Skip booklet index and go to page content

Steller Sea Lion (Eumetopias Jubatus)

Distribution

Global Range

Steller sea lions inhabit the cool-temperate and subarctic coastal waters of the North Pacific Ocean from the Channel Islands off southern California, north to the Bering Strait, and south along the Asian coast to Hokkaido, Japan (Fig. 1, Kenyon and Rice 1961; Loughlin et al. 1984; Loughlin et al. 1992). They give birth on 55-60 rookeries and rest at >300 haulouts. Steller sea lions are non-migratory, but may disperse considerable distances from breeding sites (Rowley 1929; Fisher 1981; Calkins and Pitcher 1982; Loughlin 1997; Raum-Suryan et al. 2002). Animals haul out on a regular basis throughout the year.

Worldwide, two populations of Steller sea lions are recognized based on genetic differentiation of mitochondrial DNA (which reflects maternal lineage): an eastern population (California to southeast Alaska) and a western population (Gulf of Alaska, Bering Sea, Aleutian Islands, and Russia) (Bickham et al. 1996). More recent genetic analyses suggests the western population should be recognized as two distinct populations (Asia and Aleutians – Gulf of Alaska) (Bickham, unpubl. data). Separation of the two populations in North America is further supported by a phylogeographic analysis that considers such ancillary information as population trends, distribution, movements, and morphology (York et al. 1996; Loughlin 1997).


Figure 1: Worldwide Range of the Steller Sea Lion

Figure 1: Worldwide range of the Steller sea lion.

Arrows denote breeding rookeries and shaded areas the approximate range of non-breeding range. The dashed line shows the separation between the eastern and western stocks of Steller sea lions. (modified from Loughlin 1997 and Sease et al. 1999).


Canadian Range

Within Canada, Steller sea lions make up part of the eastern population (Bickham 2000), and occuronly occur in British Columbia (Fig. 1). There are three main breeding areas: 1) the Scott Islands off the northwest tip of Vancouver Island, with rookeries situated on the Scot Islands (Triangle, Beresford and Maggot Islands); 2) at Cape St. James off the southern tip of the Queen Charlotte Islands, with rookeries situated on the Kerouard Islands; and 3) off Banks Island on the northern mainland coast, with rookeries situated on North Danger Rocks. A fourth breeding area was once located off the central mainland coast on the Sea Otter Group, with rookeries situated on Virgin, Pearl and possibly Watch Rocks, but this breeding aggregation was extirpated following intense predator control programs during the 1920s and 1930s (Bigg 1985). In addition to these breeding sites, there are about 21 haulout sites distributed mainly along the exposed outer coast that are used continuously on a year-round basis, as well as numerous winter sites used on a seasonal or irregular basis.

The offshore distribution of Steller sea lions is not well defined. In general most Steller sea lions appear to feed within about 60 km of shore during summer, and can range over 200 km from shore in winter (Kenyon and Rice 1961; Merrick and Loughlin 1997). They appear to feed over the continental shelf and along the shelf break (Kajimura and Loughlin 1988).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’otarie de Steller (Eumetopias jubatus)

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

L’otarie de Steller vit dans le Pacifique Nord dans les eaux côtières fraîches tempérées et subarctiques depuis les îles Channel, au large du sud de la côte californienne, jusqu’au détroit de Béring, puis vers l’ouest et le sud-ouest le long de la côte asiatique jusqu’à l’île de Hokkaido, au Japon (figure 1; Kenyon et Rice, 1961; Loughlin et al., 1984; Loughlin et al., 1992). Les femelles mettent bas dans 55 à 60 roqueries et les animaux se prélassent à plus de 300 échoueries. L’otarie de Steller ne migre pas, mais les individus peuvent se disperser jusqu’à une distance considérable des sites de reproduction (Rowley, 1929; Fisher, 1981; Calkins et Pitcher, 1982; Loughlin, 1997; Raum-Suryan et al., 2002). Les animaux vont régulièrement à terre pendant toute l’année.

À l’échelle mondiale, on distingue deux populations d’otaries de Steller sur la base de la différenciation génétique de l’ADN mitochondrial (qui reflète la lignée maternelle) : la population de l’Est (de la Californie au sud-est de l’Alaska) et la population de l’Ouest (golfe d’Alaska, mer de Béring, îles Aléoutiennes et Russie) (Bickham et al., 1996). Selon des analyses génétiques plus récentes, il faudrait distinguer deux populations distinctes dans le groupe de l’Ouest : Asie et Aléoutiennes – golfe d’Alaska (Bickham, données inédites). Une analyse phylogéographique qui tient compte de paramètres auxiliaires comme les tendances démographiques, la répartition, les déplacements et la morphologie va dans le sens d’une séparation entre les deux populations en Amérique du Nord (York et al., 1996; Loughlin, 1997).


Figure 1 : Aire de répartition mondiale de l’otarie de Steller

Figure 1 : Aire de répartition mondiale de l’otarie de Steller.

Les flèches indiquent des roqueries de reproduction et les zones ombrées, la répartition approximative pendant la période internuptiale. La ligne pointillée indique la démarcation entre les populations de l’Est et de l’Ouest (modifié de Loughlin, 1997 et Sease et al., 1999).


Répartition canadienne

Les otaries de Steller qui vivent au Canada font partie de la population de l’Est (Bickham, 2000). L’espèce n’est présente qu’en Colombie-Britannique (figure 1), où se trouvent trois aires de reproduction principales : 1) îles Scott, au large de la pointe nord-ouest de l’île de Vancouver (roqueries sur les îles Triangle, Beresford et Maggot); 2) cap St. James, à l’extrémité sud des Îles de la Reine-Charlotte (roqueries sur les îles Kerouard); 3) au large de l’île Banks, dans la portion nord de la côte du continent (roqueries sur les rochers North Danger). Une quatrième aire de reproduction se trouvait jadis au large de la portion centrale de la côte, sur le groupe Sea Otter (roqueries sur les rochers Virgin, Pearl et, peut-être, Watch), mais ce rassemblement de reproducteurs a disparu en raison des programmes intensifs de lutte contre les prédateurs mis en application au cours des années 1920 et 1930 (Bigg, 1985). Outre ces sites de reproduction, on compte environ 21 échoueries, réparties principalement sur le front océanique des côtes, qui sont utilisées continuellement, toute l’année, ainsi que de nombreux sites hivernaux où les animaux vont à terre de façon saisonnière ou irrégulière.

La répartition des otaries de Steller au large est mal définie. En général, la plupart des otaries de Steller semblent se nourrir à moins d’environ 60 km du rivage en été et peuvent s’éloigner jusqu’à 200 km du rivage en hiver (Kenyon et Rice, 1961; Merrick et Loughlin, 1997). L’espèce semble se nourrir au-dessus de la plate-forme continentale et le long du rebord de celle-ci (Kajimura et Loughlin, 1988).