Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Yellow Rail in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

Public Interest

The Yellow Rail is one of the most sought-after breeding birds by bird-watchers in North America (Anderson 1977, Bennett 1981, Savaloja 1981). Much information on this bird, especially details on sites where they can be found, have been published in the magazine Birding, which is very popular among serious North American birders. The Yellow Rail was recently featured in an article (Robert 1997) in the Rare, Local, Little-known, and Declining North American Breeders section. Birders seek this species to the extent that until recently it was possible to take “Rail Buggies” used for flushing wintering rails in Anahuac National Wildlife Refuge (Texas) and other U.S. wintering areas (e.g. in Louisiana)(Anderson 1977, McKee 1987). In southwestern Louisiana, especially in the Lafayette region, birders go to rice fields to watch Yellow Rails being flushed by combines (Cardiff and Smalley 1989).

Even though birders searching for this species do so in winter, a few papers discuss methods for observing it on the breeding grounds (Bennett 1981, Savaloja 1981, 1984, McKee 1987, Robert 1997). It would be feasible and useful to organize Yellow Rail observation tours during the breeding season, which could help sensitize the public to this special bird (Anderson 1977, Stenzel 1982); for example, such tours have been conducted at Seney National Wildlife Refuge (T. Bookhout, pers. comm.). In Québec, interpretation displays on the Yellow Rail will be installed in the high-marshes of Île aux Grues in spring 1999.


Global Range and Status

The Yellow Rail’s global distribution is restricted to North America. It breeds exclusively in Canada and the northern U.S, with Canada comprising about 90% of its breeding range. It is thus considered a species with a very high Canadian supervisory responsibility score; it is also considered a high concern species in Canada (Dunn 1997). The very closely related Swinhoe’s Rail of Asia, sometimes considered con-specific with the Yellow Rail (Olson 1973, Ripley 1977, Bookhout 1995), is listed Vulnerable by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN 1996). The Nature Conservancy has also expressed some concern for the Yellow Rail’s long-term global status by ranking it G4 (The Nature Conservancy 1998). Finally, the Yellow Rail is listed as a Migratory Nongame Bird of Special Management Concern in the U.S., which identifies migratory non-game birds that, without additional conservation action, are likely to become candidates for listing under the Endangered Species Act.


Status of Other Species Found in Yellow Rail Habitats

In Canada, the only other bird at risk typically found in Yellow Rail habitats is the Short-eared Owl, which was listed Vulnerable in Canada in 1994 (COSEWIC 1998). The Canadian status of two other birds that often nest in the same habitat as Yellow Rails – the Sedge Wren and the Nelson’s Sharp-tailed Sparrow – were also assessed, but those two species were listed Not at Risk in 1993 and 1998, respectively (COSEWIC 1998).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Râle jaune au Canada

Importance de l’espèce


Intérêt du public

Le Râle jaune est l’un des oiseaux nicheurs les plus recherchés par les ornithologues amateurs en Amérique du Nord (Anderson, 1977; Bennett, 1981; Savaloja, 1981). Le magazine Birding, très populaire auprès des plus sérieux d’entre eux, a publié beaucoup d’information sur cet oiseau, notamment sur les endroits où on peut le trouver. L’espèce a récemment fait l’objet d’un article (Robert, 1997) dans la chronique intitulée Rare, Local, Little-known, and Declining North American Breeders. Elle est à ce point recherchée que, jusqu’à tout récemment, il était encore possible d’utiliser des « Rail Buggies » pour faire lever les oiseaux hivernant dans le Anahuac National Wildlife Refuge (Texas) et dans d’autres lieux d’hivernage aux États-Unis (p. ex. en Louisiane) (Anderson, 1977; McKee, 1987). Dans le sud-ouest de la Louisiane, en particulier dans la région de Lafayette, les ornithologues patrouillent les rizières pour observer les Râles jaunes que font lever les moissoneuses-batteuses (Cardiff et Smalley, 1989).

Bien que les ornithologues amateurs cherchent cette espèce en hiver, quelques articles décrivent des méthodes pour l’observer dans les lieux de reproduction (Bennett, 1981; Savaloja, 1981, 1984; McKee, 1987; Robert, 1997). Il serait en effet faisable et utile d’organiser des excursions d’observation du Râle jaune pendant la saison de reproduction : cela aiderait à sensibiliser le public à cet oiseau particulier (Anderson, 1977; Stenzel, 1982). De telles excursions ont été organisées, par exemple, dans le Seney National Wildlife Refuge (T. Bookhout, comm. pers.). Au Québec, des panneaux d’interprétation sur le Râle jaune seront installés dans les haut-marais de l’île aux Grues au printemps de 1999.


Répartition mondiale et statut

La répartition mondiale du Râle jaune est limitée à l’Amérique du Nord. L’espèce se reproduit uniquement au Canada, où se trouve environ 90 p.100 de son aire de reproduction, de même que dans le nord des États-Unis. On considère donc que sa surveillance relève hautement de la responsabilité canadienne; l’espèce est aussi considérée comme une espèce très préoccupante au Canada (Dunn, 1997). Son proche parent, le Râle de Swinhoe d’Asie, parfois considéré comme conspécifique (Olson, 1973; Ripley, 1977; Bookhout, 1995), est classé comme une espèce vulnérable par l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN, 1996). L’organisme The Nature Conservancy a également exprimé certaines craintes au sujet de la situation mondiale à long terme du Râle jaune en lui attribuant la cote G4 (The Nature Conservancy, 1998). Enfin, aux États-Unis, le Râle jaune est considéré comme un oiseau migrateur non gibier préoccupant sur le plan de la gestion (Migratory Nongame Bird of Special Management Concern), catégorie qui désigne les oiseaux migrateurs non gibier qui, en l’absence de mesures de conservation supplémentaires, pourraient devenir candidats à un classement en vertu de la Endangered Species Act.


Statut d’autres espèces observées dans les habitats du râle jaune

Au Canada, le seul autre oiseau en péril que l’on rencontre généralement dans l’habitat du Râle jaune est le Hibou des marais, qui a été désigné espèce vulnérable en 1994 (COSEPAC, 1998). Deux autres oiseaux qui nichent souvent dans le même habitat que le Râle jaune (le Troglodyte à bec court et le Bruant de Nelson [Bruant à queue aiguë]) au Canada ont également fait l’objet d’une évaluation, mais ont été classés comme non en péril en 1993 et en 1998, respectivement (COSEPAC, 1998).