Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Boreal Felt Lichen in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

This “Panda Bear” amongst the lichens (Dr. Teuvo Ahti, in litt.) -- a nickname which E. pedicellatum deserves from the conservation point of view -- is a symbol of nature's rapidly vanishing treasures, in the boreal forest. The complexity of its life cycle, which depends upon the foliose hepatic Frullania as a cyanobacterial donor, is unique among lichens. The species Erioderma pedicellatum has challenged us to improve our understanding of this particular ancient symbiotic life form whose fungal partner is assumed to have evolved through hybridization of two chemically distinct taxa in the north-west corner of South America on the ancient land mass of Gondwana.

The persistence of this lichen throughout hundreds of million years is sharply contrasted by its having been brought to near extinction, within the past 10-20 years, with the notable exception of two core populations from Newfoundland that have remained viable for the time being.

In addition, E. pedicellatum, perhaps more than any other lichen species, can signify changes in local air quality. It has been given the highest rank on the relative scale of sensitivities of cyanophilic lichens towards air pollution, together with species belonging to the genus Lichinodium.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’erioderme boréal au Canada

Importance de l'espèce

Du point de vue de sa conservation, l’Erioderma pedicellatum a été appelé « le panda des lichens » par Teuvo Ahti (in litt.), car il symbolise la disparition rapide des trésors naturels que recèle la forêt boréale. La complexité de son cycle vital, notamment sa dépendance à l’égard des hépatiques à feuilles du genre Frullania comme source de cyanobactéries, est unique parmi les lichens. Nous avons donc le devoir de mieux comprendre cette forme ancienne de symbiose, dont le partenaire fongique est sans doute issu d’une hybridation entre deux espèces chimiquement distinctes, dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Amérique du Sud actuelle, dans l’ancien continent de Gondwana.

La persistance du lichen pendant des centaines de millions d’années contraste vivement avec sa quasi-disparition au cours des 10 à 20 dernières années. En effet, seules les deux principales populations de Terre-Neuve sont encore viables à l’heure actuelle.

De plus, parmi toutes les espèces de lichens, l’E. pedicellatum est peut-être celle qui constitue le meilleur indicateur des changements locaux de la qualité de l’air. Il figure à la tête d’une échelle indiquant la sensibilité relative des cyanolichens à la pollution atmosphérique, avec certaines espèces du genre Lichinodium.