtive d’arrivée à l’automne en Louisiane est le 6 octobre (Bookhout, 1995).

Les Râles jaunes migrent la nuit, et certains le feraient même en groupe : Pulich (1961) a déjà récupéré 13 individus sous une tour de télévision de 500 m au Texas, et au moins 28 ont été vus s’envolant d’un champ en feu sur la côte de la Caroline du Nord (Chapman, 1969). Les Râles se déplacent sur un large front sur le continent, comme l’indique la répartition des relevés de migration publiés (Cooke, 1914; Bookhout, 1995; AOU, 1998). Même s’ils ont l’air de mal voler, ces oiseaux parcourent des distances impressionnantes (Ripley, 1977; Remsen et Parker, 1990). Selon Stalheim (1974), il leur faut 2-3 semaines pour parcourir la distance séparant le golfe du Mexique et leur aire de reproduction.

En 15 ans de baguage des Râles jaunes au Seney National Wildlife Refuge, au Michigan, R. Urbanek a pu constater que les mâles n’étaient pas très attachés à leur territoire de reproduction; chaque année, les mêmes territoires étaient occupés par des mâles différents, et sur les 134 mâles bagués dans la réserve, on en a recapturé seulement deux, tous deux l’année suivant leur baguage (Bookhout, 1995). On a obtenu des résultats semblables à l’île aux Grues, au Québec, qui compte des sites de nidification et d’autres lieux fréquentés par l’espèce; sur les 21 oiseaux bagués dans les sites de nidification entre 1993 et 1995, seulement 2 (9,5 p.100) ont été recapturés sur l’île pendant la période de nidification l’année suivant leur baguage, bien qu’on ait bagué tous les mâles chanteurs présents sur l’île chaque année (75 ont été bagués avec les années).

Dans une étude récente, on a observé quelques Râles jaunes qui se sont déplacés le long du corridor du Saint-Laurent depuis leur zone de nidification jusqu’à l’île aux Grues pour y muer, apparemment parce que l’île renferme des haut-marais plus étendus (env. 530 ha) et est exempte de prédateurs (Robert et Laporte, 1999). Bien que ces déplacements puissent ne pas être le signe d’une véritable migration de mue, il évoquent certes, par certains aspects, une migration de mue semblable à celle de nombreuses espèces de sauvagine. Parmi les Rallidés, la Foulque macroule (Fulica atra) et la Foulque d’Amérique (F. americana) sont les seules autres espèces connues pour effectuer de véritables migrations de mue (del Hoyo et al., 1996).


Alimentation

Traditionnellement, on a toujours pensé que le Râle jaune se nourrissait surtout d’escargots (Walkinshaw, 1939; Stalheim, 1974; Ripley, 1977), mais cela reposait sur des renseignements largement anecdotiques. Si l’espèce mange effectivement des escargots, elle consomme aussi toute une gamme d’autres invertébrés, de même que des graines (Robert et al., 1997). Par exemple, au Québec, en été, les invertébrés et les graines apparaissent respectivement à une fréquence de 68 p.100 et 32 p.100 dans le régime alimentaire de l’espèce, les coléoptères représentant près des deux tiers des invertébrés capturés. Les araignées (Araneae) arrivaient en deuxième position, tandis que les autres taxons (p. ex. les escargots [gastropodes] et les mouches [diptères]) arrivaient bien après. Parmi les graines identifiées, les Cypéracées et les Joncacées, notamment de genres comme Carex, Juncus et Eleocharis, étaient les principaux aliments. L’espèce a probablement les mêmes habitudes alimentaires en hiver, à l’automne et au printemps qu’en été, mais la proportion de graines pourrait alors être plus élevée (voir Robert et al., 1997). En somme, le Râle jaune consomme surtout des arthropodes, et complète son régime par des graines.

Le Râle jaune s’alimente vraisemblablement le jour, comme la plupart des autres râles, et cherche sa nourriture dans les secteurs d’eau peu profonde cachés sous une végétation dense. Il picore sa nourriture sur le sol et à la surface de l’eau et parfois à une profondeur de 3-4 cm. Pour boire, il plonge le bec dans l’eau, l’ouvre et le ferme, puis le ressort à l’horizontale (Stalheim, 1974; Bookhout, 1995).


Comportement

Les « habitudes de souris » du Râle jaune sont bien connues des ornithologues  amateurs et profesionnels d’aujourd’hui. Pendant les heures de clarté, on le voit en général marcher ou courir; il ne vole pratiquement jamais à moins d’être dérangé (par exemple s’il est pourchassé par un chien) (Bookhout, 1995; Robert, 1997). Il est particulièrement difficile à observer lorsqu’on s’ en approche parce que, comme les autres râles du même genre, il demeure habituellement immobile dans la végétation plutôt que de s’envoler comme le font les autres râles (Ripley, 1977). Il se faufile adroitement dans la dense végétation des marais pour s’y cacher, aidé par son camouflage chamois et noir.

Le chant du Râle jaune présente un intérêt particulier non seulement parce qu’il constitue le seul lien entre l’oiseau et l’humain, mais aussi à cause de son caractère très singulier. L’oiseau émet en fait une série de tics (ou de clics) rapides, monotones et métalliques, généralement au nombre de cinq, qui rappellent le bruit que font deux cailloux entrechoqués : tic-tic, tic-tic-tic. En présence de conditions atmosphériques favorables, on peut entendre ces clics à une distance d’un kilomètre (Robert et Laporte, 1996). Les mâles font cliquer leurs « castagnettes nuptiales » (Peabody, 1922) beaucoup plus souvent et régulièrement la nuit que le jour.

La nuit, le Râle jaune change de comportement. On peut l’entendre chanter pratiquement sans interruption pendant des heures, souvent jusqu’aux premières lueurs du jour. Il est aussi beaucoup plus facile de le faire lever ou de l’approcher la nuit (Robert et Laporte, 1996; Robert, 1997). Un grand nombre d’oiseaux qui habitent des milieux où la végétation est dense se font en général entendre davantage la nuit que le jour, probablement parce que leur système de communication est peu relié à la vision, que les conditions acoustiques sont meilleures la nuit, et que les risques d’attirer les prédateurs sont alors moindres (Stalheim, 1974). Par exemple, trois espèces qui nichent souvent dans le même habitat que le Râle jaune – le Troglodyte à bec court, le Bruant de Le Conte et le Bruant de Nelson (Bruant à queue aiguë) – chantent aussi continuellement la nuit, parfois plus que le jour. On ne peut pas en conclure pour autant, comme l’ont fait certains auteurs, que le Râle jaune est un oiseau nocturne. À plusieurs égards, il est en fait beaucoup plus actif le jour que la nuit. Par exemple, il ne s’alimente pas la nuit et ses comportement sexuels et agonistiques sont beaucoup plus fréquents le jour (Stalheim, 1974). En outre, il ne se déplace généralement pas la nuit (à moins d’être dérangé), mais chante à partir d’un point fixe (Stenzel, 1982; Robert et Laporte, 1996).

Au Michigan (comme probablement dans un grand nombre d’autres endroits au Canada et aux États-Unis), les mâles cessent habituellement de chanter en juillet (Stenzel, 1982). C’est également le cas dans la plupart des localités où l’on a repéré l’espèce dernièrement au Québec (Robert et Laporte, 1996), sauf à l’île aux Grues, où ils cessent habituellement de chanter graduellement depuis les premiers jours d’août jusqu’à la fin du mois. Cette différence tient probablement au fait que certains individus vont à l’île aux Grues après la nidification, apparemment pour muer. Bien que les chants y cessent à la fin août, les oiseaux demeurent sur l’île encore quelques semaines, où ils subissent une mue prénuptiale complète (Robert et Laporte, 1996; Robert et Laporte, 1999); comme d’autres rallidés, les Râles jaunes adultes perdent à la fin de chaque été toutes leurs rémiges et leurs rectrices en même temps, de même que beaucoup d’autres plumes, avant de migrer vers le sud. Ils restent ainsi sans voler pendant environ deux semaines (Stalheim, 1974; Robert et Laporte, 1996).

Selon B. Eddleman (comm. pers.), le Râle jaune chanterait très peu sinon pas du tout dans son aire d’hivernage. On sait très peu de choses sur la répartition et l’écologie de l’espèce en hiver; sans doute est-ce d’ailleurs parce qu’elle demeure très silencieuse pendant cette saison qu’il n’y a eu aucun relevé ni étude d’importance à son sujet dans les quartiers d’hiver. Dans le cadre de la première étude du genre, K. Mizell (comm. pers.) a constaté, après deux ans de travaux de terrain réalisés dans l’aire d’hivernage du Texas, que l’espèce n’y chante pas et n’y répond pas aux enregistrements.


Adaptabilité

Le Râle jaune est l’un des oiseaux nicheurs les plus rarement observés aux États-Unis et au Canada. Toutefois, pendant la saison de nidification, on peut capturer un mâle chanteur en s’approchant lentement à environ 15 m de lui, puis en imitant son cri en frappant deux petits cailloux l’un contre l’autre de façon répétée jusqu’à ce qu’il s’approche; il suffit alors de le capturer à l’aide d’un filet à main (Bookhout, 1995; Robert et Laporte, 1997). Les mâles sont habituellement faciles à manipuler et semblent passablement bien résister à la manipulation. Dans une étude, les 71 mâles qui ont régurgité après qu’on leur eut injecté un émétique dans l’œsophage n’ont montré aucun signe de maladie une fois libérés, et on n’a relevé aucune différence significative dans le poids des oiseaux recapturés avant et après traitement (Robert et al., 1997). Par contre, les femelles semblent très sensibles à la manipulation durant la saison de nidification (Stenzel, 1982; M. Robert, obs. pers.).

Stalheim (1974) a gardé des Râles jaunes en captivité, et certains se sont reproduits. Un des principaux problèmes a été de les amener à manger des aliments préparés; il a fallu le faire graduellement et préparer la recette avec beaucoup de soin. La meilleure façon de les faire se reproduire est sans doute de les garder dans un environnement naturel où il peuvent trouver des proies naturelles vivantes et de la végétation pour se cacher (Stalheim, 1974).

La capacité de dispersion des Rallidés est généralement considérée comme très bonne, et cela vaut sans doute aussi pour le Râle jaune (Remsen et Parker, 1990). Si l’on se fie aux oiseaux bagués recapturés récemment, il semble que de nombreux individus se déplacent d’un site à l’autre (parfois sur des centaines de kilomètres) le long du corridor du Saint-Laurent (Québec) pendant la période où ils chantent (Robert et Laporte, 1999). Vu la nature ephémère des marais et des milieux de prairies humides, la plupart des Rallidés doivent pouvoir se disperser efficacement. La plupart des marais d’eau douce passent par diverses périodes de sécheresse, d’inondation et/ou divers stades de succession végétale (Remsen et Parker, 1990), ce qui explique pourquoi le Râle jaune, comme les autres Rallidés, peut apparaître à des époques et dans des lieux imprévisibles. Par exemple, en 1994, on en a observé un nombre inhabituel dans les prairies du Nord, comme en Saskatchewan et autour du Dakota du Nord, alors qu’ils étaient apparemment absents de Churchill cette année-là (Kaufman, 1994). La population du Seney National Wildlife Refuge a également varié de 1 à 85 mâles chanteurs entre 1995 et 1998 (R. Urbanek, comm. pers.). Dans la région de la rivière à la Pluie en Ontario en 1995, année où le printemps a été tardif et humide, on a entendu des râles dans un secteur de 6 km renfermant un grand nombre de petits prés, au sud-est du marais Big; l’année suivante, qui a été sèche, on n’en a entendu aucun (D. Elder, comm. pers.).

On trouve parfois des Râles jaunes dans les terres en culture, notamment lors de la migration. Les rizières matures semblent constituer un habitat « artificiel » qui convient bien à l’espèce à cette époque (et probablement aussi en hiver), ce dont elle semble profiter au maximum (Lowery, 1974; Cardiff et Smalley, 1989). Cela n’est d’ailleurs guère étonnant étant donné que son choix d’habitat est surtout influencé par la physionomie végétale et le niveau maximum des eaux (Robert et Laporte, en cours de rédaction), et que les rizières ressemblent beaucoup aux marais à carex (végétation d’herbacées passablement basse, peu ou pas d’eau stagnante, mais substrat habituellement saturé).