Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Beluga Whale in Canada

Biology

General

The ages of belugas are determined by counting annual growth layer groups (GLGs) in the dentinal or cemental tissues of their teeth. Uncertainty still exists as to whether one or two GLGs represent a year of growth (Sergeant 1973, Perrin and Myrick 1980, Brodie 1989). It is still generally accepted, and there is some pertinent evidence (Goren et al. 1987, Heide-Jørgensen et al. 1994), that two GLGs represent a one-year interval. The following description of life history is based on this assumption.


Reproduction

Female belugas mature sexually between 4-7 years, males somewhat older at 6‑7 years (Brodie 1971, Sergeant 1973, Burns and Seaman 1985, Doidge 1990a, Heide-Jørgensen and Tielmann 1994). Mating occurs during late winter to early spring; there is likely a spread in the timing of implantation from March until late June (Kleinenberg et al. 1964, Brodie 1971), with the peak of mating occurring before mid-April (Burns and Seaman 1985). It is generally held that there is no delay in implantation of the single blastocyst but Burns and Seaman (1985) note that this cannot yet be stated with certainty. Gestation is estimated to be in the order 12.8 (Doidge 1990b) to approximately 14.5 months (Kleinenberg et al. 1964, Brodie 1971, Sergeant 1973).

The peak calving time is not well established. It appears to occur during the late spring migration in offshore areas (Béland et al. 1990) and thus is not easily observed. Calving in estuaries, in early summer, has been postulated (Sergeant 1973), but detaÎled studies, in at least two Canadian estuaries, have never recorded a calving event (Caron and Smith 1990, Smith et al. 1994). Instead it was seen that females arriving in these areas were already with neonate calves. Their number would gradually increase from mid-June to early July. It is assumed that calving is probably spread out from June to August (Brodie 1971, Sergeant 1973), with the peak probably occurring in mid-June to early July. Lactation is estimated to last from 20 months (Brodie 1971, Sergeant 1973, Burns and Seaman 1985, Heide-Jørgensen and Teilmann 1994) to 32 months (Doidge 1990).

Doidge (1990a) estimated that there was a period overlap of lactation and pregnancy of 175 days, resulting in a complete cycle between successive pregnancies of 3.25 years. This is similar to the estimates of other authors for full reproductive cycles of 36 months (Sergeant 1973, Burns and Seaman 1985), but differs in that the actual lactation period is estimated to be much longer and overlapping the new pregnancy.

Almost nothing is known of the breeding behaviour of belugas since mating occurs in the offshore ice-filled waters. Adult males segregate from females with calves and juvenÎles during their period of summer aggregation in estuaries (Michaud 1993, Smith and Martin 1994, Smith et al. 1994). Some evidence from commercial net fishing in Russian and Norwegian (Ognetov 1981, Lønø 1961) waters indicates that there is also sexual segregation during the seasonal migrations. No direct information exists on mating systems in belugas which, in the future, might be elucidated by nuclear DNA studies.

Aboriginal traditional knowledge on the reproductive biology of belugas varies considerably between Inuit hunters and also differs depending on the location of their hunting areas. Mating is reported to occur along ice floe edges in the spring or far offshore. The timing of calving is reported to occur from spring to late autumn (Thomsen 1993, McDonald et al. 2002). Inuit from areas with major estuarine concentrations of belugas, such as Cumberland Sound or the Mackenzie Delta, report calving from July to September (Byers and Roberts 1995, Stewart et al. 1995, Stewart 2001).

Inuit hunters believe that adult females still accompanied by calves do give birth (Thomsen 1993). They cite this as evidence that the three year reproductive cycle postulated by scientists is wrong (Anon. 2001b, McDonald et al. 2002). In contrast, the Inuvialuit of the Beaufort Sea rarely see females with more than one calf. They feel that females with dependent offspring will not give birth (Byers and Roberts 1995).


Demographic Parameters

Belugas are long-lived mammals with mean life spans in the range of 15-30 years. Results from aging of beluga whale jaws in the Eastern Beaufort Sea have identified whales reaching the age of 63 years, with many harvested whales of this population estimated to be in their 40s and 50s (Harwood et al. 2002). Most population parameters available for belugas have been derived from samples of animals harvested by Inuit.

The age specific frequencies obtained from hunted belugas, which form a survivorship series (lx) type of life table, are subject to various collecting biases that make the accurate calculation of the survivorship of the neonate and juvenÎle age classes virtually impossible. Estimates of adult survivorship are in the 0.90 or greater range. In the older age classes, inaccuracy occurs because of tooth wear, which leads to underestimation of age. An independent estimate of the instantaneous rate of increase of the population is rarely available for whale populations so that accurate estimates of survival rates are difficult to obtain (Caughley and Birch 1971).

A different approach, but not free of sampling bias, is the attempt to obtain mortality rates from the age structure of recovered carcasses of animals that were not hunted. The problems of estimating such mortality factors as they occur in the live population (Martineau et al. 2002a) stem from the lack of representativeness in the age structures of the recovered carcasses (Theriault et al. 2002). Additionally when these rates are compared to other beluga populations, the comparisons are invalid largely because the age structures are derived using different sampling methods (Hammill et al. 2003).

From other lines of evidence in similar odontocete populations (Smith 1999) and a limited amount of data from repeated aerial surveying (Kingsley 1998), it is felt that unexploited beluga populations, which are below carrying capacity, could increase at a rate in the range of 2.5 to 3.5 percent per annum.


Feeding and Nutrition

Belugas have the lowest body fat content when they first occupy their estuarine summer habitat (Doidge 1990b). In late summer they appear to begin to feed intensively, often in deep areas somewhat distant from their centres of summer distribution (Smith and Martin 1994, Richard et al. 2001a,b). WhÎle we have as yet no direct evidence of the prey species involved, the Arctic cod, Boreogadus saida, is known also to have a deep water distribution in these same areas (Bradstreet et al. 1986, Welch et al. 1993). Large concentrations of Arctic cod in surface waters are also occasionally seen in the early autumn, which provide important feeding opportunities for belugas and other Arctic marine mammals and birds (Finley et al. 1990, Welch et al. 1993). The Inuit of Arctic Bay and Cumberland Sound also report that belugas feed extensively on Greenland halibut, Reinhardtius hyppoglossoides, at the floe edge (Stewart et al. 1995, Kilabuk 1998). In the Beaufort Sea they feed on a variety of fish (Byers and Roberts 1995). Elsewhere in the Arctic they consume capelin (Mallotus villosus) and saffron cod (Eleginus novaga). In most areas invertebrates are also frequently found in the stomachs of belugas (Vladykov 1946, Seaman et al. 1982, Sergeant 1962, 1973, Watts and Draper 1986).

To date there has been no indication of inter-annual changes in the body condition or nutritional state of wild-harvested belugas in any scientific studies. In Cumberland Sound, Inuit harvesters have noted that belugas appear to be thinner than in the past. They relate this to increased energy expenditure caused by avoidance of increased boat traffic (Kilabuk 1998). No detailed studies of energy budgets of free ranging belugas have yet been conducted.


Behaviour/Adaptability

Belugas are vulnerable to predation and to over-hunting, and to other anthropogenic threats because of their strong philopatry to certain sites of summer aggregation. Belugas occupy these estuarine sites to moult, to avoid predation or to feed. It is thought that exposure to warm fresh water helps the sloughing of the dead stratum externum, and accelerates the epidermal cell growth (St.-Aubin et al. 1990). Past theories postulated that estuaries provided a thermal benefit to neonates and that they were calving areas (Sergeant 1973, Fraker et al. 1979), but this has been contradicted by behavioural studies in estuaries (Finley 1982, Smith et al. 1994), and by measurement of the insulative values of the epidermis of newborn belugas (Doidge 1990b). In some areas, river estuaries might be feeding sites and also provide shelter from predators such as killer whales (Brodie 1971).

Belugas are extremely tenacious in their occupation of their traditional centres of aggregation, even in the face of continued disturbance and threat of being killed (Caron and Smith 1990). In the past, commercial hunts, which harvested large numbers of belugas from such areas as the Mucalic Estuary in Ungava Bay (Finley et al. 1982, Reeves and Mitchell 1989) and the Great Whale River in eastern Hudson Bay (Francis 1977, Reeves and Mitchell 1987), are thought to have exterminated whole populations. The Inuit of Ungava Bay, Hudson Strait and eastern Hudson Bay all mention that many small river estuaries, formerly frequented by belugas are now rarely used by the whales. It is generally held by Inuit that increased noise from outboard motors is the primary cause and that this has shifted distribution of belugas offshore (Doidge et al. 2002, Lee et al. 2002). In the St. Lawrence, the southernmost beluga population lives in a heavily traveled maritime route. There, its range has been reduced significantly and the remaining belugas continue to face anthropogenic challenges, such as increasing noise (Lesage 1993, Lesage et al. 1999), loss of habitat, and pollution (Béland et al. 1993).

In the autumn belugas leave their summer areas and migrate long distances to their winter habitats. Often these areas are shared by more than one population, but details of behaviour and distribution are still lacking from this time of year. It is in those areas that mating takes place.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Béluga au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Généralités

On peut déterminer l’âge d’un béluga en comptant les groupes de couches de croissance annuelles dans les tissus de la dentine ou du cément des dents. Il n’est pas encore certain si une année de croissance équivaut à un ou à deux GLG (Sergeant, 1973; Perrin et Myrick, 1980; Brodie, 1989). Malgré tout, il est généralement reconnu que deux GLG représentent un intervalle d’une année, et certaines données pertinentes viennent le corroborer (Goren et al., 1987; Heide-Jørgensen et al., 1994). La description du cycle biologique qui suit est fondée sur cette hypothèse.


Reproduction

La femelle du béluga atteint la maturité sexuelle à l’âge de 4 à 7 ans, et le mâle, un peu plus tard, à l’âge de 6 ou 7 ans (Brodie, 1971; Sergeant, 1973; Burns et Seaman, 1985; Doidge, 1990a; Heide-Jørgensen et Tielmann, 1994). L’accouplement a lieu à la fin de l’hiver ou au début du printemps, la période de pointe se situant avant la mi-avril (Burns et Seaman, 1985). La nidation s’échelonne probablement de mars à la fin de juin (Kleinenberg et al., 1964; Brodie, 1971). Les scientifiques s’entendent généralement pour dire que la nidation du blastocyste unique se fait sans aucun délai, mais Burns et Seaman (1985) précisent qu’il est encore impossible de l’affirmer avec certitude. Il est estimé que la gestation dure de 12,8 (Doidge, 1990b) à environ 14,5 mois (Kleinenberg et al., 1964; Brodie, 1971; Sergeant, 1973).

Il n’est pas certain à quelle période la mise bas a lieu. Elle semble survenir pendant la migration de la fin du printemps dans les zones extracôtières (Béland et al., 1990) et se révèle donc difficile à observer. Certains chercheurs (Sergent, 1973) pensent que la mise bas peut avoir lieu dans les estuaires, au début de l’été, mais des études approfondies réalisées dans au moins deux estuaires canadiens n’ont jamais permis de consigner une seule naissance (Caron et Smith, 1990; Smith et al., 1994). Selon les observations faites, les femelles qui arrivent dans ces secteurs sont déjà accompagnées de nouveau-nés, et leur nombre s’accroît progressivement de la mi-juin au début de juillet. De l’avis de certains (Brodie, 1971; Sergeant, 1973), la mise bas s’échelonnerait de juin à août et la période de pointe se situerait entre la mi-juin et le début de juillet. La lactation dure vraisemblablement de 20 mois (Brodie, 1971; Sergeant, 1973; Burns et Seaman, 1985; Heide-Jørgensen et Teilmann, 1994) à 32 mois (Doidge, 1990).

Doidge (1990a) estime qu’il y a une période de chevauchement de 175 jours entre la lactation et la gestation, d’où un cycle complet de 3,25 ans entre deux gestations successives. Cette estimation est semblable aux estimations faites par d’autres auteurs, qui établissent à 36 mois le cycle de reproduction complet (Sergeant, 1973; Burns et Seaman, 1985), mais diffère en ceci qu’elle comprend une période de lactation beaucoup plus longue et un chevauchement avec la gestation subséquente.

On ne sait presque rien du comportement reproducteur du béluga, parce que  l’accouplement a lieu dans les eaux couvertes de glaces des zones extracôtières. En été, les mâles adultes se tiennent à l’écart des femelles accompagnées de baleineaux et de juvéniles pendant la période estivale de rassemblement dans les estuaires (Michaud, 1993; Smith et Martin, 1994; Smith et al., 1994). Certaines données recueillies lors d’activités de pêche commerciale au filet dans les eaux de Russie et de Norvège (Ognetov, 1981; Lønø, 1961) indiquent qu’il y a également ségrégation des sexes pendant les migrations saisonnières. Il n’existe aucune donnée directe sur les régimes d’accouplement, mais l’analyse de l’ADN nucléaire pourrait venir remédier à cette lacune dans les années à venir.

Les connaissances traditionnelles des Inuits sur la biologie de la reproduction du béluga varient considérablement selon les groupes de chasseurs et selon les territoires de chasse. L’accouplement se ferait à la lisière de la banquise au printemps ou loin au large. La mise bas aurait lieu du printemps à la fin de l’automne (Thomsen, 1993; McDonald et al., 2002). Dans les zones estuariennes fréquentées par de fortes concentrations de bélugas, telles que la baie Cumberland ou le delta du Mackenzie, les Inuits signalent que la mise bas a lieu de juillet à septembre (Byers et Roberts, 1995; Stewart et al., 1995; Stewart, 2001).

Les chasseurs inuits croient que les femelles adultes mettent bas même quand elles sont encore accompagnées de baleineaux (Thomsen, 1993). Ils rejettent ainsi l’hypothèse des scientifiques selon laquelle le cycle de reproduction serait de trois ans (anon., 2001b, McDonald et al., 2002). Par contre, les Inuvialuits de la mer de Beaufort voient rarement des femelles accompagnées de plus d’un petit. À leur avis, il n’y a pas de mise bas chez les femelles dont les baleineaux ne sont pas encore autonomes (Byers et Roberts, 1995).


Paramètres démographiques

Le béluga est un mammifère longévif dont la durée de vie moyenne varie entre 15 et 30 ans. Dans l’est de la mer de Beaufort, la détermination de l’âge par l’analyse de mâchoires a permis d’établir que certains individus avaient atteint l’âge de 63 ans et que de nombreux spécimens étaient vraisemblablement dans la quarantaine ou la cinquantaine (Harwood et al., 2002). La plupart des paramètres démographiques obtenus pour le béluga ont été tirés de carcasses d’animaux récoltés par les Inuits.

La fréquence des âges chez les bélugas récoltés, qui donne une table de survie fondée sur la survie de la naissance à l’âge x (lx), est sujette à divers biais d’échantillonnage qui rendent presque impossible le calcul exact du taux de survie des nouveau-nés et des juvéniles. Les estimations du taux de survie des adultes donnent des valeurs de 0,90 ou plus. Dans les classes d’âge supérieures, les risques d’inexactitude s’accroissent en raison de l’usure des dents, qui entraîne une sous-estimation de l’âge. Il est rarement possible d’établir une estimation indépendante du taux instantané d’accroissement d’une population de bélugas, de sorte qu’il est difficile d’obtenir une estimation exacte des taux de survie (Caughley et Birch, 1971).

On peut aussi tenter d’obtenir les taux de mortalité à partir de la structure par âge des carcasses d’animaux non chassés qui sont récupérées, mais cette méthode comporte elle aussi certains biais d’échantillonnage. Les problèmes associés à l’estimation des taux de mortalité dans les populations de bélugas vivants (Martineau et al., 2002a) proviennent du manque de représentativité des carcasses pour ce qui est des structures par âge (Theriault et al., 2002). De plus, lorsque les taux obtenus sont comparés à ceux d’autres populations de bélugas, les comparaisons sont invalides en grande partie parce que les structures par âge ne sont pas toutes établies à l’aide de la même méthode d’échantillonnage (Hammill et al., 2003).

À la lumière d’autres renseignements recueillis dans des populations semblables d’odontocètes (Smith, 1999) et d’une quantité limitée de données provenant de recensements aériens répétés (Kingsley, 1998), il est estimé que les populations de bélugas non exploitées dont l’effectif n’excède pas la capacité de charge du milieu pourraient s’accroître à un rythme de 2,5 à 3,5 % par année.


Alimentation et nutrition

C’est lorsqu’il regagne son habitat estuarien d’été que le béluga a la masse adipeuse la plus faible (Doidge, 1990b). À la fin de l’été, il semble commencer à se nourrir de façon intense, souvent dans des eaux profondes quelque peu éloignées de son lieu d’estivage (Smith et Martin, 1994; Richard et al., 2001a et b). Bien que nous ne possédions pour l’instant aucune donnée directe sur les espèces qui lui servent de proie, nous savons que la morue polaire, Boreogadus saida, fréquente elle aussi les eaux profondes de ces secteurs (Bradstreet et al., 1986; Welch et al., 1993). Au début de l’automne, on peut apercevoir occasionnellement dans les eaux de surface de fortes concentrations de morues polaires qui représentent d’importantes sources de nourriture possibles pour les bélugas et d’autres mammifères marins et oiseaux de l’Arctique (Finley et al., 1990; Welch et al., 1993). Selon les Inuits d’Arctic Bay et de la baie Cumberland, les bélugas font également une consommation intense de flétan noir, Reinhardtius hyppoglossoides, à la lisière de la banquise (Stewart et al., 1995; Kilabuk, 1998). Dans la mer de Beaufort, ils se nourrissent d’espèces variées de poissons (Byers et Roberts, 1995), et, ailleurs dans l’Arctique, ils consomment du capelan (Mallotus villosus) et du navaga jaune (Eleginus novaga). Dans la plupart des régions, l’estomac des bélugas contient souvent des invertébrés (Vladykov, 1946; Seaman et al., 1982; Sergeant, 1962 et 1973; Watts et Draper, 1986).

Jusqu’à présent, les études scientifiques ne révèlent aucune variation interannuelle de l’état corporel ou nutritionnel des bélugas sauvages capturés par les chasseurs. Toutefois, dans la baie Cumberland, les chasseurs inuits remarquent que les bélugas paraissent plus maigres que par le passé. Ils expliquent ce phénomène par l’énergie supplémentaire que doivent dépenser les cétacés pour éviter le nombre croissant de navires (Kilabuk, 1998). Aucune étude détaillée n’a encore été réalisée sur le bilan énergétique des bélugas à l’état sauvage.


Comportement et adaptabilité

Le béluga est vulnérable à la prédation, à la surchasse et à d’autres menaces anthropiques, en raison de sa forte philopatrie pour certains estuaires. Il fréquente ces zones en été pour muer, pour éviter ses prédateurs ou pour se nourrir. Il se peut aussi que l’eau douce moins froide facilite la chute du stratum externum mort et qu’elle accélère la croissance des cellules de l’épiderme (St.-Aubin et al., 1990). Par le passé, plusieurs chercheurs ont cru que les estuaires procuraient des bienfaits thermiques aux nouveau‑nés et qu’ils servaient de lieux de mise bas (Sergeant, 1973; Fraker et al., 1979), mais ces théories ont été contredites par diverses études sur le comportement du béluga dans les estuaires (Finley, 1982; Smith et al., 1994) et par des analyses de la capacité isolante de l’épiderme des nouveau-nés (Doidge, 1990b). Dans certaines régions, il se pourrait que les estuaires servent de lieux d’alimentation et qu’ils procurent au béluga un refuge contre les prédateurs tels que l’épaulard (Brodie, 1971).

Les bélugas continuent, avec une ténacité extrême, à occuper leurs lieux de rassemblement traditionnels en dépit de perturbations répétées et des menaces qui pèsent sur leur survie (Caron et Smith, 1990). Par le passé, les campagnes de chasse commerciales, qui ont permis de capturer un grand nombre de bélugas dans des secteurs tels que l’estuaire de la Mucalic, dans la baie d’Ungava (Finley et al., 1982; Reeves et Mitchell, 1989), et la Grande rivière de la Baleine, dans l’est de la baie d’Hudson (Francis, 1977; Reeves et Mitchell, 1987), ont vraisemblablement exterminé des populations entières. Les Inuits de la baie d’Ungava, du détroit d’Hudson et de l’est de la baie d’Hudson mentionnent tous qu’un grand nombre de petits estuaires autrefois fréquentés par les bélugas sont aujourd’hui presque désertés par l’espèce. Les Inuits s’entendent généralement pour dire que le bruit accru des moteurs hors-bord en est la cause première et que c’est ce qui a poussé les bélugas à s’éloigner vers le large (Doidge et al., 2002; Lee et al., 2002). Dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, la plus méridionale des populations de bélugas vit dans une voie maritime très fréquentée. Son aire de répartition a été considérablement réduite, et les individus qui subsistent demeurent exposés à des menaces anthropiques, telles que l’accroissement du bruit (Lesage, 1993; Lesage et al., 1999), la perte d’habitat et la pollution (Béland et al., 1993).

En automne, les bélugas quittent leurs lieux d’estivage pour entreprendre une longue migration vers leurs lieux d’hivernage. Souvent, ces derniers sont fréquentés par plus d’une population, mais on ne connaît que peu de choses sur le comportement et la répartition géographique des bélugas pendant cette période de l’année. On sait cependant que l’accouplement a lieu dans les aires d’hivernage.