Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Boreal Felt Lichen in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Assessment Summary

 

Assessment Summary – May 2002

Common name:

Boreal Felt Lichen (Atlantic population)

Scientific name:
Erioderma pedicellatum

Status:
Endangered

Reason for designation:
A population restricted to regions with a cool, humid oceanic climate, highly sensitive to atmospheric pollutants such as acid precipitation.  It has experienced a dramatic decline of over 90% in occurrences and individuals over the last two decades due, in particular, to air pollution and other sources of habitat loss and/or degradation.  Extirpation of the few remaining individuals at three sites is imminent.

Occurrence:
New Brunswick, Nova Scotia

Status history:
Designated Endangered in May 2002. Assessment based on a new status report.

 

Assessment Summary – May 2002

Common name:

Boreal Felt Lichen (Boreal population)

Scientific name:
Erioderma pedicellatum

Status:
Special Concern

Reason for designation:
A population restricted to regions having a cool, humid oceanic climate, highly sensitive to atmospheric pollutants such as acid precipitation; numerous losses of populations have been documented as a consequence of habitat loss and/or degradation but the species is still widely dispersed throughout its traditional range with some very large populations in protected areas.

Occurrence:
Newfoundland-Labrador

Status history:
Designated Special Concern in May 2002. Assessment based on a new status report.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’erioderme boréal au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Sommaire de l’évaluation

 

Sommaire de l’évaluation – Mai 2002

Nom commun :

Érioderme boréal (population de l'Atlantique)

Nom scientifique :
Erioderma pedicellatum

Statut :
Espèce en voie de disparition

Justification de la désignation :
Une population limitée à des régions ayant un climat océanique frais et humide très sensible aux polluants atmosphériques, tels que les précipitations acides. Elle a connu, au cours des deux dernières décennies, un grave déclin de plus de 90 p. 100 pour ce qui est des occurrences et des individus, causé en particulier par la pollution de l'air et d'autres sources de perte et/ou de détérioration d'habitat. La disparition du pays des quelques individus restants dans trois sites est imminente.

Répartition :
Nouveau-Brunswick et Nouvelle-Écosse

Historique du statut :
Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en mai 2002. Évaluation fondée sur un nouveau rapport de situation.

 

Sommaire de l’évaluation – Mai 2002

Nom commun :

Érioderme boréal (population boréale)

Nom scientifique :
Erioderma pedicellatum

Statut :
Espèce préoccupante

Justification de la désignation :
Une population limitée à des régions ayant un climat océanique frais et humide très sensible aux polluants atmosphériques, tels que les précipitations acides; on a enregistré de nombreuses pertes de populations découlant de la perte et/ou de la détérioration d'habitat, mais l'espèce est encore largement répandue dans son aire de répartition traditionnelle, ayant de très importantes populations dans des zones protégées.

Répartition :
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Historique du statut :
Espèce désignée « préoccupante » en mai 2002. Évaluation fondée sur un nouveau rapport de situation.