Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Blue, Fin, and Sei Whales in Pacific Canadian Waters [Final]

3 Fin Whale Background

3.1 Current status

Common name: Fin whale

Scientific name: Balaenoptera physalus

Legal listing (SARA): under consideration

Assessment summary: May 2005

COSEWIC status: Threatened

Reason for designation: Currently sighted only infrequently on former whaling grounds off British Columbia. Coastal whaling took at least 7,600 animals from the population between 1905 and 1967, and thousands of additional animals were taken by pelagic whalers through the 1970s. Catch rates from coastal whaling stations declined precipitously off British Columbia in the 1960s. Based on the severe depletion and lack of sufficient time for recovery, it is inferred that present population is below 50% of its level 60-90 years ago. Individuals continue to be at risk from ship strikes and entanglement in fishing gear. (www.cosewic.gc.ca)

Occurrence in Canada: North Atlantic and North Pacific

Status history: The species was considered a single unit and designated Special Concern in April 1987. Split into two populations (Atlantic and Pacific) in May 2005. The Pacific population was designated Threatened in May 2005.

3.2 Species description

The fin whale is the second largest member of the family Balaenopteridae, after the blue whale. It has been characterized as the “greyhound of the sea” due to its fast swimming speed and streamlined body (Reeves et al. 2002). Fin whales are widely distributed in all the oceans of the world, in both coastal and offshore waters. Although considered a single stock in the North Pacific by the IWC, there is more likely at least an eastern and a western population (COSEWIC 2004).

Fin whales can reach 27 m (88 ft) in length, with adult females 5-10% longer than males. Adult fin whales in the southern hemisphere are up to 4 m longer than their northern hemisphere counterparts, and have longer, narrower flippers. The body is generally dark grey or brownish-grey dorsally, shading to white ventrally. Some individuals have a V-shaped chevron on the dorsal side, behind the head. Asymmetrical colouring of the lower jaw, dark on the left and light on the right, continues about a third of the distance through the baleen plates, the remainder of which are a dark blue-grey. This colouration pattern is diagnostic for the species. The ventral surfaces of the flippers and flukes are also white. Some adults show scarring indicative of lamprey or remora attachment or nicks and scars on the fins or body that may stem from interactions with fishing gear or other animals. Individual animals can be identified by means of scarring, pigmentation patterns, dorsal fin shapes and nicks (COSEWIC 2004).

The head of the fin whale is narrow, measuring about 20-25% of total body length, with the rostrum particularly pointed, prominent splash guards around the double nares (i.e., nostrils) and a single median head ridge. The eyes lie just above the corners of the mouth. The lower jaw is laterally convex and juts 10-20 cm beyond the tip of the rostrum when the mouth is shut. The dorsal fin is set about three quarters of the way back along the dorsal surface, is falcate or pointed, and can be 60 cm high. Behind the dorsal fin, the caudal peduncle has a sharp, prominent ridge (COSEWIC 2004).

Fin whales can be confused with blue, sei and Bryde’s (B. brydei) whales, and with the recently described B. omurai. However, based on the distribution of these species, confusion in Pacific Canadian waters is likely limited to blue and sei whales. The fin whale head is more pointed than that of the blue whale, with a larger dorsal fin, which is set further back and has a shallower rise than that of the sei whale. On surfacing, a fin whale’s blowholes are seen first followed by the dorsal fin. In sei whales, the blowholes and dorsal fin usually appear almost simultaneously. The blue whale is the only member of the genus Balaenoptera to regularly “fluke up” (i.e., lift its flukes above the surface when starting a deep dive) (COSEWIC 2004).

Reproduction is similar to blue whales, with females calving every 2-3 years following an 11-12 month gestation period. Calves are born at about 6 m in length, and are weaned at an average length of about 11.5 m, at 6-7 months of age. Age at sexual maturity is estimated at 5 to 15 years for both sexes, at an average length in the northern hemisphere of 17.2 m (COSEWIC 2004). Similar to blue whales, the life span of fin whales is assumed to be around 80 years.

3.3 Population size, trends, and distribution

Fin whales have a cosmopolitan distribution, though they are more abundant in temperate and polar latitudes. In the North Pacific, the known summer range extends northward to 50°N in the Sea of Okhotsk, 60°N in the Bering Sea and 58°N in the Gulf of Alaska, and southward to 40°N in the Sea of Japan and 32°N off the coast of California. The known winter range extends from Korea to Taiwan, the Hawaiian Islands and to the Baja California peninsula, although this distribution is believed to be primarily offshore (Leatherwood et al. 1988).

Fin whales summer at various locations along the eastern North Pacific coast, and are known to occupy some regions (at least the Gulf of California and south/central California) on a year-round basis. Summer aggregations have been documented off Oregon, and summer-fall groups have been observed in the Shelikof Strait/Gulf of Alaska region (Carretta et al. 2003). Acoustic detection occurs year-round off northern California, Oregon and Washington, with a concentration of activity between September and February (Moore et al. 1998).

NMFS recognizes three stocks in U.S. waters of the North Pacific: the Northeast Pacific stock, the Hawaiian stock, and the California/Oregon/Washington stock (Carretta et al. 2003). Fujino (1960) concluded that the North Pacific contains an eastern and a western population based on histological and marking data. The marking data further suggest that the fin whales off British Columbia may have been isolated to some degree.

Oshumi and Wada (1974) estimated pre-exploitation abundance in the North Pacific at 40,000 – 45,000. Whaling reduced the numbers to an estimated 13,000 – 19,000 by 1973, of which 8500 – 11,000 were assumed to be from the eastern North Pacific (Oshumi and Wada 1974). The most recent estimate of the size of the California/Oregon/Washington stock based on ship surveys is 3279 (Coefficient of Variation (CV) = 0.31) (Barlow and Taylor 2001 cited in Carretta et al. 2003). Vessel surveys in July-August 1999 produced an estimate of 4951 (CV=0.29) fin whales in the Bering Sea, though these numbers did not provide an indication of the size of any of the putative stocks (Angliss and Lodge 2003). To date, the available data are not sufficient for estimating population trends.

The population structure in Pacific Canadian waters is equivocal. There is no way to presently determine whether animals sighted in Pacific Canadian waters are from either of the two stocks defined by NMFS. Indeed, there is currently no evidence to determine whether these two putative stocks are truly distinct populations or whether they represent a single, eastern North Pacific population.

3.3.1 Canadian Pacific

Pike and MacAskie (1969) regarded the fin whale as the most abundant baleen whale in Pacific Canadian waters, and suggested that the waters off Vancouver Island contained a summer feeding aggregation. Historically, fin whales were frequently observed in exposed coastal seas (Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound) and occasionally in the more protected waters of Queen Charlotte Strait and the Strait of Georgia (Pike and MacAskie 1969). Only 17% of the catch for which positions were recorded by British Columbia coastal whalers was on the continental shelf (Figure 1 and Gregr 2004).

Based on a comparison of whaling records from coastal stations around the Gulf of Alaska, Gregret al. (2000) concluded that the species did not appear restricted latitudinally. An analysis of whaling records from British Columbia whaling stations identified fin whale habitat along the continental shelf, in the exposed inland waters of Dixon Entrance and Hecate Strait, and in a region offshore of northern Vancouver Island (Figure 1, from Gregr and Trites 2001).

Contemporary sightings of fin whales in Pacific Canadian waters are predominantly from the west coast of Vancouver Island, Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound, and occur in summer and winter. Recent annual spring research cruises (CRP-DFO) have recorded 75 fin whale sightings between 2002 and 2004 in off-shelf waters, near the shelf break boundary of Queen Charlotte Sound, in Hecate Strait, and in Dixon Entrance (Figure 3a). Summer cruises in 2002 and 2003 sighted 12 fin whales in Queen Charlotte Sound (Figure 3b). Recent summer sightings have also been made off southern Vancouver Island (COSEWIC 2004). An opportunistic winter cruise in February 2004 resulted in sightings off the north end of Vancouver Island and in Hecate Strait (CRP-DFO, unpublished data). The BCCSN database contains 48 high confidence fin whale sightings.

In contrast to the relatively frequent sightings off British Columbia, NMFS conducted 2-week summer surveys in the northern offshore waters of Washington State each year from 1995 to 2002 and did not sight a single fin whale (Calambokidis et al. 2004b). Similarly, aerial surveys off the west coast of Washington in the early 1990s also did not spot any fin whales (Green et al. 1992 cited in Calambokidis et al. 2004b).

It may be that this pattern of sightings represents the re-occupation of the historic fin whale feeding grounds in Pacific Canadian waters. Alternatively, it may also be a reflection of increased observational effort, or some other demographic shift in the local population(s).

3.4 Biological needs, ecological role and limiting factors

Fin whales forage on a variety of species. Generally in the northern hemisphere they eat small invertebrates, schooling fishes and squids. Consequently, it has been suggested that fin whale diet is as much a function of availability as preference (Gambell 1985b).

In the North Pacific, the diet is dominated by euphausiids (70%) followed by copepods (25%) with some fish and squid (Kawamura 1980). Flinn et al. (2002) examined records of stomach contents for fin whales taken in British Columbia and found similar results.

Due to the global overlap in range and diet with other baleen whales, inter-specific competition is likely (Aguilar and Lockyer 1987). Mixed groups of fin and blue whales are common and hybrids occur with surprising frequency in the North Atlantic (Bérubé and Aguilar 1998), although hybrids have not been identified in the St. Lawrence with 40% of fin and blue whales analysed (R. Sears pers. comm.). The degree to which hybridization may occur in the North Pacific is unknown.

Consequent to their depletion by whaling, large baleen whales may have been ‘replaced’ in the ecosystem to some extent by ecologically-equivalent finfish stocks (Payne et al. 1990). Trites et al. (1999) suggested that some species of fish are significant competitors of whales in the Bering Sea. Another possible consequence of whaling is that the remaining populations may be too small to recover. However, while there is insufficient population data for an unequivocal assessment, this is not believed to be a limiting factor for fin whales.

Some predation of fin whales is possible by killer whales and sharks, though the degree of predation is unknown (Reeves et al. in press). Increased abundance could lead to increased predation.

3.5 Habitat needs

The summer habitat of fin whales tends to consist of areas with dense prey concentrations (Kawamura 1980, Gaskin 1982). Woodley and Gaskin (1996) found that in the Bay of Fundy, fin whales occurred primarily in shallow areas with high topographic relief, and their occurrence was correlated with herring and euphausiid concentrations.

Fin whale distribution is associated with low surface temperatures off the northeastern U.S. and in the Bay of Fundy during summer months (Woodley and Gaskin 1996). Hain et al. (1992) documented an association with oceanic fronts, areas known for high biological productivity (Herman et al. 1981).

Conception and calving are believed to occur in low latitudes during winter, but no specific breeding grounds have yet been identified (e.g., Mizroch et al. 1984). Payne (2004) suggested that the long-distance communication abilities of the species may allow mating to occur without the need for aggregating on breeding grounds.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement pour le rorqual bleu, le rorqual commun et le rorqual boréal dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique [version finale]


3 Rorqual commun - Contexte

3.1 Statut actuel

Nom commun :  Rorqual commun

Nom scientifique : Balaenoptera physalus

Inscription légale (LEP) : À l'étude

Sommaire de l'évaluation : Mai 2005

Désignation du COSEPAC : Menacé

Justification de la désignation : L'espèce est actuellement observée seulement de façon peu fréquente dans les anciens lieux de pêche à la baleine au large de la Colombie-Britannique. La pêche côtière à la baleine a réduit la population entre 1905 et 1967 d'au moins 7 600 individus, et des milliers d'autres individus ont été pris lors de pêches pélagiques durant les années 1970. Le taux de prise des stations de pêche côtière à la baleine a diminué de façon abrupte au large de la Colombie-Britannique au cours des années 1960. Compte tenu de l'importante diminution de la population et de l'absence un délai suffisant pour son rétablissement, on a déduit que la population actuelle est inférieure à 50 % de son niveau d'il y a 60 à 90 ans. Les individus continuent d'être vulnérables aux collisions avec les navires et à l'enchevêtrement dans les engins de pêche (www.cosepac.gc.ca).

Présence au Canada : Atlantique Nord et Pacifique Nord

Historique du statut : L'espèce a été considérée comme une seule unité et a été désignée « préoccupante » en avril 1987. Division en deux populations (population de l'Atlantique et population du Pacifique) en mai 2005. La population du Pacifique a été désignée « menacée » en mai 2005.

3.2 Description de l'espèce

Le rorqual commun est le plus gros membre de la famille des balénoptéridés après le rorqual bleu. Il a été surnommé le « lévrier des mers » en raison de sa grande vitesse de nage et de son corps élancé (Reeves et al. 2002). Les rorquals communs vivent dans tous tous les océans du globe, à la fois dans les eaux côtières et au large. Bien que considérés par la CBIcomme formant un stock unique dans le Pacifique Nord, ils sont plus vraisemblablement divisés en au moins deux populations, l'une à l'est et l'autre à l'ouest (COSEPAC 2004).

Les rorquals communs peuvent atteindre 27 m (88 pi) de long, la taille des femelles adultes étant de cinq à dix pourcent supérieure à celle des mâles. Les animaux adultes fréquentant l'hémisphère Sud sont jusqu'à quatre mètres plus long que ceux que l'on trouve dans l'hémisphère Nord, et possèdent des nageoires pectorales plus longues et plus étroites. Le corps du rorqual commun est généralement gris foncé ou gris brunâtre sur le dos et s'éclaircit sur les flancs pour devenir blanc sur le ventre. Certains individus possèdent un chevron en forme de V sur la face dorsale, en arrière de la tête. La coloration asymétrique de la mâchoire inférieure, foncée à gauche et pâle à droite, se maintient environ sur le tiers de la distance séparant la mâchoire des fanons, dont la portion restante est bleu gris foncé. Ce type de coloration est caractéristique de l'espèce. La surface ventrale des nageoires pectorales et caudales est également blanche. Certains adultes portent des traces de plaies créées par la ventouse buccale des lamproies ou des rémoras, ou encore, sur les nageoires ou le corps, des entailles et des cicatrices qui pourraient provenir d'un contact avec des engins de pêche ou d'autres animaux. Les individus peuvent être identifiés par leurs cicatrices, les motifs de leur pigmentation, la forme de leur nageoire dorsale et les entailles qu'ils affichent (COSEPAC 2004).

La tête du rorqual commun est étroite et mesure de 20 à 25 % de la longueur totale du corps, le rostre étant particulièrement pointu; on observe des proéminences autour des doubles naris (c.-à-d., narines) et une crête médiane unique sur la tête. Les yeux se situent juste au-dessus des coins de la bouche. La mâchoire inférieure est latéralement convexe et dessine une saillie de 10 à 20 cm au-delà du sommet du rostre lorsque la bouche est fermée. La nageoire dorsale se situe environ aux trois quarts de la surface dorsale, est falciforme ou pointue et peut mesurer 60 cm de hauteur. À l'arrière de la nageoire dorsale, le pédoncule caudal porte une crête longitudinale prononcée (COSEPAC 2004).

On peut confondre le rorqual commun avec le rorqual bleu, le rorqual boréal, le rorqual de Bryde (B. brydei) et Balaenoptera omurai récemment décrit. Toutefois, si l'on se fonde sur la répartition de ces espèces, les risques de confusion dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique se limitent probablement aux rorquals bleu et boréal. La tête du rorqual commun est plus pointue que celle du rorqual bleu, et il possède une nageoire dorsale plus grande, située plus en arrière et présentant une élévation beaucoup plus faible que celle du rorqual boréal. À la surface, on aperçoit en premier les évents du rorqual commun, puis sa nageoire dorsale. Chez le rorqual boréal, les évents et la nageoire dorsale apparaissent presque simultanément. Le rorqual bleu est le seul membre du genre Balaenoptera à présenter régulièrement sa nageoire caudale (c.-à-d., il soulève sa nageoire caudale au-dessus de la surface lorsqu'il amorce une plongée profonde) (COSEPAC 2004).

La reproduction est similaire à celle du rorqual bleu, les femelles mettant bas tous les deux à trois ans après une période de gestation de onze à douze mois. Les baleineaux mesurent six mètres de long à la naissance et sont sevrés lorsqu'ils atteignent l'âge de six à sept mois; ils mesurent alors environ 11,5 m. On estime que l'âge à la maturité sexuelle est de 5 à 15 ans pour les deux sexes, à une longueur moyenne de 17,2 m dans l'hémisphère Nord (COSEPAC 2004). Comme pour le rorqual bleu, la durée de vie du rorqual commun se situe aux alentours de 80 ans.

3.3 Taille de la population, tendances et répartition

Les rorquals communs ont une répartition cosmopolite, bien qu'ils soient plus abondants dans les latitudes tempérées et polaires. Dans le Pacifique Nord, l'aire de répartition d'été connue s'étend vers le nord à 50°N dans la mer d'Okhotsk, 60°N dans la mer de Béring et 58°N dans le golfe d'Alaska, et vers le sud à 40°N dans la mer du Japon et 32°N au large de la côte de Californie. L'aire de répartition d'hiver connue s'étend de la Corée à Taiwan, les îles hawaïennes et la péninsule de Basse-Californie, bien que l'on pense que la population soit principalement concentrée en haute mer (Leatherwood et al. 1988).

Les rorquals communs passent l'été en différents endroits le long de la côte est du Pacifique Nord, et l'on sait qu'ils occupent certaines régions (au moins le golfe de Californie et la partie méridionale et centrale de la Californie) toute l'année. Des groupements d'été ont été documentés au large de l'Oregon, et l'on a observé des groupes d'été et d'automne dans la région du détroit de Shelikof et du golfe d'Alaska (Carretta et al. 2003). La détection acoustique est pratiquée toute l'année au large du nord de la Californie, de l'Oregon et de l'État de Washington, une concentration d'activité étant enregistrée entre septembre et février (Moore et al.1998).

Le NMFSreconnaît trois stocks dans les eaux américaines du Pacifique Nord : le stock du Pacifique Nord-Est, le stock d'Hawaï et le stock de la Californie, de l'Oregon et de l'État de Washington (Carretta et al. 2003). Fujino (1960) conclut que le Pacifique Nord abrite deux populations, l'une à l'est et l'autre à l'ouest, à partir de données histologiques et de marquage. Les données de marquage donnent aussi à penser que les rorquals communs enregistrés au large de la Colombie-Britannique pourraient avoir été isolés à un certain degré.

Oshumi et Wada (1974) ont estimé l'abondance du rorqual commun dans le Pacifique Nord, avant l'exploitation, à 40 000 à 45 000 individus. La chasse à la baleine a réduit l'effectif à un nombre estimé de 13 000 à 19 000 têtes aux alentours de 1973; sur ce nombre, de 8 500 à 11 000 individus étaient considérés comme provenant de l'est du Pacifique Nord (Oshumi et Wada 1974). L'estimation la plus récente de la taille du stock de la Californie, de l'Oregon et de l'État de Washington, selon les relevés effectués à partir de navires, s'établit à 3 279 individus (coefficient de variation (CV) = 0,31) (Barlow et Taylor 2001, cités dans Carretta et al. 2003). Les relevés effectués à partir de navires en juillet et août 1999 ont permis d'estimer le nombre de rorquals communs fréquentant la mer de Béring à 4 951 (CV = 0,29), bien que ces chiffres ne fournissent pas une indication de la taille des stocks présumés (Angliss et Lodge 2003). Jusqu'à présent, les données disponibles ne sont pas suffisantes pour que l'on puisse estimer les tendances affichées par les populations.

La structure de la population dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique est incertaine. À l'heure actuelle, on ne dispose d'aucun moyen pour déterminer si les animaux observés dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique proviennent de l'un ou l'autre des deux stocks définis par le NMFS. En réalité, il n'y a actuellement aucune preuve nous permettant de déterminer si ces deux stocks présumés sont vraiment des populations distinctes ou s'ils représentent une population unique vivant dans l'est du Pacifique Nord.

3.3.1 Eaux canadiennes du Pacifique

Pike et MacAskie (1969) considéraient que le rorqual commun était le cétacé à fanons le plus abondant dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique et ont avancé qu'un groupement se formait dans les eaux situées au large de l'île de Vancouver pour s'alimenter en été. Historiquement, on a observé fréquemment des rorquals communs dans des eaux côtières exposées (détroit d'Hécate et bassin de la Reine-Charlotte) et, occasionnellement, dans les eaux plus protégées du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte et du détroit de Georgia (Pike et MacAskie 1969). Seules 17 % des prises pour lesquelles les baleiniers de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique ont enregistré des positions ont été effectuées sur le plateau continental (figure 1 et Gregr 2004).

En se fondant sur une comparaison des registres des baleiniers des stations côtières situées dans la région du golfe d'Alaska, Gregr et al. (2000) ont conclu que l'espèce ne semblait pas restreinte sur le plan des latitudes. Une analyse des registres des baleiniers utilisant les stations de chasse à la baleine de la Colombie-Britannique a permis de déterminer que l'habitat du rorqual commun se situait le long de la plate-forme continentale, dans les eaux intérieures exposées de l'entrée Dixon et du détroit d'Hécate et dans une région située au large du nord de l'île de Vancouver (figure 1, tirée de Gregr et Trites 2001).

Les observations contemporaines de rorquals communs dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique ont surtout eu lieu du côté ouest de l'île de Vancouver, dans le détroit d'Hécate et dans le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte, en été et en hiver. Au cours des dernières expéditions de recherche annuelles du printemps (PRC-MPO), on a enregistré 75 observations de rorquals communs entre 2002 et 2004 au large de la plate-forme continentale, près des limites de la faille située dans le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte, dans le détroit d'Hécate et dans l'entrée Dixon (figure 3a). Les expéditions d'été de 2002 et 2003 ont permis d'observer 12 rorquals communs dans le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte (figure 3b). Des observations récentes ont également été effectuées au cours de la saison estivale au large du sud de l'île de Vancouver (COSEPAC 2004). Une expédition sur un navire d'occasion menée en février 2004 a permis d'effectuer des observations au large de l'extrémité nord de l'île de Vancouver et dans le détroit d'Hécate (PRC-MPO, données non publiées). La base de données du BCCSN contient 48 observations de rorquals communs de fiabilité élevée.

Contrairement aux observations relativement fréquentes effectuées au large de la Colombie-Britannique, deux études de deux semaines menées chaque année entre 1995 et 2002 par le NMFS au cours de la saison estivale dans la partie septentrionale des eaux situées au large de l'État de Washington n'ont donné lieu à aucune observation de rorqual commun (Calambokidis et al.2004b). De la même manière, les relevés aériens effectués au large de la côte ouest de l'État de Washington au début des années 1990 n'ont pas permis d'observer un seul rorqual commun (Green et al. 1992, cité dans Calambokidis et al. 2004b).

Ce profil des observations pourrait signifier la réoccupation des aires d'alimentation historiques des rorquals communs dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, ou bien être le reflet d'un effort d'observation accru ou de quelque autre changement démographique dans la population locale.

3.4 Besoins biologiques, rôle écologique et facteurs limitatifs

Les rorquals communs se nourrissent d'une multitude d'espèces. Dans l'hémisphère Nord, ils s'alimentent généralement de petits invertébrés, de poissons en banc et de calmars. On considère donc que le régime du rorqual commun pourrait être fonction de la disponibilité de la nourriture autant que de sa préférence pour telle ou telle espèce (Gambell 1985b).

Dans le Pacifique Nord, le régime est dominé par les euphausiacés (70 %), suivis des copépodes (25 %) et de quelques poissons et calmars (Kawamura 1980). Flinn et al. (2002) ont examiné des relevés de contenus stomacaux de rorquals communs capturés en Colombie-Britannique et en sont arrivés à des résultats similaires.

Le chevauchement global de l'aire de répartition et du régime avec ceux d'autres cétacés à fanons donne probablement lieu à une compétition interspécifique (Aguilar et Lockyer 1987). Les regroupements mixtes de rorquals communs et de rorquals bleus sont chose courante, et l'on observe des hybrides dans l'Atlantique Nord à une fréquence surprenante (Bérubé et Aguilar 1998), bien qu'aucun hybride n'ait été identifié dans le Saint-Laurent après analyse de 40 % des rorquals bleus et communs (R. Sears, communication personnelle). Le degré auquel l'hybridation se produit dans le Pacifique Nord est inconnu.

À la suite de la décimation de leurs effectifs par la chasse à la baleine, les grands cétacés à fanons pourraient avoir été « remplacés » dans une certaine mesure dans l'écosystème par des stocks de poissons écologiquement équivalents (Payne et al. 1990). Selon Trites et al. (1999), certaines espèces de poissons seraient des compétiteurs importants des rorquals dans la mer de Béring. Une autre conséquence possible de la chasse à la baleine est que les populations restantes pourraient être trop petites pour se rétablir. Toutefois, bien que les données sur la population soient insuffisantes pour que l'on puisse effectuer une évaluation fiable, on ne pense pas que ce phénomène constitue un facteur limitatif pour les rorquals communs.

Il est possible que les rorquals communs soient, dans une certaine mesure, la proie d'orques et de requins, bien que le degré de prédation soit inconnu (Reeves et al. sous presse). Une abondance accrue pourrait donner lieu à une prédation accrue.

3.5 Besoins en habitat

L'habitat estival des rorquals communs tend à comprendre des zones caractérisées par une forte concentration de proies (Kawamura 1980, Gaskin 1982). Woodley et Gaskin (1996) ont trouvé que, dans la baie de Fundy, les rorquals communs fréquentent principalement les zones d'eaux peu profondes marquées par un relief topographique élevée et que leur présence est corrélée avec des concentrations de harengs et d'euphausiacés.

La répartition du rorqual commun est associée à de basses températures de surface au large du nord-est des États-Unis et dans la baie de Fundy durant les mois d'été (Woodley et Gaskin 1996). Hain et al. (1992) ont documenté une association avec les fronts océaniques, des zones reconnues pour leur productivité biologique élevée (Herman et al.1981).

On pense que la conception et la mise bas se produisent à de faibles latitudes durant l'hiver, mais on n'a pas encore relevé d'aires de reproduction particulières (p. ex., Mizroch et al. 1984). Selon Payne (2004), les capacités de communication à longue distance de l'espèce pourraient faire en sorte que l'accouplement s'effectue sans qu'il n'y ait de regroupement sur des aires de reproduction.