Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Gravel Chub

Appendix A: Record Of Cooperation And Consultation

 

The Gravel Chub Recovery Strategy was prepared by the Gravel Chub Recovery Team. This recovery team was chaired by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and has representatives from the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR), Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), Upper Thames River Conservation Authority (UTRCA), Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority (LTVCA), Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources and the University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology.

The gravel chub is also included in the Thames River Aquatic Ecosystem Recovery Strategy.  The Thames River Aquatic Ecosystem Recovery Strategy was prepared by The Thames River Recovery Team (TRRT).  The TRRT has representatives from both the UTRCA (who co-chaired the team with DFO and the LTVCA).  These Conservation Authorities share responsibility for managing the Thames River watershed where this species was historically found.  Other agencies also represented on the TRRT are OMNR, Ontario Ministry of Environment, University of Western Ontario, University of Toronto, and Environment Canada (EC).  Aboriginal groups were represented on the TRRT by the Delaware Nation Council (Moravian of the Thames First Nation), Chippewas of the Thames, Oneida Nation of the Thames, and Munsee-Delaware First Nation and a representative from the Southern First Nations Secretariat.

In addition to these First Nation groups, DFO has attempted to engage all potentially affected Aboriginal communities in Southern Ontario during the development of the recovery strategy for the gravel chub. Information packages were sent to the five previously mentioned groups, as well as the Chief and Council of Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Caldwell First Nation, Mississaugas of the New Credit, Six Nations of the Grand, and Walpole Island. Information packages were also sent to Metis Nation of Ontario, Metis Nation of Ontario Captain of the Hunt for Region 9, Métis National Council, Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, Union of Ontario Indians (Anishnabek Nation), Chiefs of Ontario, and the Assembly of First Nations.  Members of these communities may have traveled or harvested fish from the waters of the Thames River where this fish species was found.  Follow-up telephone calls were made to each community office to ensure that packages were received and to ask if they would like to schedule a meeting to learn more about species at risk in general and proposed recovery strategies.

As a result of these letters and calls, one meeting was held with the Chief and Councilor for environmental issues of the Munsee-Delaware First Nation. Comments were received from Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians and Chippewas of Aamjiwnaang.

In addition to the above activities, DFO has established an ongoing dialogue with respect to aquatic species at risk in general with the policy advisor to the Southern First Nations Secretariat and has engaged the London Chiefs Council (an association of the 8 area First Nation governments in southwestern Ontario) on several occasions. Meetings have been held with the director of the Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre and the Fish and Game Enforcement Officer from Walpole Island First Nation. DFO also discussed SARA issues with a representative of the Six Nations of the Grand who works for the Six Nations EcoCentre and who also represents First Nation interests on the Grand River Fishes at Risk Management Plan, the Thames River Fish Management Plan and the St. Clair River Management Strategy.

Information packages, inviting comments, were sent to non-Aboriginal groups, environmental organizations and municipalities which may be impacted by the recovery strategy. As well, an announcement was placed in newspapers with circulation in the area where this fish was historically found to inform landowners and the general public about the strategy and to request their comments. One comment was received.

A letter was sent to the province of Ontario (OMNR) and comments received were added to the recovery strategy.

The gravel chub is only found in Canada and the United States of America. The Recovery Team has contacted representatives from resource management agencies in New York and Wisconsin where this fish also occurs. Information packages were sent to appropriate agencies in the United States within the distribution of gravel chub. No comments were received.

Page 5

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du gravelier

Annexe A: Collaboration et consultation

 

Le programme de rétablissement du gravelier a été élaboré par l’Équipe de rétablissement du gravelier. Présidée par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), cette équipe est composée de représentants du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO), du Musée royal de l’Ontario (MRO), de la Upper Thames River Conservation Authority (UTRCA), de la Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority (LTVCA), du Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources ainsi que du musée de zoologie de l’Université du Michigan.

Le gravelier fait également partie du programme de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Thames. Le programme de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Thames a été élaboré par l’Équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Thames. Cette dernière compte des représentants de l’UTRCA (qui ont co-présidé l’équipe avec le MPO) et de la LTVCA. L’UTRCA et la LTVCA sont responsables de la gestion du bassin hydrographique où cette espèce a été trouvée autrefois. Parmi les autres organismes également représentés figurent le MRNO, le ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario, l’Université de l’Ouest de l’Ontario, l’Université de Toronto et Environnement Canada. Les groupes autochtones sont représentés au sein de l’Équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Thames par le Delaware Nation Council (Première nation des Moraviens de la Thames), les Chippewas de la Thames, la nation Oneida de la Thames et la Première nation Munsee-Delaware ainsi que le Secrétariat des Premières nations du Sud.

Outre ces groupes de Premières nations, le MPO a tenté d’obtenir la participation de toutes les communautés autochtones du sud de l’Ontario potentiellement touchées au cours de l’élaboration du programme de rétablissement du gravelier. Des trousses d’information ont été envoyées aux cinq groupes mentionnés ci‑devant ainsi qu’au chef et au conseil des Premières nations suivantes : Aamjiwnaang, Caldwell, Mississaugas of the New Credit, Six Nations de Grand River et Walpole Island. Des trousses ont aussi été envoyées à la Nation Métis de l’Ontario, au capitaine de chasse de la région 9 de la Nation Métis de l’Ontario, au Conseil national des Métis, à l’Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, à l’Union des Indiens de l’Ontario (nation Anishnabek), à Chiefs of Ontario et à l’Assemblée des Premières nations. Les membres de ces communautés peuvent avoir voyagé ou pêché du poisson dans les eaux de la rivière Thames où cette espèce de poisson a été observée autrefois. Des appels téléphoniques de suivi ont été faits au bureau de chaque communauté pour s’assurer que les trousses avaient été reçues et demander s’ils voulaient organiser une réunion pour en savoir davantage sur les espèces en péril en général et sur les programmes de rétablissement proposés.

À la suite de ces lettres et de ces appels, une réunion a été tenue avec le chef et le conseiller des questions environnementales de la Première nation Munsee-Deleware First Nation. L’Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians et les Chippewas d’Aamjiwnaang ont fait parvenir des commentaires.

En plus des activités mentionnées ci-devant, le MPO a établi un dialogue permanent avec le conseiller en politiques du Secrétariat des Premières nations du Sud sur les espèces aquatiques en péril en général et a obtenu la participation du London Chiefs Council (une association de huit gouvernements des Premières nations du sud-ouest de l’Ontario) à plusieurs occasions. Des réunions ont eu lieu avec le directeur du Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre et l’agent de surveillance de la chasse et de la pêche de la Première nation de Walpole Island. Le MPO a par ailleurs discuté des questions de la LEP avec un représentant des Six Nations de Grand River qui travaille pour le Six Nations EcoCentre et qui représente également les intérêts des Premières nations dans le plan de gestion des poissons en péril de la rivière Grand, dans le plan de gestion des poissons de la rivière Thames et dans le plan de gestion de la rivière St. Clair.

Des trousses d’information ont été envoyées aux groupes non autochtones, aux organismes environnementaux et aux municipalités qui peuvent être touchés par le programme de rétablissement. En outre, une annonce a été placée dans les journaux distribués dans le secteur où ce poisson a été trouvé autrefois pour informer les propriétaires fonciers et le grand public au sujet du programme et demander leurs commentaires. Un commentaire a été reçu.

Une lettre a été envoyée au gouvernement de l’Ontario (MRNO); les commentaires reçus ont été intégrés au présent programme de rétablissement.

Le gravelier n’est présent qu’au Canada et aux États-Unis. L’Équipe de rétablissement a communiqué avec des représentants des organismes de gestion des ressources de l’État de New York et du Wisconsin où ce poisson est présent. Des trousses d’information ont été envoyées à chaque organisme américain présent dans l’aire de répartition du gravelier.Aucun commentaire n’a été reçu.