Skip booklet index and go to page content

Steller Sea Lion (Eumetopias Jubatus)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The terrestrial sites used by Steller sea lions In British Columbia generally fall into three distinct categories: 1) rookeries where animals congregate during May-August to give birth, mate, and nurse pups; 2) year-round haulouts that are usually occupied continuously; and 3) winter haulout sites that are used less regularly and primarily during the non-breeding season (Bigg 1985). Rookeries generally have peripheral haulout sites associated with them that are occupied mainly by non-breeding males and juveniles. In most cases animals continue to use rookeries as haulout sites throughout the year, albeit in much reduced numbers.

Steller sea lions are extremely traditional in the sites they use to give birth and mate. Studies of marked individuals indicate that females tend to return to their rookeries of birth, and will return faithfully to a single rookery each year (Raum-Suryan et al. 2002). The three breeding areas currently used in BC all appear to have been well established at the turn of the century when the first sea lion survey was conducted (Newcombe and Newcombe 1914), and have been used continuously despite the disturbances caused by predator control programs and commercial harvests (Pike and Maxwell 1958; Bigg 1985; Olesiuk 2003). No new rookeries have been colonized in BC, or for that matter throughout other parts of their North Pacific range, with the exception of Southeast Alaska and Gulf of Alaska where some haulouts became rookeries.


Figure 2: Geographic Location of Steller Rookeries (●), Year-round Haulout Sites (○) and Major Winter Haulout Sites (▲) in British Columbia (and Forrester Island, Alaska)

Figure 2: Geographic location of Steller rookeries, year-round haulout sites and major winter haulout sites in British Columbia (and Forrester Island, Alaska).

Updated from Bigg (1985) based on Olesiuk (2003).

One of the most striking features of rookeries is their remoteness and generally the absence of terrestrial predators such as wolves and bears. Steller sea lions propagate on some of the most isolated, barren outcroppings in the North Pacific Ocean. They appear to be located in regions that have relatively high currents, high salinity, low surface temperatures and shallow waters--which presumably reflects high ocean productivity and hence optimum feeding areas (Ban et al., unpublished data). Essential haulout features seem to be relatively flat terrain, accessibility, and protection from swell and waves (Edie 1977). Sea lions use protected areas during storms and wet areas during extremely hot weather (Edie 1977). Access to high ground is also important for whelping, although older animals capable of going to sea will use lower and more exposed areas. The rookeries in BC are comprised of rocky ledges, except in recent years when increasing numbers of animals began breeding on the gravel beaches along the eastern (leeward) side of Triangle Island (Olesiuk, unpublished data).

The 21 year-round haulout sites in BC are generally situated in exposed areas along the outer coast, and are comprised of rocky islets and ledges. Approximately half of them were noted during the first surveys in 1913 (Newcombe and Newcombe 1914), while about one-quarter appear to have been colonized since aerial surveys were initiated in the early 1970s. As populations have increased in BC, many some sites formerly used mainly during winter (see below) have been occupied more continuously, and have been re-classified as year-round haulouts (Olesiuk 2003).

Use of winter haulouts appears to be more fluid than year-round sites. Most winter haulouts are situated in protected areas, such as the Strait of Georgia, Strait of Juan de Fuca and Queen Charlotte Strait. In addition to natural substrates, wintering haulouts include logbooms, floats, jetties and docks. Animals can also rest in the water during storms or heavy swells when haulouts are awash, or when they are near concentrations of prey without suitable nearby haulouts (Kenyon and Rice 1961). This behaviour often occurs in groups and is referred to as rafting. Animals typically lie at the surface with their flippers extended into the air, with their snouts occasionally breaking the surface as the animals breathe (Olesiuk and Bigg 1988). In the southern part of BC, winter haulouts are often shared with adult- and subadult-male California sea lions (Zalophus californianus) (Hancock 1970; Brenton 1977; Bigg 1985).

Our understanding of how Steller sea lions use their aquatic habitat is poor. Animals are generally observed within 60 km of land and in water depths less than 400 m, but may venture several hundred kilometers offshore and occur off the continental shelf (Kenyon and Rice 1961; Merrick and Loughlin 1997). Steller sea lions also occasionally venture into freshwater (Jameson and Kenyon 1977; Roffe and Mate 1984; Beach et al. 1985). In BC, sea lions often congregate in the lower Fraser River during the spring eulachon run(Bigg 1985), and are occasionally seen rafting as far as 35 km upriver (Olesiuk, unpublished data). Steller sea lions also congregate in estuaries during autumn to feed on pre-spawning salmon (Bigg et al. 1990). 


Trends

The first rookery abandoned following the culls of 1913-1915 may have been Watch Rock where a dozen pups were counted in 1913 (Bigg 1985). By 1938, control programs had extirpated the two other rookeries that formed the Sea Otter Group--Virgin Rocks and Pearl Rocks (Fig. 2). Few predator control kills were conducted in the following decade. However, substantial kills were made by the Canadian air force and navy in the 1940s during practice bombings on the remaining breeding populations (Pike and Maxwell 1958; Bigg 1985). Predator control and commercial harvesting resumed during 1956-66 and further reduced the BC population (Bigg 1985; Olesiuk 2003). No further attempts have been made to eradicate Steller sea lions since they were protected in 1970 under the Fisheries Act. Pupping has not resumed at the eradicated rookeries since culling stopped, and no new rookeries have been established in BC since the first census was made in the early 1900s.

The range of the Steller sea lion crosses the international boundaries with the United States. Breeding populations occur in California and Oregon, but not in Washington State. In Southeast Alaska, no rookeries were known to occur during the early part of the 1900s. However, animals began breeding at Forrester Island, situated about 25 km north of the BC-Alaska border, shortly after control programs were initiated in BC. Rowley(1929) mentioned, without giving a date, that a rookery existed there in the late 1920s with 50-100 animals, and Imler and Sarber (1947) reported a count of 350 in August 1945. The Forrester Island rookery increased dramatically, with 2500 animals present by 1957 (Mathisen and Lopp 1963), and now constitutes the largest breeding aggregation in the world. Given the close proximity of this rookery to the BC border, it is difficult to separate BC from SE Alaska when assessing population trends. Steller sea lions also established new rookeries in Southeast Alaska at the Hazy Islands in about 1985 and White Sisters Island in 1992, and more recently have begun pupping at Graves and Baili Rocks (Calkins et al. 1999; Pitcher et al. 2003).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

Management of marine mammals in Canadian waters is a federal responsibility. Since 1970, Steller sea lions have been protected by various regulations enacted under the Fisheries Act and enforced by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO). Although fish habitat--including by definition sea lion habitat--is generally protected under the Fisheries Act, the breeding rookeries at the Scott Islands, as well as several haulout sites within this archipelago, have also been designated as Ecological Reserves under the BC Ecological Reserves Act. The rookery at Cape St. James was also once an Ecological Reserve, but became part of Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve when it was created in 1987 under the federal National Parks Act. The Gwaii Haanas Park Reserve is co-managed by the federal government and the Haida Nation, and legislation was recently passed that will formally allow the creation of a marine component to the reserve. Thus 2 of the 3 existing breeding areas are protected (only Danger Rocks is not). Extraction of resources is not permitted, and visitation is restricted through the issuance of permits. DFO also recently began establishing a series of Marine Protected Areas (MPA) under the new Oceans Act introduced in 1996. One of the first two pilot MPAs to be established on the Pacific coast of Canada was Race Rocks, in part because it was recognized as an important winter haulout for Steller and California sea lions.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’otarie de Steller (Eumetopias jubatus)

Habitat

Besoins de l’espèce

Les sites terrestres fréquentés par l’otarie de Steller en Colombie-Britannique se divisent de façon générale en trois catégories : 1) les roqueries, où les animaux se rassemblent de mai à août pour mettre bas, s’accoupler et allaiter les petits; 2) les échoueries permanentes, généralement occupées continuellement toute l’année; 3) les échouerie hivernales, qui sont occupées moins régulièrement et surtout pendant la période internuptiale (Bigg, 1985). En général, les roqueries sont avoisinées d’échoueries, lesquelles sont principalement occupées par des mâles qui ne s’accouplent pas et des juvéniles. Dans la plupart des cas, des animaux continuent d’utiliser les roqueries comme échoueries toute l’année, bien qu’en nombre très réduit.

L’otarie de Steller est très conservatrice dans le choix du site de mise bas et d’accouplement. Des études portant sur des individus marqués indiquent que les femelles tendent à retourner à la roquerie où elles sont nées et qu’elles retournent fidèlement à la même roquerie chaque année (Raum-Suryan et al., 2002). Les trois aires de reproduction actuellement occupées en Colombie-Britannique semblent toutes avoir été bien établies au début du 20e siècle, à l’époque du premier relevé des populations d’otaries (Newcombe et Newcombe, 1914), et avoir accueilli continuellement des animaux, malgré les perturbations causées par les programmes de lutte contre les prédateurs et par la récolte à des fins commerciales (Pike et Maxwell, 1958; Bigg, 1985; Olesiuk, 2003). Aucune nouvelle roquerie n’a été colonisée en Colombie-Britannique, ni nulle part ailleurs dans l’aire de répartition du Pacifique Nord, à l’exception du sud-est de l’Alaska et du golfe d’Alaska, où certaines échoueries sont devenues des roqueries.


Figure 2 : Emplacement des roqueries (●),des échoueries permanentes (○) et des principales échoueries hivernales (▲) de l’otarie de Steller en Colombie-Britannique et sur l’île Forrester (Alaska)

Figure 2 : Emplacement des roqueries, des échoueries permanentes et des principales échoueries hivernales de l’otarie de Steller en Colombie-Britannique et sur l’île Forrester (Alaska).

Mise à jour de Bigg (1985) d’après Olesiuk (2003).

L’une des caractéristiques les plus frappantes des roqueries est leur isolement et, en général, l’absence de prédateurs terrestres tels les loups et les ours. Les otaries de Steller se reproduisent sur des rochers parmi les plus isolés et les plus dénudés du Pacifique Nord. Les roqueries sont situées dans des régions où les courants sont relativement forts, la salinité élevée, la température à la surface basse et l’eau peu profonde, caractéristiques qui correspondraient à une forte productivité océanique et donc à des aires d’alimentation optimales (Ban et al., données inédites). Les échoueries se caractériseraient essentiellement par un terrain relativement plat, accessible et à l’abri de la houle et des vagues (Edie, 1977). Les otaries vont dans les zones protégées pendant les tempêtes et dans les zones mouillées quand il fait très chaud (Edie, 1977). L’accès à un terrain surélevé est également important pour la mise bas, les animaux plus âgés capables d’aller à la mer occupant des zones plus basses et plus exposées. Les roqueries de Colombie-Britannique sont des milieux rocheux, sauf depuis quelques années, alors que de plus en plus d’animaux ont commencé à se reproduire sur les plages de gravier du côté est (sous le vent) de l’île Triangle (Olesiuk, données inédites).

Les 21 échoueries permanentes de Colombie-Britannique, situées en général dans des zones exposées le long de la côte ouest, comprennent des affleurements et des îlots rocheux. Environ la moitié d’entre elles ont été signalées en 1913, lors des premiers relevés (Newcombe et Newcombe, 1914), et environ le quart semblent avoir été colonisées après le début des années 1970, soit depuis les premiers relevés aériens. Avec la croissance des populations en Colombie-Britannique, certaines échoueries qui étaient surtout occupées en hiver (voir plus bas) ont connu une occupation plus continue, d’où leur reclassification comme échoueries permanentes (Olesiuk, 2003).

L’occupation des échoueries hivernales semble plus fluide que celle des échoueries permanentes. La plupart des échoueries hivernales sont situées dans des zones abritées comme le détroit de Géorgie, le détroit de Juan de Fuca et le détroit de la Reine-Charlotte. Outre les substrats naturels, on trouve dans les échoueries hivernales des estacades, des flots, des jetées et des quais. Les animaux peuvent aussi se reposer dans l’eau quand il y a une tempête ou une forte houle et que les échoueries sont inondées, ou lorsqu’ils se trouvent près de concentrations de proies sans échouerie propice à proximité (Kenyon et Rice, 1961). On appelle rafting (« faire la planche ») ce comportement souvent collectif où habituellement les otaries se couchent à la surface, les nageoires en l’air et le museau émergeant à l’occasion à la surface, le temps d’une respiration (Olesiuk et Bigg, 1988). Dans la partie sud de la Colombie-Britannique, les otaries de Steller partagent souvent leurs échoueries hivernales avec des otaries de Californie (Zalophus californianus) mâles adultes et subadultes (Hancock, 1970; Brenton, 1977; Bigg, 1985).

On ne sait pas très bien comment les otaries de Steller exploitent leur habitat aquatique. On observe généralement ces animaux à moins de 60 km de la terre, dans des eaux d’une profondeur inférieure à 400 m, mais elles peuvent s’aventurer à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres des côtes et au large de la plate-forme continentale (Kenyon et Rice, 1961; Merrick et Loughlin, 1997). L’otarie de Steller s’aventure parfois aussi en eau douce (Jameson et Kenyon, 1977; Roffe et Mate, 1984; Beach et al., 1985). En Colombie-Britannique, les otaries se rassemblent souvent dans le bas Fraser pendant la montaison des eulakanes au printemps (Bigg, 1985), et on les voit à l’occasion faire la planche jusqu’à 35 km en amont (Olesiuk, données inédites). Les otaries de Steller se rassemblent également dans les estuaires l’automne venu pour se nourrir de saumons pré-génésiques (Bigg et al., 1990).


Tendances

La première roquerie abandonnée à la suite des abattages de 1913 à 1915 pourrait avoir été le rocher Watch, où l’on avait compté une douzaine de petits en 1913 (Bigg, 1985). En 1938, les programmes de lutte contre les prédateurs avaient déjà fait disparaître les deux autres roqueries qui formaient le groupe Sea Otter – les rochers Virgin et les rochers Pearl (figure 2). L’abattage de prédateurs se fit rare pendant la décennie suivante. Cependant, l’aviation et la marine canadiennes tuèrent un nombre important d’individus dans les années 1940 lors d’exercices de bombardement sur les populations reproductrices qui restaient (Pike et Maxwell, 1958; Bigg, 1985). La lutte contre les prédateurs et la récolte à des fins commerciales ont recommencé dans la période en 1956-1966, décimant encore davantage la population de Colombie-Britannique (Bigg, 1985; Olesiuk, 2003). Aucune tentative d’éliminer l’otarie de Steller n’a eu lieu depuis qu’elle est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, soit depuis 1970. La mise bas n’a jamais recommencé sur les anciennes roqueries depuis la fin du programme d’abattage, et aucune nouvelle roquerie ne s’est établie en Colombie-Britannique depuis le premier relevé des populations, réalisé au début du 20e siècle.

L’aire de répartition canadienne de l’otarie de Steller est délimitée par les frontières internationales avec les États-Unis. On trouve des populations reproductrices en Californie et en Oregon, mais pas dans l’État du Washington. On n’avait pas vu de roqueries dans le sud-est de l’Alaska au début du 20e siècle, mais des animaux ont commencé à se reproduire à l’île Forrester, environ 25 km au nord de la frontière entre la Colombie-Britannique et l’Alaska, peu après la mise en œuvre de programmes de lutte contre les prédateurs dans la province. Rowley (1929) mentionne, sans préciser la date, l’existence à cet endroit d’une roquerie de 50 à 100 animaux peu avant 1930; Imler et Sarber (1947) y ont recensé 350 individus en août 1945. La roquerie de l’île Forrester connaît par la suite une forte croissance : 2 500 animaux s’y trouvent en 1957 (Mathisen et Lopp, 1963); c’est aujourd’hui le plus grand groupe reproducteur au monde. Étant donné que cette roquerie est très proche de la frontière canadienne, on peut difficilement séparer la Colombie-Britannique du sud-est de l’Alaska dans l’évaluation des tendances démographiques. Les otaries de Steller ont aussi établi de nouvelles roqueries ailleurs dans le sud-est de l’Alaska, aux îles Hazy vers 1985 et aux îles White Sisters en 1992; plus récemment, des petits sont nés aux rochers Graves et Baili (Calkins et al., 1999; Pitcher et al., 2003).


Protection et propriété des terrains

La gestion des mammifères marins dans les eaux canadiennes relève du gouvernement fédéral. Depuis 1970, l’otarie de Steller est protégée en vertu de divers règlements édictés aux termes de la Loi sur les pêches et mis en application par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO). Bien que l’habitat du poisson – qui comprend par définition celui des otaries – jouisse d’une protection générale aux termes de la Loi sur les pêches, les roqueries de reproduction des îles Scott, ainsi que plusieurs échoueries de cet archipel, sont également désignées réserves écologiques en vertu de l’Ecological Reserves Act de la Colombie-Britannique. La roquerie du cap St. James a déjà été elle aussi une réserve écologique, mais cette désignation a été supplantée par la création en 1987 de la réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas aux termes de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Une loi récemment adoptée permettra officiellement l’ajout d’une composante marine à cette réserve, qui est cogérée par le gouvernement fédéral et la nation haïda. Ainsi, deux des trois aires de reproduction existantes sont protégées (seule celle des rochers North Danger ne l’est pas). Le prélèvement de ressources est interdit et les visites sont contrôlées par un système de permis. Le MPO a également commencé à établir une série de zones de protection marine (ZPM) aux termes de la nouvelle Loi sur les océans, entrée en vigueur en 1996. Les rochers Race ont été l’une des deux premières ZPM pilotes à être établies sur la côte du Pacifique, en partie parce qu’ils ont été considérés comme une importante échouerie hivernale pour l’otarie de Steller et l’otarie de Californie.