Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Gravel Chub

Executive Summary

 

The gravel chub (Erimystax x-punctatus) was last found in Canada in the Thames River drainage, Ontario, in 1958.  The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) designated this species as Endangered in 1985, and re-assessed it as Extirpated in 1987.  This status was re-examined based on an existing status report and confirmed in 2000.  The recovery of the gravel chub has been determined to be technically and biologically feasible.

The gravel chub is a slender, round-bodied minnow with an average length of 76 mm TL and a maximum length of approximately 100 mm TL.  It is olive-green dorsally with silvery sides and a white belly.  The scale margins on the back and sides of the gravel chub are randomly outlined in black resulting in distinct X-, Y- or W-shaped patterns.  A small black spot is usually predominant on the base of the caudal fin.  The snout is rounded and long, overhanging the mouth, which has small but conspicuous barbels in each corner.

In Canada, the gravel chub was only known from two locations in the Thames River drainage: at Munsee (Oneida Nation of the Thames) and in a stretch of the river in Mosa and Oxford townships, upstream of land owned by the Delaware of the Thames (Moravian Town) First Nation (or Delaware Nation Council (Moravian of the Thames).  These locations are approximately 300 km from the nearest American records in Ohio.

Gravel chub inhabit clear to moderately turbid, medium to large streams, containing abundant riffle areas with silt-free sand, gravel or rock substrates.

The narrow habitat requirements of gravel chub make it vulnerable to habitat degradation and declines in water quality.  Siltation and turbidity are believed to be the primary reason for the decline and eventual extirpation of gravel chub from Ontario.  Nutrient loading, as a result of agricultural and urban practices (e.g. fertilizers, manure spreading, sewage treatment), may have also contributed to its extirpation.

The Gravel Chub Recovery Team consists of representatives from various Canadian and American agencies.  As the gravel chub is one of 23 aquatic species found in the Recovery Strategy for the Thames River Aquatic Ecosystem, recovery approaches and actions related to Habitat Improvement and Stewardship, and Habitat Protection and Management are identified in, and will be addressed under, this watershed recovery strategy.  Therefore, species-specific Research and Monitoring recovery approaches are the focus of this recovery strategy.  The Recovery Team determined the long-term recovery goal of this strategy is to encourage healthy, reproducing gravel chub populations in the Thames River through habitat improvements if the species is found to be present and, if appropriate, re-introductions if the species is confirmed to be extirpated.  The team also developed six short-term (5 year) recovery objectives:

 

  1. Confirm that gravel chub is no longer presentin historical areas of occurrence in the Thames River;
  2. Determine the extent and quality of gravel chub habitat in areas of former occurrence;
  3. Identify key habitat requirements in order to define critical habitat and implement strategies to protect and restore recovery habitats;
  4. Identify threats, evaluate their impacts and implement remedial actions to reduce their effects;
  5. Examine the feasibility of relocations, captive-rearing and re-introductions; and,
  6. Identify responses to, and evaluate the success of, recovery measures.

The Research and Monitoring approaches identified by the Gravel Chub Recovery Team include monitoring and surveying populations and habitat, life history and critical habitat research, rearing and re-introduction techniques, and long-term monitoring.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du gravelier

Sommaire

 

Le gravelier (Erimystax x-punctatus) a été observé pour la dernière fois au Canada dans le bassin versant de la rivière Thames, en Ontario, en 1958. En 1985, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a attribué à cette espèce la désignation d’espèce « en voie de disparition » puis, en 1987, celle d’espèce « disparue du pays». Une réévaluation basée sur un rapport de situation publié en 2000 a confirmé cette désignation. Il a été déterminé que le rétablissement du gravelier est réalisable sur les plans technique et biologique.

Le gravelier est un méné au corps long et arrondi qui atteint en moyenne 76 mm de longueur et un maximum d’environ 100 mm. Son dos est vert olive, ses flancs sont argentés et son ventre est blanc. Le dos et les flancs du gravelier, dont les écailles sont aléatoirement bordées de noir, présentent des marques caractéristiques en forme de X, de W et de Y. Une petite tache noire prédomine habituellement à la base de la nageoire caudale. Le museau arrondi et long fait saillie au-dessus de la bouche dont les coins sont munis de barbillons petits mais visibles.

Au Canada, le gravelier n’a été observé qu’à deux endroits dans le bassin versant de la rivière Thames : à Muncey (nation Oneida de la Thames) et dans un tronçon de la rivière, dans les cantons de Mosa et d’Oxford, en amont du territoire de la nation Delaware, Première nation des Moraviens de la Thames (Moraviantown). Ces lieux sont situés à environ 300 km des endroits où ont été signalées les populations américaines les plus proches, en Ohio.

Le gravelier habite des cours d’eau de moyenne à grande envergure dont l’eau est de claire à modérément turbide et où sont présents de nombreux bancs au substrat rocheux, graveleux ou sableux exempt de limon.

Les besoins stricts liés à l’habitat du gravelier le rendent vulnérable à la dégradation de son habitat et à la diminution de la qualité de l’eau. On pense que l’envasement et l’accroissement de la turbidité sont principalement responsables du déclin et de la disparition du gravelier en Ontario. La charge en éléments nutritifs attribuable aux pratiques agricoles et urbaines (p. ex. engrais, épandage de fumier, traitement des eaux usées) a peut-être également contribué à sa disparition du pays.

L’équipe de rétablissement du gravelier regroupe des représentants de divers organismes canadiens et américains. Comme le gravelier figure parmi les 23 espèces aquatiques ciblées par le programme de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Thames, ce programme traite de mesures de rétablissement axées sur l’amélioration, l’intendance, la protection et la gestion de l’habitat du gravelier. Les mesures de rétablissement dont fait l’objet le présent programme de rétablissement du gravelier sont quant à elles axées sur la recherche et la surveillance. Le but à long terme que s’est fixé l’équipe de rétablissement du gravelier est de favoriser la présence de populations de gravelier saines et capables de reproduction dans la rivière Thames en procédant à des améliorations de leur habitat si l’on découvre que l'espèce y est présente et, s’il y a lieu, à des réintroductions si l’on confirme que l’espèce y est disparue. L’équipe a également défini les six objectifs de rétablissement à court terme (sur cinq ans) suivants :

  1. confirmer l’absence du gravelier dans leszones où il a déjà été observé dans la rivière Thames;
  2. déterminer l’étendue et la qualité de l’habitat du gravelier dans les zones où il a déjà été observé;
  3. définir les principaux besoins liés à l’habitat afin de désigner l’habitat essentiel et de mettre en œuvre des stratégies pour protéger et restaurer des habitats pour le rétablissement;
  4. définir les menaces, évaluer leur incidence et mettre en œuvre des mesures correctrices afin de réduire leurs effets;
  5. examiner la faisabilité de la relocalisation, de l’élevage en captivité et des réintroductions;
  6. relever les effets des mesures de rétablissement et évaluer la réussite de celles-ci.

Les mesures de recherche et de surveillance proposées par l’équipe de rétablissement du gravelier incluent la surveillance des populations et de l’habitat, la réalisation de relevés, l’étude du cycle biologique et de l’habitat essentiel, les techniques d’élevage et de réintroduction ainsi que le suivi à long terme.