Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Boreal Felt Lichen in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Erioderma pedicellatum is an Amphi-Atlantic species that was historically present in Europe and in Canada. Currently, E. pedicellatum is only found in eastern Canada (Nova Scotia and Newfoundland).

In Norway, four localities were originally identified in the early 20th century. Alhner identified the lichen at three localities in the Grong region in 1938 and 1939 (Holien, 1995) and one locality in North Trondelag in 1948 (Maass, 1980b). Alhner believed that the species was new to science and gave it the name Erioderma boreale. More recently, two additional sites, in the Grong and Overhalla regions, were discovered in 1994 (Holien et al., 1995). Tor Tonsberg (pers. comm.) had confirmed in 1999 that one thallus remained from these recent discoveries; however, it is currently his opinion that the species has become extirpated in Norway.

In 1948, Ahlner discovered a site in Vãrmland, Sweden, consisting of 100+ thalli. This site was designated a nature reserve in 1952 (Holien, 1995). Holien states that the last reported sighting of thalli here was in 1956. Maass (1980) reported that Degelius (pers. comm.) had revisited the site and may have been the last to see it in 1962. Necrotic thalli from this last visit of his were deposited in various Swedish herbaria (GB, UPS). A colour photograph of bleached and corrosion-damaged thalli from this collection was included in the Fieldbook on Lichens by Moberg and Holmåsen (1982).


Canadian Range

1) New Brunswick

J.G. Farlow made the earliest known collection of Erioderma pedicellatum in Canada on Campobello Island in 1902. This consisted of about 10 thalli. Farlow, realizing he had something unique, sent it to Hue for identification. Nine years later, Hue published it in an obscure journal under the name Pannaria pedicellata thereby reaching only a narrow audience. It is for this reason that a further sixty years would transpire before the original description of the species became known (Jørgensen 1972). To date, Stephen Clayden (1997), in his capacity as a curator at the New Brunswick Museum in St. John, NB, has, like the senior author, been unable to relocate or confirm the presence of E. pedicellatum on Campobello Island and in other parts of New Brunswick.

2) Nova Scotia

Most historic occurrences of E. pedicellatum in Nova Scotia were on the Atlantic Slope not more than 30 km from the coast in balsam fir (Abies balsamea) forests. The only exception was one dead thallus in the Cape Chignecto area above the Bay of Fundy on red maple (Acer rubrum) in site NS-46 (Maass, 1991). Further occurrences on phorophytes other than balsam fir include one thallus located in a white spruce (Picea glauca) grove about 100 m to the North of Toms Brook (NS-42) and one thallus (NS-6) on red maple. Most of the remaining occurrences had been in the northeastern parts of Halifax County and in Guysborough County. Only four (NS-42 to NS-45) had been located on Cape Breton Island, a considerable distance away from major centers of industrial activity such as Sydney and Glace Bay. All of the confirmed localities for E. pedicellatum are between 9 and 152 m above sea level. A total of 46 historic populations plus three sub-populations are known from this province.

3) Newfoundland

Very limited lichenological exploration has been undertaken in Newfoundland. Ahti and Jørgensen first collected Erioderma pedicellatum in Newfoundland in 1971 under the synonym Erioderma boreale. Ten years would pass before additional attempts would be made to establish a distribution pattern for the species in Newfoundland (Maass 1980, Ahti 1983). Field crews of the Newfoundland Department of Forest Resources and Agrifoods made substantial contributions to Erioderma discoveries beginning in 1997. Altogether, about 67 principal localities have been listed for Newfoundland with almost as many sub-populations identified.

The total distributions of boreal felt lichen before 1995, after 1994, the total historic and current distribution and occurrences on balsam fir and on spruces are recorded in Figures 3-6.

Gaps in the distributional maps of this species in Newfoundland represent, for the most part, real disjunctions based on the presence of extensive areas of open heath habitat unsuitable for this species. In the southern coastal and central regions of Newfoundland, the potential still exists, however, of finding additional populations of the lichen in protected forested valleys within the extensive heath barrens. The pattern of distribution along the Atlantic coastline of Nova Scotia and in Newfoundland appear to be controlled by climatic factors such as those that characterize the oceanic boreal and hemi-boreal climatic zones representing cool, moist and often foggy conditions in the more coastal areas. The entire central northern portion of Newfoundland and the eastern region of the Great Northern Peninsula, although largely forested, appear to lie within climatic zones that are either too warm or too cold and/or too dry during the growing season (see Figures figure7, figure8).


Figure 3: Overall Distributional Map for Occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum on Balsam Fir (Abies balsamea) in Atlantic Canada, Based on Observations Made Both Before 1995 and after 1994

Figure 3: Overall distributional map for occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum on balsam fir (Abies balsamea) in Atlantic Canada, based on observations made both before 1995 and after 1994.

Occurrences on red maple (Acer rubrum) have been indicated by a dotted triangular symbol and those on white spruce (Picea glauca) by an asterisk. In contrast, the occurrences of E. pedicellatum on black spruce have always been accompanied by occurrences of E. pedicellatum on balsam fir trees. The open circle on the coast of Maineindicates a possible former occurrence of the lichen, as explained in the legend for Figure 4.


Figure 4: Distributional Map for All of the Occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum in Atlantic Canada that had been Known Prior to 1995

Figure 4: Distributional map for all of the occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum in Atlantic Canada that had been known prior to 1995.

Occurrences on red maple (Acer rubrum) have been indicated by a dotted triangular symbol and those on white spruce (Picea glauca) by an asterisk. - The type locality of E. pedicellatum has been highlighted by a circle around the dot. A possible former habitat of this species on Head Harbour Island SE of Jonesport in WashingtonCounty of the State of Maine, also, has been highlighted by an open circle. Herbarium specimens of both Coccocarpia palmicola and Lobaria scrobiculata are known to have been collected from balsam fir barks on this island (FH). These are the most characteristic habitat indicators for occurrences of E. pedicellatum on balsam fir trees.


Figure 5: Distributional Map for all of the Occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum in Atlantic Canada that have been Based on Confirmed Observations Made After 1994

Figure 5: Distributional map for all of the occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum in Atlantic Canada that have been based on confirmed observations made after 1994.


Figure 6. Distributional Map for Occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum on Spruce Trees in Atlantic Canada

Figure 6: Distributional map for occurrences of Erioderma pedicellatum on spruce trees in Atlantic Canada: On Picea mariana (represented by solid dots) and on Picea glauca (represented by an asterisk).

On Picea mariana (represented by solid dots) and on Picea glauca (represented by an asterisk).


Figure 7: Newfoundland Vegetational Map and Erioderma pedicellatum Total Occurrences (localities approximated) Plus May-Sept Precipitation Averages in mm

Figure 7: Newfoundland vegetational map and Erioderma pedicellatum total occurrences (localities approximated) plus May-Sept precipitation averages in mm. Localities occur primarily in regions with greater than 450 mm precipitation in the growing season.

Black areas along the southwestern region near the coast are limestone heath. Localities occur primarily in regions with > 450 mm precipitation in the growing season.


Figure 8: Newfoundland Vegetational Map and Erioderma pedicellatum Total Occurrences (localities approximated) Plus Average July Air Temperature in Degrees Centigrade

Figure 8: Newfoundland vegetational map and Erioderma pedicellatum total occurrences (localities approximated) plus average July air temperature in degrees centigrade. Localities occur primarily in regions having temperatures below the July average of 16º C.

Black areas along the southwestern region near the coast are limestone heath. Localities occur primarily in regions having temperatures below the July average of 16º C.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’erioderme boréal au Canada

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

L’Erioderma pedicellatum est une espèce amphi-atlantique, autrefois présente à la fois en Europe et au Canada. Actuellement, l’E. pedicellatum ne se rencontre que dans l’Est du Canada (Nouvelle-Écosse et Terre-Neuve).

En Norvège, quatre emplacements de l’espèce ont d’abord été découverts, durant la première moitié du 20e siècle : Alhner a identifié le lichen dans trois localités de la région de Grong en 1938 et en 1939 (Holien, 1995), puis dans une localité du Nord-Trøndelag en 1948 (Maass, 1980b). Alhner croyait découvrir une nouvelle espèce, à laquelle il a donné le nom Erioderma boreale. Plus récemment, en 1994, deux autres sites ont été découverts, dans les régions de Grong et d’Overhalla (Holien et al., 1995). Tor Tonsberg (comm. pers.) a confirmé en 1999 qu’il restait un seul thalle de l’espèce dans ces nouveaux sites, et il estime aujourd’hui que l’espèce est disparue de Norvège.

En 1948, Ahlner a découvert dans le Vãrmland, en Suède, une population comprenant plus de 100 thalles. Cette localité est devenue une réserve naturelle en 1952 (Holien, 1995). Holien affirme que la dernière observation de thalles de l’espèce remonte à 1956. Maass (1980) mentionne cependant que Degelius (comm. pers.) s’était de nouveau rendu dans le site en 1962 et pourrait être le dernier à y avoir vu l’espèce. Lors de cette visite, il a récolté des thalles nécrosés de l’espèce, qui ont été déposés dans divers herbiers de Suède (GB, UPS). Une photo couleurs de thalles provenant de cette récolte, décolorés et endommagés par la corrosion, a été publiée dans le guide des lichens de Moberg et Holmåsen (1982).


Répartition canadienne

1) Nouveau-Brunswick

J.G. Farlow a fait la première récolte canadienne connue de l’Erioderma pedicellatum sur l’île Campobello, en 1902. Ce spécimen comprenait une dizaine de thalles. Farlow, se rendant compte qu’il avait trouvé quelque chose d’unique, envoya le spécimen à Hue pour que celui-ci l’identifie. Neuf ans plus tard, Hue publia une description de l’espèce, sous le nom Pannaria pedicellata, dans une revue à diffusion très restreinte, et il a fallu une soixantaine d’années pour que cette description soit connue (Jørgensen, 1972). Jusqu’à présent, Stephen Clayden (1997), conservateur du Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Saint-Jean (N.-B.), ainsi que le premier auteur du présent rapport ne sont pas parvenus à retrouver l’espèce ou à confirmer sa présence à l’île Campobello ou ailleurs dans la province.

2) Nouvelle-Écosse

En Nouvelle-Écosse, la plupart des mentions historiques de l’E. pedicellatum proviennent de forêts de sapin baumier (Abies balsamea) du versant atlantique, situées à 30 km ou moins de la côte. La seule exception est un thalle mort trouvé dans le secteur du cap Chignecto, au-dessus de la baie de Fundy, sur un érable rouge (Acer rubrum), dans la localité NS-46 (Maass, 1991). Les autres mentions provenant de phorophytes autres que le sapin baumier concernent un thalle trouvé dans un bosquet d’épinette blanche (Picea glauca) environ 100 m au nord de Toms Brook (NS-42) et un thalle trouvé sur un érable rouge dans la localité NS-6. La plupart des autres sites se trouvent dans les secteurs nord-est du comté d’Halifax, ainsi que dans le comté de Guysborough. Seulement quatre sites (localités NS-42 à NS-45) ont été trouvés sur l’île du Cap-Breton, à une distance considérable des grands centres industriels tels que Sydney et Glace Bay. Toutes les localités confirmées de l’E. pedicellatum sont situées entre 9 et 152 m au‑dessus du niveau de la mer. Au total, on connaît dans la province 46 populations historiques, ainsi que trois sous-populations.

3) Terre-Neuve

Très peu de travaux d’exploration lichénologique ont été entrepris à Terre-Neuve. Ahti et Jørgensen ont été les premiers à y récolter l’Erioderma pedicellatum, en 1971, sous le nom Eriodermaboreale. Une dizaine d’années se sont écoulées avant qu’on essaie de préciser la répartition de l’espèce dans l’île (Maass, 1980; Ahti, 1983). Les équipes de terrain du Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Forest Resources and Agrifoods ont grandement contribué à la découverte de nouvelles localités de l’espèce à compter de 1997. En tout, environ 67 sites principaux ont été trouvés à Terre-Neuve, outre un nombre presque aussi élevé de sous-populations.

On trouvera aux figures de 3 à 6 des cartes illustrant la répartition canadienne de l’érioderme boréal, avant 1995 et après 1994, ainsi que sa présence sur les arbres des genres Abies et Picea.

Les disjonctions que semble présenter la répartition de l’espèce à Terre-Neuve doivent être pour une bonne part réelles, puisqu’elles correspondent à de vastes superficies de lande à éricacées dépourvue de forêt, habitat qui ne convient pas à l’espèce. Cependant, dans les régions côtières et intérieures du Sud de la province, il est encore possible que l’on découvre de nouvelles populations, dans les forêts qui occupent certaines vallées protégées à l’intérieur du territoire principalement occupé par la lande à éricacées. Le fait que l’aire de répartition longe la côte atlantique, tant à Terre-Neuve qu’en Nouvelle-Écosse, semble être lié à des facteurs climatiques tels que ceux qui caractérisent les zones climatiques boréale-océanique et hémi-boréale, où les conditions sont fraîches, humides et souvent brumeuses dans les secteurs les plus près de l’océan. Tout le Centre-Nord de Terre-Neuve, ainsi que la partie est de la péninsule du Nord, qui sont pourtant en grande partie boisés, semblent toutefois se trouver dans des zones climatiques qui sont trop chaudes ou trop froides, ou encore trop sèches, durant la saison de végétation (figures figure7 et figure8).


 Figure 3 : Répartition générale des localités où l’Erioderma pedicellatum pousse sur sapin baumier (Abies balsamea) dans le Canada atlantique, selon les observations faites autant avant 1995 qu’après 1994

Figure 3 : Répartition générale des localités où l’Erioderma pedicellatum pousse sur sapin baumier (Abies balsamea) dans le Canada atlantique, selon les observations faites autant avant 1995 qu’après 1994. Dans les localités où le lichen était présent sur épinette noire, il était toujours également présent sur sapin baumier.

La présence du lichen sur érable rouge (Acer rubrum) est indiquée par un triangle pointé, tandis que celle du lichen sur épinette blanche (Picea glauca) est indiquée par un astérisque. Dans les localités où le lichen était présent sur épinette noire, il était toujours également présent sur sapin baumier. Le cercle, sur la côte du Maine, indique le site historique possible de l’E. pedicellatum mentionnée dans la légende de la figure 4.


Figure 4 : Répartition générale de l’Erioderma pedicellatum dans le Canada atlantique, selon l’ensemble des observations faites avant 1995

Figure 4 : Répartition générale de l’Erioderma pedicellatum dans le Canada atlantique, selon l’ensemble des observations faites avant 1995. Dans l’herbier FH, il existe des spécimens de Coccocarpia palmicola et de Lobaria scrobiculata qui ont été récoltés dans cette île, sur écorce de sapin baumier. Or, ces lichens sont les indicateurs les plus fiables d’un habitat propice à la croissance de l’E. pedicellatum sur sapin baumier.

La présence du lichen sur érable rouge (Acer rubrum) est indiquée par un triangle pointé, tandis que celle du lichen sur épinette blanche (Picea glauca) est indiquée par un astérisque. – La localité type de l’E. pedicellatum est indiquée par un cercle pointé. Le cercle vide indique une localité où l’espèce a pu être présente dans le passé, à l’île Head Harbour, au sud-est de Jonesport, dans le comté de Washington, dans l’État du Maine. Dans l’herbier FH, il existe des spécimens de Coccocarpia palmicola et de Lobaria scrobiculata qui ont été récoltés dans cette île, sur écorce de sapin baumier. Or, ces lichens sont les indicateurs les plus fiables d’un habitat propice à la croissance de l’E. pedicellatum sur sapin baumier.


Figure 5 : Répartition générale de l’Erioderma pedicellatum dans le Canada atlantique, selon l’ensemble des observations faites après 1994

Figure 5 : Répartition générale de l’Erioderma pedicellatum dans le Canada atlantique, selon l’ensemble des observations faites après 1994.


Figure 6 : Répartition des localités où l’Erioderma pedicellatum pousse sur épinette (Picea spp.) dans le Canada atlantique

Figure 6 : Répartition des localités où l’Erioderma pedicellatum pousse sur épinette (Picea spp.) dans le Canada atlantique. Les points correspondent aux localités où l’espèce pousse sur le P. mariana, tandis que l’astérisque indique la localité où l’espèce pousse sur le P. glauca.

Les points correspondent aux localités où l’espèce pousse sur le P. mariana, tandis que l’astérisque indique la localité où l’espèce pousse sur le P. glauca.


Figure 7 : Carte de la végétation de Terre-Neuve, avec sites anciens et actuels de l’Erioderma pedicellatum (position approximative) et indication des précipitations moyennes de mai à septembre, en millimètres

Figure 7 : Carte de la végétation de Terre-Neuve, avec sites anciens et actuels de l’Erioderma pedicellatum (position approximative) et indication des précipitations moyennes de mai à septembre, en millimètres. Les sites du lichen se trouvent principalement dans des régions recevant plus de 450 mm de précipitations durant la saison de végétation.

La zone en noir longeant la côte nord-ouest de l’île indique la position des landes calcaires. Les sites du lichen se trouvent principalement dans des régions recevant plus de 450 mm de précipitations durant la saison de végétation.


Figure 8 : Carte de la végétation de Terre-Neuve, avec sites anciens et actuels de l’Erioderma pedicellatum (position approximative) et indication des températures moyennes de l’air de juillet, en degrés centigrade

Figure 8 : Carte de la végétation de Terre-Neuve, avec sites anciens et actuels de l’Erioderma pedicellatum (position approximative) et indication des températures moyennes de l’air de juillet, en degrés centigrade. Les sites du lichen se trouvent principalement dans des régions où la température moyenne de juillet est inférieure à 16 °C.

La zone en noir longeant la côte nord-ouest de l’île indique la position des landes calcaires. Les sites du lichen se trouvent principalement dans des régions où la température moyenne de juillet est inférieure à 16 °C.