Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Basking Shark (Pacific population) in Canada

Aboriginal Knowledge

There are few known records referring to Aboriginal use of basking sharks. George (2003) mentions that there is a stream in Clayoquot Sound called ‘Shark Creek’ which is named after the Nuu-Chah-Nulth place name, mamach-aqtlnit, which is the translation for basking shark. Drucker (1951) explains how Nootkan tribes in the 1850s harpooned big “mud sharks” using sealing harpoons and how hunting them was not dangerous or difficult as the shark was not “wary”. 

Dawson (1880) reported that, “large sharks are much feared by the Haidas, who allege that they frequently break their canoes and eat the unfortunate occupants. No instance of this kind is known to me, but they fear to attack these creatures. When, however, one of them is stranded, or found from any cause in a moribund state, they are not slow to take advantage of its condition, and from the liver extract a large quantity of oil.

The Province newspaper in 1944 published an article about the Huu-ay-aht Whaling Chief John Moses (Barkley Sound) who “on any sunny day when the water is reasonably calm” would paddle his dugout canoe, sometimes 10 miles offshore to kill basking sharks by means of “heavy spear attached to 600 feet of half-inch rope”. Once speared, a struggle would sometimes extend over a period of six hours, after which time he would tie the dead basking shark astern and set out to tow it back to shore--10 miles away. The incentive for the trip was $80 for selling the liver.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le pèlerin (population du Pacifique) au Canada

Connaissances autochtones

Il n'y a que quelques enregistrements faisant référence à l'utilisation du pèlerin par les Autochtones. George (2003) mentionne qu'il y a un ruisseau dans la baie Clayoquot nommé Shark en raison du lieudit Nuu-Chah-Nulth, mamach-aqtlnit, qui signifie pèlerin. Drucker (1951) raconte que, dans les années 1850, les Nootkas harponnaient de gros « mud sharks » au moyen de harpons conçus pour les phoques et que cette chasse n'était ni difficile ni dangereuse parce que les requins n'étaient pas belliqueux.

Dawson (1880) raconte que : « les gros requins sont craints des Haïdas, qui soutiennent qu'ils attaquent souvent leurs canots et qu'ils mangent les pauvres occupants. Je n'ai aucune preuve de tels événements, mais les Haïdas craignent d'attaquer ces créatures. Toutefois, dès que les Haïdas trouvent un pèlerin échoué ou en mauvais état, ils prennent rapidement avantage de la situation et de l'état de la bête pour extraire de grandes quantités d'huile de son foie ». [Traduction]

Le journal Province publiait en 1944 un article sur le chef baleinier de la bande Huu-ay-aht John Moses (baie Barkley) qui, « dès qu'il faisait soleil et que l'eau était raisonnablement calme », pagayait dans sa pirogue, parfois jusqu'à 10 milles au large, afin de tuer des pèlerins au moyen de « lourds harpons fixés à une corde d'un demi-pouce longue de 600 pieds ». Une fois l'animal harponné, la lutte pouvait parfois durer jusqu'à six heures. Le requin mort était ensuite attaché à l'arrière du bateau et remorqué jusqu'à la rive (jusqu'à 10 milles de distance). Le chasseur recevait 80 $ en échange du foie de l'animal.