Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Basking Shark (Pacific population) in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The habitat requirements for basking sharks in Pacific Canadian waters have not been investigated. In other areas, basking sharks are known to be associated with oceanographic events that concentrate zooplankton, including fronts off headlands, around islands and in bays with strong fluctuation of water masses from tidal flow (Sims et al. 1997; Sims and Quayle 1998; Wilson 2004). Although they appear to prefer shallow coastal waters, basking sharks have been recorded in the epipelagic zone by aerial surveys, pelagic driftnet fisheries, and have been caught in bottom trawls off the St. Lawrence River, Scotian Shelf and Scotland (Compagno 2001; this study). Data from the Newfoundland Observer Program (NOP) indicate that basking sharks have been taken in trawl nets fishing in depths up to 1370 m with 15% of the records (n=414) from waters deeper than 1000 m.

Sub-surface diving behaviour is known from only seven animals which dived to depths well over 200 m and on one occasion to a depth of over 750 m (Sims et al. 2003; Skomal et al. 2004; Skomal 2005). Water column utilization varied considerably among individuals and is likely influenced by patterns of prey distribution varying by depth, location, and season. Skomal (2005) found that two basking sharks captured at the water surface, tagged and released in the same northwest Atlantic summer location (see Genetics section) moved to very different wintering habitats. One individual wintered off Florida and spent most of its time at the surface whereas the other individual wintered off of Jamaica and spent most of its time at depths below 480 m. With so few animals tagged it is difficult to characterize diving and water column utilization patterns except to note that all sharks showed considerable vertical movement.


Habitat Trends

Habitat availability for this species is not likely to have changed. New evidence from basking sharks studied off England suggest that the sharks target areas of high zooplankton concentrations associated with both large and small scale oceanographic conditions that change quickly (lasting hours to days) (Sims and Quayle 1998). Longer-term trends in climate may influence prey availability but recent theoretical work suggests that basking sharks can achieve a net energy gain under moderate (0.48-0.70 g m-3) concentrations of prey (Sims 1999). For the purposes of this report, fisheries interactions (i.e., entanglement) and vessel collisions are considered as direct threats (in a later section) rather than as degradation of aquatic habitat.


Habitat Protection/Ownership

All habitat of basking sharks in Canada falls under federal jurisdiction managed primarily by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO). At present, there is no intentional protection for basking shark habitat. In Pacific Canada, waters adjacent to Pacific Rim National Park (Broken Group and West Coast Trail components) are areas where basking sharks were sighted historically. Present restrictions in these waters would not afford much protection against perceived threats (i.e., vessel collisions, entanglement in fishing gear and salmon farming net pens).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le pèlerin (population du Pacifique) au Canada

Habitat

Exigences en matière d'habitat

Aucune étude n'a été menée sur les exigences du pèlerin en matière d'habitat dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique. Ailleurs, les pèlerins sont souvent associés aux secteurs où les événements océanographiques ont concentré le zooplancton, comme les fronts au large des caps et les zones autour des îles et dans les baies où les marées font beaucoup fluctuer les masses d'eau (Sims et al., 1997; Sims et Quayle, 1998; Wilson, 2004). Même s'il semble préférer les eaux côtières peu profondes, le pèlerin a été observé dans des zones épipélagiques lors de relevés aériens, dans des filets dérivants pélagiques et dans des chaluts de fond dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, sur le plateau néo-écossais et au large de l'Écosse (Compagno, 2001; présente étude). Les données du Newfoundland Observer Program (NOP) montrent que des pèlerins ont été capturés dans des chaluts de fond jusqu'à 1 370 m de profondeur (15 p. 100 des enregistrements (n = 414) ont été réalisés dans des secteurs de plus de 1 000 m de profondeur).

Seulement 7 individus ont été vus en train de plonger beaucoup plus creux que 200 m et un seul à plus de 750 m (Sims et al., 2003; Skomal et al., 2004; Skomal, 2005). L'utilisation de la colonne d'eau varie considérablement d'un individu à l'autre et dépend probablement de la répartition des proies en fonction de la profondeur, de l'emplacement et de la saison. Skomal (2005) a observé que deux pèlerins capturés à la surface, marqués, puis relâchés au même endroit pendant l'été dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest (voir la section Description génétique), avaient atteint des habitats d'hivernage très différents. Un individu a hiverné au large de la Floride et a passé la majorité de son temps à la surface de l'eau alors que l'autre individu a hiverné au large de la Jamaïque et a passé la plus grande partie de son temps à plus de 480 m de profondeur. Le nombre d'individus marqués étant très restreint, il est difficile de décrire les habitudes de plongeon et d'utilisation de la colonne d'eau, sauf pour dire que tous les requins font beaucoup de mouvements verticaux.


Tendances en matière d’habitat

La disponibilité de l'habitat pour cette espèce n'a probablement pas changé. De nouvelles données provenant d'études menées au large de l'Angleterre donnent à penser que les pèlerins ciblent les secteurs de grandes concentrations de zooplanctons associées à des conditions océanographiques de grandes et de petites échelles qui changent rapidement (de quelques heures à quelques jours) (Sims et Quayle, 1998). Les tendances à plus long terme du climat peuvent avoir une incidence sur la disponibilité des proies, mais de récents travaux théoriques laissent entendre que les pèlerins peuvent obtenir un gain énergétique net dans des zones où les proies sont présentes par concentrations modérées (0,48-0,70 g m-3) (Sims, 1999). Dans le cadre du présent rapport, les interactions avec les pêches (c.-à-d. les emmêlements) et les collisions avec les bateaux sont considérées comme des menaces directes (voir plus loin), et non comme des dégradations de l'habitat aquatique.


Protection et propriété

Tout l'habitat du pèlerin est sous l'autorité du gouvernement fédéral et est géré principalement par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO). À l'heure actuelle, aucune mesure intentionnelle ne protège l'habitat du pèlerin. Dans le Pacifique, on pouvait autrefois observer le pèlerin dans les eaux adjacentes au parc national du Canada Pacific Rim (archipel Broken Group et sentier de la Côte-Ouest). Les interdictions actuelles dans ces eaux n'offrent pas beaucoup de protection contre les menaces perçues (c.-à-d. les collisions avec les bateaux et l’emmêlement dans les engins de pêche et dans les enclos en filet utilisés pour l'aquaculture du saumon).