Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Beluga Whale in Canada

Habitat

The habitat used by beluga whales varies seasonally. As the fast ice breaks up in late spring, beluga whales mass along the ice edges and penetrate the leads, which provide access into the ice-covered areas (Stirling 1980). Belugas will often appear in their traditional river estuaries, which have become ice-free, several weeks before the large areas of sea ice, outside these bays, have completely broken up.

During the summer when the fast ice has broken up or completely disappeared, belugas are found along the coastlines and in relatively shallow waters (Sergeant 1973, Brodie 1971, Ognetov 1981, Michaud et al. 1990, Smith and Martin 1994). It is during this period that belugas frequent specific river estuaries (Sergeant 1973, Smith and Martin 1994), and glacier fronts (Lydersen et al. 2001).

There remains some uncertainty about whether belugas are moulting (St. Aubin et al 1990), feeding or calving (Stewart and Stewart 1989) in these areas of summer aggregation. All three are possible and activity might vary from one geographical location to the other.

Beginning in mid-August, belugas commence to move away from the estuarine areas. Some populations, such as those of the High Arctic – Baffin Bay and the Eastern Beaufort Sea, appear to make long journeys to deep-water areas away from land (Smith and Martin 1994, Richard et al. 2001b) where they spend several weeks diving to the sea floor and engage in what appears to be intensive feeding activity. In mid-to late September, belugas begin to actively move towards their winter areas.

Aerial surveys in March indicate that belugas are found in loose pack ice or polynyas, preferring ice cover of 4/10 to 8/10 (Jonkel 1969, Finley and Renaud 1980, Koski and Davis 1979). Because satellite tag retention has been limited, their specific areas of feeding and possible interactions with other beluga populations sharing these same areas, during the winter, are not yet known. Many of the prey species of belugas have been described from stomach content collections obtained from shallow coastal waters during the summer (Vladykov 1946, Kleinenberg et al. 1964, Watts and Draper 1986). Nothing is yet known of their feeding strategies, or prey availability, as related to specific habitat features during the long winter season.

Barber et al. (2001) examined beluga habitat relationships using telemetry. They found a bimodal distribution with respect to depth, animals preferring either shallow waters or those about 500m deep. Ice-free waters were proportionally more used than those with cover, and ice cover of 10/10 was avoided.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Béluga au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat

Les bélugas changent d’habitat au fil des saisons. Dès la rupture de la banquise côtière à la fin du printemps, ils se rassemblent au bord de la banquise et pénètrent dans les chenaux traversant les secteurs couverts par les glaces (Stirling, 1980). Souvent, les bélugas apparaissent dans leurs estuaires traditionnels, alors libres de glace, plusieurs semaines avant la dislocation complète des grandes étendues de glace de mer entourant ces baies.

En été, après la dislocation ou la disparition complète de la banquise côtière, les bélugas se rassemblent le long du littoral et dans des eaux relativement peu profondes (Sergeant, 1973; Brodie, 1971; Ognetov, 1981; Michaud et al., 1990; Smith et Martin, 1994). C’est pendant cette période qu’ils fréquentent des estuaires (Sergeant, 1973; Smith et Martin, 1994) et des fronts de glacier bien précis (Lydersen et al., 2001).

Les données recueillies à ce jour ne permettent pas de déterminer avec certitude si les bélugas muent (St. Aubin et al., 1990), s’alimentent ou mettent bas (Stewart et Stewart, 1989) dans ces lieux d’estivage. Aucune de ces possibilités n’est exclue, et il se peut également que l’activité des bélugas varie d’un secteur géographique à l’autre.

À partir de la mi-août, les bélugas quittent progressivement leur habitat estuarien. Les bélugas de certaines populations, telles que celle de l’est du haut Arctique et de la baie de Baffin et celle de l’est de la mer de Beaufort, semblent parcourir de longues distances pour gagner des zones d’eau profonde au large des côtes (Smith et Martin, 1994; Richard et al., 2001b). Pendant les quelques semaines où ils y demeurent, ils plongent jusqu’au fond de la mer et se livrent à ce qui semble être une alimentation intensive. Au milieu ou à la fin de septembre, les bélugas commencent à se déplacer vers leur lieu d’hivernage.

Des recensements aériens effectués en mars ont révélé que les bélugas se concentraient alors dans les secteurs de banquise lâche ou dans les polynies et qu’ils préfèrent les secteurs où la concentration de glace varie entre 4/10 et 8/10 (Jonkel, 1969; Finley et Renaud, 1980; Koski et Davis, 1979). En raison du faible taux de rétention des marques télémétriques satellitaires, les chercheurs ne connaissent pas encore leurs lieux d’alimentation spécifiques ni les interactions possibles entre les populations qui partageraient les mêmes lieux d’alimentation en hiver. Il a été possible de décrire un grand nombre des proies du béluga à partir de données de contenu stomacal pour l’été en eaux peu profondes (Vladykov, 1946; Kleinenberg et al., 1964; Watts et Draper, 1986). Cependant, ses stratégies d’alimentation ou les proies disponibles dans l’habitat qu’il fréquente pendant la longue saison hivernale demeurent inconnues.

Barber et al. (2001) ont examiné les relations entre le béluga et son habitat par télémétrie.Ils ont constaté une distribution bimodale pour la profondeur, les animaux préférant soit les eaux peu profondes, soit celles d’environ 500 m de profondeur. Les eaux libres de glace étaient proportionnellement plus fréquentées que celles qui étaient couvertes de glace. Les bélugas évitaient les secteurs présentant une concentration de glace de 10/10.