Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus)

SPECIES ASSESSMENT INFORMATION FROM COSEWIC

 

Date of Assessment: May 2001 

Common Name: Piping Plover circumcinctus subspecies 

Scientific Name: Charadrius melodus circumcinctus 

COSEWIC Status: Endangered  

Reason for designation: The number of individuals of this subspecies breeding in Canada is small and the population is in decline. Reproductive success is low, especially in years of drought, and nests are regularly lost because of flooding. The quality of nesting habitat is decreasing in many places.  

Canadian Occurrence: AB SK MB ON 

COSEWIC Status History: The species was considered a single unit and designated Threatened in April 1978. Status re-examined and designated Endangered in April 1985. In May 2001, the species was re-examined and split into two groups according to subspecies. The circumcinctus subspecies was designated Endangered in May 2001. Last assessment based on an update status report.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus)

ÉVALUATION DE L’ESPÈCE PAR LE COSEPAC

 

Date de l’évaluation :Mai 2001 

Nom commun : Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus 

Nom scientifique : Charadrius meloduscircumcinctus 

Statut selon le COSEPAC :En voie de disparition  

Justification de la désignation : Le nombre d’individus de cette sous-espèce qui se reproduisent au Canada est petit et la population est en déclin. Le succès de reproduction est faible, surtout pendant les années de sécheresse. Les nids se perdent régulièrement en raison d’inondations. La qualité de l’habitat de reproduction baisse dans de nombreux endroits.  

Présence au Canada :AB SK MB ON 

Historique du statut selon le COSEPAC : L'espèce a été considérée comme une unité et a été désignée « menacée » en avril 1978. Réexamen du statut : l'espèce a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 1985. En mai 2001, l’espèce a été réexaminée et divisée en deux groupes selon les sous-espèces. La sous-espèce circumcinctus a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en mai 2001. Dernière évaluation fondée sur une mise à jour d'un rapport de situation.