Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Basking Shark (Pacific population) in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

The basking shark is monotypic within the family Cetorhinidae and is one of only three genera of filter feeding sharks. The earliest fossil records for basking sharks are thought to have originated between 35 and 29 million years ago (Leriche 1905; Martin pers. comm. 2005). Other noteworthy life history characteristics include the longest gestation of any vertebrate (estimated at 2.6 to 3.5 years), very late maturity, slow growth, probable low fecundity, all contributing to an extremely low intrinsic population growth rate. These traits make the basking shark extremely vulnerable to exploitation (Pauly 2002).

The trade of basking shark fins to Asian countries continues to be of international concern. The fins from basking sharks have fetched USD 30,000/t in international trade (Fairfax 1998). In 2000, the fins from basking sharks caught in Norway were valued at $2000 per shark. The recent inclusion of basking sharks under Appendix II of CITES is intended to regulate this trade. At present, there is a zero quota from European waters and the World Conservation Monitoring Centre has no recent records (Fowler pers. comm. 2004).

Basking sharks are a plausible explanation for some reports of sea serpents, sea monsters, and the Cadborosaurus (Caddy). There have been 181 ‘Caddy’ sightings in British Columbia since 1881 (Leblond and Bousfield 1995). Many of the stranded sea monsters between 1930 and 1960 were proven to be basking sharks; all known strandings of basking sharks (n=3) occurred in late fall, perhaps reflecting some unknown aspect of their life history.

Basking sharks fit the description of large charismatic mega-fauna and as such have proven to provide socio-economic benefits in places where their populations are accessible to eco-tourists.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le pèlerin (population du Pacifique) au Canada

Importance de l'espèce

Le pèlerin est monotypique dans la famille des Cétorhinidés et il n’existe à l’échelle mondiale que deux autres genres de requins filtreurs. Le plus ancien fossile de pèlerin serait vieux de 29 à 35 millions d'années (Leriche, 1905; Martin, comm. pers., 2005). L’espèce a la plus longue période de gestation de tous les vertébrés (estimée de 2,6 à 3,5 ans), une arrivée très tardive à maturité, une croissance lente et un taux de fécondité probablement faible, autant de caractéristiques du cycle vital qui contribuent à un taux de croissance intrinsèque extrêmement faible. Ces caractéristiques rendent le pèlerin extrêmement vulnérable à l'exploitation (Pauly, 2002).

Le commerce des nageoires de pèlerin vers les pays d'Asie continue d'être une préoccupation internationale. Sur le marché international, les nageoires de pèlerins peuvent rapporter 30 000 $ US la tonne (Fairfax, 1998). En 2000, les nageoires des pèlerins capturés en Norvège étaient évaluées à 2 000 $ par requin. L'inscription récente du pèlerin à l'Annexe II de la CITES vise à réglementer ce commerce. À l'heure actuelle, le quota est de zéro pour les eaux européennes et le Centre mondial de surveillance de la conservation n'a aucun enregistrement récent (Fowler, comm. pers., 2004).

Les pèlerins sont une explication plausible aux observations présumées de serpents de mer, de monstres marins et du Cadborosaurus (Caddy). Il y a eu 181 signalements duCaddy en Colombie-Britannique depuis 1881 (Leblond et Bousfield, 1995). Il a été prouvé que bon nombre des monstres marins échoués entre 1930 et 1960 étaient des pèlerins. Tous les échouages connus (n = 3) ont eu lieu à la fin de l'automne, ce qui reflète peut-être un aspect inconnu du cycle vital de l'espèce.

Le pèlerin appartient à la mégafaune charismatique et a produit à ce titre des retombées socioéconomiques aux endroits où ses populations sont accessibles à l'écotourisme.