Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Boreal Felt Lichen in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The major threats to the survival of the suboceanic boreal lichen forest habitats of Atlantic Canada and hence to the survival of the cyanophilic lichen communities contained are outlined in the following sub-sections:


A) Clear Cuts and Tree Plantations

Commercial tree harvesting on the Avalon Peninsula and elsewhere in Southern Newfoundland has exceeded the annual quotas set by about 20% and has led to a shortage in forest resources [Data compiled by the senior author for the years 1992-1999: harvested roundwood data taken from Compendium of Forest Statistics for the Council of Forest Ministers (http://nfdp.ccfm.org) and Annual Allowable Cut for insular Newfoundland taken from the Twenty Year Development Plans (1990-2009 and 1996-2015), Department of Forest Resources and Agrifoods].

In many parts of Newfoundland, clear-cutting has led in recent years, since about 1970, to the replacement of many natural to semi-natural forest communities by black spruce and balsam fir plantations. Any of the epiphyte-bearing phorophytes would have been lost during the establishment of clearcuts. The Lobarion community as a whole would not have the capability to regenerate. Even if sufficiently high number of spores of E. pedicellatum were to arrive from distant places, no new thalli could be formed due to the lack of Frullania in tree plantations.

The colonization within established spruce plantations by the above mentioned lichen species and by Frullania is also made difficult by the following factors:

  • Under the present environmental conditions, the low buffering capacity and rather strong acidity of black spruce barks make it difficult for E. pedicellatum to become established on the trunks of these trees and even on the branches. Even balsam fir plantations are not colonized by E. pedicellatum or Frullania. The reason for this may have something to do with the death of the original mycorrhizal fungi in clear-cut areas. In contrast, black spruce in natural, more or less well-lit but highly humid Sphagnum-rich forests, is occasionally colonized, although considerable decreases in their populations have been observed in recent years. Trunk occurrences have become virtually non-existent and even on the branches the health of the thalli has deteriorated and their numbers have dwindled along with the regenerative capacity to form juvenile thalli. Two exceptional thalli of E. pedicellatum on the trunks of black spruce next to the Ripple Pond Ridge logging road have remained in healthy condition due to the fact that a steady stream of clear humid air keeps rising from the low-lying wetland immediately to the south during the milder parts of the year. The reasons for these losses lie in the increasing threats from acid fog and acid rain, which seem to affect the chemistry of black spruce bark even under low level impact conditions to such an extent that the barks become unsuitable for colonization by Erioderma. This postulated scenario is supported by the complete absence of E. pedicellatum from otherwise ecologically suitable stands of black spruce in Nova Scotia. Such low level impact of air pollutants seems to have sealed also the fate of this lichen on Norway spruce in Europe.

  • The dark shade that exists in recently established tree plantations during the first 10-15 years prior to pre-commercial thinning is not conducive to the reintroduction of viable colonies of Scytonema - enriched Frullania, or to the re-synthesis and development of thalli of E. pedicellatum. Not even traces of Frullania had been found on the barks of black spruce in the plantations to the North of Fundy National Park (Veinotte, 1998 and Maass, personal observations), even though this hepatic commonly occurs in natural woodlands of New Brunswick on both coniferous and deciduous trees.

An added problem is that clear-cuts hardly ever get fertilized leading to the loss of symbiotic mycorrhizal fungi. This could lead to a gradual depletion of nutrients in the thin acidic glacial soils in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

The retardation in the development of the lichen epiphyte floras in tree plantations has been observed and studied in areas to the north of Fundy National Park, as a contribution to an understanding of the Greater Fundy Ecosystem in New Brunswick (Veinotte 1998). Whereas almost all of the four Reference Stands, which were representative of the mature mixed forests in the northern half of Fundy National Park, contained species of Nephroma and Lobaria (almost exclusively on deciduous trees but very exceptionally also on trunks of red spruce (Picea rubens), these cyanophilic species had been absent from all of the black spruces in the 6, 10, 15, 18 and 23 year old plantations studied. Only exceptional thalli of Leptogium cyanescens had been found on an occasional deciduous shrub encountered in the 10 and 15 years old plantations. The latter species is only marginally a component of the Lobarion.

Finally it has been shown that large-scale logging greatly reduces internal stand moisture levels by altering the stand’s ability to buffer periods of desiccation. This is believed to have contributed to the demise of Erioderma pedicellatum in Sweden. As mentioned earlier, one of the original localities in Värmland, Sweden, was designated as a nature reserve in 1952 shortly after a mass occurrence of the species was discovered there by Ahlner in 1941 and 1946 (Ahlner 1948). The presence of logging immediately adjacent to the park boundary and the subsequent desiccation of habitat was one of the suspected causes for the eventual extirpation of the species in this locality (http://www.nhm.uio.no/botanisk/bot-mus/lav/factshts/eriopedi.htm).


B) Atmospheric Pollution

It has long been suspected that acid rain eliminates sensitive lichens from suitable ecosystems for two reasons (Hawksworth and Rose, 1976; Richardson, 1992). First the already naturally acidic substrates are further acidified, thereby reducing the buffering capacity of the bark (Nieboer et al., 1984). Second the lichen thallus is immediately affected by the uptake of air pollutants (Farmer et al., 1992). Cyanolichens, in particular, are more vulnerable to the effects of air pollution. All of the cyanophilic lichens are capable of trapping and utilizing molecular nitrogen from the air for the generation of nutrients containing nitrogen. A common characteristic of theirs is that the nitrogen-fixing enzyme, nitrogenase, has a remarkable intolerance for the presence of SO2 (James, 1973).

The presence of acid rain appears to contribute to the loss of Erioderma pedicellatum from its spruce substrates. Even on the slightly less acidic bark of balsam fir, a partial die-back of Erioderma thalli has been observed. The eventual loss of thalli begins with a necrotic zone around the holdfast area and eventually spreads in all directions (Moberg and Holmasen, 1982). Damage to these holdfast zones is pronounced on thalli found on the highly acidic barks of black spruce. The damage to the holdfast areas of Erioderma pedicellatum has been exceptional among the cyanophilic lichens, and therefore is ranked highest on the list for sensitive species of Nova Scotia. In addition, community lichens associated with E. pedicellatum habitats such as the Lobarion are also given a relatively high ranking and have been shown to be sensitive to air pollution (Gauslaa, 1995), including Coccocarpia palmicola, Erioderma mollissimum, Parmeliella parvula and Fuscopannaria ahlneri.

Acid fog is more dangerous than acid rain because sensitive plants remain enveloped in stagnant acid fog for extended periods of time. This could be one of the two determining factors in the gradual disappearance of sensitive cyanophilic lichens from southern Nova Scotia. Acid deposition studies by Cox et al. (1989) in the Bay of Fundy region have shown that the average fog pH was 3.6, i.e., one pH unit lower than the average rain pH in the same area. Although no direct evidence has been shown for the effects of acid fog on lichens, evidence gathered in recent years (Cox et al.1996; Cox et al. 1998; Kouterick et al.1998) indicates that foliar browning in many of the natural stands of heartleaf birch (Betula cordifolia) and white birch in the outskirts of the Bay of Fundy is, either directly or indirectly, caused by acidic fog. Nova Scotia is prone to acid fog since it is closer to the influx of air pollution from the industrial centers of the northeastern U.S.A. and southern Ontario (Maass, 2001). This is in contrast to Newfoundland where the contribution of long range transported air pollution is far less significant than pollution from local sources, including the Come-by-Chance Refinery and the Holyrood Generating Station on the Avalon Peninsula as well as the Pulp and Paper Mills on the West Coast (Wadleigh et al., 1999).

The collapse of the Erioderma pedicellatum - phorophyte connection has probably resulted from the gradual lowering of the buffering capacity of the spruce bark over a period of time, during acid rain or acid fog episodes that would of course simultaneously inhibit the activity of the nitrogenase system. The undernourished hyphae of the holdfast area, after having been deprived of the supply of essential nitrogenous substances (including vitamins), may then become highly susceptible to the presence of SO2 and NOx or to the strong acids derived from them in the stemflow.

In general, it is clear that Erioderma and other lichens possessing the cyanobacterium symbiont Scytonema are highly sensitive to atmospheric pollution. The impact on Erioderma pedicellatum, of the proposed development of a hydrometallurgical plant by INCO at Argentia, using new technology, warrants close monitoring.


C) Pest Control and the Use of Harmful Aerial Sprays

The recent threats to the coniferous woodlands and black spruce plantations in the Bay D'Espoir areas around Jipujijkuei Kuespem Park by the Yellow-headed Spruce Sawfly (Pikonema alaskanensis) have been of great concern. As an interim measure, because of BT having been shown to be ineffective in the elimination of the larval stages of this pest, the use of TRICHLORFON (which is known under the trade name "DYLOX") had been approved by the Pest Management Regulatory Agency of Health Canada in 1998 as a spray reagent.

Since the upper cortex of E. pedicellatum does not appear to have significant water repelling properties, its cyanobacterial layer would be readily accessible to aqueous droplets containing this chemical, which could then do damage to the cellular membranes and to the nitrogenase of Scytonema under dry weather conditions. Such a mode of action could seriously decimate the E. pedicellatum populations in the Bay D'Espoir area.

Fortunately, the use of trichlorfon as a spray reagent against the sawflies in Newfoundland has been abandoned for the time being. A far less harmful agent, azadirachtin, an extract from the Indian Neme tree (Azadirachta indica), is currently being used.

Likewise, trichlorfon sprays have not been approved for the Nova Scotia or New Brunswick regions. Instead, efforts are currently underway, in cooperation with the Federal Forestry Service in Fredericton, N.B., to investigate the suitability of specific BT strains (such as BT-i).

It is sometimes difficult to judge whether a particular insect infestation is more harmful to the lichens growing on a tree or the spray reagent that is to be used to reduce the spread of that insect. It probably depends on the extent of the defoliation of the tree and on the annual fluctuations in the population numbers of the insect.


D) Forest Fires

Many areas of Newfoundland have been strongly affected by forest fires. A particularly extensive fire had raged through large tracts of land behind the base of the Burin Peninsula in 1960. This fire may account for the absence of viable E. pedicellatum communities from this general area.

In addition to the obvious impacts of fire, the presence of SO2 in the smoke from burning woodlands is well known and is able to destroy the nitrogen-fixing lichens that happen to be downwind from the burn (see Denison et al. 1976).


E) Droughts and Hurricanes

Extreme weather induced events, such as drought or windstorms, can affect populations of E. pedicellatum. Prolonged periods of drought may lead to the death of thalli through exposure to heat-induced desiccation. The susceptibility of Erioderma to desiccation may be the result of an upper cortex that appears to lack a vapour barrier in the form of a lipophilic layer of alkanes (see Piervittori et al. 1997). The absence of such a “boundary layer” would promote losses in thallus moisture during dry weather periods (Fos at al. 1999). E. pedicellatum and other lichen populations can also be severely decimated through tree windfalls along the edges of the forests (Boyce, 1988). One such storm had blown across the Avalon Peninsula from a northeasterly direction in November of 1994 and caused considerable wind-fall, in Salmonier Nature Park (SNP), the Lockyer’s Waters Area and on the Ripple Pond Ridge (see NF-62b).

At least one of the original habitats of Erioderma pedicellatum in Nova Scotia was completely destroyed by a windfall when a severe storm traveled from a southwesterly direction and hit the eastern shores of Guysborough County near Wine Harbour (NS-40).


F) Global Warming

On a macro-scale, the birch die-back in Eastern Canada and in the adjacent parts of the U.S.A. can be viewed as being the immediate result of global warming, according to the work by Auclair (1987) and Auclair et al. (1992). See the explicit review by Braathe (1995). Even though the effects of global warming upon lichens are not as easy to measure as the extent of the birch die-back in Eastern North America (through aerial reconnaissance), they may manifest themselves in having given rise to partial losses of earlier established distributional ranges. In particular, those respective lichens that largely depend on a particular tree species (such as birch) as its main phorophyte, or lichens that are extremely dependent upon high humidity habitats, such as Erioderma pedicellatum, may be sensitive to climate change.


G) Effects of Herbivory on the Growth of Balsam Fir Seedlings

The effects of moose browsing in central Newfoundland have been discussed and evaluated over a period of time by Bergerud and Manuel (1968) and Thompson and Curran (1993). Due to the density of browsing on balsam fir seedlings by moose the mixed coniferous woodlands are gradually being converted into forests in which spruces are the dominant species. The suppression of balsam fir regrowth, based on the current hypothesized life cycle of Erioderma, places limitations on the regeneration of viable E. pedicellatum habitats. There is little doubt that black spruce had once played an important role in providing alternative phorophytes for E. pedicellatum thalli. However, the high acidity of the spruce bark can become in itself a limiting factor to the distribution of E. pedicellatum in Newfoundland, accelerated in the presence of long range transported or locally generated pollutants.

The effect of severe moose browsing on balsam fir is quite evident in Lockyer’s Waters. This could have detrimental effects on the regeneration of young balsam fir stands adjacent to sites containing Erioderma and could therefore inhibit the ability of the formerly large population of more than 953 documented thalli to renew itself through the initiation of new life cycles on nearby trees of suitable age, illumination and environmental health. [According to careful recounts of thallus numbers by Mr. Eugene Conway during the fall of 2002, considerable losses have occurred, leaving only about 20% of the originally counted thalli in place.]


H) Effects of the Microfauna Herbivory on Erioderma

Mites often feed on mosses and on the decaying parts of bark. The effects of browsing by mites on Erioderma thalli are also quite evident in certain field sites although, in general, they do not impose a threat to existing populations of the lichen. Yetman (unpublished data from Masters thesis) has identified at least one species of mite from the Lockyer’s Waters locality that was collected from the surface of a moist Erioderma thallus.

Browsing by snails has also been observed but is a minor threat that occasionally leads to partial removal of the upper cortex and the photobiont layer beneath.

Large-scale mono-cultures also raise the question whether the fungal endo-symbionts in the needles of conifers are naturally introduced. These micro-fungi appear to play an important role in the life of the tree by increasing the resistance of the foliage to attacks by foraging insect larvae (Calhoun et al. 1992, Clark et al. 1989, Todd 1988). The presence of such natural insect feeding deterrents in the needles may not only provide a certain amount of protection against defoliation of the conifers but may also moderate the activities of the micro-fauna on the barks on which the lichens grow.


I) Land Development

Road building and the spread of both tourism and industrial activities, such as the harvesting of forests that had not been accessible previously, often go hand in hand. A good example of this had been the building of the Burgeo Road where forest harvesting began soon after the opening of the road. It also opened up the possibilities for conducting a survey of the rare lichens in the area. Unfortunately, what had been gained would soon be lost, which had included the northernmost occurrence of Erioderma pedicellatum on black spruce.

The spread of the cottage industry is similarly taking its toll, mostly in making the more remote parts of the forests more accessible to their utilization. This would include domestic cutting, recreational activities and increased vehicle traffic (Brawn and Ogden, 1977). This is no doubt a legitimate threat in Lockyer’s Waters.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’erioderme boréal au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les sous-sections suivantes décrivent les principaux facteurs qui menacent les forêts subocéaniques à lichens du Canada atlantique et les communautés de cyanolichens qu’elles renferment.


A) Coupe à blanc et plantation d’arbres

Dans la péninsule d’Avalon et les autres régions du Sud de Terre-Neuve, la quantité de bois récoltée commercialement durant les années 1992 à 1999 a dépassé d’environ 20 p. 100 les quotas annuels, ce qui a entraîné une pénurie de ressources forestières [données compilées par le premier auteur : bois rond récolté selon l’Abrégé de statistiques forestières canadiennes du Conseil canadien des ministres des forêts (http://nfdp.ccfm.org) et possibilité annuelle de coupe pour l’île de Terre-Neuve selon les plans de développement 1990 à 2009 et 1996 à 2015 du ministère des Richesses forestières et de l’Agroalimentaire de la province].

Dans de nombreuses régions de Terre-Neuve, la pratique de la coupe à blanc a entraîné, depuis 1970 environ, le remplacement de nombreuses communautés forestières naturelles ou semi-naturelles par des plantations d’épinette noire et de sapin baumier. Dans ces secteurs, la coupe à blanc a dû éliminer tout arbre porteur d’épiphytes et donc empêcher la régénération du Lobarion. En effet, même si le secteur touché par une coupe à blanc reçoit un nombre suffisant de spores d’E. pedicellatum provenant d’un lieu éloigné, aucun nouveau thalle ne peut se former, puisqu’il n’y a pas de Frullania dans les plantations d’arbres.

Les facteurs suivants rendent d’autant plus difficile la colonisation des plantations d’épinette par les lichens du Lobarion et par les hépatiques du genre Frullania :

  • Dans les conditions environnementales actuelles, le faible pouvoir tampon et l’acidité relativement élevée de l’écorce d’épinette noire font obstacle à l’établissement de l’E. pedicellatum sur les troncs de cet arbre et même sur ses branches. L’E. pedicellatum et le Frullania ne colonisent même pas les plantations de sapin baumier, peut-être parce que la coupe à blanc a entraîné la mort des champignons mycorhiziens qui étaient présents dans la forêt. Par contre, dans les forêts naturelles plus ou moins éclairées mais très humides et riches en sphaignes, l’épinette noire est colonisée à l’occasion, bien que ces colonies aient connu des baisses d’effectif importantes au cours des dernières années. Les thalles poussant sur le tronc ont presque disparu, la santé de ceux poussant sur les branches s’est détériorée, et leur effectif s’est effondré avec la perte de capacité de produire de nouveaux thalles. Deux cas exceptionnels de thalles poussant sur le tronc d’épinettes noires ont été observés à proximité du chemin forestier Ripple Pond Ridge; ces thalles sont demeurés sains grâce à l’apport constant d’air humide et propre, à partir des terrains bas et mouilleux situés juste au sud, durant les périodes les plus douces de l’année. Les pertes de populations sont imputables au brouillard acide et aux pluies acides, qui constituent une menace croissante. En effet, il suffit peut-être d’une faible exposition à ces facteurs pour que la composition chimique de l’écorce d’épinette noire soit altérée au point de ne plus convenir à la colonisation par l’Erioderma pedicellatum. Cette hypothèse est corroborée par l’absence complète de l’E. pedicellatum dans certaines pessières noires de Nouvelle-Écosse qui seraient par ailleurs tout à fait adéquates. Il semble également que des concentrations aussi faibles de polluants atmosphériques ont pu causer la disparition de l’espèce en Europe, où elle poussait sur l’épicéa commun (épinette de Norvège).

  • L’ombre dense qui caractérise les nouvelles plantations d’arbres durant 10 à 15 années, soit jusqu’à leur éclaircie précommerciale, n’est pas propice à la réintroduction de colonies viables de Frullania riches en Scytonema ni à la synthèse et au développement de nouveaux thalles d’E. pedicellatum. Aucune trace de Frullania n’a été trouvée sur l’écorce d’épinettes noires plantées au nord du parc national Fundy (Veinotte, 1998; Maass, observations personnelles), même si cette hépatique est commune sur les conifères et les feuillus des boisés naturels du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le problème est aggravé par le fait que les parterres de coupe à blanc sont rarement fertilisés, ce qui entraîne la perte des champignons mycorhiziens symbiotiques. Il peut s’ensuivre un épuisement graduel des éléments nutritifs dans les sols glaciaires minces et acides de Terre-Neuve, de Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick.

L’apparition tardive des flores de lichens épiphytes dans les plantations d’arbres a été constatée et étudiée dans des secteurs situés au nord du parc national Fundy, dans le cadre d’une étude de l’écosystème de la grande région de Fundy (Veinotte, 1998). Les quatre peuplements témoins, représentatifs des forêts mixtes matures de la moitié nord du parc national, renfermaient plusieurs espèces de Nephroma et de Lobaria, poussant presque exclusivement sur des feuillus mais également, de façon très exceptionnelle, sur l’épinette rouge (Picea rubens). Cependant, dans les plantations étudiées, les cyanolichens étaient absents de toutes les épinettes noires plantées depuis 6, 10, 15, 18 ou 23 ans. Quelques thalles de Leptogium cyanescens ont été trouvés sur de rares arbustes feuillus observés dans les plantations de 10 et 15 ans, mais ce lichen est une composante peu importante du Lobarion.

Enfin, il a été démontré que l’exploitation forestière à grande échelle réduit grandement le degré d’humidité interne des peuplements, en altérant leur capacité de compenser les périodes de sécheresse. On croit que ce facteur a contribué à la disparition de l’Erioderma pedicellatum en Suède. Comme nous le mentionnions précédemment, un des anciens sites du lichen, situé au Värmland, en Suède, a été désigné réserve naturelle en 1952, peu après qu’une population importante de l’espèce eut été observée dans cette localité, en 1941 et en 1946, par Ahlner (1948). L’abattage d’arbres tout près de la réserve et l’assèchement subséquent de l’habitat constituent une des causes présumées de la disparition de l’espèce dans cette localité (http://www.nhm.uio.no/botanisk/bot-mus/lav/factshts/eriopedi.htm).


B) Pollution atmosphérique

Deux raisons sont depuis longtemps invoquées pour expliquer que les pluies acides aient pu éliminer les lichens sensibles d’écosystèmes par ailleurs adéquats (Hawksworth et Rose, 1976; Richardson, 1992). Premièrement, ces pluies auraient pour effet d’acidifier les écorces déjà naturellement acides, réduisant ainsi leur pouvoir tampon (Nieboer et al., 1984). Deuxièmement, le thalle des lichens serait directement affecté par l’absorption de polluants atmosphériques (Farmer et al., 1992). Les cyanolichens sont particulièrement sensibles aux effets de la pollution atmosphérique. En effet, tous les cyanolichens sont capables de piéger l’azote moléculaire de l’air et de l’utiliser pour produire des éléments nutritifs azotés. Or, une caractéristique commune de ces lichens est que leur enzyme fixatrice d’azote, la nitrogénase, est remarquablement intolérante à la présence de SO2 (James, 1973).

Les pluies acides semblent donc contribuer à la disparition de l’Erioderma pedicellatum de l’écorce des épinettes. Même dans le cas du sapin baumier, dont l’écorce est légèrement moins acide, un dépérissement partiel des thalles a été observé. La nécrose débute près de la surface de fixation du thalle, puis s’étend dans toutes les directions (Moberg et Holmasen, 1982). Les dégâts causés à la surface de fixation sont prononcés dans le cas des lichens poussant sur l’épinette noire, dont l’écorce est très acide, et sont particulièrement élevés chez l’Erioderma pedicellatum, par rapport aux autres cyanolichens; c’est pourquoi cette espèce est classée la première parmi les espèces sensibles de Nouvelle-Écosse. Un rang relativement élevé a également été attribué aux autres lichens du Lobarion et aux lichens associés de façon plus générale à l’habitat de l’E. pedicellatum. Il a été démontré que ces lichens, notamment le Coccocarpia palmicola, l’Erioderma mollissimum, le Parmeliella parvula et le Fuscopannaria ahlneri, sont sensibles à la pollution atmosphérique (Gauslaa, 1995).

Le brouillard acide présente un danger encore plus grand que les pluies acides, car les plantes sensibles demeurent longtemps exposées au brouillard stagnant. Ce pourrait être un des deux facteurs déterminants de la disparition graduelle des cyanolichens sensibles du sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Cox et al. (1989) ont étudié les dépôts acides dans la région de la baie de Fundy et ont observé que le brouillard acide y présente un pH moyen de 3,6, soit une unité de moins que le pH moyen des pluies acides de la région. Aucune observation directe ne confirme l’effet du brouillard acide sur les lichens, mais les données recueillies depuis quelques années (Cox et al., 1996; Cox et al., 1998; Kouterick et al., 1998) semblent indiquer que le brunissement foliaire constaté dans plusieurs peuplements naturels de bouleau à feuilles cordées (Betula cordifolia) et de bouleau à papier, en bordure de la baie de Fundy, peut être imputé, directement ou indirectement, au brouillard acide. Par rapport à Terre-Neuve, la Nouvelle-Écosse est davantage sujette à ce type de brouillard, car elle est située plus près de l’influx d’air pollué provenant des centres industriels du Nord-Est des États-Unis et du Sud de l’Ontario (Maass, 2001). À Terre-Neuve, la contribution des polluants atmosphériques transportés à grande distance est bien moins importante que celle des polluants provenant de sources locales, comme la raffinerie de Come-by-Chance et la centrale de Holyrood, dans la péninsule d’Avalon, ou les usines de pâtes et papiers de la côte ouest de l’île (Wadleigh et al., 1999).

La rupture du lien existant entre l’Erioderma pedicellatum et les épinettes a sans doute été causée par un abaissement graduel du pouvoir tampon de l’écorce de ces arbres, durant les épisodes de pluie ou de brouillard acides, qui ont évidemment dû inhiber au même moment le système nitrogénasique. Les hyphes de la surface de fixation, carencées par un approvisionnement insuffisant en substances azotées essentielles (et notamment en vitamines), ont pu devenir très sensibles au SO2, aux NOx ou aux acides forts issus de ces oxydes présents dans les eaux s’écoulant sur le tronc.

De façon générale, l’Erioderma pedicellatum et les autres lichens ayant pour symbionte une cyanobactérie du genre Scytonema sont manifestement très sensibles à la pollution atmosphérique. Or, l’INCO souhaite implanter à Argentia une usine hydrométallurgique faisant appel à une technologie nouvelle. Il faudra donc surveiller de près l’impact que pourrait avoir cette usine sur l’E. pedicellatum.


C) Lutte contre les ravageurs et pulvérisation aérienne de pesticides nuisibles

Récemment, la tenthrède à tête jaune de l’épinette (Pikonema alaskanensis) a soulevé de grandes craintes pour les forêts de conifères et les plantations d’épinette noire, dans la région de la baie d’Espoir, près du parc Jipujijkuei Kuespem. Comme le BT s’était révélé inefficace contre les stades larvaires de cet insecte, l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) a approuvé en 1998, à titre provisoire, la pulvérisation de trichlorfon (insecticide connu sous le nom commercial Dylox).

Comme le cortex supérieur de l’Erioderma pedicellatum ne semble posséder aucune propriété hydrofuge, sa couche à cyanobactéries doit être immédiatement accessible aux gouttelettes d’eau renfermant ce produit chimique, qui risque ensuite d’endommager les membranes cellulaires ainsi que la nitrogénase du Scytonema, si le temps est sec. Ce processus pourrait décimer les populations d’E. pedicellatum de la région de la baie d'Espoir.

Heureusement, la pulvérisation de trichlorfon contre les tenthrèdes a été abandonnée pour le moment à Terre-Neuve. On utilise maintenant un agent beaucoup moins nuisible, l’azadirachtine, extrait d’un arbre d’Inde, le neem (Azadirachta indica).

De même, la pulvérisation de trichlorfon n’a pas été approuvée pour la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Nouveau-Brunswick. Des travaux ont plutôt été entrepris, en collaboration avec le Service canadien des forêts, à Fredericton (N.-B.), sur l’efficacité de certaines souches de BT (comme le BT-i).

Il est parfois difficile de déterminer si une infestation d’un insecte donné est plus nuisible aux lichens poussant sur un arbre que l’insecticide utilisé pour empêcher sa propagation. Cela dépend sans doute de l’étendue de la défoliation et des fluctuations annuelles des effectifs de l’insecte.


D) Incendies de forêt

De nombreux secteurs de Terre-Neuve ont été fortement touchés par les feux de forêt. En 1960, un incendie a dévasté des superficies particulièrement grandes de forêt près de la base de la péninsule de Burin. C’est peut-être cet incendie qui explique l’absence de thalles viables d’E. pedicellatum dans ce secteur.

On sait en outre que la fumée dégagée par les incendies de forêt renferme du SO2 et que ce gaz peut détruire les lichens fixateurs d’azote poussant dans les localités situées sous le vent par rapport à l’incendie (voir Denison et al., 1976).


E) Sécheresses et ouragans

Les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, comme les sécheresses et les tempêtes de vent, peuvent aussi affecter les populations d’Erioderma pedicellatum. Les thalles de ce lichen peuvent être tués par une sécheresse prolongée, en se desséchant à cause de la chaleur. La sensibilité de l’E. pedicellatum à la dessiccation est peut-être due au fait que son cortex supérieur ne présente aucune couche lipophile d’alcanes permettant de retenir la vapeur d’eau (voir Piervittori et al., 1997). L’absence d’une telle couche limite favoriserait donc la perte d’humidité par le thalle, durant les épisodes de temps sec (Fos et al., 1999). Les populations d’E. pedicellatum et d’autres lichens peuvent aussi être décimées lorsque les arbres sont abattus par le vent en bordure de la forêt (Boyce, 1988). En novembre 1994, une tempête de vent a traversé la péninsule d’Avalon depuis le nord-est et créé des étendues importantes de chablis dans le parc naturel de Salmonier, dans le secteur des Lockyer’s Waters, ainsi que sur la crête Ripple Pond (localité NF-62b).

Au moins un des premiers sites de l’Erioderma pedicellatum à être découverts en Nouvelle-Écosse a été complètement détruit lorsque les arbres ont été abattus par une violente tempête qui a frappé, depuis le sud-ouest, le littoral est du comté de Guysborough, près de Wine Harbour (localité NS-40).


F) Réchauffement climatique

Selon les travaux d’Auclair (1987) et d’Auclair et al. (1992), le dépérissement des bouleaux observé dans l’Est du Canada et les régions limitrophes des États-Unis aurait été directement causé par le réchauffement climatique en cours à l’échelle de la planète (voir la synthèse révélatrice proposée par Braathe, 1995). Les effets de ce réchauffement sur les lichens ne sont pas aussi faciles à mesurer que l’étendue du dépérissement des bouleaux dans l’Est de l’Amérique du Nord, qui est observable par reconnaissance aérienne, mais on constate un rétrécissement de l’aire de répartition de certains lichens. Les lichens qui ont pour phorophyte principal une espèce d’arbre en particulier (comme le bouleau) ou qui ont une dépendance extrême à l’égard des habitats très humides, comme l’Erioderma pedicellatum, sont sans doute sensibles au changement climatique.


G) Effet des herbivores sur la croissance des semis de sapin baumier

Bergerud et Manuel (1968) ainsi que Thompson et Curran (1993) ont étudié, dans le Centre de Terre-Neuve, l’effet du broutage par l’original sur une certaine période. À cause du broutage intense des semis de sapin baumier, les forêts mélangées de conifères sont en train de se transformer progressivement en forêts dominées par les épinettes. Si on admet l’hypothèse actuelle concernant le cycle vital de l’Erioderma pedicellatum, la suppression de la repousse de sapin impose des limites à la régénération d’habitats viables pour ce lichen. Il semble acquis que l’épinette noire a déjà joué un rôle important comme phorophyte de rechange pour l’E. pedicellatum, mais son écorce très acide est en soi un facteur limitatif pour la répartition du lichen à Terre-Neuve, facteur aggravé par la présence de polluants atmosphériques émis localement ou transportés depuis des régions éloignées.

L’effet du broutage intensif par l’orignal est manifeste dans le secteur des Lockyer’s Waters. Ce facteur a dû nuire à la régénération de jeunes sapinières à proximité des sites d’Erioderma pedicellatum et a donc pu empêcher le renouvellement de la population, qui comptait auparavant plus de 953 thalles recensés. Ce renouvellement suppose en effet que le cycle vital du lichen puisse reprendre dans un peuplement qui soit propice quant à l’âge des arbres, à l’éclairement et à l’absence de pollution.


H) Effets de la microfaune herbivore sur l’Erioderma pedicellatum

Les acariens consomment souvent les mousses et les parties de l’écorce qui sont en putréfaction. Ce broutage a manifestement un effet sur les thalles d’E. pedicellatum dans certains stations, mais il ne menace pas en général les populations actuelles du lichen. Yetman (données inédites recueillies en vue d’un mémoire de maîtrise) a identifié au moins une espèce d’acarien prélevé sur un thalle humide d’E. pedicellatum, dans la station des lacs Lockyer’s Waters.

Le broutage par les escargots a également été observé, mais il s’agit d’une menace mineure, bien qu’elle entraîne à l’occasion la destruction partielle du cortex supérieur et de la couche gonidiale sous-jacente.

Par ailleurs, la pratique de la monoculture à grande échelle soulève des craintes pour les champignons endosymbiotiques présents dans les aiguilles de conifères, qui risquent de ne pas se réintroduire naturellement. Or, ces champignons microscopiques semblent jouer un rôle important dans le cycle vital des arbres, en augmentant la résistance du feuillage aux attaques par les larves d’insectes cherchant leur nourriture (Calhoun et al., 1992; Clark et al., 1989; Todd, 1988). En plus de fournir une certaine protection contre les insectes défoliateurs, ces champignons aux propriétés répulsives naturelles modèrent peut-être l’activité de la microfaune des écorces où pousse le lichen.


I) Exploitation touristique et industrielle

La construction d’une route s’accompagne souvent d’une expansion des activités touristiques et industrielles, qui se traduit notamment par l’exploitation des forêts ainsi rendues accessibles. Ainsi, dès que la route de Burgeo a été ouverte, les forêts du secteur ont commencé à être exploitées. En revanche, la route a facilité la réalisation d’un relevé des lichens rares de la région, mais les découvertes ont malheureusement été suivies de pertes, dont la disparition du site le plus nordique d’Erioderma pedicellatum poussant sur épinette noire.

L’expansion de la construction de chalets contribue aussi à la disparition du lichen, surtout en favorisant la coupe de bois à des fins personnelles, les activités récréatives et l’utilisation accrue de véhicules tout-terrain dans certains secteurs forestiers isolés (Brawn et Ogden, 1977). Il s’agit certainement d’une menace réelle dans le secteur des lacs Lockyer’s Waters.