Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Beluga Whale in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

The beluga is the only species in the genus Delphinapterus. In southern Canada the population living in the St. Lawrence Estuary is a relict Arctic species, originating (together with the Eastern Hudson Bay population) from an eastern refugium that persisted during the Wisconsin Ice Age. Recently, with the reduction in the St. Lawrence Estuary population by hunting and the threat to the remaining population from industrialization, the beluga has become a symbol of marine conservation efforts in Canada.

For the Inuit in some communities, belugas are a preferred food item; they are extremely nutritious, and much-sought-after as a subsistence resource throughout the Arctic (McGhee 1974, Reeves and Mitchell 1987, Byers and Roberts 1995).

The beluga was one of the first cetaceans to be kept in aquaria, where it adapts readily and survives well under present modern husbandry. It has long been in the eye of the public. A number of aquaria throughout the world have successfully bred belugas and maintain breeding stocks.

Both captive and free-ranging belugas, because they are easy to handle, have helped further our scientific knowledge of cetaceans in many fields. These include marine mammal medicine (Ridgway 1973, St. Aubin et al. 2001), behaviour (Auet al. 1985, Sjare and Smith 1986, Caron and Smith 1990, Smith et al. 1994), and ecology (Reeves and St. Aubin 2001).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Béluga au Canada – Mise à jour

Importance de l'espèce

Le béluga est la seule espèce du genre Delphinapterus. Dans le sud du Canada, la population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent est une espèce relique de l’Arctique issue (tout comme la population de l’est de la baie d’Hudson) d’un refuge qui s’est maintenu dans l’est pendant la période glaciaire wisconsinienne. La population du Saint-Laurent a été réduite par la chasse et subit actuellement la menace de l’industrialisation, si bien que le béluga est récemment devenu un symbole des efforts de conservation des espèces marines au Canada.

Le béluga est une source de nourriture de prédilection pour les Inuits de certaines collectivités. La viande de cet animal est extrêmement nutritive et très prisée comme ressource de subsistance partout dans l’Arctique (McGhee, 1974; Reeves et Mitchell, 1987; Byers et Roberts, 1995).

Le béluga a été l’un des premiers cétacés à être détenus en aquarium. Il s’adapte facilement à la captivité et survit bien dans un environnement d’élevage moderne. L’espèce attire depuis longtemps l’attention du public. Plusieurs aquariums disséminés un peu partout dans le monde réussissent à accoupler des bélugas et à conserver des stocks de géniteurs.

Parce qu’ils sont faciles à manipuler, les bélugas, qu’ils soient à l’état sauvage ou en captivité, contribuent à l’approfondissement des connaissances scientifiques sur les cétacés dans de nombreux domaines. Citons notamment la médecine chez les mammifères marins (Ridgway, 1973; St. Aubin et al., 2001), le comportement (Au et al., 1985; Sjare et Smith, 1986; Caron et Smith, 1990; Smith et al., 1994) et l’écologie (Reeves et St. Aubin, 2001).