Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Mormon Metalmark (Apodemia mormo) Prairie Population in Canada (Proposed)


Executive Summary

The Mormon metalmark is a medium-sized butterfly (wingspan of 25 to 35 mm) of arid regions that is named for white metallic markings covering both of its wings. In Canada, there are two populations of Mormon metalmark. The Southern Mountain population in the Similkameen River Valley of British Columbia is listed as "endangered". This recovery strategy addresses the Prairie population, which was designated by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) as Threatened in 2002. The Prairie population is located in southwestern Saskatchewan within the current and proposed Grasslands National Park (GNP) boundaries. However, only two limited metalmark surveys have ever been conducted for the Prairie population (Hooper 2002, Henderson 2006 (unpublished data)); therefore knowledge of habitat requirements for the Canadian Prairie population are extremely limited and most of the current information comes from the United States. Additionally, the number of Prairie colonies is unknown and surveys have never been conducted in Alberta. Recovery is considered feasible; however critical habitat is not defined in this recovery strategy.

Although information is limited, it appears that in Saskatchewan Mormon metalmarks typically occur on hillsides, slopes, or embankments on barren clay or heavy clay soil where its host plant, the branched umbrella plant (Eriogonum pauciflorum) occurs. In general, the literature suggests that this butterfly is associated with unstable slopes where the natural erosion of the sand or gravel substrate provides habitat for the host plant. Adult metalmarks require mature, robust branched umbrella plants for oviposition and both the flowering branched umbrella plant and the rubber rabbitbrush (Ericameria nauseosa) for foraging. Mormon metalmark larvae utilise the branched umbrella plant for feeding and require the woody stems or underlying leaf litter for hibernation. The size of the Prairie population has yet to be determined, but is speculated to be larger than the Southern Mountain population. It is not known whether or not this population is isolated from populations in northern Montana.

The main threats to the species are invasive exotic species, pollution, accidental mortality, potential climate change and habitat loss and degradation due to urban and agricultural development, agricultural practices, all-terrain vehicle traffic, and wild fire.

The recovery goal for the Prairie population of the Mormon metalmark is to:

Maintain suitable habitat and ecological linkages within the known range of the Prairie population of the Mormon metalmark, which preserves the opportunity for natural processes to shape the population dynamics and the evolution of the species.

The recovery objectives are:

  1. By 2009, assess and map all potential Mormon metalmark habitat in the known range of the Prairie population and determine whether it is currently occupied.
  2. Determine whether other Mormon metalmark populations exist outside of the known range by 2010.
  3. Beginning in 2007, determine the adult population size of all known prairie colonies of Mormon metalmark butterflies.
  4. By 2010, identify and begin implementing best management practices and stewardship agreements.
  5. By 2012, determine the extent that Canadian Prairie populations of Mormon metalmark are linked by dispersal to each other and to Montana populations.
  6. Where appropriate, integrate Mormon metalmark recovery efforts into multi-species recovery and broader conservation programs for grassland species and prairie conservation by 2012.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la population des Prairies du mormon (Apodemia mormo) au Canada (Proposition)


Sommaire

Le mormon est un papillon diurne de taille moyenne (envergure de 25 à 35 mm) associé aux régions arides. Les deux ailes sont ornées de taches blanc métallique caractéristiques. Le mormon forme deux populations distinctes au Canada. La population des montagnes du Sud, présente dans la vallée de la rivière Similkameen, en Colombie-Britannique, est classée « espèce en voie de disparition ». Le présent programme de rétablissement vise la population des Prairies, désignée « espèce menacée » en 2002 par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Cette population se trouve dans le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, à l'intérieur des limites actuelles et projetées du parc national des Prairies (PNP). Cependant, comme elle n'a fait l'objet que de deux inventaires (Hooper, 2002; Henderson, 2006 (données inédites)), on connaît très mal son habitat et ses besoins au Canada. C'est aussi ce qui explique que la plupart des renseignements actuellement disponibles proviennent des États-Unis. En outre, on ignore le nombre de colonies de mormons des Prairies, et aucun inventaire n'a encore été réalisé en Alberta. Le rétablissement de la population des Prairies du mormon est jugé réalisable. Toutefois, l'habitat essentiel de cette population n'est pas identifié dans le présent programme de rétablissement.

Malgré le manque de renseignements, il semble qu'en Saskatchewan, le mormon se rencontre généralement sur des flancs de collines, des terrains en pente ou des remblais à sol d'argile érodé ou d'argile lourde où pousse sa plante hôte, l'ériogone pauciflore (Eriogonum pauciflorum). D'après la littérature, le papillon semble généralement associé aux pentes instables où l'érosion naturelle du sable ou du gravier crée un habitat favorable pour la plante hôte. Les femelles ont besoin de plants d'ériogone pauciflore matures et robustes pour la ponte, et les adultes utilisent uniquement l'ériogone pauciflore et la bigelovie puante (Ericameria nauseosa) comme sources de nectar. Les chenilles se nourrissent de feuillage d'ériogone pauciflore et hibernent sur les tiges ligneuses de la plante hôte ou dans la litière. La taille de la population des Prairies reste à déterminer, mais on l'estime supérieure à celle de la population des montagnes du Sud. On ignore en outre si elle est isolée des populations voisines connues du nord du Montana.

Les principales menaces qui pèsent sur la population des Prairies du mormon  sont les espèces exotiques envahissantes, la pollution, la mortalité accidentelle, les éventuels changements climatiques et la destruction et la dégradation de l'habitat causées par le développement urbain et agricole, les pratiques agricoles, la circulation des véhicules tout-terrain et les feux de friches.

Le rétablissement de la population des Prairies du mormon a pour but :

De préserver un habitat et des liens écologiques appropriés à l'échelle de l'aire de répartition connue de cette population, de manière à ce que les processus naturels puissent continuer d'influer sur la dynamique de la population et sur l'évolution de l'espèce.

Les objectifs de rétablissement sont les suivants :

  1. D'ici 2009, évaluer et cartographier tous les milieux potentiellement propices au mormon à l'échelle de l'aire de répartition connue de la population des Prairies et déterminer s'ils sont actuellement occupés.
  2. D'ici 2010, déterminer s'il existe d'autres populations de mormons à l'extérieur de l'aire de répartition connue.
  3. À compter de 2007, déterminer les effectifs adultes de toutes les colonies connues de mormons des Prairies.
  4. D'ici 2010, établir et commencer à mettre en œuvre des bonnes pratiques de gestion et des accords d'intendance.
  5. D'ici 2012, déterminer dans quelle mesure les populations des Prairies canadiennes du mormon sont reliées par la dispersion, entre elles et avec les populations du Montana
  6. D'ici 2012, intégrer s'il y a lieu les efforts de rétablissement du mormon aux efforts de rétablissement multi-espèces et aux programmes plus vastes de conservation des prairies et des espèces qui y vivent.