Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Boreal Felt Lichen in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

General Overview

Generally, most habitats of Erioderma pedicellatum are found on northerly exposed slopes where cool and moist habitat conditions prevail, throughout much of the year. Under exceptional circumstances in Newfoundland, E. pedicellatum habitats are also found on or near the East-West running forested ridges of special geological formations (Ahti, 1983; Delaney and Cahill, 1977). Here too, there is acontinuous supply of moisture provided by the flow of cool air across the ridges, rising from adjacent valley wetlands to the South or Southwest. Such situations have been encountered, e.g., in the headlands of Hermitage Bay, on Ripple Pond Ridge and in Lockyer’s Waters. Because of the predominance of cyanophilic lichens, such as E. pedicellatum, in this wet variant of the Boreal Forest, the authors have named this unique habitat: The "Suboceanic Lichen Forest of Atlantic Canada".

In these suboceanic forest types, Erioderma pedicellatum is most commonly found on the trunks of balsam fir. In Newfoundland it also occurs on black spruce, although to a much lesser extent. Because the early stages in thallus development is photophilous (“light-loving”), the lichen is most often found on these trees at or near the bottom of slopes, where the habitat is open and, as well, adjacent to Sphagnum-rich wetlands. Sphagnum species are important in maintaining moisture levels in these forest habitats during periods of drought.

Erioderma pedicellatum is, in phytosociological terms, a species of the “Lobarion” a lichen association that contains, amongst many other epiphytic lichens, several species of Lobaria, most importantly L. scrobiculata. Since L. scrobiculata can be spotted from a distance, on account of its size and colour (brownish yellow in the dry state and bluish green in the wet state), it was a useful guide in the surveys conducted to study the distribution of E. pedicellatum in the boreal forests of Nova Scotia as well as those of Newfoundland (Maass 1983). It continues to be a good indicator for suitable microhabitats for E. pedicellatum on balsam fir. Other members of the Lobarion include Lobaria pulmonaria, L. quercizans and Pseudocyphellaria crocata, all of which commonly occur on a wide range of deciduous trees and shrubs and even on conifers. Whereas these species may often be found in abundance on spruces (along with Lobaria scrobiculata) in nutrient-rich forested slopes and flood-plain habitats, they are only exceptionally present on balsam fir, which is the principal phorophyte for Erioderma pedicellatum.

The mature forest habitat in which Erioderma pedicellatum is found is characterized by distinct herbaceous flowering plants and cryptogam species. The herb layer is characterized by the presence of such species as: Clintonia borealis, Coptis trifolia, Cornus canadensis, Gaultheria hispidula and most importantly by the moisture dependent Osmunda cinnamomea. In half-open alluvial woods the latter may be replaced by Onoclea sensibilis. Sphagnum mosses include S. girgensohnii,S. fallax, S. nemoreum and/or S. russowii. Other bryophytes that predominate include the hepatic Bazzania trilobata, the pleurocarpous mosses Hylocomium splendens, Pleurozium schreberi, Ptilidium crista-castrensis and Rhytidiadelphus triquetrus and the acrocarpous mosses Dicranum majus and D. scoparium. The crowns of the trees are typically covered by a very lush growth of beard lichens, including Usnea longissima, Alectoria sarmentosa and Bryoria trichodes ssp. trichodes. The presence of these beard lichens in the canopy of the forest can act as a moisture buffer to maintain high humidity conditions.

It is assumed that the limit of distribution for Erioderma pedicellatum is reached where the climatic conditions are not sufficiently cool and humid to maintain a constant supply of moisture during the warmer and drier parts of the year. The northernmost locality where E. pedicellatum had been sighted on black spruce (Picea mariana) is in the northernmost section of the Burgeo Road (just below lat. 48º30'N; see Figure 6). The northernmost limit of the known distribution of E. pedicellatum is reached on the western side of the Northern Peninsula of Newfoundland just north of Hawkes Bay (lat. 50º43') (Figure 3).

Regardless of the distributional limits of this species, certain generalized statements can be made regarding its ecological requirements. In well-lit forests, E. pedicellatum is found mostly on trunks, in contrast to shaded habitats where the species is found predominately on branches. An important ecological balance may explain the preference of trunks or branches namely in those niches where the requirements for light are being balanced against those for uninterrupted conditions of high humidity. It is possible that in Nova Scotia the humidity levels in suitable woodland habitats for Erioderma have been too discontinuous during the warmest parts of the year to allow the branches to be colonized, even those on Abies. Only two exceptional thalli had been encountered on branches within the lowlands of Richmond County in southeastern Cape Breton Island (localities NS-42 and NS-43).

Symbiosis with Frullania

The hepatic Frullania tamarisci ssp. asagrayana plays a central role in helping Erioderma pedicellatum become established on the trunks of suitable conifers (Maass, 1986). Frullania species are distinguished by the possession of more or less helmet-shaped involutions on the underside of the dorsal leaves. These water sacs are important for a prolonged supply of moisture, and contain growth inhibitors, bacteriostatic compounds and insect-feeding deterrents (Burnett et al., 1974; Asakawa et al., 1976). Within these aseptic watersacs it is believed the process of lichenization begins in such a way that the E. pedicellatum fungus genetically recognizes the free-living Scytonema. Subsequent to lichenization, Frullania provides suitable nursery beds for the establishment and growth of the juvenile stages of E. pedicellatum, which would otherwise be difficult on the naked barks of phorophytes. In exceptional cases in which Erioderma pedicellatum has been found on red maple, this function may be performed also by Frullania bolanderi or F. oakesiana

Conversely, Frullania may benefit from the products of nitrogen fixation supplied by the newly formed thalli of cyanophilic lichens and by the still free-living cyanobiont cells within the watersacs. Frullania may even benefit from certain metabolites of the lichen fungi being released, such as growth hormones (IAA, gibberellic acids). Even the secretion of some polyketide-derived aromatic lichen acids might be of some use to Frullania.

Dr. Tomas Hallingbäck observed, in the forests of southern Sweden some years ago, that leafy hepatics like Frullania, Porella, Ptilidium pulcherrimum and Radula are good micro-environmental substrates for cyanobacteria (unpublished data). He also placed emphasis on his findings that some epiphytic mosses can likewise serve as a good microenvironment for cyanobacteria. Leucodon sciuroides was quoted as having the highest concentration of Nostoc species (pers. com.). Leucodon brachypus var. andrewsianus has been reported as Leucodon sciuroides in Erioderma habitats in Newfoundland (Crum and Anderson, 1981).

Brief Note on Bark Acidities

The acidities (Figures 9-11) and buffering capacities of the barks of the lichen phorophytes play a key role in accommodating or rejecting nitrogen-fixing lichen epiphytes on account of their high sensitivity to air pollution. The effect of bark acidity on the colonization of Lobarion lichens had been observed in the wet forest habitat of the Musquodoboit River Valley adjacent to the Limestone Quarries at Upper Musquodoboit (Maass 1983). Here, in an inland area where Lobaria scrobiculata does not normally occur on this substrate, the fir trunks had become literally covered by this lichen due to the neutralizing effects of limestone on the bark. However, more astonishing was the fact that black spruce trees in the same habitat had not been colonized at all, in spite of the neutralizing effects of the limestone. Higher bark pH (Figure 11), together with the greater water retention capacity of balsam fir bark (Figure 12), could explain why this species is the preferred phorophyte for Erioderma pedicellatum, both in Nova Scotia and in Newfoundland. This same phenomenon on spruce was also observed in Oslo, Norway, in the Ostmarka Forest Reserve (Gauslaa, 1995; Holien, 1982).

Numerous samples of Frullania were collected from Upper Musquodoboit, on both black spruce and balsam fir for sectioning and microscopic examination of the contents of their water sacs. No evidence was found for the presence of cyanobacteria in the Frullania samples from spruce, whereas more often than not the healthy random samples of Frullania from firs contained cyanobacterial cells.


Protection/Ownership

The boundaries of Jipujijkuei Kuespem Provincial Park were amended in 1997 to allocate a 213 ha portion to the Conne River Mi’gmaw Band to operate a private campground. Development is possible in this area; however, any proposal has to go through the provincial regulatory review process. The remaining 669 ha are still under the jurisdiction of the provincial government and protected under the Provincial Park Act. Much of the Erioderma population occurs within the new park boundaries.


Figure 9: pH Values Recorded for the Outer and Sub-surface Barks which had been Sampled from Trunks of Picea mariana During 1983 and 1984 in Nova Scotia and Processed as well as Measured Under Standardized Conditions

Figure 9: pH Values recorded for the outer and sub-surface barks which had been sampled from trunks of Picea mariana during 1983 and 1984 in Nova Scotia and processed as well as measured under standardized conditions.

The scale of pH values has been plotted on the x axis, whereas the numbers of equivalent measurements obtained above the baseline are being shown on their respective coordinates parallel to the y axis.

Note that the actual numbers of measurements correspond to n+1 (as far as measurements have been plotted on the baseline).


Figure 10: pH Values Recorded for the Outer and Sub-surface Barks which had been Sampled from the Trunks of Picea glauca During 1983 and 1984 in Nova Scotia and Processed as well as Measured Under Standardized Conditions

Figure 10: pH Values recorded for the outer and sub-surface barks which had been sampled from the trunks of Picea glauca during 1983 and 1984 in Nova Scotia and processed as well as measured under standardized conditions.

The frequencies for the occcurrence of Coccocarpia palmicola (x) and Lobaria scrobiculata (o) on the tree barks sampled have been indicated by the symbols shown in brackets.

Note that the actual numbers of measurements correspond to n+1 (as far as measurements have been plotted on the base line).


Figure 11: pH Values Recorded for the Outer and Sub-surface Barks which had been Sampled from the Trunks of Abies balsamea During 1983 and 1984 in Nova Scotia and Processed as well as Measured Under Standardized Conditions

Figure 11: pH Values recorded for the outer and sub-surface barks which had been sampled from the trunks of Abies balsamea during 1983 and 1984 in Nova Scotia and processed as well as measured under standardized conditions.

The frequencies for the occurrence of Coccocarpia palmicola (x) and Lobaria scrobiculata (o) on the tree barks sampled have been indicated by the symbols shown in brackets.

Note that the actual numbers of measurements correspond to n+1 (as far as measurements have been plotted on the baseline).


Figure 12: The Water Retention Capacities for the Freshly Collected and Water Saturated Trunk Barks of Abies balsamea and Picea mariana Respectively

Figure 12: The water retention capacities for the freshly collected and water saturated trunk barks of Abies balsamea and Picea mariana respectively.

The measurements plotted have been based on barks sampled in the former Erioderma habitat between Clam Harbour and Owls Head Harbour. The respective trees had been very healthy and had been growing under comparable conditions. Their DBH had been comparable at about 15 cm.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’erioderme boréal au Canada

Habitat

Besoins de l’espèce

Aperçu général

De manière générale, la plupart des sites de l’Erioderma pedicellatum se trouvent sur des versants exposés au nord, où les conditions demeurent fraîches et humides toute l’année. À Terre-Neuve, dans certains cas exceptionnels, on trouve également des sites de l’E. pedicellatum sur le dessus et à proximité de crêtes boisées, orientées d’est en ouest, associées à des formations géologiques particulières (Ahti, 1983; Delaney et Cahill, 1977). En pareil cas, il y a tout de même un apport constant d’humidité résultant du passage, à travers ces crêtes, d’un flux d’air s’élevant à partir des milieux humides des vallées voisines situées au sud ou au sud-ouest. De telles situations ont notamment été observées au fond de la baie Hermitage, sur la route Ripple Pond Ridge, ainsi que dans la réserve forestière Lockyer’s Waters. Comme les cyanolichens tels que l’E. pedicellatum dominent la flore lichénique de cette variante très humide de la forêt boréale, nous proposons d’appeler cet habitat unique « forêt subocéanique à lichens du Canada atlantique ».

À l’intérieur de ces forêts subocéaniques, l’Erioderma pedicellatum se rencontre le plus souvent sur des troncs de sapin baumier. À Terre-Neuve, on le trouve également sur l’épinette noire, mais beaucoup moins souvent. Comme ce lichen est photophile (« qui aime la lumière »), pendant les premiers stades de son développement, on le trouve le plus souvent sur ces arbres au pied de versants ou à proximité, où l’habitat est ouvert et situé à proximité de tourbières à sphaignes (Sphagnum spp.). Les sphaignes contribuent de façon appréciable à maintenir l’humidité de ces forêts pendant les périodes de sécheresse.

Du point de vue phytosociologique, l’Erioderma pedicellatum est une des espèces du Lobarion, association lichénique renfermant de nombreuses espèces épiphytes, dont plusieurs espèces de Lobaria et surtout le L. scrobiculata. Comme ce dernier est facile à repérer de loin, en raison de sa taille et de sa couleur (jaune brunâtre à l’état sec et vert bleuâtre à l’état humide), il a été très utile comme guide dans le cadre des relevés visant à établir la répartition de l’E. pedicellatum dans les forêts boréales de Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve (Maass, 1983). Il constitue toujours un bon indicateur des microhabitats convenant à l’E. pedicellatum sur le sapin baumier. Parmi les autres lichens du Lobarion, le Lobaria pulmonaria, le L. quercizans et le Pseudocyphellaria crocata sont communs sur une vaste gamme d’arbustes et d’arbres feuillus et même de conifères. Ces espèces se rencontrent souvent en abondance sur les épinettes (avec le Lobaria scrobiculata), dans les plaines inondables et sur les versants riches en éléments nutritifs, mais elles ne poussent qu’exceptionnellement sur le sapin baumier, principal phorophyte de l’E. pedicellatum.

Les forêts mûres où se rencontre l’Erioderma pedicellatum renferment des espèces particulières de plantes herbacées et de cryptogames. La strate herbacée se caractérise par des espèces comme le Clintonia borealis, le Coptis trifolia, le Cornus canadensis, le Gaultheria hispidula et, d’abord et avant tout, l’Osmunda cinnamomea, qui exige un milieu humide. Dans les forêts semi-claires occupant une plaine alluviale, cette fougère peut être remplacée par une autre, l’Onoclea sensibilis. Les sphaignes présentes sont le Sphagnum girgensohnii, le S. fallax, le S. nemoreum et/ou le S. russowii. Les autres bryophytes particulièrement fréquentes sont l’hépatique Bazzania trilobata, les mousses pleurocarpes Hylocomium splendens, Pleurozium schreberi, Ptilidium crista-castrensis et Rhytidiadelphus triquetrus ainsi que les mousses acrocarpes Dicranum majus et D. scoparium. Le houppier des arbres est normalement couvert par des populations luxuriantes de lichens fruticuleux, dont l’Usnea longissima, l’Alectoria sarmentosa et le Bryoria trichodes ssp. trichodes. La présence de ces « barbes de vieillard » dans le houppier des arbres peut agir comme tampon contribuant à maintenir une humidité élevée dans ce milieu.

On peut supposer que l’Erioderma pedicellatum atteint la limite de sa répartition lorsque les conditions climatiques ne sont plus assez fraîches et humides pour maintenir un apport constant d’humidité durant les périodes relativement chaudes et sèches de l’année. La localité la plus au nord où l’espèce a été observée sur l’épinette noire (Picea mariana) se trouve près du tronçon nord de la route de Burgeo (juste au sud du 48° 30' de latitude N.; voir figure 6). La limite nord absolue de l’espèce se trouve également à Terre-Neuve, dans la partie ouest de la péninsule du Nord, juste au nord de Hawke’s Bay (lat. 50° 43'; figure 3).

Sans égard aux limites de répartition de l’Erioderma pedicellatum, nous pouvons tirer quelques conclusions générales sur les exigences écologiques de l’espèce. Dans les forêts laissant bien pénétrer la lumière, l’E. pedicellatum pousse surtout sur les troncs, alors que dans les habitats ombragés il pousse surtout sur les branches. Cette préférence pour les troncs ou les branches doit s’expliquer par un équilibre écologique critique entre les besoins en lumière du lichen et la nécessité de conditions constantes d’humidité élevée. Dans les forêts de Nouvelle-Écosse qui conviennent à l’E. pedicellatum, il est possible que les conditions d’humidité soit trop discontinues, durant les périodes les plus chaudes de l’année, pour que le lichen puisse s’établir sur les branches, même de sapin. Dans cette province, nous n’avons trouvé que deux thalles de l’espèce sur les branches, dans des vallées du comté de Richmond, dans le Sud-Est de l’île du Cap‑Breton (localités NS‑42 et NS‑43).

Symbiose avec le Frullania

L’hépatique Frullania tamarisci ssp. asagrayana joue un rôle important pour l’Erioderma pedicellatum, en l’aidant à s’établir sur le tronc des conifères qui lui conviennent (Maass, 1986). Chez les hépatiques du genre Frullania, le dessous des feuilles dorsales est involuté de manière à former des saccules aquifères, plus ou moins en forme de casques, qui assurent un apport prolongé d’humidité et renferment des inhibiteurs de croissance, des substances bactériostatiques et des substances répulsives pour les insectes herbivores (Burnett et al., 1974; Asakawa et al., 1976). On croit que c’est à l’intérieur de ces saccules que débute le processus de lichénisation et plus précisément la reconnaissance génétique des cellules libres de Scytonema par le champignon E. pedicellatum. Une fois le lichen constitué, le Frullania fournit un milieu favorable aux premiers stades de développement du lichen, dont l’établissement et la croissance seraient difficiles sur l’écorce nue du phorophyte. Dans les cas exceptionnels où l’E. pedicellatum a été observé sur l’érable rouge, cette fonction est peut-être assurée par le Frullania bolanderi ou le F. oakesiana.

Il est également possible que le Frullania tire avantage des produits de la fixation de l’azote fournis par les jeunes thalles de cyanolichens et par les cellules libres du cyanobionte se trouvant dans ses saccules aquifères. Le Frullania pourrait aussi exploiter certains métabolites libérés par le champignon lichénisé, tels que des hormones de croissance (IAA, acides gibbérelliques), ou même certains acides lichéniques aromatiques dérivés de polykétides.

Il y a plusieurs années, dans des forêts du Sud de la Suède, Tomas Hallingbäck (données inédites) a observé que certaines hépatiques à feuilles, notamment de l’espèce Ptilidium pulcherrimum et des genres Frullania, Porella et Radula, constituent de bons micro-substrats pour les cyanobactéries. Il a également souligné qu’un tel micro-environnement favorable peut aussi être procuré par certaines mousses épiphytes. C’est le Leucodon sciuroides qui présentait la concentration la plus élevée de cyanobactéries du genre Nostoc (Hallingbäck, comm. pers.). Dans les habitats où pousse l’Erioderma pedicellatum à Terre-Neuve, la présence du Leucodon sciuroides a déjà été signalée, mais il s’agissait en fait du Leucodon brachypus var. andrewsianus (Crum et Anderson, 1981).

Courte note sur l’acidité des écorces

L’acidité (figures 9 à 11) et le pouvoir tampon de l’écorce des divers arbres jouent un rôle déterminant quant à l’établissement ou non de lichens épiphytes fixateurs d’azote sur ces arbres, étant donné la sensibilité élevée de ces lichens à la pollution atmosphérique. L’effet de l’acidité de l’écorce sur l’établissement des lichens constituant leLobariona été constaté dans les forêts très humides de la vallée de la Musquodoboit, à proximité des carrières de calcaire d’Upper Musquodoboit (Maass, 1983). Dans les localités situées à l’intérieur des terres, leLobaria scrobiculatan’est généralement pas présent sur les troncs des sapins. Or, à Upper Musquodoboit, l’écorce des sapins était littéralement recouverte de ce lichen, à cause de l’effet neutralisant du calcaire qui s’y dépose. Cependant, chose encore plus surprenante, le lichen était totalement absent de l’épinette noire, malgré l’effet neutralisant du calcaire. Le pH plus élevé de l’écorce du sapin (figure 11), combiné à sa plus grande capacité de rétention d’eau (figure 12), pourrait expliquer la préférence de l’Erioderma pedicellatumpour cet arbre, tant en Nouvelle-Écosse qu’à Terre-Neuve. Un phénomène semblable a été observé chez des arbres du genre Piceadans la réserve forestière Ostmarka, à Oslo, en Norvège (Gauslaa, 1995; Holien, 1982).

De nombreux échantillons de Frullania poussant sur l’épinette noire et le sapin baumier ont été prélevés à Upper Musquodoboit. Des coupes ont été réalisées, et le contenu des saccules aquifères a été examiné au microscope. Aucun signe de la présence de cyanobactéries n’a été observé dans le cas des échantillons prélevés sur des épinettes, alors que la majorité des échantillons sains prélevés au hasard sur des sapins renfermaient des cellules de cyanobactéries.


Protection et propriété des terrains

Les limites du parc provincial Jipujijkuei Kuespem, à Terre-Neuve, ont été modifiées en 1997 de manière à en céder 213 ha à la bande micmaque de Conne River, pour l’exploitation d’un terrain de camping privé. L’exploitation est possible dans ce secteur, mais tout projet doit être soumis à un examen conforme à la réglementation provinciale. Les 669 ha restants relèvent encore du gouvernement provincial et sont protégés aux termes de la Provincial Park Act. Une bonne partie de la population d’Erioderma pedicellatum se trouve à l’intérieur des nouvelles limites du parc.


Figure 9 : Mesures de pH prises chez des échantillons d’écorce superficielle et d’écorce subsuperficielle prélevés sur des troncs de Picea mariana en 1983 et en 1984, en Nouvelle-Écosse

Figure 9 : Mesures de pH prises chez des échantillons d’écorce superficielle et d’écorce subsuperficielle prélevés sur des troncs de Picea mariana en 1983 et en 1984, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le traitement des échantillons et la mesure du pH ont été effectués dans des conditions normalisées. Le pH est noté selon l’axe des X, tandis que le nombre de mesures équivalentes obtenues au-delà du niveau de référence est noté selon l’axe des Y.

Dans chaque cas, le nombre réel de mesures correspond à n+1, pourvu que les mesures ont été pointées sur le niveau de référence.


 Figure 10 : Mesures de pH prises chez des échantillons d’écorce superficielle et d’écorce subsuperficielle prélevés sur des troncs de Picea glauca en 1983 et en 1984, en Nouvelle-Écosse

Figure 10.  Mesures de pH prises chez des échantillons d’écorce superficielle et d’écorce subsuperficielle prélevés sur des troncs de Picea glauca en 1983 et en 1984, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le traitement des échantillons et la mesure du pH ont été effectués dans des conditions normalisées. La fréquence du Coccocarpia palmicola (x) et du Lobaria scrobiculata (o) sur les échantillons d’écorce est indiquée par les lettres x et o.

Dans chaque cas, le nombre réel de mesures correspond à n+1, pourvu que les mesures ont été pointées sur le niveau de référence.


Figure 11 : Mesures de pH prises chez des échantillons échantillons d’écorce superficielle et d’écorce subsuperficielle prélevés sur des troncs d’Abies balsamea en 1983 et en 1984, en Nouvelle-Écosse

Figure 11 : Mesures de pH prises chez des échantillons échantillons d’écorce superficielle et d’écorce subsuperficielle prélevés sur des troncs d’Abies balsamea en 1983 et en 1984, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le traitement des échantillons et la mesure du pH ont été effectués dans des conditions normalisées. La fréquence du Coccocarpia palmicola (x) et du Lobaria scrobiculata (o) sur les échantillons d’écorce est indiquée par les lettres x et o.

Dans chaque cas, le nombre réel de mesures correspond à n+1, pourvu que les mesures ont été pointées sur le niveau de référence.


Figure 12 : Capacité de rétention d’eau d’échantillons d’écorce d’Abies balsamea et de Picea mariana fraîchement récoltés et saturés d’eau

Figure 12 : Capacité de rétention d’eau d’échantillons d’écorce d’Abies balsamea et de Picea mariana fraîchement récoltés et saturés d’eau. Les mesures ont été prises sur des échantillons prélevés dans l’ancien site d’Erioderma pedicellatum qui se trouvait entre Clam Harbour et Owls Head Harbour.

Les mesures ont été prises sur des échantillons prélevés dans l’ancien site d’Erioderma pedicellatum qui se trouvait entre Clam Harbour et Owls Head Harbour. Les arbres des deux espèces étaient très sains et avaient poussé dans des conditions comparables. Dans les deux cas, le diamètre à hauteur de poitrine était d’environ 15 cm.