Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Yellow Rail in Canada

Protection

Status designations and ranks for the Yellow Rail, at the global, national and sub-national levels, are given in Table 1.

Global

The Yellow Rail is not listed by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN), although the closely related Swinhoe’s Rail (Coturnicops exquisitus) of Asia is considered Vulnerable (IUCN 1996). Some authors (e.g. Ripley 1977, Bookhout 1995) consider the Swinhoe’s Rail and the Yellow Rail the same species, while others consider them part of a holarctic superspecies (Olson 1973). The Nature Conservancy has expressed some concern for the Yellow Rail’s long-term global status by ranking it G4 (The Nature Conservancy 1998).


United States

The Yellow Rail is listed as a Migratory Nongame Bird of Special Management Concern, which identifies migratory non-game birds that, without additional conservation action, are likely to become candidates for listing under the U.S. Endangered Species Act. This concern is based on its dependence on vulnerable or restricted habitats (USFWS 1995). It has concern status at the state level in all six states where it is known to breed (i.e., Oregon, Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan), as well as in Idaho, South Dakota and Illinois (Table 1). It will likely be removed from the Endangered list in Illinois because it has not been found there in recent years during the breeding season, except for an unconfirmed 1998 record (J. Herkert, pers. comm.). It is ranked N3B, N4N for the U.S., meaning that it is rare or uncommon as a breeder, but as a non-breeder it is widespread, abundant, and apparently secure, albeit with concern for the long-term (The Nature Conservancy 1998).

Hunting this species is illegal throughout the U.S., but hunting of other rail species is legal in a number of states (J. Serie, pers. comm.).

Table 1: Conservation Designations for the Yellow Rail
ScaleSystem or Agency1Designation or Rank2Source3Comments
WorldIUCN1Not listed, but Swinhoe’s Rail is vulnerable.IUCN 1996Swinhoe’s Rail and Yellow Rail sometimes considered conspecific.
WorldThe Nature Conservancy Global RankG4TNC 1998Apparently secure but of long-term concern.
United StatesU.S. Endangered Species ActNot listedTNC 1998 
United StatesUSFWSMigratory Nongame Bird of Special Management ConcernUSFWSCould become a candidate for listing under the U.S. ESA.
United StatesThe Nature ConservancyN3B, N4NTNC 1998See text.
Breeding (U.S.)
WashingtonNHPSAJ. Fleckenstein 
OregonNHPS1K. PopperSmall population size and limited amount of protected and acceptable habitat available.
OregonStateSensitive CriticalK. Popper 
OregonForest ServiceSensitiveK. Popper 
IdahoNHPSAC. HarrisOnly two records.
IdahoStateProtected non-game species.C. Harris 
MontanaNHPS1P. Hendricks 
MontanaStateMigratory bird.P. HendricksHas state legal status under the Non-game and Endangered Species Conservation Act.
WyomingNHPSUM. NeighboursSix confirmed sightings, including one indicating breeding behaviour, near Jackson, on the National Elk Refuge, in 1998.
North DakotaNHPS2TNC 1998 
North DakotaStateThreatenedTNC 1998 
South DakotaNHPSUE. Dowd StukelNo nesting documented; a few scattered breeding season records.
MinnesotaNHPS3R. Baker 
MinnesotaStateSpecial ConcernR. BakerLegal status, but no formal protection. Could be removed, because is more common than once thought.
WisconsinNHPS1B. SmithVery few breeding records in uncommon habitat.
WisconsinStateThreatenedB. SmithFew occurrences, limited potential habitat.
IllinoisNHPSHJ. Herkert 
IllinoisStateListed EndangeredJ. HerkertWill likely be removed (see text).
MichiganNHPS1S2J. Hayward 
MichiganStateThreatenedJ. Hayward 
OhioTNCSXTNC 1998 
MaineNHPSPT. Hodgman 
MaineStateSpecial ConcernT. HodgmanAdditional data may lead to Threatened status.
Wintering (U.S.)
TexasNHPS3D. Scott 
LouisianaNHPUnrankedTNC 1998 
MississippiNHPS2TNC 1998 
AlabamaNHPSZJ. JohnsonUncommon winter resident, with only 11 records.
FloridaNHPSZK. Nesmith 
GeorgiaNHPUnrankedTNC 1998 
South CarolinaNHPUnrankedJ. CelyUncommon
North CarolinaNHPS2TNC 1998 
Breeding and/or Wintering (U.S)
CaliforniaNHPS1S2D. McGriffUsed to breed, very secretive, and few or no recent surveys.
CaliforniaStateSpecial ConcernD. McGriffAdministrative designation (not related to state Endangered Species Act); thought to be declining.
Breeding Status (Canada)
CanadaDunn (1997)High concern, and very high Canadian supervisory responsibility score At least 90% of global range is in Canada.
YukonN/AN/A No records.
NWTNo CDCN/A  
British ColumbiaCDCSAS. CanningsNot known to breed.
AlbertaCDCS2S3J. Rintoul 
AlbertaAlberta's Wildlife ActUndeterminedAlberta Environmental Protection 1996Not enough information
SaskatchewanCDCS3J. Keith 
ManitobaCDCS4J. DuncanConsensus of 33 reviewers.
OntarioCDCS3S4G. Van Drunen 
OntarioAusten et al. 1994Endangered (southern O.) Insufficient information (northern O.)Austen et al. 1994 
QuébecLoi sur les espèces menacéesLikely to be designatedBeaulieu 1992 
QuébecCDCS2  
QuébecRobert 1989VulnerableRobert 1989 
New BrunswickCDCUnrankedS. Gerriets 
Nova ScotiaCDCUnrankedS. Gerriets 
PEIN/AN/A No records.
Newfoundland and LabradorN/AN/A Not known to breed.
  1. IUCN – International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources.
    NHP- Natural Heritage Program
    DC- Conservation Data Centre


  2. Brief definitions of SRANKs (state or subnational conservation ranks) using The Nature Conservancy system. More detailed definitions are available by contacting any Conservation Data Centre (Canada) or Natural Heritage Program (U.S.).

    S1 = Critically imperiled.
    S2 = Imperiled.
    S3 = Rare or uncommon.
    S4 = Widespread, abundant, and apparently secure, but with concern for the long-term.
    S5 = Demonstrably widespread, abundant, and secure.
    S#S# = Range rank, indicating range of uncertainty.
    S? = Unranked
    SU = Unrankable
    SE = Exotic
    SA = Accidental
    SZ = Zero occurrences
    SP = Potential
    SR = Reported
    SRF = Reported falsely
    SH = Historical
    SX = Extinct
    HYB = Hybrid
    SSYN = Synonym

    B = Breeding status; N = Non-Breeding status
    For the purpose of simplification, the breeding status (B or N) has been deleted (e.g. S1B becomes S1, and S2N becomes S2).

    Qualifiers:
    ? = Inexact or uncertain; C = Captive or cultivated only


  3. References to people in the Information Source column are personal communications.


Canada

The Yellow Rail is protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act and accompanying regulations pertaining to hunting (Government of Canada 1989, Canadian Wildlife Service 1991). It is illegal to hunt rails anywhere in Canada, except in Ontario and in the Yukon. The bag and possession limits (all rails combined) in Ontario are 10 and 20, respectively (Canadian Wildlife Service 1998).

The Yellow Rail is considered a high concern species in Canada and a species with a very high Canadian supervisory responsibility score, reflecting the high proportion (about 90%; Figure 1) of its global range in Canada (Dunn 1997).

Northwest Territories

A new Northwest Territories endangered species legislation will allow for the protection of species at risk. For the time being, the territorial government relies on the COSEWIC list (L. Self, S. Carrière, pers. comm.). The Yellow Rail has no SRANK (see Table 1, footnote 2, for definitions of SRANKs; Figure 2).


Figure 2: SRANKs or the Yellow Rail in Canada and the U.S., and NRANK for Mexico

Figure 2: State or subnational conservation ranks or the Yellow Rail in Canada and the U.S., and National rank for Mexico.

The Nature Conservancy 1998.

British Columbia

This species is on the Yellow list (S. Cannings, pers. comm.), which includes indigenous taxa that are not considered to be at risk in British Columbia. Because it has not been determined to be present consistently, in which case it would be ranked S1, it is still ranked SA (S. Cannings, pers. comm.).

Alberta 

The Alberta government has designated 11 species as Endangered or Threatened under Alberta's Wildlife Act, but the Yellow Rail is not one of them. Its status in Alberta is “undetermined” because of insufficient information (Alberta Environmental Protection 1996). It is ranked S2S3B (J. Rintoul, pers. comm.).

Saskatchewan

Part 5 of the Saskatchewan Wildlife Act, "Protection of Wild Species at Risk", was proclaimed during the summer of 1997. No species are designated yet. Seven animal species are currently being considered for designation, but the Yellow Rail is not one of them. It is ranked S3 (J. Keith, pers. comm.).

Manitoba

The Endangered Species Act received royal assent on March 1990. Under this Act, 23 animal and species are listed as Endangered, Threatened or Extirpated; the Yellow Rail is not listed. It is ranked S4B, SZN (Duncan 1996). While it was estimated that there are likely more than 100 locations in Manitoba with suitable habitat, its presence and/or breeding has been documented at only a few of these (J. Duncan, unpublished data).

Ontario

Twenty-four species are currently listed in regulation under Ontario's Endangered Species Act (I. Bowman, pers. comm.), but the Yellow Rail is not among them. It is ranked S3S4 (G. Van Drunen, pers. comm.). An Ontario status report recommended “Endangered” status for southern Ontario, and concluded that there was insufficient information for northern Ontario (Page and Cadman 1994, Austen et al., 1994).

Québec

No animal species have yet been designated under Québec's Loi sur les espèces menacées ou vulnérables, which was adopted in 1989. However, the Yellow Rail, considered vulnerable in Québec (Robert 1989), is one of 76 animal taxa listed on the Liste des espèces de la faune vertébrée menacées ou vulnérables susceptibles d’être ainsi désignées (List of Species Likely to be Designated Threatened or Vulnerable under the Act) (Gazette officielle du Québec 1993). Fortunately, it is being considered in all projects subjected to an environmental impact assessment under the Loi sur la qualité de l'environnement (Robert et al., 1995).  It is ranked S2 (P. Aquin, pers. comm.).

New Brunswick

The Yellow Rail has no official status in New Brunswick, nor was it reviewed by the former Endangered Species Committee. Nevertheless, there is concern (M. Sullivan, pers. comm.). It has not received an SRANK (S. Gerriets, pers. comm.).

Nova Scotia

An offical status evaluation has not been conducted because it is not known as a regularly breeding bird (M. Elderkin, pers. comm.). It has no SRANK (S. Gerriets, pers. comm.).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Râle jaune au Canada

Protection

On trouvera au tableau 1 ci-dessous les désignations et le rang donnés au Râle jaune à l’échelle mondiale, nationale et sous-nationale.

Échelle mondiale

Le Râle jaune n’a reçu aucune cote de l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN), bien qu’il soit étroitement apparenté au Râle de Swinhoe (Coturnicops exquisitus) d’Asie, considéré comme une espèce vulnérable (UICN, 1996). Certains auteurs (par exemple Ripley, 1977; Bookhout, 1995) considèrent le Râle de Swinhoe et le Râle jaune comme une même espèce, tandis que d’autres estiment qu’ils font partie d’une super-espèce holarctique (Olson, 1973). De son côté, l’organisme The Nature Conservancy manifeste une certaine inquiétude au sujet du statut à long terme du Râle jaune en lui attribuant la cote G4 (The Nature Conservancy, 1998).


États-Unis

Aux États-Unis, le Râle jaune est classé comme un oiseau migrateur non gibier préoccupant sur le plan de la gestion (Migratory Nongame Bird of Special Management Concern), une catégorie qui désigne les oiseaux migrateurs non gibier qui, en l’absence de mesures de protection supplémentaires, pourraient devenir candidats à une désignation en vertu de la Endangered Species Act. Les craintes découlent de la dépendance de l’espèce à l’égard de milieux vulnérables ou restreints (USFWS, 1995). L’oiseau bénéficie du statut d’espèce préoccupante au niveau de l’État dans les six États où on sait qu’il se reproduit (Oregon, Montana, Dakota du Nord, Minnesota, Wisconsin et Michigan), de même qu’en Idaho, au Dakota du Sud et en Illinois (tableau 1). L’espèce sera vraisemblablement rayée de la liste des espèces en voie de disparition en Illinois, car elle n’y a pas été aperçue ces dernières années pendant la saison de reproduction, sauf pour une mention non confirmée datant de 1998 (J. Herkert, comm. pers.). Le Râle jaune est coté N3B, N4N aux États-Unis, ce qui signifie qu’il est rare ou peu commun comme nicheur, mais répandu, abondant et apparemment non en péril comme non-nicheur, même si sa situation à long terme soulève des préoccupations (The Nature Conservancy, 1998).

Il est illégal de chasser l’espèce partout aux États-Unis, mais on peut chasser d’autres espèces de râles dans certains États (J. Serie, comm. pers.).

Tableau 1 : Statut du Râle jaune
ÉchelleSystème ou agence1Designation ou rangSource3Observations
MondeUICN1Non coté, mais le Râle de Swinhoe est vulnérable.UICN, 1996Le Râle de Swinhoe et le Râle jaune sont parfois considérés comme con­spécifiques.
MondeCote mondiale de The Nature ConservancyG4TNC, 1998Apparemment non en péril, mais préoccupant à long terme.
États-UnisEndangered Species Actdes Etats-UnisNon cotéTNC, 1998 
États-UnisUSFWSOiseau migrateur non gibier préoccupant sur le plan de la gestion (Migratory Nongame Bird of Special Management Concern)USFWSPourrait devenir candidat à une désignation en vertu de l’Endangered Species Act des États-Unis.
États-UnisThe Nature ConservancyN3B, N4NTNC, 1998Voir le texte.
Reproduction (États-Unis
WashingtonNature Heritage Program (NHP)SAJ. Fleckenstein 
OregonNHPS1K. PopperEffectif réduit et superficie limitée de milieu protégé et acceptable.
OregonÉtatSensible critique (Sensible critical)K. Popper 
OregonForest ServiceSensibleK. Popper 
IdahoNHPSAC. HarrisDeux mentions seule­ment.
IdahoÉtatEspèce non gibier protégée (Protected non-game species).C. Harris 
MontanaNHPS1P. Hendricks 
MontanaÉtatOiseau migrateur (Migratory bird)P. HendricksStatut juridique en vertu de la Non-game and Endangered Species Conservation Act.
WyomingNHPSUM. NeighboursSix observations confirmées, dont une évoquant des comportements reproducteurs, près de Jackson, dans le National Elk Refuge, en 1998.
Dakota du N.NHPS2TNC, 1998 
Dakota du N.ÉtatMenacé (Threatened)TNC, 1998 
Dakota du S.NHPSUE. Dowd StukelAucune nidification documentée; quelques mentions éparses en saison de reprodution.
MinnesotaNHPS3R. Baker 
MinnesotaÉtatPréoccupant (Special Concern)R. BakerStatut juridique, mais aucune protection officielle. Pourrait être abrogé étant donné que l’espèce est plus commune qu’on ne le croyait.
WisconsinNHPS1B. SmithTrès peu de mentions de reproduction dans des habitats peu communs.
WisconsinÉtatMenacé (Threatened)B. SmithQuelques occurrences, habitat potentiel limité.
IllinoisNHPSHJ. Herkert 
IllinoisÉtatEn voie de disparition (Endangered)J. HerkertLa désignation va vraisemblablement être retirée (voir le texte).
MichiganNHPS1S2J. Hayward 
MichiganÉtatMenacé (Threatened)J. Hayward 
OhioTNCSXTNC, 1998 
MaineNHPSPT. Hodgman 
MaineÉtatPréoccupant (Special Concern)T. HodgmanDe nouvelles données pourraient conduire à une désignation d’espèce menacée.
Hivernage (États-Unis)
TexasNHPS3D. Scott 
LouisianeNHPNon classéTNC, 1998 
MississippiNHPS2TNC, 1998 
AlabamaNHPSZJ. JohnsonRésident hivernal peu commun, avec seulement 11 mentions.
FlorideNHPSZK. Nesmith 
GéorgieNHPNon classéTNC, 1998 
Caroline du S.NHPNon classéJ. CelyPeu commun.
Caroline du N.NHPS2TNC, 1998 
Reproduction et/ou hivernage (États-Unis)
CalifornieNHPS1S2D. McGriffL’espèce, très discrète, avait l’habitude de s’y reproduire; peu de relevés récents, sinon aucun.
CalifornieÉtatPréoccupant (Special Concern)D. McGriffDésignation administrative (non liée à la Endangered Species Act de l’État); probablement en déclin.
Statut de nidification (Canada)
CanadaDunn (1997)Très préoccupant et cote très élevée de responsabilité de surveillance au Canada Au moins 90 p.100 de l’aire de nidification mondiale située au Canada.
Yukons.o.s.o. Aucune mention.
T.N.-O.Pas de Centre de données sur la conservation (CDC)s.o.  
Colombie-BritanniqueCDCSAS. CanningsReproduction jamais observée.
AlbertaCDCS2S3J. Rintoul 
AlbertaWildlife ActIndéterminé (Undetermined)Alberta Environmental Protection, 1996Données insuffisantes.
SaskatchewanCDCS3J. Keith 
ManitobaCDCS4J. DuncanConsensus de 33 examinateurs.
OntarioCDCS3S4G. Van Drunen 
OntarioAusten et al., 1994En voie de disparition (sud de la province) Données insuffisantes (nord de la province)Austen et al., 1994 
QuébecLoi sur les espèces menacées ou vulnérablesSusceptible d’être désignéBeaulieu, 1992 
QuébecCDCS2  
QuébecRobert, 1989VulnérableRobert, 1989 
Nouveau-BrunswickCDCNon classéS. Gerriets 
Nouvelle-ÉcosseCDCNon classéS. Gerriets 
Î.-P.-É.s.o.s.o. Aucune mention.
Terre-Neuve et Labradors.o.s.o. Reproduction jamais observée.
  1. UICN – Union mondiale pour la nature
    NHP – Natural Heritage Program (Programme du patrimoine naturel)
    CDC – Centre de données sur la conservation


  2. Brèves définitions des cotes S (classement de conservation dans la province ou l’État) selon le système de The Nature Conservancy. On trouvera des défintions plus détaillées auprès de n’importe quel centre de données sur la conservation (Canada) ou du Natural Heritage Program (États-Unis) :

    S1 = Gravement en péril.
    S2 = En péril.
    S3 = Rare ou peu commune.
    S4 = Largement répartie, abondante et apparemment hors de danger, mais source d'inquiétude à long terme.
    S5 = Large répartition, abondance et stabilité démontrées.
    S#S# = Intervalle de rangs de priorité (entre deux catégories précises).
    S? = Non classée.
    SU = Non classable.
    SE = Exotique.
    SA = Accidentelle.
    SZ = Aucune occurrence.
    SP = Potentiel.
    SR = Rapporté.
    SRF = Faussement rapporté.
    SH = Historique.
    SX = Disparue.
    HYB = Hybride.
    SSYN = Synonyme.
    S#B = Statut reproducteur.
    S#N = Statut non reproducteur.
    Pour simplifier, le statut reproducteur (B ou N) a été éliminé :
    p. ex. S1B devient S1, et S2N devient S2.
    Qualificatifs :
    S#? = Inexact ou incertain.
    S#C = En captivité ou cultivar seulement.


  3. Le références à des personnes dans la colonne Source renvoient à des communications personnelles.


Canada

Le Râle jaune est protégé en vertu de la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et de ses règlements d’application portant sur la chasse (Gouvernement du Canada, 1989; Service canadien de la faune, 1991). Il est illégal de chasser les râles partout au Canada, sauf en Ontario et au Yukon. La limite de capture et de possession (tous les râles confondus) en Ontario est respectivement de 10 et 20 individus (Service canadien de la faune, 1998).

Le Râle jaune est considéré comme une espèce très préoccupante au Canada, et on lui a attribué une cote très élevée en matière de responsabilité de surveillance, à la mesure de la forte porportion (environ 90 p.100; figure 1) de son aire de répartition mondiale qui se trouve au pays (Dunn, 1997).

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

La nouvelle loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition des Territoires du Nord-Ouest assurera la protection des espèces en péril. Pour l’heure, le gouvernement des Territoires se sert de la liste du COSEPAC (L. Self, S. Carrière, comm. pers.). Le Râle jaune ne fait l’objet d’aucun classement S dans les Territoires (voir le tableau 1, note 2, pour les définitions des cotes S; figure 2).


Figure 2 : Rang S pour le Râle jaune au Canada et aux États-Unis, et rang N au Mexique

Figure 2 : Rang S pour le Râle jaune au Canada et aux États-Unis, et rang N au Mexique (The Nature Conservancy, 1998).

The Nature Conservancy, 1998.

Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique, l’espèce figure sur la liste jaune (S. Cannings, comm. pers.), qui englobe les taxons indigènes qui ne sont pas considérés comme en péril dans la province. Comme il n’a pas été démontré qu’elle est présente de façon constante dans la province, auquel cas elle serait cotée S1, l’espèce est toujours cotée SA (S. Cannings, comm. pers.).

Alberta

Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a désigné 11 espèces comme en voie de disparition ou menacées en vertu de laWildlife Act, mais le Râle jaune n’en fait pas partie. Le statut de l’espèce dans la province est « indéterminé », car on manque d’information à son sujet (Alberta Environmental Protection, 1996). L’espèce est cotée S2S3B (J. Rintoul, comm. pers.).

Saskatchewan

La Partie 5 de la Wildlife Act de la province, qui porte sur la protection des espèces sauvages en péril (« Protection of Wild Species at Risk »), a été promulguée au cours de l’été de 1997. Aucune espèce n’a encore été désignée. Sept espèces animales font actuellement l’objet d’études en vue de leur désignation, mais le Râle jaune n’en fait pas partie. L’espèce est cotée S3 (J. Keith, comm. pers.).

Manitoba

Au Manitoba, la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition a reçu la sanction royale en mars 1990. En vertu de la loi, 23 animaux et espèces sont désignés comme en voie de disparition, menacées ou disparues, mais le Râle jaune n’en fait pas partie. L’espèce est cotée S4B,SZN (Duncan, 1996). Bien qu’on estime qu’il y a probablement plus de 100 endroits qui conviendraient comme habitat pour l’espèce dans la province, la présence ou la reproduction de celle-ci n’a été documentée que dans quelques-uns d’entre eux (J. Duncan, données inédites).

Ontario

Vingt-quatre espèces sont actuellement inscrites dans le règlement d’application de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de l’Ontario (I. Bowman, comm. pers.), mais le Râle jaune n’y figure pas. L’espèce est cotée S3S4 dans la province (G. Van Drunen, comm. pers.). Un rapport sur la situation de l’espèce en Ontario a recommandé de lui attribuer le statut d’« espèce en voie de disparition » dans le sud de la province, et a conclu qu’il manquait d’information pour le nord (Page et Cadman, 1994; Austen et al., 1994).

Québec

Aucune espèce animale n’a encore été désignée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces menacées ou vulnérables du Québec, adoptée en 1989. Toutefois, le Râle jaune, considéré comme vulnérable dans la province (Robert, 1989), est l’un des 76 taxons animaux qui figurent sur la Liste des espèces de la faune vertébrée menacées ou vulnérables susceptibles d’être ainsi désignées (Gazette officielle du Québec, 1993). Heureusement, on tient compte de l’espèce dans tous les projets soumis à une évaluation d’impact environnemental en vertu de la Loi sur la qualité de l'environnement (Robert et al., 1995). L’espèce est cotée S2 dans la province (P. Aquin, comm. pers.).

Nouveau-Brunswick

Le Râle jaune n’a aucun statut officiel au Nouveau-Brunswick, et n’a fait l’objet d’aucun examen de la part de l’ancien Comité sur les espèces en voie de disparition. On y juge néanmoins l’espèce préoccupante (M. Sullivan, comm. pers.). L’espèce n’a reçu aucune cote S dans la province (S. Gerriets, comm. pers.).

Nouvelle-Écosse

Aucune évaluation officielle du statut de l’espèce n’a été faite dans la province parce que le Râle n’y est pas connu comme un oiseau qui y niche régulièrement (M. Elderkin, comm. pers.). L’espèce n’a aucune cote S dans la province (S. Gerriets, comm. pers.).