Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the False Rue-anemone in Canada

Habitat

Habitat requirements

Enemion biternatum is a species of open wooded slopes, river floodplains, rich woods and thickets. It is often seen growing in large colonies.

Populations of Enemion biternatum are restricted in Canada to the Carolinian region (Scoggan, 1978). Throughout its range, Enemion biternatum grows in shaded woods and thickets, often on rich wooded slopes in or adjacent to floodplain zones. Boufford and Massey (1976) reported Enemion biternatum growing in flat bottoms of alluvial woods behind natural levees in Virginia. This species is often found in close proximity to streams. Melampy and Heyworth (1980) found 50% and 74% of 147 clumps within 10 and 25 m of a stream in a field study conducted in Illinois.

Enemion biternatum is generally found in shady areas within mature maple-beech forests on gradual slopes. It is not found on steep slopes or in open highly disturbed sites. In Ontario, the species occurs in areas dominated by grey brown luvisolic soils rich in calcareous till and lacustrine deposits from limestone and dolostone (Hoffman, 1989). All Ontario stations occur near the limit of the Deciduous Forest Region, also known as the Carolinian Zone. Populations in Ontario were generally found in mixed hardwood Carolinian forests dominated by sugar maple (Acer saccharum), in combination with other species including ironwood (Ostrya virginiana), beech (Fagus grandifolia), hickory (Carya spp.), basswood (Tilia americana), butternut (Juglans cinerea) and ash (Fraxinus spp.). This plant is found with other spring wildflowers (Austen, 1990), including bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis), trillium (Trillium spp.), toothwort (Dentaria spp.), anemone (Anemone spp.), violet (Viola spp.), and trout lily (Erythronium spp.).

The habitats where the six populations occur are significant sites due to the presence of large populations of Enemion biternatum in addition to the presence of other rare plant species such as Virginia bluebells (Mertensia virginica), American gromwell (Lithospermum latifolium) and green dragon (Arisaema dracontium).

Habitat trends

It is difficult to determine whether the habitat has been drastically altered since the last status report due to the dynamic nature of floodplain systems. There does appear to be an increase in the number of trails and trail usage, possibly due to an increase in the number of homes adjacent to the floodplain. In addition, a number of invasive species seem to be colonizing the floodplain habitats generally occupied by Enemion biternatum. These factors may have contributed to the decline (and in some cases, extirpation) of Enemion populations that previously occupied the floodplains. No additional information on habitat changes is possible since the original status report did not provide specific descriptions against which to compare sites that currently do not have plants or plants could not be found.  

Protection/ownership

Subsequent to the designation of Enemion biternatum as a Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) Special Concern species in 1990, the species was officially listed provincially as Special Concern.

A part of the Medway Creek population is on land owned by the Upper Thames River Conservation Authority. The Ausable River Valley population is in an ANSI (Area of Natural and Scientific Interest). The Parkhill population is located in a conservation area owned by the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority. Presence in an ANSI or a conservation area, however, does not in itself confer protection unless specific management plans are in effect for the species. The remaining populations are located on private land.

The extant meta-populations of Enemion biternatum in Ontario are largely under private ownership in Arkona, St. Thomas, and Port Stanley, and under public ownership in London. Many sub-populations are located near public trails both on private and public lands. Therefore, most populations of this species in Ontario are subjected to a high degree of public access (Austen, 1990).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’isopyre à feuilles biternées au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

L’Enemion biternatum est une espèce qui pousse souvent en grandes colonies dans des pentes boisées ouvertes, des plaines fluviales inondables, des boisés riches et des fourrés.

Au Canada, on trouve des populations d’Enemion biternatum uniquement dans la zone carolinienne (Scoggan, 1978). Dans toute son aire de répartition, l’espèce pousse dans des boisés et des fourrés ombragés, souvent sur des pentes riches boisées dans des zones de plaines inondables ou à proximité de ce type de plaines. On la trouve souvent très près de cours d’eau. Boufford et Massey (1976) ont observé des Enemion biternatum poussant sur les planchers bas et plats de boisés alluviaux derrière des levées naturelles en Virginie. Dans le cadre d’une étude réalisée sur le terrain en Illinois, Melampy et Heyworth (1980) ont observé que 50 p. 100 et 74 p. 100 de 147 colonies étaient situées à moins de 10 m et à moins de 25 m d’un cours d’eau, respectivement.

On trouve habituellement l’Enemion biternatum dans des zones ombragées à l’intérieur de forêts de hêtres et d’érables matures situées sur des pentes graduelles. On ne trouve pas l’espèce sur des pentes abruptes ou des milieux ouverts fortement perturbés. En Ontario, l’espèce peut être observée dans des zones dominées par des sols luvisoliques brun-gris, riches en till calcaire et en dépôts lacustres provenant de roches calcaires et dolomitiques (Hoffman, 1989). Tous les sites ontariens sont situés près de la limite de la région forestière des feuillus, aussi connue sous le nom de zone carolinienne. Les populations ontariennes sont habituellement situées dans des forêts de feuillus divers dominées par l’érable à sucre (Acer saccharum), en combinaison avec d’autres espèces, comme l’ostryer de Virginie (Ostrya virginiana), le hêtre à grandes feuilles (Fagus grandifolia), des caryers (Carya spp.), le tilleul d’Amérique (Tilia americana), le noyer cendré (Juglans cinerea) et des frênes (Fraxinus spp.). On trouve l’espèce avec d’autres fleurs sauvages printanières (Austen, 1990), dont la sanguinaire du Canada(Sanguinaria canadensis), des trilles (Trillium spp.), des dentaires (Dentaria spp.), des anémones (Anemone spp.), des violettes (Viola spp.) et des érythrones (Erythronium spp.).

Les milieux qui abritent les six populations sont importants en raison de la présence de grandes populations d’Enemion biternatum mais aussi d’autres plantes rares, comme la mertensie de Virginie (Mertensia virginica), le grémil à larges feuilles (Lithospermum latifolium) et l’arisème dragon (Arisaema dracontium).

Tendances en matière d’habitat

Il est difficile de déterminer si l’habitat a été considérablement altéré depuis le dernier rapport de situation en raison de la nature dynamique des écosystèmes de plaines inondables. Le nombre de sentiers de même que leur fréquentation semblent bien s’accroître, peut-être en raison de l’augmentation du nombre de maisons près des plaines inondables. De plus, un certain nombre d’espèces envahissantes semblent coloniser les milieux habituellement occupés par l’Enemion biternatum dans les plaines inondables. Il est possible que ces facteurs aient contribué au déclin (et, dans certains cas, à la disparition) des populations d’Enemion biternatum dans les plaines inondables. Il est impossible de fournir plus d’information sur les altérations de l’habitat, puisque le rapport de situation original ne contenait pas de descriptions précises avec lesquelles comparer les milieux où l’espèce n’est plus présente ou n’a pu être retrouvée.

Protection et propriété

À la suite de l’attribution du statut d’espèce préoccupante à l’Enemion biternatum par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) en 1990, l’espèce a été officiellement déclarée espèce préoccupante à l’échelle provinciale.

Une partie de la population du ruisseau Medway se trouve sur des terres qui appartiennent à l’office de protection de la nature du cours supérieur de la Thames (Upper Thames River Conservation Authority). La population de la vallée de la rivière Ausable est située dans une zone d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS). La population de Parkhill se trouve dans une zone de conservation qui appartient à l’office de protection de la nature d’Ausable-Bayfield (Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority). Le fait pour une espèce de se trouver dans une ZINS ou une zone de conservation ne lui confère cependant pas automatiquement une protection : pour être véritablement protégée, l’espèce doit faire l’objet de plans de gestion spécifiques. Les autres populations sont situées sur des terrains privés.

Les métapopulations d‘Enemion biternatum qui existent en Ontario sont en grande partie situées sur des terrains privés à Arkona, à St. Thomas et à Port Stanley, et sur des terrains publics à London. De nombreuses sous-populations sont situées près de sentiers publics sur des terrains publics et privés. Le public peut donc facilement accéder à la plupart des populations de la province (Austen, 1990).