Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Yellow Rail in Canada

Limiting Factors

Habitat Loss

A detailed analysis of habitat loss for Yellow Rails was presented above in “Trend in quality and quantity of critical habitat”. The salient points are summarized below.

Wetland loss unquestionably is the greatest threat to the Yellow Rail (Eddleman et al., 1988, Bookhout 1995), both in Canada and in the U.S., and there is no doubt that the population has been affected by habitat loss and degradation (Robert 1997). Loss of habitat known to have been used in the breeding season by Yellow Rails has been documented in Oregon, northwestern Ontario, southern Ontario, and southern Québec. We have not been able to find similar documentation in the prairies, but the landscape changes that have occurred there are very well documented. Hence, from a largely pristine environment at the turn of the century, the prairie-parkland region now comprises the largest expanse of agricultural land in Canada (Turner et al. 1987), and as of 1986, about 40% of the original wetlands in Prairie Canada had been lost (Canada/United States Steering Committee 1986). There is little doubt that considerable amounts of Yellow Rail habitat have been lost in this region. Specific documentation is lacking only because litte work has been done there on the species.

Habitat loss is occurring even in the last pristine stronghold, the west coast of Hudson/James Bay. However, it is unclear how much of a problem this currently poses to Yellow Rails, and there is uncertainty regarding the future dynamics of the enormous Snow Goose population.

Habitat loss is also a concern regarding the smaller U.S. breeding population. The status of habitat in the U.S. is also important because the entire global population migrates through that country. However, the most important limiting factor for Yellow Rails, regardless of where they breed, is habitat loss on the wintering grounds, which has been so extensive that the wintering range may no longer be contiguous (T. Bookout, pers. comm.). In Texas and elsewhere in the U.S. wintering grounds, the species seems to be largely restricted to a narrow band of coastline, and coastal marshes throughout the Gulf states are threatened. The size of the known wintering range is no more than 7% the size of the breeding range (277 800 km2 compared to 3 787 000 km2).


Other Limiting Factors

Harvest of wild and planted rice results in nest destruction and excessive disturbance to rails (Fannucchi et al., 1986, Eddleman et al., 1988, del Hoyo et al., 1996). Many Yellow Rails are apparently attracted to Louisiana rice fields (in fall and probably during winter also) and the potential for Yellow Rail casualities during harvesting is important. In fact, most specimens at the Louisiana State University Museum of Natural Science were found killed or mutilated by hay mowers near Baton Rouge (Cardiff and Smalley 1989). Evidence of this sort of injury has also been reported by Lowery (1974). A large portion of the Ile aux Grues (Québec) wet meadows is mowed annually from late-June to September, and farmers there have accidentlly killed some (Robert and Laporte 1996). Others have had their legs cut off during harvesting in the Abitibi region (Cyr and Larivée 1995).

Other less important limiting factors include lead contamination, hunting, disturbance by birders and collisions during migration. Lead shot is a major contaminant that can potentially affect rails (Eddleman et al., 1988). Some have been found in the gizzards of many Soras in the U.S. (Artmann and Martin 1975, Stendell et al., 1980); the highest incidences occured in marshes with tidal action, on waterfowl refuges, and on areas that have long been used for hunting. This threat has likely diminished with the decrease in the use of lead shot in favour of steel shot for waterfowl hunting. The effects of contaminants on rails are poorly known (Eddleman et al., 1988), and there is no indication one way or the other that Yellow Rails have been affected by the widespread use of pesticides in marshes (Ripley 1977).

Although it is illegal to hunt Yellow Rails anywhere in the U.S. and in Canada (except in Ontario and in the Yukon), a few individuals are likely taken, accidentally or otherwise, especially by waterfowl and Common Snipe (Gallinago gallinago) hunters (see Meredith 1935). No rails have been legally hunted in Canada since 1994 (Dilworth-Christie and Dickson 1997) and the sport probably has a minimal impact on populations. Yellow Rails may also be killed by flying into TV towers, telephone wires and lights (Barrows 1912, Roberts 1932), and some get stranded in large cities (Bull 1974, Whelan 1975). Thirteen individuals were once found at the foot of a 500 m TV tower in Texas (Pulich 1962). The impact of such accidents on populations is unknown (Bookhout 1995).

The Yellow Rail is greatly sought after by birders, and frequent visits to a site can cause considerable disturbance. For example, 70 participants in an annual American Birding Association meeting went to McGregor Marsh in Minnesota, surrounded, and captured a Yellow Rail (Bernstein 1988). Similar reports have emanated from elsewhere, especially Québec (Cyr and Larivée 1995). Fortunately, the famous “Rail Buggies”, used for flushing wintering rails in the Anahuac National Wildlife Refuge (Texas) and other U.S. wintering areas, were discontinued about 10 years ago because many rails were killed and the habitat was greatly affected (Holt 1993, K. Mizell pers. comm.).


Predators

Walkinshaw (1939) found two dead Yellow Rails that had been killed by a raptor and observed the remains of one in an owl pellet. A radio-tracked bird in Québec (Robert and Laporte 1996) was apparently taken by a Red Fox (Vulpes vulpes), while another was retrieved by a House Cat (Felis catus) in Indiana (Kirkpatrick 1980). Herons (Ardea herodias, Casmerodius albus) may eat a large number of rails during extremely high tides if adequate upland cover is unavailable around tidal marshes (Evens and Page 1986, Eddleman et al., 1994). Birders have reported having seen Yellow Rails hunted in this opportunistic fashion at Point Reyes (California), where the species is considered of exceptional occurence (P. Lehman and C. Elphick, pers. comm.). Northern Harriers (Circus cyaneus) and Short-eared Owls (Asio flammeus) frequent breeding sites in Michigan and Québec and are potential predators (Bookhout 1995, M. Robert, pers. obs.). In Texas, the Water Moccasin (Agkistrodon piscivorus) is a known predator, and other likely predators include Northern Harriers, Raccoons (Procyon lotor), Minks (Mustela vison), Bobcats (Lynx rufus), and possibly Barn Owls (Tyto alba) (K. Mizell, pers. comm.).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Râle jaune au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs

Perte d’habitat

On trouvera une analyse détaillée de la perte de l’habitat dans la section « Tendance de la qualité et de la quantité de l’habitat essentiel » plus haut. Ne figurent ici que les points saillants.

La disparition des milieux humides est indéniablement la plus lourde menace à peser sur le Râle jaune (Eddleman et al., 1988; Bookhout, 1995), au Canada comme aux États-Unis. Il ne fait aucun doute que la population a souffert de la perte et de la dégradation de son habitat (Robert, 1997). On a signalé la disparition d’habitats utilisés pendant la saison de reproduction en Oregon, dans le nord-ouest et le sud de l’Ontario, de même que dans le sud du Québec. Si nous n’avons pu trouver d’attestation semblable pour les prairies, les changements apportés au paysage y sont par contre très bien documentés. Ainsi, l’habitat en grande partie vierge qu’on trouvait au début du siècle dans la prairie-parc est devenu aujourd’hui la plus grande étendue de terres agricoles du Canada (Turner et al., 1987); en 1986, environ 40 p.100 des milieux humides originaux des Prairies canadiennes avaient disparus (Canada/United States Steering Committee, 1986). Il n’est donc guère douteux que d’immenses superficies d’habitat du Râle jaune ont disparu de la région. Ce n’est que parce que l’espèce a peu été étudiée dans la région que nous manquons de documentation sur le sujet.

L’habitat disparaît même dans le dernier bastion encore intact de l’espèce, la région de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James. On ignore toutefois au juste dans quelle mesure cela constitue actuellement un problème pour le Râle jaune, et l’évolution de l’énorme population d’Oies des neige est incertaine.

La disparition de l’habitat soulève également des craintes pour la petite population nicheuse des États-Unis. La situation est aussi préoccupante ailleurs aux États-Unis, étant donné que toute la population mondiale migre par ce pays. Le plus important facteur limitatif pour le Râle jaune, indépendamment de l’endroit où il niche, est cependant la perte d’habitats dans l’aire d’hivernage, qui a été si marquée que celle-ci pourrait être fragmentée (T. Bookout, comm. pers.). Dans l’aire d’hivernage au Texas et ailleurs aux États-Unis, l’espèce semble en grande partie confinée à une étroite bande de la côte, et les marais côtiers des États du golfe sont eux aussi menacés. La superficie de l’aire d’hivernage connue ne dépasse pas 7 p.100 de celle de l’aire de reproduction (277 800 km2 par rapport à 3 787 000 km2).


Autres facteurs limitatifs

La récolte du riz sauvage et cultivé entraîne la destruction des nids et est une source de perturbation majeure pour les râles (Fannucchi et al., 1986; Eddleman et al., 1988; del Hoyo et al., 1996). En effet, de nombreux Râles jaunes sont apparemment attirés par les rizières de la Louisiane (à l’automne et probablement aussi en hiver), où ils risquent beaucoup d’être tués pendant la récolte. En fait, la majorité des spécimens que possède le musée des sciences naturelles de la Louisiana State University ont été trouvés morts ou mutilés par les faucheuses près de Baton Rouge (Cardiff et Smalley, 1989). Lowery (1974) a fait le même genre d’observations. Par ailleurs, une forte proportion des prés humides est fauchée chaque année à l’île aux Grues (Québec) entre la fin juin et septembre, et les agriculteurs y ont accidentellement tué quelques oiseaux (Robert et Laporte, 1996). D’autres râles ont eu les pattes coupées pendant la récolte en Abitibi (Cyr et Larivée, 1995).

Parmi les autres facteurs limitatifs de moindre importance figurent la contamination par le plomb, la chasse, les perturbations occasionnées par les ornithologues amateurs, et les collisions pendant la migration. La grenaille de plomb est une importante source de contamination et pourrait affecter les râles (Eddleman et al., 1988). On en a en effet trouvé dans le gésier de nombreuses Marouettes de Caroline aux États-Unis (Artmann et Martin, 1975; Stendell et al., 1980), les cas les plus remarquables provenant des marais soumis à l’action des marées, des refuges de sauvagine et des régions où l’on pratique la chasse depuis longtemps. Cette menace s’est vraisemblablement atténuée avec le remplacement graduel de la grenaille de plomb par la grenaille d’acier pour la chasse à la sauvagine. Les effets des contaminants sur les râles sont toutefois mal connus (Eddleman et al., 1988); rien n’indique que le Râle jaune ait été affecté d’une façon ou d’une autre par l’utilisation répandue des pesticides dans les marais (Ripley, 1977).

Bien que la chasse au Râle jaune soit illégale partout aux États-Unis et au Canada (sauf en Ontario et au Yukon), il se peut que quelques individus soient capturés, accidentellement ou non, notamment par les chasseurs de sauvagine et de Bécassines des marais (Gallinago gallinago) (voir Meredith, 1935). Aucun râle n’a été chassé légalement au Canada depuis 1994 (Dilworth-Christie et Dickson, 1997), et la chasse sportive a sans doute fort peu d’impact sur les populations. Des Râles jaunes peuvent par ailleurs se tuer lorsqu’ils entrent en collision avec des tours de télévision, des fils de téléphone et des dispositifs d’éclairage (Barrows, 1912; Roberts, 1932), et certains se perdent dans les grandes villes (Bull, 1974; Whelan, 1975). On a déjà trouvé treize individus au pied d’une tour de télévision de 500 m au Texas (Pulich, 1962). L’impact de ce genre d’accidents sur les populations est inconnu (Bookhout, 1995).

Le Râle jaune est très recherché par les ornithologues amateurs, dont les fréquentes visites dans un site peuvent être une importante source de perturbation. Par exemple, 70 personnes qui participaient à la rencontre annuelle de l’American Birding Association se sont rendues dans le marais McGregor, au Minnesota, où elle ont encerclé et capturé un Râle jaune (Bernstein, 1988). Des cas semblables ont été signalés ailleurs, notamment au Québec (Cyr et Larivée, 1995). Heureusement, on a cessé d’utiliser les fameux « Rail Buggies » (ces chariots qu’on utilisait pour faire lever les râles en hivernation dans le Anahuac National Wildlife Refuge [Texas] et dans d’autres lieux d’hivernage aux États-Unis) il y a une dizaine d’années parce qu’ils tuaient de nombreux râles et perturbaient énormément l’habitat (Holt, 1993; K. Mizell, comm. pers.).


Prédateurs

Walkinshaw (1939) a trouvé deux carcasses de Râles jaunes tués par un rapace, et observé les restes d’un autre dans une boulette de régurgitation de Strigidé. Un oiseau suivi par radiodétection au Québec (Robert et Laporte, 1996) a apparemment été capturé par un renard roux (Vulpes vulpes), tandis qu’un autre a été retrouvé par un chat domestique (Felis catus) en Indiana (Kirkpatrick, 1980). Les hérons (Ardea herodias, Casmerodius albus) pourraient manger un grand nombre de râles lors des très hautes marées, lorsque le couvert est insuffisant dans les étages supérieurs des marais côtiers (Evens et Page, 1986; Eddleman et al., 1994). Des ornithologues amateurs ont vu des Râles jaunes faire l’objet d’une telle chasse opportuniste à Point Reyes (Californie), où la présence de l’espèce est considérée comme exceptionnelle (P. Lehman et C. Elphick, comm. pers.). Le Busard Saint-Martin (Circus cyaneus) et le Hibou des marais (Asio flammeus), qui fréquentent les lieux de reproduction du Michigan et du Québec, pourraient aussi être des prédateurs de l’espèce (Bookhout, 1995; M. Robert, obs. pers.). Au Texas, le mocassin aquatique (Agkistrodon piscivorus) est un prédateur connu; le Busard Saint-Martin, le raton laveur (Procyon lotor), le vison (Mustela vison), le lynx roux (Lynx rufus) et peut-être l’Effraie des clochers (Tyto alba) pourraient aussi figurer parmi les prédateurs (K. Mizell, comm. pers.).