Skip booklet index and go to page content

Steller Sea Lion (Eumetopias Jubatus)

Limiting Factors and Threats

There are two broad categories of factors limiting Steller sea lions. The first can be grouped as anthropogenic threats such as shooting, incidental take in fishing gear, entanglement in debris, catastrophic accidents, environmental contaminants, and displacement or degradation of their habitat. The second category of threats includes naturally fluctuating prey populations, predation by killer whales, and disease.

For most of the 20th century, the main factor limiting Steller sea lions was undoubtedly killing by humans. Nowhere was the intentional destruction of Steller sea lions more intense than in British Columbia. Although relatively small numbers of kills still occur for predator control at salmon farms and spawn-on-kelp operations, and unknown numbers are taken incidentally in fisheries, harvested by natives for subsistence, or killed illegally, the recent recovery of populations implies that current levels of kills are within sustainable limits.

Aboriginal hunting of Steller sea lions does occasionally occur, but harvest levels are unknown. Use of sea lions by First Nations people appears to have declined during the 1800s and sea lion meat has not been a mainstay of their diet since the early 1900s (Duff 1977; Bigg 1985). In Alaska, household surveys indicate that about 350 Steller sea lions have been taken annually in recent years, but mostly in the northern part of their range. Less than 1% of the harvest originates from southeast Alaska (Wolfe 1997; Wolfe and Hutchinson-Scarbrough 1999; Loughlin and York 2000), an area which is probably more indicative of native harvesting levels in BC.

Steller sea lions are also killed incidentally in various fisheries, particularly drift gillnet fisheries for salmon, but there are presently few programs in BC to monitor bycatch levels. Animals can get trapped in trawl nets or entangled in drift and gill nets, and ultimately drown. Annual deaths in US waters are estimated at about 30 animals per year (Loughlin and York 2000; Angliss et al. 2001). Steller sea lions occasionally take fish from troll gear, and it is not uncommon to see animals that are hooked in the stomach with salmon flashers dangling from their mouths. Illegal and undocumented killing undoubtedly occurs in BC as many fishermen continue to consider sea lions to be a nuisance and perceive them as having a negative impact on fish stocks.

Predator control at fish farms in BC constitutes the largest known source of fishery-related mortality for Steller sea lions in the North Pacific (Angliss et al. 2001; Jamieson and Olesiuk 2001). Most of the 90 or so salmon farms currently operating in British Columbia waters possess permits to shoot pinnipeds. Quarterly reports filed by licence holders indicate that a total of 316 Steller sea lions and another 21 sea lions not identified to species were killed from 1990-2000. Numbers of Steller sea lions killed annually were low (averaging less than 10) up to the mid-1990s, but escalated and peaked at an estimated 91 in 1999 (Jamieson and Olesiuk 2001). This increasing trend, and the expected expansion of fish farms in BC and the associated killing of sea lions that might come with it, is cause for concern. Another 13 Steller sea lions were killed under special permit during 1983-85 for research to examine seasonal changes in body condition and composition of males (Olesiuk and Bigg 1987).

Another anthropogenic factor that may limit Steller sea lion populations is displacement from or degradation of essential habitat. Repeated disturbances of breeding or haulout sites by aircraft, boats, pedestrians, construction, and fishing activities can lead to animals temporarily leaving haulouts and rookeries (Sandegren 1970; Calkins and Curatolo 1980; Johnson et al. 1989; Brown 1997) and eventually to permanent abandon­ment (Pike and Maxwell 1958; Kenyon 1962). Nevertheless, Steller sea lions at winter feeding sites often habituate to such disturbances, and some haulout sites are located in high traffic areas close to major urban centres such as Vancouver and Victoria (Bigg 1985; Olesiuk, unpub. data).

Environmental contaminants such as heavy metals, organochlorines (e.g., DDT, dioxins and furans) and poly­chorinated biphenyls (PCBs) bioaccumulate through marine food chains. High levels in marine mammal tissues have been implicated with reproductive impairment (Addison 1989), premature births (DeLong et al. 1973; Gilmartin et al. 1976; Martin et al. 1976), birth defects (Arndt 1973), skeletal deformities (Bergman et al. 1992), suppression of the immune response (de Swart et al. 1994; Ross et al. 1995; Ross et al. 1996) and disruption of endocrine function (Brouwer et al. 1989). Nursing pups tend to be particularly susceptible since high doses of fat-soluble contaminants may be transferred through their mothers’ milk. Such contaminants are now ubiquitous in wildlife (Risebrough 1978), making it difficult to establish cause-and-effect relationships. Moreover, deleterious effects may only be manifested during periods of nutritional stress, when fat reserves are used and contaminants are mobilized, making it difficult to separate contaminant-related effects from other stresses. As has been shown in many other animals, contaminant concentrations in Steller sea lions (predominantly organochlorines) accumulate with age. The highest concentrations are in old males, while females transfer most of their loads to their pups during lactation (Lee et al. 1996). Contaminant levels have not been examined in Steller sea lions in BC. New chemicals are likely being introduced to the marine environment, which have not yet even been identified or can be detected, and the potential toxic effects of these are obviously unknown.

Sea lions can also be impacted by catastrophic accidents such as chemical and oil spills (St. Aubin 1990), although the impact on populations has rarely been established. The main threat is likely through contact with heavy oil accumulations when the source of the spill is near critical habitats such as rookeries and haulout sites, and to a lesser degree from absorption through skin, incidental ingestion of oil directly or through feeding, exposure to vapours, and partial fouling of pelage from fresh oil (Smith and Geraci 1975; Engelhardt et al. 1977; Englehardt 1987; St. Aubin 1990). Sea lions are insulated by a subcutaneous layer of blubber, so oiled fur does not interfere with thermoregulation (Kooyman et al. 1976). In other species, heavy fouling in thick oil can impede swimming and result in drowning (Geraci and St. Aubin 1980), but light contamination and light-viscosity oil usually wears off within several days (Geraci and Smith 1976). During their detailed investigations in Alaska, Calkins and Pitcher (1982) reported seeing sea lions with tar lodged in their throats or around their lips, jaw and neck. Interestingly, during the Exxon Valdez oil spill (EVOS) in Prince William Sound, oil did not persist on the coats of Steller sea lions as long as it did on harbour seals (Calkins et al. 1994a). Nevertheless, sea lions were observed in the vicinity of the oil spill and metabolites in the blood showed they had been exposed to hydrocarbons. Premature births were more common and pup production was somewhat lower in the year following the spill, but limited data prior to EVOS and the ongoing population decline in the area made it difficult to assess the statistical significance of the impact (Calkins et al. 1994b; Loughlin et al. 1996). Several Steller sea lions with small patches of oiled fur were observed during the Nestucca spill that spread along the west coast of Vancouver Island in 1988 (Harding and Englar 1989), but rumours of large numbers of completely fouled animals were almost certainly California sea lions, which have a black pelage and share the same haulout sites (Olesiuk, unpublished data). Because Steller sea lion populations are widely dispersed along the entire BC coast, the potential threat of oil and chemical spills is one of local depletion, particularly at rookeries during the breeding season, as opposed to impacting the entire population. Nevertheless, considering that over 70% of pup production in BC occurs on the Scott Islands, an oil spill in that area during the pupping season could have a significant impact.

The increasing prevalence of synthetic debris (net fragments, plastic bags and packing bands, etc.) is a growing problem worldwide and has been implicated in the declines of other species of pinnipeds (Fowler and Merrell 1986; Fowler 1988). Debris such as net fragments and packing bands can get caught around necks, eventually leading to abrasion or cutting deeply into tissue as animals grow. In Steller sea lions, entanglement begins to occur at 2 to 4 years of age (entanglement of pups and yearlings has not been observed), and entanglement rates have been estimated at about 0.07% for adults, with packing bands and net debris being the most common material (Calkins 1985; Mate 1985; Loughlin et al. 1986; Stewart and Yochem 1987; Fowler 1988). However, as Fowler (1988) has noted, much of the debris found at sea or washed ashore may be too large for an animal to transport, so the observed rate of entanglement at haulouts could represent a small fraction of numbers actually being entangled and drowned at sea. Although entanglement can lead to what is surely a slow and excruciatingly painful death for individual animals, it does not appear to pose a threat to the overall viability of Steller sea lion populations.

Environmental factors may also play a role in limiting Steller sea lion populations, either directly or indirectly through changes in their prey or by increasing their susceptibility to disease. Storms can lead to pups being washed from rookeries (Edie 1977), and El Niño events have led to abnormally high incidences of mortality in California (Allen et al. 1999). With the focus on climate change, researchers are beginning to appreciate that the environment fluctuates, and are noting evidence of decadal-scale oscillations that affect the biota of the North Pacific (Benson and Trites 2002).

Environmental shifts and fishing can both affect the abundance and availability of prey (e.g., Alverson 1992; Benson and Trites 2002), which in turn can affect both foraging behaviour and the population dynamics of pinnipeds (e.g., Trillmich and Ono 1991; Boyd et al. 1994), and ultimately determine the population levels that can be supported (carrying capacity) (Trites et al. 1997). Steller sea lions consume many of the same prey resources sought by other predators, including humans (McAlister and Perez 1976; Kajimura and Loughlin 1988; Fritz et al. 1995; Wada 1998; Trites et al. 1999b), but our understanding of the effects of marine mammal predation in marine ecosystems is inadequate to assess these interactions (Bowen 1997; Trites 1997; Trites et al. 1999a). One hypothesis suggests the decline of the western population of Steller sea lions was driven by a change in diet, which reduced body growth, birth rates and ultimately survival (Calkins and Goodwin 1988; Calkins et al. 1998; Pitcher et al. 1998; see review by Trites and Donnelly 2003). However, debate continues over the relative influence of natural fluctuations in environmental conditions, regime shifts, and anthropogenic effects that may be the result of global warming, whaling and commercial fisheries (Pascual and Adkinson 1994; Fritz and Ferrero 1998; Trites et al. 1999b; Rosen and Trites 2000a; Shima et al. 2000; Benson and Trites 2002).

Natural predators may also play a role in limiting populations, particularly when populations are at low numbers. It is generally thought that abundance of predators near the top of the food chain, such as Steller sea lions, is regulated mainly by bottom-up processes controlled by the availability of prey (Trillmich and Ono 1991; Boyd et al. 1994; Trites et al. 1997). However, it has recently been hypothesized that some populations may be limited by top-down processes, such as predation by killer whales (Estes et al. 1998). Although detailed data on killer whale predation rates are lacking, models show that predation by killer whales could be a significant source of mortality holding depressed populations of Steller sea lions in a predator pit (Barrett-Lennard et al. unpubl. data). The top-down hypothesis will require additional data on predation rates before it can be scientifically assessed.

Finally, disease may also play a role in limiting pinniped populations, especially at high densities (Harwood and Hall 1990; Lavigne and Schmitz 1990). Steller sea lions are host to a number of diseases including Leptospira interrogans, caliciviruses, Chlamydia psittaci, Brucella sp, morbilliviruses, influenza A, Toxoplasma gondii, phocid herpesviruses, canine parvovirus and canine adenoviruses 1 and 2 (see review by Burek et al. 2003). However, screening for diseases among Steller sea lions has not been conducted in BC.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’otarie de Steller (Eumetopias jubatus)

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Il existe deux grandes catégories de facteurs limitatifs pour les otaries de Steller. La première est la catégorie des facteurs anthropiques comme l’abattage, les prises accidentelles dans les engins de pêche, les débris dans lesquels les animaux peuvent se prendre, les accidents catastrophiques, les polluants environnementaux ainsi que le déplacement des animaux hors de leurs habitats ou la dégradation de ces derniers. La deuxième catégorie de menaces comprend les fluctuations naturelles des populations de proies, la prédation par les épaulards et les maladies.

Pour la plus grande partie du 20e siècle, le plus important facteur de limitation des effectifs de l’otarie de Steller a été sans aucun doute l’abattage, qui n’a été nulle part plus intense qu’en Colombie-Britannique. Bien que quelques individus soient encore tués comme mesure de lutte contre les prédateurs dans les salmonicultures et dans les exploitations d’œufs de hareng sur algues, et bien qu’un nombre inconnu d’otaries soient prises de façon accidentelle dans des engins de pêche, prélevées par des Autochtones à des fins de subsistance ou tuées illégalement, le récent rétablissement des effectifs nous permet de conclure que le niveau actuel de mortalité demeure dans des limites qui permettent le maintien d’une population durable.

Les Autochtones chassent l’otarie de Steller à l’occasion, mais les niveaux de récolte sont inconnus. La consommation d’otaries par les Premières Nations semble avoir diminué tout au long du 19siècle et, depuis le début du 20e siècle, la viande d’otarie ne constitue plus un des éléments principaux de leur alimentation (Duff, 1977; Bigg, 1985). En Alaska, selon des enquêtes menées auprès des ménages, environ 350 otaries de Steller ont été prélevées au cours des dernières années, mais surtout dans la partie nord de l’aire de répartition. Moins de 1 p. 100 de ces prises proviennent du sud-est de l’Alaska (Wolfe, 1997; Wolfe et Hutchinson-Scarbrough, 1999; Loughlin et York, 2000), où les niveaux de prises autochtones sont probablement plus proches de ceux existant en Colombie-Britannique.

Des otaries de Steller se font également tuer de façon accidentelle dans divers types de pêches, notamment la pêche du saumon au filet maillant dérivant, mais actuellement, il n’existe guère en Colombie-Britannique de programmes permettant d’établir les niveaux de prises accidentelles. Les otaries peuvent être piégées dans des chaluts ou s’emmêler dans des filets dérivants et des filets maillants pour finalement se noyer. On estime à environ 30 otaries par année le nombre de morts en eaux américaines (Loughlin et York, 2000; Angliss et al., 2001). Il arrive que des otaries de Steller avalent des poissons pris sur une ligne traînante, et il est assez courant de voir des otaries ayant un hameçon accroché dans l’estomac et des leurres à saumon miroitants qui leur sortent de la gueule. Des abattages illégaux et non documentés se produisent sans aucun doute en Colombie-Britannique, car de nombreux pêcheurs continuent de considérer les otaries comme des animaux nuisibles et de croire qu’elles ont un impact négatif sur les stocks de poisson.

La lutte contre les prédateurs dans les piscicultures de la Colombie-Britannique constitue la plus importante source connue de mortalité liée aux pêches pour les otaries de Steller du Pacifique Nord (Angliss et al., 2001; Jamieson et Olesiuk, 2001). La plupart des 90 piscicultures actuellement exploitées dans les eaux britanno-colombiennes détiennent des permis les autorisant à abattre des Pinnipèdes. Les rapports trimestriels déposés par les détenteurs de permis indiquent que 316 otaries de Steller et 12 autres otaries d’espèces non identifiées ont été tuées de 1990 à 2000. Peu d’otaries de Steller étaient tuées annuellement jusqu’au milieu des années 1990 (moins de 10 par an), mais ce nombre a grimpé pour atteindre un sommet estimé de 91 animaux tués en 1999 (Jamieson et Olesiuk, 2001). Cette tendance à la hausse et l’expansion prévue des piscicultures en Colombie-Britannique, qui entraînerait vraisemblablement d’autres morts d’otaries, sont des causes d’inquiétude. Treize otaries ont été abattues en vertu d’un permis spécial dans la péridode de 1983 à 1985 pour la recherche sur les changements saisonniers de l’état et de la composition corporels des otaries mâles (Olesiuk et Bigg, 1987).

Un autre facteur anthropique susceptible de limiter les populations d’otaries de Steller est le déplacement de populations hors de leurs habitats essentiels ou la dégradation de ces habitats. Des perturbations répétées des lieux de reproduction ou des échoueries par des aéronefs, des embarcations, des piétons et des activités de construction ou de pêche peuvent amener les otaries à quitter temporairement les échoueries et les roqueries (Sandegren, 1970; Calkins et Curatolo, 1980; Johnson et al., 1989; Brown, 1997) et entraîner éventuellement leur abandon permanent (Pike et Maxwell, 1958; Kenyon, 1962). Toutefois, les otaries de Steller s’habituent souvent à ce genre de perturbations à leurs sites d’alimentation hivernaux et certaines échoueries sont situées dans des zones de grande circulation, à proximité de centres urbains importants comme Vancouver et Victoria (Bigg, 1985; Olesiuk, données inédites).

Des polluants environnementaux comme les métaux lourds, les organochlorés (p. ex. le DDT, les dioxines et les furanes) et les biphényles polychlorés (BPC) s’accumulent dans les chaînes trophiques marines. On a constaté que de fortes concentrations de ces polluants dans les tissus de mammifères marins causent des troubles de la reproduction (Addison, 1989), des naissances prématurées (DeLong et al., 1973; Gilmartin et al., 1976; Martin et al., 1976), des anomalies congénitales (Arndt, 1973), des malformations du squelette (Bergman et al., 1992), une suppression de la réponse immunitaire (de Swart et al., 1994; Ross et al., 1995; Ross et al., 1996) et une perturbation de la fonction endocrinienne (Brouwer et al., 1989). Pendant la période d’allaitement, les petits tendent à être particulièrement susceptibles puisque des doses élevées de polluants liposolubles peuvent être transférées par le lait maternel. Ces types de polluants étant maintenant omniprésents dans les animaux sauvages (Risebrough, 1978), il est difficile d’établir des relations de cause à effet les concernant. De plus, les effets nocifs peuvent ne se manifester que pendant les périodes de stress nutritionnel, au moment où les réserves de graisse sont utilisées et où les polluants sont mobilisés, de sorte qu’il devient difficile de distinguer les effets reliés aux polluants de ceux causés par d’autres stress. Comme on l’a prouvé sur beaucoup d’autres animaux, les concentrations de polluants chez l’otarie de Steller (surtout celles des organochlorés) augmentent avec l’âge par bioaccumulation. Les concentrations les plus élevées se trouvent chez les mâles âgés, tandis que les femelles transmettent à leurs petits la plus grande partie de leur charge de polluants pendant l’allaitement (Lee et al., 1996). Il n’existe pas d’étude sur les concentrations de polluants chez les otaries de Steller de Colombie-Britannique. Il est probable que de nouveaux produits chimiques non encore identifiés, voire indétectables, sont introduits dans le milieu marin; les effets toxiques possibles de ces nouveaux produits sont évidemment inconnus.

Les otaries peuvent aussi subir les contrecoups d’accidents catastrophiques comme des déversements de produits chimiques et d’hydrocarbures (St. Aubin, 1990), bien que l’impact sur les populations n’ait que rarement été prouvé. Les principaux dangers sont probablement le contact avec des accumulations de pétrole lourd lorsque la source du déversement est située à proximité d’habitats essentiels comme les roqueries et les échoueries et, dans une moindre mesure, l’absorption par la peau ou l’ingestion accidentelle d’hydrocarbures, directement ou par alimentation, l’exposition aux vapeurs et le salissage partiel du pelage par du pétrole frais (Smith et Geraci, 1975; Engelhardt et al., 1977; Engelhardt, 1987; St. Aubin, 1990). Les otaries sont isolées par une couche de graisse sous-cutanée, de sorte que la présence d’hydrocarbures dans leur fourrure ne nuit pas à leur thermorégulation (Kooyman et al., 1976). Chez d’autres espèces, un salissage important par un pétrole épais peut nuire à la nage et mener à la noyade (Geraci et St. Aubin, 1980), mais un salissage léger ou dû à un hydrocarbure de faible viscosité disparaît d’habitude par usure au bout de quelques jours (Geraci et Smith, 1976). Au cours de leurs recherches approfondies en Alaska, Calkins et Pitcher (1982) disent avoir vu des otaries qui avaient du goudron dans la gorge ainsi qu’autour des lèvres, des mâchoires ou du cou. Fait intéressant, lors du déversement de l’Exxon Valdez dans la baie Prince William, le pétrole n’est pas demeuré aussi longtemps sur le pelage des otaries de Steller que sur celui des phoques communs (Calkins et al., 1994a). On avait toutefois observé des otaries à proximité du déversement et les métabolites de leur sang prouvaient qu’elles avaient été exposées à des hydrocarbures. Les naissances prématurées ont été plus fréquentes et la production de petits a été légèrement plus faible au cours de l’année qui a suivi le déversement, mais les données limitées pour la période précédant le déversement ainsi que le déclin continu de la population dans la région rendent difficile l’évaluation statistique de l’impact (Calkins et al., 1994b; Loughlin et al., 1996). Au cours du déversement du Nestucca, qui a touché la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver en 1988, on a pu observer plusieurs otaries de Steller ayant de petites sections de pelage imprégnées de pétrole (Harding et Englar, 1989); les rumeurs selon lesquelles on aurait trouvé un grand nombre d’animaux complètement couverts de pétrole concernent plutôt presque certainement des otaries de Californie, qui ont un pelage noir et partagent les mêmes échoueries, d’où la confusion (Olesiuk, données inédites). Comme les populations d’otaries de Steller sont dispersées tout le long du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique, les déversements d’hydrocarbures et de produits chimiques peuvent entraîner des baisses locales d’effectifs, surtout dans les roqueries au cours de la saison de reproduction, mais pas un déclin généralisé. Toutefois, si on considère que 70 p. 100 des nouveau-nés de la Colombie-Britannique viennent au monde sur les îles Scott, un déversement dans cette zone pendant la saison de mise bas pourrait avoir une incidence importante.

La présence croissante de débris synthétiques (fragments de filets, sacs de plastique, bandes d’emballage, etc.) est un problème qui touche le monde entier et a été considérée comme un facteur menant au déclin des populations d’autres espèces de Pinnipèdes (Fowler et Merrell, 1986; Fowler, 1988). Des débris tels que des fragments de filet ou des bandes d’emballage peuvent s’enrouler autour du cou des animaux, ce qui peut causer de l’abrasion ou entailler profondément les tissus à mesure que l’animal grandit. Chez l’otarie de Steller, ce type de problème commence à se produire à l’âge de 2 à 4 ans (on ne l’a observé ni chez les nouveau-nés ni chez les otaries d’un an) et on estime généralement à 0,07 p. 100 la proportion d’adultes touchés, les bandes d’emballage et les débris de filet étant le plus souvent en cause (Calkins, 1985; Mate, 1985; Loughlin et al., 1986; Stewart et Yochem, 1987; Fowler, 1988). Cependant, comme Fowler (1988) l’a noté, un grand nombre des débris qu’on trouve en mer ou échoués sur les rivages sont trop gros pour être transportés par l’animal, de sorte que le taux de problèmes avec des débris observé aux échoueries ne représente peut-être qu’une petite fraction des otaries affectées par des débris, puisque plusieurs se noieraient en mer. Les otaries prises avec des débris sont sans doute vouées à une mort lente et cruellement douloureuse, mais ce phénomène ne semble pas constituer une menace à la viabilité globale des populations d’otaries de Steller.

Des facteurs environnementaux peuvent aussi limiter les effectifs d’otaries de Steller soit directement, soit indirectement en modifiant le bassin de proies des otaries ou en augmentant leur susceptibilité aux maladies. Les tempêtes peuvent arracher des petits à leurs roqueries (Edie, 1977) et des épisodes d’El Niño ont déjà entraîné des taux de mortalité anormalement élevés en Californie (Allen et al., 1999). L’accent qui est actuellement mis sur les changements climatiques sensibilise les chercheurs aux fluctuations de l’environnement et les amène à noter des signes d’oscillations décennales ayant une influence sur le biote du Pacifique Nord (Benson et Trites, 2002).

Les changements environnementaux et les pêches peuvent avoir une influence sur l’abondance et la disponibilité des proies (p. ex. Alverson, 1992, et Benson et Trites, 2002), ce qui peut influer sur le comportement de recherche de nourriture des Pinnipèdes et la dynamique de leurs populations (p. ex. Trillmich et Ono, 1991, et Boyd et al., 1994) et, au bout du compte, déterminer quels niveaux de population pourront être maintenus (capacité de charge du milieu) (Trites et al., 1997). L’otarie de Steller consomme en grande partie les mêmes proies que celles recherchées par d’autres prédateurs, dont l’humain (McAlister et Perez, 1976; Kajimura et Loughlin, 1988; Fritz et al., 1995; Wada, 1998; Trites et al., 1999b), mais notre connaissance des effets de la prédation par les mammifères marins dans les écosystèmes marins est encore insuffisante pour nous permettre d’analyser ces interactions (Bowen, 1997; Trites, 1997; Trites et al., 1999a). On a émis l’hypothèse que le déclin de la population de l’Est de l’otarie de Steller a été causé par un changement de régime alimentaire, qui a réduit la croissance corporelle, la natalité et, au bout du compte, les taux de survie des otaries (Calkins et Goodwin, 1988; Calkins et al., 1998; Pitcher et al., 1998; voir l'examen de cette hypothèse dans Trites et Donnelly, 2003). Cependant, le débat concernant l’influence relative des fluctuations naturelles des conditions environnementales, des changements dans les régimes climatiques et océaniques et des effets anthropiques qui peuvent découler du réchauffement planétaire, de la chasse et des pêches commerciales se poursuit (Pascual et Adkinson, 1994; Fritz et Ferrero, 1998; Trites et al., 1999b; Rosen et Trites, 2000a; Shima et al., 2000; Benson et Trites, 2002).

Les prédateurs naturels jouent peut-être aussi un rôle dans la limitation des populations, surtout lorsque les effectifs sont faibles. On croit généralement que l’abondance des prédateurs qui se trouvent près du sommet des chaînes alimentaires, comme l’otarie de Steller, est surtout régulée par des processus ascendants liés à la disponibilité des proies (Trillmich et Ono, 1991; Boyd et al., 1994; Trites et al., 1997). Cependant, on a récemment émis l’hypothèse que certaines populations pourraient être limitées par des processus descendants comme la prédation par les épaulards (Estes et al., 1998). Bien qu’on manque de données détaillées sur la prédation par les épaulards, des modèles indiquent qu’elle pourrait causer une forte mortalité et empêcher les populations déprimées de s’accroître (phénomène du predator pit) (Barrett-Lennard et al., données inédites). Il faudrait étayer l’hypothèse des processus descendants par des données supplémentaires sur les taux de prédation avant de pouvoir l’évaluer scientifiquement.

Enfin, les maladies jouent peut-être aussi un rôle dans la limitation des populations de Pinnipèdes, surtout quand la densité de population est élevée (Harwood et Hall, 1990; Lavigne et Schmitz, 1990). L’otarie de Steller est l’hôte de nombreuses maladies : Leptospira interrogans, calicivirus, Chlamydia psittaci, Brucella sp., morbillivirus, influenza A, Toxoplasma gondii, virus de l’herpès des Phocidés, parvovirus canin et adénovirus canins 1 et 2 (voir l’étude de Burek et al., 2003). Cependant, on n’a jamais procédé à un dépistage des maladies des otaries de Steller en Colombie-Britannique.