Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Basking Shark (Pacific population) in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Basking shark
Cetorhinus maximus
Pacific Population
in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

The basking shark (Cetorhinus maximus Gunnerus, 1765) is the sole member of the family Cetorhinidae belonging to the order Lamniformes. Other common names include sun shark, bone shark, and elephant shark. In French this species is known as Pèlerin. In Pacific Canada, the basking shark was also commonly but incorrectly referred to as mud shark in early historical accounts.


Morphological Description

This animal is most readily distinguished in the field from other sharks by its large size (maximum reported 12.2 m), elongated gill slits which extend almost to the mid-dorsal of the head, pointed snout, a large subterminal mouth with minute hooked teeth, caudal peduncle with strong lateral keels, and crescent shaped caudal fin (Compagno 2001, Figure 1). Colour is typically blackish to grey-brown, grey or blue-grey above and below on body and fins, undersurface sometimes lighter, often with irregular white blotches on the underside of the head and abdomen (Compagno 2001). Internal gill openings have prominent gill rakers formed from modified dermal denticles.


Figure 1: Basking Shark (Cetorhinus maximus)

Figure 1: Basking shark (Cetorhinus maximus).

Source of figure: Compagno 2001.


Genetic Description

The population structure of basking sharks is poorly known. There has been no population genetic work done on this species. Inferences about population structure are based on records of seasonal occurrence and limited observations from tagging studies. In Canada, basking shark populations in the North Atlantic and North Pacific are geographically disjunct and are considered to be reproductively isolated from one another due to their preference for temperate waters that would preclude migration through the Arctic Ocean.

In the North Pacific, basking sharks were observed historically in discrete locations off California in winter to spring and regularly in particular areas off British Columbia in summer and fall (Squire 1967, 1990). This information, combined with recent satellite tracking information from the North Atlantic (Sims et al. 2003; Skomal et al. 2004; Skomal 2005), suggests the possibility of a single panmictic population along the west coast of North America. On the other hand, throughout their global range, basking shark aggregations have been reported to occur repeatedly in discrete areas where they are typically found in large numbers and for only part of the year (Compagno 2001). Thus, philopatry and more complicated genetic population structure may exist.


Designatable Units

Given that basking sharks are found exclusively in temperate oceans and that there is no connection through the Arctic or from the south, the species in Canadian Pacific waters is considered to be separate from that in Canadian Atlantic waters and to comprise a separate designatable unit.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le pèlerin (population du Pacifique) au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
pèlerin
Cetorhinus maximus
population du Pacifique
au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le pèlerin (Cetorhinus maximus Gunnerus, 1765) est le seul membre de la famille des Cétorhinidés, laquelle appartient à l'ordre des Lamniformes. Ce requin est connu en anglais sous le nom de basking shark. Il est également connu dans cette langue sous les noms sun shark, bone shark et elephant shark. Dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, on méprenait souvent le pèlerin pour le requin bourbeux dans les premiers signalements.


Description morphologique

En mer, cet animal se distingue facilement des autres requins par sa grande taille (taille maximale signalée de 12,2 m), ses fentes branchiales allongées qui se prolongent pratiquement jusqu'à l'axe mi-dorsal de la tête, son museau pointu, sa large bouche subterminale exhibant de petites dents crochues, son pédoncule caudal muni de puissantes quilles latérales et sa nageoire caudale en forme de croissant (Compagno, 2001; figure 1). Le pèlerin est généralement de noirâtre à gris-brun, a le dessus et le dessous du corps et des nageoires gris ou gris-bleu, est parfois plus pâle au niveau des parties inférieures et exhibe souvent des taches cutanées blanches irrégulières sur la partie antérieure de la tête et de l'abdomen (Compagno, 2001). Les pores branchiaux internes présentent des branchicténies proéminentes formées à partir d'écailles placoïdes modifiées.


Figure 1 : Requin pèlerin (Cetorhinus maximus)

Figure 1 : Requin pèlerin (Cetorhinus maximus).

Source : Compagno, 2001.


Description génétique

La structure des populations de pèlerins est mal connue. Aucune étude sur la génétique des populations n'a été réalisée pour cette espèce. Les inférences sur la structure de la population sont fondées sur les observations saisonnières et sur le nombre limité d'enregistrements faits dans le cadre d'études par marquage. Au Canada, les populations de pèlerins de l'Atlantique Nord et du Pacifique Nord sont géographiquement disjointes, et sont considérées comme isolées l'une de l'autre au plan reproductif parce qu’en raison de leur préférence pour les eaux tempérées, elles ne peuvent pas se rejoindre par l'océan Arctique.

Dans le Pacifique Nord, le pèlerin a été observé en divers endroits précis au large de la Californie, en hiver et au printemps, et régulièrement dans des secteurs précis au large de la Colombie-Britannique en été et en automne (Squire, 1967,1990). Cette information, combinée à des données récentes de suivi par satellite relevées dans l'Atlantique Nord (Sims et al., 2003; Skomal et al., 2004; Skomal, 2005), laisse croire en la présence d'une seule population panmictique le long de la côte ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Par ailleurs, dans toute l'aire de répartition de l'espèce, d'importants regroupements ont été signalés à plusieurs reprises dans des secteurs distincts où les individus sont généralement observés en grand nombre et pendant seulement une partie de l'année (Compagno, 2001). Par conséquent, cette espèce a peut-être une tendance à la philopatrie et une structure génétique plus complexe que prévu.


Unités désignables

Puisque les pèlerins occupent exclusivement les océans tempérés et qu’il n’y a aucun passage par l’Arctique ou plus au sud, la population se trouvant dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique est considérée distincte de la population des eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique et ainsi traitée comme une unité désignable distincte.