Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Beluga Whale in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Beluga Whale
Delphinapterus leucas
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

The beluga whale, Delphinapterus leucas (Pallas, 1776), derives its name from the Russian belukha, which means white. In English, it is also called the white whale; in French béluga is the current common name although marsouin blanc or baleine blanche were previously used; in the various Inuit dialects they are called qilalugaq (Inuktitutt, Inuinactun, Inuvialuktun) and siqsuaq by the Inupiat of the Alaskan north slope.

The beluga belongs to one of two monotypic genera of the family Monodontidae (Rice 1998), which includes the narwhal, Monodon monoceros, as the other member. These two species as well as the Arctic bowhead whale, Balaena mysticetus, lack dorsal fins, a common characteristic thought to be an adaptation to life in ice-filled Arctic waters.


Description

Adult belugas are distinct in being pure white and can weigh up to 1900 kg (Fig. 1). They range in total length from 2.6 to 4.5 meters, adult females are approximately 80% of the adult male length (DegerbØl and Nielsen 1930, Vladykov 1944, Brodie 1989, Doidge 1990).


Figure 1: Line Drawing of Beluga Whale, Delphinapterus leucas

Figure 1: Line drawing of beluga whale, Delphinapterus leucas, by D. Codère, E.M.C. Eco Marine Corporation.

By D. Codère, E.M.C. Eco Marine Corporation.

Newborn calves are grey at birth, sometimes with a darker mottled coloration, and 150 cm in length, which is 48% of the length of their mothers. Yearling calves are 60-65% of their mothers’ length (Caron and Smith 1990). Older juvenÎles gradually become paler in colour until they turn pure white at, or shortly after, the age of sexual maturity (Sergeant 1973, Heide-Jørgensen and Teilmann 1994).

Belugas are easily sighted in calm water because of their white coloration. During the spring migrations along the ice edges, or in leads, they may be seen in aggregations of several hundred animals in certain parts of the Arctic (Lønø 1961, Sergeant and Brodie 1975). Belugas are the only Arctic cetacean species that commonly frequent river estuaries, sometimes numbering thousands of individuals, where they may predictably be seen shortly after the break-up of the sea ice. There they rub on the bottom of the shallow river channels and frequent the warmer fresh-water for several weeks (Fraker et al. 1979, Smith and Martin 1994).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Béluga au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
béluga
Delphinapterus leucas
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le béluga, Delphinapterus leucas (Pallas, 1776), tient son nom du mot russe belukha, qui signifie blanc. En français, les noms dauphin blanc, marsouin blanc ou baleine blanche étaient auparavant employés pour le désigner. En anglais, on l’appelle beluga whale ou white whale. Dans les divers dialectes parlés par les Inuits, le béluga porte le nom de qilalugaq (en inuktitut, en inuinaqtun et en inuvialuktun) et de siqsuaq (chez les Inupiats du versant nord de l’Alaska).

Le béluga appartient à l’un des deux genres monotypiques de la famille des Monodontidés (Rice, 1998). Le narval, Monodon monoceros, est l’autre membre de cette famille. Ces deux espèces, de même que la baleine boréale, Balaena mysticetus, sont dépourvues de nageoires dorsales, caractéristique qui serait une adaptation à la vie dans les eaux couvertes de glaces de l’Arctique.


Description

Les bélugas adultes se distinguent par leur peau blanche. Leur poids peut atteindre 1 900 kg (figure 1) et leur longueur totale 2,6 à 4,5 m; la femelle adulte fait environ 80 % de la longueur du mâle (DegerbØl et Nielsen, 1930; Vladykov, 1944; Brodie, 1989; Doidge, 1990).


Figure 1 : Dessin au trait du béluga, Delphinapterus leucas

Figure 1 : Dessin au trait du béluga, Delphinapterus leucas.

Par D. Codère, d’E.M.C. Eco Marine Corporation.

Les baleineaux sont gris à la naissance et présentent parfois des taches de couleur plus foncée. Ils font alors 150 cm de longueur, soit 48 % de la taille de leur mère. À l’âge d’un an, ils atteignent de 60 à 65 p. 100 de la longueur de leur mère (Caron et Smith, 1990). Les juvéniles plus âgés pâlissent graduellement jusqu’à ce qu’ils deviennent entièrement blancs, à l’âge de la maturité sexuelle ou peu après (Sergeant, 1973; Heide-Jørgensen et Teilmann, 1994).

Les bélugas sont faciles à repérer en eau calme en raison de leur couleur blanche. Pendant leur migration printanière le long de la banquise ou dans les chenaux, on peut les voir en groupes de plusieurs centaines d’animaux dans certaines régions de l’Arctique (Lønø, 1961; Sergeant et Brodie; 1975). Le béluga est la seule espèce de cétacé de l’Arctique qui fréquente communément les estuaires - parfois par groupe de milliers de bêtes –, qu’il regagne régulièrement peu après la dislocation de la glace de mer. Là, les bélugas se frottent au lit des cours d’eau peu profonds et fréquentent les eaux douces moins froides durant plusieurs semaines (Fraker et al., 1979; Smith et Martin, 1994).