Skip booklet index and go to page content

Steller Sea Lion (Eumetopias Jubatus)

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Steller Sea Lion
Eumetopias jubatus
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

The Steller sea lion (Eumetopias jubatus Schreber 1776) is the largest member of the Family Otariidae(order–Carnivora, suborder–Caniformia, Kenyon and Scheffer 1955; Jefferson et al. 1994; Rice 1998). It was named after the German naturalist George Wilheim Steller who described the species in 1742 (Miller and Miller 1848). Other common names are Steller’s sea lion, northern sea lion, Otarie de Steller (Fr), sivuch (Ru), todo (Jp), lobo marino de Steller (Sp), qawax (pronounced ka-wa by Aleut natives), and wiinaq (Alutiiq). Its scientific name means having a well-developed broad forehead (Eumetopias–Greek) and a mane (jubatus–Latin). 


Description

Steller sea lions exhibit significant sexual dimorphism (Fiscus 1961; Mathisen et al. 1962; Thorsteinson and Lensink 1962; Orr and Poulter 1967; Calkins and Pitcher 1982; Loughlin and Nelson 1986; Calkins et al. 1998; Winship et al. 2001). Adult females (cows) average 2.1-2.4 m and 200-300 kg. Adult males (bulls) are noticeably larger, attaining a length of 2.7-3.1 m and weighing 400-800 kg, although the largest can weigh over 1100 kg as they fatten prior to the start of the breeding season. Mature males develop a prominent ‘mane’ of course hair on their massive muscular necks and chests, from which they derive the name ‘lion’. The shape of their heads tends to be more robust with a flatter snout than that of females.

Pups are born from late May to early July and weigh 16-23 kg at birth, with males weighing more on average than females. Pups are born with a thick blackish-brown lanugo that is moulted between 3-6 months of age (Scheffer 1964; Vania 1972). 

Coloration of dry juveniles and adults is pale yellow to light tan, darkening to chocolate brown on their undersides and near their flippers (which are black and bare-skinned). When wet, Steller sea lions appear greyish white. Pelage of both sexes is comprised of short coarse hairs (Scheffer 1964). Steller sea lions undergo an annual moult shedding their entire pelage, but not the epidermis. Non-reproductive females appear to moult first, beginning as early as late June, and in other age-classes the process extends into early December (Vania 1972; Calkins and Pitcher 1982). 

Adult vocalizations in air consist of deep-throated bellows and roars. Territorial males wheeze as part of their threat displays (Orr and Poulter 1967; Gentry 1970), and produce a loud guttural sound both in the air and underwater(Schusterman et al. 1970). Newborns tend to bleat like sheep.

Steller sea lions are capable of propping themselves on their foreflippers and rotating their hind flippers forward, rendering them remarkably agile on land. Animals can climb steep rocks and are often found many metres above the sea surface. Animals tend to be highly gregarious while on land and generally pack close together with little or no separation.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’otarie de Steller (Eumetopias jubatus)

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
l’otarie de Steller
Eumetopias jubatus
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

L’otarie de Steller (Eumetopias jubatus Schreber 1776) est le plus gros membre de la famille des Otariidés (ordre des Carnivores, sous-ordre des Caniformes, Kenyon et Scheffer, 1955; Jefferson et al., 1994; Rice, 1998). Elle porte le nom du naturaliste allemand Georg Wilhelm Steller, qui décrivit l’espèce en 1742 (Miller et Miller, 1848). Elle porte aussi d’autres noms communs : lion de mer de Steller, Steller’s sea lion ou northern sea lion (anglais), sivuch (russe), todo (japonais), lobo marino de Steller (espagnol), qawax (prononcé ka-wa par les Aléoutes) et wiinaq (alutiiq). Son nom scientifique se rapporte au front large et bien développé (Eumetopias en grec) et à la présence d’une crinière (jubatus en latin).


Description

L’otarie de Steller présente un important dimorphisme sexuel (Fiscus, 1961; Mathisen et al., 1962; Thorsteinson et Lensink, 1962; Orr et Poulter, 1967; Calkins et Pitcher, 1982; Loughlin et Nelson, 1986; Calkins et al., 1998; Winship et al., 2001). Les femelles adultes ont une longueur moyenne de 2,1 à 2,4 m et pèsent de 200 à 300 kg. Les mâles adultes sont nettement plus gros, atteignant une longueur de 2,7 à 3,1 m et une masse de 400 à 800 kg, bien que les plus gros puissent dépasser les 1 100 kg quand ils engraissent avant le début de la période de reproduction. Une « crinière » bien visible de poils rudes se développe sur le cou et la poitrine massifs et musclés des mâles adultes, d’où le nom de « lion de mer » qu’on donne parfois à l’espèce. Les mâles ont tendance à avoir une tête de forme plus robuste et un museau plus aplati que les femelles.

Les petits, qui naissent entre la fin de mai et le début de juillet, pèsent de 16 à 23 kg à la naissance, les mâles étant en moyenne plus lourds que les femelles. À la naissance, les petits portent un lanugo épais d’un brun noirâtre jusqu’à la mue, qui se produit vers l’âge de 3 à 6 mois (Scheffer, 1964; Vania, 1972).

Les juvéniles et les adultes secs ont une coloration variant du jaune pâle à l’ocre clair, plus sombre (chocolat) sur la face ventrale et près des nageoires (ou palettes natatoires, noires et sans pelage). Mouillée, l’otarie de Steller est d’un blanc grisâtre. Le pelage des deux sexes est fait de poils rudes et courts(Scheffer, 1964). L’otarie de Steller subit une mue annuelle pendant laquelle elle perd tout son pelage, mais pas son épiderme. Les femelles non reproductrices semblent muer les premières, parfois dès la fin juin; dans les autres groupes d’âge, la mue s’étend jusqu’au début décembre (Vania, 1972; Calkins et Pitcher, 1982).

Les vocalisations des adultes dans l’air consistent en des beuglements et des rugissements à pleine gorge. Les mâles qui défendent un territoire manifestent leur attitude menaçante par une respiration sifflante (Orr et Poulter, 1967; Gentry, 1970)et produisent un son guttural bruyant tant à l’air libre que sous l’eau (Schusterman et al., 1970). Les nouveau-nés ont tendance à bêler comme des moutons.

L’otarie de Steller est capable de se soulever sur ses nageoires avant et de tourner ses nageoires arrière vers l’avant, ce qui lui donne une agilité remarquable sur le sol. Elle peut escalader des rochers à pic et grimpe souvent à plusieurs mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Les animaux tendent à être très grégaires à terre et forment généralement des groupes compacts, pratiquement sans espace entre les individus.