Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Boreal Felt Lichen in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Boreal Felt Lichen
Erioderma Pedicellatum

Species Information

Boreal felt lichen (Erioderma pedicellatum) is a globally threatened, conspicuous foliose cyanolichen belonging to the Pannariaceae. It is the only boreal counterpart of a mainly tropical genus. The thallus is of a grayish brown colour when dry and a slate blue colour when moistened. It has a characteristic white underside, lacking a lower cortex. The curled to upturned lobes give it a unique appearance when viewed from a distance. New biochemical evidence suggests that the genus may be among the oldest of foliose lichens, hybridized from ancestral types, perhaps well over 400 million years ago (mya). Hybridization between an ancestral species and a mutant of it in South America likely gave rise to the boreal felt lichen. This new entity could have been transported on the microcontinent of West Avalonia to present day New England, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, and to the British Isles on the microcontinent of East Avalonia during Mid- to Late Ordovician (450-440 mya, departure time) and Devonian (360 mya or less, arrival time).

Distribution

The species once had a global Amphi-Atlantic distribution with populations occurring in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland in Eastern Canada and Sweden and Norway in Scandinavia. Currently the species is only known from Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. 

Habitat

Habitats of the boreal felt lichen may be referred to as the Suboceanic Lichen Forests of Atlantic Canada both because of the moist, Sphagnum-rich sites and because of the presence of a distinct cyanolichen community including E. pedicellatum. These suboceanic sites where Erioderma is found are generally on north or east-facing slopes that have a constant supply of moisture. Within these sites, the species is found mostly on balsam fir (Abies balsamea) and to a lesser extent on black spruce (Picea mariana) with rare occurrences on white spruce (Picea glauca), red maple (Acer rubrum) and white birch (cf. Betula cordifolia). On the coniferous trees mentioned, it can be found on both branches and trunks depending on the relationship between the level of moisture and light. It is known that this lichen shares an intimate relationship with the liverwort Frullania tamarisci ssp. asagrayana. The co-occurrence of Erioderma and Frullania is a visible external manifestation of the widespread internal symbiosis between Frullania and its cyanobacteria. Both Scytonema and Nostoc have been found to occur within the watersacs of Frullania. This intimate external symbiosis represents one of the delicate and complex relationships that this lichen shares with its ecosystem and for that reason its ecological balance is fragile and readily impacted by logging, air pollution and other factors.

Biology

Boreal felt lichen is a large foliose lichen with a generation time of about 30 years. It reproduces by sexual spores that are carried, likely, primarily by wind but also by other vectors such as flying insects and woodpeckers. No special asexual propagules are produced. One study has suggested that lichenization between the germinating ascospore and free-living Scytonema, a cyanobacterium (blue-green alga), can occur only in the water sacs of Frullania, a small, epiphytic, leafy liverwort. The relationship is such that the early synthesis of the lichen begins in the watersacs of Frullania wherein the free-living, cyanobacterial counterpart, Scytonema, is contained and comes into physical contact with Erioderma hyphae. Here under aseptic conditions the juvenile Erioderma thallus is formed and may take anywhere from 5-10 years to reach a visible size. Because of the presence of Scytonema, the lichen is particularly sensitive to acid rain, acid fog and other air pollutants. It requires relatively cool and moist oceanic climates within certain tolerances and open canopy for juvenile thalli to develop. Mature thalli deteriorate on trees that are mature to overmature or dead, seemingly in a span of only a few years. Thalli also deteriorate when habitat succession occurs that reduces light availability and when microclimatic conditions seem to be altered by extensive logging in close proximity to the lichen. Its occurrence on the particularly acidic bark of spruce trees reduces its ability, compared to fir trees, to survive when stressed by acidic air pollutants.

Population Sizes and Trends

Historically, E. pedicellatum occurred in Scandinavia but is now seemingly extirpated there. In considering all past and present confirmed occurrences, the range of the lichen in North America covers Campobello Island in New Brunswick, Cape Chignecto (alt. 136 m), the Atlantic slope of Nova Scotia at altitudes between 8 and 150 m, and the suboceanic parts of Newfoundland to an elevation of ~ 427 m. In Newfoundland, it is conspicuously absent from the eastern parts of the Great Northern Peninsula and from the northern central parts of the island. All of the 6 previously known localities for E. pedicellatum in southern Nova Scotia have been lost within the past 8-18 years. Environmental deterioration of the habitats through air pollution rather than through logging is the underlying cause for this change. Only 14 thalli are presently known to occur in Nova Scotia, as opposed to 169 thalli that had been encountered before 1995. In Newfoundland, about 6900 thalli of E. pedicellatum have been counted during the period after 1994, with about 35% of these having been documented in early 2002 by provincial foresters. The vast majority of the thalli were found on balsam fir with a much lower number on black spruce, the occasional thallus on white spruce, and a few on red maple and white birch. The total area of occupancy within which thalli have been documented in Newfoundland is about 30 km2 of habitat but likely consists of a much larger area when inaccessible areas along the south coast are included.

Limiting Factors and Threats

The species is in danger of population loss due to a number of threats. Perhaps the greatest threat is from logging, which is presently a major concern in Newfoundland. Clear-cutting is not conducive to the sustainability of Erioderma populations since clearcuts of 100 m x 100 m or more may act to desiccate local populations. This was historically the case in Vãrmland, Sweden, where logging in the immediate vicinity of the park where the Eriodermathalli occurred was the suspected cause of the eventual extirpation of this species. Other threats involve air pollution, forest pesticides, forest fires, climatic changes including global warming and moose herbivory on balsam fir seedlings.

Special Significance of the Species

Boreal felt lichen has served as a landmark species drawing attention to the need for lichen conservation. It is an ancient species whose fungal partner is believed to have evolved almost 500 mya. Its high susceptibility to air pollutants, perhaps more so than any other lichen species, makes it a prime candidate for monitoring changes in air quality.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designation

The species had originally been listed in 1995 as critically endangered in the “Red List of Lichenized Fungi of the World” by the Species Survival Commission (SSC) of the Lichen Specialist Group, International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN). 

No official status is recognized for Erioderma pedicellatum in any of the three Atlantic Provinces where it has occurred historically. Preliminary conservation measures had only been initiated in Newfoundland in response to recent suggestions by Dr. Christoph Scheidegger. Legal protection has existed for the large population in Jipujijkuei Kuespem Provincial Park as well as for populations in the Bay du Nord Wilderness Area and the Avalon Wilderness Area although these areas were not established specifically to protect this lichen. Interim protection was afforded, also, through an earlier promise made to Dr. Christoph Scheidegger and the ICCL in 1996, by then Premier Brian Tobin, that the Lockyer’s Waters Forest Area would not be harvested until the status of the boreal felt lichen had been determined by COSEWIC.

Summary of Status Report

Boreal felt lichen is a conspicuous foliose lichen that is found primarily on balsam fir in a very restricted type of cool moist suboceanic habitat. It is extirpated from its type location in New Brunswick where it was first reported in Canada. This species occurs now at only 3 sites with about 13 thalli in Nova Scotia and about 67 known sites on the island of Newfoundland. Only about 6900 extant thalli have been documented in total for the species in Canada. Of these, about 35% were discovered in Newfoundland in the spring of 2002 with renewed efforts to locate additional thalli. Considering that there are many forested riparian valley habitats with balsam fir in remote areas of the south coast of Newfoundland, it is highly likely that there are many more sites and numerous thalli yet to be discovered. Continued threats remain from the loss or modification of habitats through lumbering activities and from air pollutants.

For assessment purposes, the mainland populations in Nova Scotia and those of insular Newfoundland have been recognized as distinct COSEWIC populations due to the fact that they occur in different ecological regions and are subject to different degrees of risk, especially from atmospheric.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’erioderme boréal au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Érioderme boréal
Erioderma pedicellatum

Information sur l’espèce

L’érioderme boréal (Erioderma pedicellatum), menacé à l’échelle mondiale, est une espèce remarquable de cyanolichen foliacé appartenant à la famille des Pannariacées. C’est le seul représentant boréal d’un genre avant tout tropical. Le thalle est brun grisâtre à l’état sec et bleu ardoise à l’état humide. Le dessous du thalle a une couleur blanche caractéristique, et il n’y a pas de cortex inférieur. Les bords incurvés à redressés des lobes confèrent au lichen un aspect particulier lorsqu’il est observé à une certaine distance. Selon de nouvelles données biochimiques, le genre Erioderma serait un des plus anciens genres de lichens foliacés et proviendrait d’une hybridation qui pourrait remonter à bien au-delà de 400 millions d’années (m.a.). L’érioderme boréal serait lui-même issu d’une hybridation survenue en Amérique du Sud entre une espèce ancestrale et une forme mutante de celle-ci. La nouvelle espèce aurait été présente à la fois dans le microcontinent d’Avalonie de l’Ouest, avec lequel elle aurait atteint le territoire constituant actuellement la Nouvelle-Angleterre, le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse et Terre-Neuve, et dans le microcontinent d’Avalonie de l’Est, qui l’aurait portée jusqu’aux îles Britanniques, entre l’ordovicien moyen ou supérieur (de 450 à 440 m.a., date de départ) et le dévonien (360 m.a. ou moins, date d’arrivée).

Répartition

L’espèce avait autrefois une répartition amphi-atlantique globale, et il en existait des populations au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve, ainsi qu’en Scandinavie (Suède et Norvège). Selon les connaissances actuelles, elle n’existe plus qu’en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve.

Habitat

Les forêts où pousse l’érioderme boréal peuvent être qualifiées de « forêts subocéaniques à lichens du Canada atlantique », d’une part parce qu’elles renferment des milieux humides riches en sphaignes et d’autre part parce qu’elles comportent une communauté particulière de cyanolichens, dont fait partie l’Erioderma pedicellatum. Ces milieux subocéaniques où se rencontre l’E. pedicellatum sont généralement situés sur des versants nord ou est bénéficiant d’un apport constant d’humidité. À l’intérieur de ces milieux, l’espèce pousse surtout sur le sapin baumier (Abies balsamea), dans une moindre mesure sur l’épinette noire (Picea mariana) et, dans de rares cas, sur l’épinette blanche (Picea glauca), l’érable rouge (Acer rubrum) ou une espèce de bouleau blanc (Betula cf. cordifolia). Sur les conifères susmentionnnés, on trouve l’espèce sur les branches ou sur le tronc, selon la combinaison particulière de lumière et d’humidité. On sait par ailleurs que l’E. pedicellatum présente une relation étroite avec l’hépatique Frullania tamarisci ssp. asagrayana. La présence du lichen et de l’hépatique dans les mêmes milieux est d’ailleurs un signe visible d’un phénomène répandu, la symbiose interne entre une hépatique du genre Frullania et les cyanobactéries qu’elle héberge. Des cyanobactéries des genres Scytonema et Nostoc ont été observées dans les saccules aquifères des Frullania. Cette étroite symbiose externe illustre bien les relations délicates et complexes existant entre le lichen et son écosystème; il s’agit donc d’un équilibre écologique fragile, sensible à l’impact de l’exploitation forestière, de la pollution atmosphérique et d’autres facteurs.

Biologie

L’érioderme boréal est un grand lichen foliacé dont chaque génération dure environ 30 ans. Il se reproduit au moyen de spores sexuées qui sont sans doute surtout transportées par le vent, mais aussi par d’autres vecteurs, comme les insectes volants et les pics. Le lichen ne produit aucune propagule asexuée spécialisée. Selon une étude, la synthèse du lichen à partir d’une ascospore germée et d’une cyanobactérie (algue bleue) libre du genre Scytonema ne pourrait se produire que dans les saccules aquifères des Frullania, petites hépatiques à feuilles vivant à l’état d’épiphytes. Cette relation fait en sorte que la synthèse du lichen débute dans ces saccules, où le cyanobionte du genre Scytonema vit à l’état libre et peut entrer en contact avec les hyphes de l’Erioderma. C’est dans ces conditions aseptiques que se forme le jeune thalle, qui n’atteint une taille visible qu’au bout de 5 à 10 ans. À cause de la présence du Scytonema dans ses tissus, le lichen est particulièrement sensible aux pluies acides, au brouillard acide et aux autres formes de pollution atmosphérique. Il a besoin d’un climat océanique humide et relativement doux, avec certaines tolérances, et le jeune thalle ne peut se développer que sous couvert clairsemé. Les thalles adultes se détériorent en quelques années sur les arbres morts et les arbres ayant atteint ou dépassé la maturité. Les thalles se détériorent également si la succession végétale réduit la lumière disponible ou si les conditions microclimatiques semblent altérées par une exploitation forestière intensive des secteurs situés à proximité du lichen. Les thalles poussant sur l’écorce particulièrement acide des épinettes résistent moins aux polluants atmosphériques acides que ceux poussant sur des sapins.

Taille et tendances des populations

L’Erioderma pedicellatum, autrefois présent en Scandinavie, semble maintenant disparu de cette région du monde. En Amérique du Nord, si on tient compte de tous les sites anciens et actuels confirmés, l’aire de répartition du lichen comprend l’île Campobello (Nouveau-Brunswick), le cap Chignecto (alt. 136 m), le versant Atlantique de la Nouvelle-Écosse (alt. de 8 à 150 m) et les régions subocéaniques de Terre-Neuve, jusqu’à une altitude d’environ 427 m. À Terre-Neuve, l’espèce est remarquablement absente des parties orientales de la péninsule du Nord, ainsi que des secteurs centre-nord de l’île. Tous les sites connus du Sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse sont disparus au cours des 8 à 18 dernières années. Cette perte s’explique davantage par une détérioration des habitats due à la pollution atmosphérique que par l’exploitation forestière. Dans cette province, il ne reste plus que 14 thalles connus de l’espèce, alors qu’on en avait dénombré 169 avant 1995. À Terre-Neuve, environ 6 900 thalles d’E. pedicellatum ont été recensés après 1994, dont environ 35 p. 100 ont été répertoriés vers le début de 2002 par des forestiers de la province. La vaste majorité des thalles poussait sur le sapin baumier, un bien plus petit nombre poussait sur l’épinette noire, des thalles occasionnels poussaient sur l’épinette blanche, et à peine quelques-uns poussaient sur l’érable rouge ou sur une espèce de bouleau blanc. À Terre-Neuve, la zone d’occupation connue de l’espèce est d’environ 30 km2, mais la zone d’occupation réelle est sans doute beaucoup plus grande, puisqu’il existe des milieux propices dans les secteurs peu accessibles de la côte sud de l’île.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Bon nombre de facteurs risquent de causer la disparition de populations d’Erioderma pedicellatum. La plus grande menace est sans doute l’exploitation forestière, très préoccupante à Terre-Neuve. La pratique de la coupe à blanc ne favorise pas le maintien des populations du lichen, car les parterres de coupe de taille supérieure à 100 m sur 100 m peuvent provoquer la dessiccation des thalles poussant dans les environs. C’est ce qui est arrivé au Vãrmland, en Suède, où l’abattage des arbres à proximité d’un parc abritant des thalles d’E. pedicellatum est la cause présumée de la disparition subséquente de l’espèce dans ce parc. Les autres menaces sont liées à la pollution atmosphérique, aux applications forestières de pesticides, aux incendies de forêt, aux changements climatiques (y compris le réchauffement planétaire) et au broutage des semis de sapin baumier par les orignaux.

Importance de l’espèce

L’érioderme boréal s’est acquis une notoriété en attirant l’attention sur l’importance de la conservation des lichens. Il s’agit d’une espèce ancienne, dont le composant fongique est apparu il y a près de 500 millions d’années. Étant donné sa grande sensibilité aux polluants atmosphériques, peut-être supérieure à celle de toute autre espèce de lichen, l’érioderme boréal semble constituer une espèce indicatrice idéale pour la surveillance des changements de la qualité de l’air.

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

En 1995, l’Erioderma pedicellatum avait été inscrit à titre d’espèce fortement menacée (critically endangered) dans la Red List of Lichenized Fungi of the World, liste rouge établie par le Groupe de spécialistes des lichens de la Commission de la sauvegarde des espèces de l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN).

L’Erioderma pedicellatum n’est protégé par aucune désignation officielle dans l’une ou l’autre des trois provinces de l’Atlantique où il a déjà été présent. Des mesures de conservation préliminaires viennent d’être adoptées à Terre-Neuve, à la suggestion de Christoph Scheidegger. La grande population située dans le parc provincial Jipujijkuei Kuespem, ainsi que les populations situées dans les réserves naturelles de la Bay du Nord et d’Avalon jouissent de la protection juridique associée à ce parc et à ces réserves, même si ceux-ci n’ont pas été créés spécifiquement pour la protection du lichen. Une protection provisoire a également été accordée à l’espèce en 1996, lorsque Brian Tobin, qui était alors premier ministre de Terre-Neuve, a promis à Christoph Scheidegger et à l’ICCL que la réserve forestière des Lockyer’s Waters ne ferait l’objet d’aucune exploitation forestière jusqu’à ce que le statut de l’érioderme boréal ait été établi par le COSEPAC.

Sommaire du rapport de situation

L’érioderme boréal est un lichen foliacé d’aspect frappant qui pousse principalement sur le sapin baumier dans un habitat très restreint, sous climat subocéanique frais et humide. L’espèce est disparue de sa localité type, située au Nouveau-Brunswick, où elle avait été observée pour la première fois au Canada. Elle n’existe plus que dans trois localités de Nouvelle-Écosse, abritant en tout 13 thalles, et dans environ 67 localités connues de l’île de Terre-Neuve. Dans l’ensemble du Canada, l’espèce ne compte plus qu’environ 6 900 thalles connus, dont environ 35 p. 100 ont été découverts à Terre-Neuve au printemps 2002, dans le cadre de travaux visant à repérer de nouveaux thalles. Comme de nombreuses vallées boisées abritent des sapins baumiers dans certains secteurs peu accessibles de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve, il est très probable qu’un grand nombre de sites et de thalles restent à découvrir. L’espèce demeure menacée par l’exploitation forestière et la pollution atmosphérique, qui risquent de détruire ou d’altérer son habitat.

Pour les besoins de l’évaluation, l’ensemble des populations situées dans la partie continentale de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’ensemble de celles situées à l’île de Terre-Neuve ont été considérées comme deux populations distinctes aux termes du COSEPAC, puisqu’elles se trouvent dans des régions écologiques différentes et sont exposées à des degrés de risque différents, notamment en ce qui a trait à la pollution atmosphérique.