Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle in Atlantic Canada


3. Critical Habitat

Critical habitat as defined under section 2 of SARA is the "habitat necessary for the survival and recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species' critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species".

While the state of knowledge on habitat requirements of leatherback turtles in Canadian waters is increasing as new scientific evidence becomes available, it is currently not possible to identify critical habitat for this species. As set out in SARA , if information is inadequate to identify critical habitat within the recovery strategy, a schedule of studies must be prepared. Such a schedule, when implemented, will yield new information to enable the species' critical habitat to be described.

Appendix II includes a list of research and monitoring activities that collectively, constitute a schedule of studies. It is hoped that the results of this work will allow Fisheries and Oceans to be able to identify the critical habitat for Atlantic leatherback turtle in a recovery action plan, which will be developed once the activities outlined in the Appendix has been completed.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth dans les eaux canadiennes de l'Atlantique


3. Habitat essentiel

L'habitat essentiel est défini à l'article 2 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril comme étant l'« habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d'action élaboré à l'égard de l'espèce ».

Bien que les recherches scientifiques continuent d'augmenter les connaissances sur les besoins de la tortue luth en matière d'habitat dans les eaux canadiennes, il n'est pas encore possible de déterminer quel est l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce. La LEP précise que si l'information disponible est insuffisante pour déterminer l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce, il faut établir un calendrier des études nécessaires pour le définir.

L'annexe B présente une liste des activités de recherche et de surveillance qui constituent collectivement « un calendrier des études nécessaires ». Il est à espérer que les résultats de ces travaux permettront à Pêches et Océans Canada de définir l'habitat essentiel de la tortue luth de l'Atlantique afin d'élaborer un plan d'action pour le rétablissement de l'espèce.