Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Beluga Whale in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Belugas are circumpolar in their distribution, being found in Alaskan, Canadian, Greenlandic, Norwegian and Russian waters. They are found in the Arctic as far north as 82°N, in the Pacific sub-Arctic, as far south as Cook Inlet, Alaska (60°N), and, on the Atlantic side, in the Canadian St. Lawrence Estuary further south to 47°N.

Sixteen populations of beluga whale were previously tentatively enumerated for the world-wide range in the Nearctic, based primarily on geographic distribution during the summer months (Donovan 1992). More recently, and in light of behavioural, genetic and contaminant signatures a total of 22 possible populations have been enumerated (Martin and Reeves 2000).

Many of these populations, which maintain distinct or contiguous geographical ranges during the summer months, mix together during the spring and autumn migrations and share common wintering quarters in areas of light ice or in reoccurring polynyas.


Canadian Range

Considerable new information on the range of several of the seven previously designated Canadian beluga populations (Fig. 2) has been gained in recent years by the tagging of animals with satellite linked transmitters and from more intensive aerial surveys. The documentation of traditional knowledge of Inuit hunters (ATK) also has added to the information of movements and migrations of these populations.


St. Lawrence Estuary Population

This is centred on the region influenced by the outflow of the Saguenay River.  The summer distribution is well known and has changed little in the last twenty years (Michaud et al. 1990, Michaud 1993, Lesage and Kingsley 1995) (Fig. 4). Recent aerial surveys have enumerated belugas in the whole of their summer range (Kingsley and Hammill 1991, Kingsley 1996, Kingsley 1998, Michaud and Chaderet 1990, Gosselin et al. 2001). No significant numbers are reported downstream past Île du Bic or upstream past Île aux Coudres (Reeves and Mitchell 1984).

Little is known of the winter distribution of St. Lawrence belugas. There appears to be a slight increase in the use of the areas a little further downstream during the winter months (Kingsley 1998).


Figure 4: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the St. Lawrence Estuary Population of Belugas

Figure 4: Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the St. Lawrence Estuary population of belugas.

Sporadic sightings of belugas have been reported outside the main range i.e., from Cap Gaspé to the Bay of Fundy, but these are considered to be vagrants.

St. Lawrence Estuary belugas now occupy only a small part of their former range, which extended further downstream to Pointe des Monts and Cap Chats and upstream well past Île aux Coudes (Vladykov 1944, Reeves and Mitchell 1984). It has been speculated that there might have been two populations of belugas in the St. Lawrence, one centred on the Saguenay River and the other on the Manicouagan River (Kingsley 2002). The latter was heavily exploited (Laurin 1982) and the damming of the river might have resulted in the disappearance of this population.


Ungava Bay Population

Aerial surveys were flown in 1985 (Smith and Hammill 1986), 1993 (Kingsley 2000), and in 2001 (Gosselin et al. 2002) along the same transect lines covering 25% of Ungava Bay (Fig. 5). No belugas were seen on any of the transect lines across the Bay in an east-west direction.


Figure 5: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the Ungava Bay Population of Belugas

Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the Ungava Bay population of belugas.


During the same surveys, reconnaissance flights along the shorelines covering estuaries of former known beluga aggregations, such as the Mucalic River, also faÎled to find more than a few belugas. In 1986, a small group of scientists occupied an observation site at the mouth of the Mucalic River, and intensively studied the area from a tower for 18 days during the period of July 18 to August 7, 1986. Only 12 belugas were seen during this whole period, the largest group being of 8 whales (T.G. Smith, E.M.C. Eco Marine Corp. unpubl. observations,1986).

Little is directly known of the seasonal movements of belugas in Ungava Bay. Belugas of several populations spend the winter in the Hudson Strait area, which is contiguous with northern Ungava Bay. Some of the early spring and late fall belugas taken in Ungava Bay are probably from this mixed population (de March and Postma 2003).

The Inuit of Ungava Bay report seeing beluga moving north as the ice edge recedes in the spring. In the autumn belugas are observed moving south, but offshore. There is general agreement that these belugas have declined in numbers, being rarely seen in areas of former aggregation near rivers (Lee et al. 2002).


Eastern Hudson Bay Population

Three major aerial surveys (Smith and Hammill 1986, Kingsley 2000, Gosselin et al. 2002) have shown that belugas are found in the inshore and offshore areas of the Nastapoka Arc, from Inukjuak to Kuujjuaraapik during the summer months (Fig. 6). They are found as far offshore as the Belcher Islands (Sanikiluaq). The Nastapoka River and Little Whale River are the main areas of estuarine concentration, being frequented by belugas from mid-July to the end of August (Caron and Smith 1990, Doidge 1994, Doidge and Lesage 2001).

A certain amount of direct scientific data exists on seasonal movements from satellite-linked tags. Four animals tagged in 1993 at the Little Whale River, stayed in the area of the Nastapoka well into late September, when their signals were lost (Kingsley et al. 2001). None of the animals went into the area of the Belcher Islands. One beluga tagged in Hudson Strait in early October 1995 remained in deep water and gradually moved to the east until its signals were lost one month later (Kingsley et al. 2001). Recently 7 belugas tagged in Eastern Hudson Bay were followed from July 2002 to January 2003. Most of the animals left Eastern Hudson Bay by October and went into Ungava Bay, remaining there until December. The last locations for two tagged animals in January were near Nain, Labrador (Lewis et al. 2003). At least some of the belugas found off northern Labrador in the winter and spring may be from this population (Brice-Bennett 1978).

There is agreement amongst the Inuit of communities along the Hudson Strait and Eastern Hudson Bay coast that many of the rivers formerly frequented are no longer used by belugas. Most feel that noise has caused them to shift offshore. Two elderly Inuit from Inukjuak mention that one stock of belugas, which spent the summer months north of their village, has been decimated (Doidge et al. 2002).


Figure 6: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the Eastern Hudson Bay Population of Belugas

Figure 6: Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the Eastern Hudson Bay population of belugas.

Modified from DFO 2002b.


Western Hudson Bay Population

Belugas aggregate in the Churchill, Nelson and Seal River estuaries on the south-west coast of Hudson Bay arriving in the area in mid-June and building in numbers in the estuaries until late July. They then begin moving northward along the coast as far as Repulse Bay (Sergeant 1973) (Fig. 7). The exact timing and route used by belugas in these autumn migrations is not yet known. Recent work using satellite-linked radio tags show that belugas of the Churchill estuary spend the whole of the summer months in shallow coastal waters. In early September, an easterly migration begins, which is marked by diving in deep water (Martin et al. 2001). All four tags ceased functioning by late September and thus yielded no information about late autumn migration routes, which ultimately probably lead into Hudson Strait, and perhaps to the Labrador coast (see Brice-Bennett 1978).


Figure 7: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the Western Hudson Bay Population of Belugas


Figure 7: Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the Western Hudson Baypopulation of belugas.

Modified from DFO 2002b.

The Inuit of Hudson Bay have long known the timing and coastal routes of belugas, which live during the winter in Hudson Strait and enter Eastern Hudson Bay, James Bay and western Hudson Bay to spend the summer. In addition to these populations, Inuit believe that there are one or two other populations that remain in both southern Hudson Bay and James Bay, and perhaps in the northwestern Hudson Bay area throughout the winter (Jonkel 1969, McDonald et al. 2002).


Eastern High Arctic – Baffin Bay Population

Aerial surveys indicated that a small number of belugas were present in March north of Baffin Bay in the area of the North Water polynya (Finley and Renaud 1980, Stirling 1980, Richard et al. 1998a). From 1987-2000, studies of the movements of tagged belugas showed that most belugas tagged in summer in the High Arctic archipelago remained in the High Arctic – North Water polynya area, at least until the tags stopped transmitting in early winter (Richard et al. 2001a; Fig. 8).


Figure 8: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the Eastern High Arctic –Baffin Bay Population of Belugas

Figure 8: Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the Eastern High Arctic –Baffin Bay population of belugas.

Modified from DFO 2002b.

 

Baffin Island hunters note the gradual disappearance of belugas as the ice forms along the coastline. On northeast Baffin belugas appear to be moving to the east at that time. The Inuit living in Grise Fiord on Ellesmere Island are the only group of hunters who sight belugas throughout the winter along the floe edges of Jones Sound. In the spring belugas make their way into the hunting areas along east and north Baffin as the fast ice is broken up (Remnant and Thomas 1992, Stewart et al. 1995, Stewart 2001).

The presence of belugas during the winter along the West Greenland coast has long been known (Degerbøl and Nielsen 1930) and they have been the target of continuing subsistence hunting by the Inuit of that area (Thomsen 1993). A recent telemetry study of belugas tagged during the summer in one major summering area, Creswell Bay on Somerset Island, indicates that belugas from this area, are part of the population that goes to West Greenland in the winter. Heide-Jørgensen et al. (2003) have estimated from this study that approximately 15% of the belugas spending their summer in the High Arctic move to West Greenland in the winter.

Aerial surveys in 1998-1999 have been done during the winter along the West Greenland coastline between Qeqertarsuaq (69º30’N) and Paamiut (62º00 N) some extending as far as 80 km west off the coast (Heide-Jørgensen and Aquarone 2002). Previous similar surveys were flown in this area in 1981-1982 and 1993-1994 (Heide-Jørgensen and Reeves 1996). The pattern of winter distribution of belugas in all surveys since 1981 along the West Greenland coast has remained fairly constant. Most animals are sighted within 50 km of the coast. The greatest number of sightings were made in the northern strata, particularly on the northern edge of Store Hellfiske Banke, where the coastal shelf ends and where there is the edge of the dense pack-ice covering Disko Bay (Heide-Jørgensen and Aquarone 2002). In southern areas, between Maniitsoq and Paamiut ( 65º N to 62º N ), the distribution of belugas appears to be similar between survey years (Heide-Jørgensen and Reeves 1996).

In Western Greenland, belugas appear in late fall, and spend the winter in a large area of pack ice and open water from Disko Bay to Upernavik. Belugas are hunted mainly on their southward migration in late October or during their northward return in May – June (Thomsen 1993).


Cumberland Sound Population

Aerial surveys in Cumberland Sound and along the south-east Baffin coast, have shown that the major summer aggregation of belugas is limited to the Clearwater Fiord area where they occupy the estuary of the Ranger River from mid-July to mid-September. Previous studies speculated that some belugas seen in areas as far distant as Frobisher Bay and along the coast near Kimmirut during the summer months came from Cumberland Sound, which at that time was designated the South East Baffin population (Richard and Orr 1986). More recent aerial surveys and tagging of belugas with VHF satellite linked transmitters suggest that belugas remain in the Cumberland Sound area throughout the year (P. Richard, DFO, Winnipeg, pers. com.) (Fig. 9).


Figure 9: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the Cumberland Sound Population of Belugas

Figure 9: Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the Cumberland Sound population of belugas.

Modified from DFO 2002b.

Inuit of Cumberland Sound report that belugas spend less time on their migration into Clearwater Fiord than previously. They relate this to the increased disturbance by motorboat traffic. They also feel that belugas leave Clearwater Fiord earlier in the season than in the past (Kilabuk 1998).


Eastern Beaufort Sea Population

Belugas are known to aggregate in the Mackenzie River Estuary during July but are also found dispersed in the adjacent offshore areas (Fraker et al. 1979, Harwood et al. 1996, Richard et al. 2001b). In late July they begin to disperse toward the east, mainly into the Amundsen Gulf and further north (Fig. 10). During two years of satellite tagging studies, 11 of 14 male belugas, but none of the 9 tagged females, traveled to distant Viscount Melville Sound, and penetrated an area of 9/10 ice cover as far east as Stefansson Island (DFO 2000). In September all the tagged belugas migrated westward to the western Chukchi Sea and more continued to the Bering Strait area. All tags had stopped transmitting by late November.


Figure 10: Extent of Occurrence (Area of Extent) and Summer Core Area of the Eastern Beaufort Sea Population of Belugas

Figure 10: Extent of occurrence (area of extent) and summer core area of the Eastern Beaufort Sea population of belugas.

Modified from DFO 2002b).

The Inuvialuit report that the first belugas to be seen in the late winter-early spring are often sighted in the open-water ice shear zone, off the west coast of Banks Island. Depending on ice conditions they may first appear near Herschel Island in late April or early May. Belugas come to the shallow waters of the Mackenzie Delta in June to early July. They spend some time in the delta, and then disperse offshore to appear in Darnley Bay and in the Amundsen Gulf. Migrations begin towards the west in late August to early September (Byers and Roberts 1995).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Béluga au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Les bélugas sont disséminés dans la région circumpolaire et occupent les eaux de l’Alaska, du Canada, du Groenland, de la Norvège et de la Russie. Dans l’Arctique, leur aire de répartition s’étend au nord jusqu’au 82e parallèle; dans la région sub-arctique de l’océan Pacifique, elle descend au sud jusqu’au 60e parallèle, au golfe de  Cook, en Alaska, et, du côté de l’Atlantique, elle s’étend encore plus au sud, jusqu’au 47e parallèle, dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

Au départ, les chercheurs ont provisoirement différencié 16 populations de bélugas dans la région néarctique à l’échelle mondiale, en employant comme critère principal la répartition géographique des animaux pendant les mois d’été (Donovan, 1992). Plus récemment, à la lumière de nouvelles données sur le comportement du béluga, sur ses caractéristiques génétiques et sur la signature des contaminants, ce chiffre a été augmenté à 22 (Martin et Reeves, 2000).

Bon nombre de ces populations, qui ont des territoires géographiques distincts ou contigus en été, se mélangent pendant la migration du printemps et de l’automne et partagent leurs lieux d’hivernage dans des secteurs peu englacés ou dans des polynies récurrentes.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Ces dernières années, on a recueilli de nombreuses données nouvelles sur l’aire de répartition de plusieurs des sept populations canadiennes désignées antérieurement (figure 2) en posant sur les animaux des émetteurs reliés à un satellite et en effectuant des recensements aériens plus détaillés. En outre, les renseignements recueillis auprès des chasseurs inuits sont venus augmenter le volume d’information dont disposaient les scientifiques sur les déplacements et les migrations de ces populations.


Figure 3 : Fréquence des haplotypes d’ADNmt chez le béluga dans 12 régions de l’Amérique du Nord et dans l’ouest du Groenland

Figure 3 : Fréquence des haplotypes d’ADNmt chez le béluga dans 12 régions de l’Amérique du Nord et dans l’ouest du Groenland. La dimension des diagrammes circulaires est proportionnelle à la taille des échantillons.

La dimension des diagrammes circulaires est proportionnelle à la taille des échantillons (tiré de De March et al., 2002, p. 25, figure 2).


Population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Cette population est concentrée dans la partie du fleuve qui subit l’influence des eaux du Saguenay. L’aire d’estivage est bien délimitée et a peu changé dans les 20 dernières années (Michaud et al., 1990; Michaud, 1993; Lesage et Kingsley, 1995) (figure 4). De récents recensements aériens ont permis de dénombrer les bélugas dans tout le territoire estival (Kingsley et Hammill, 1991; Kingsley, 1996; Kingsley, 1998; Michaud et Chaderet, 1990; Gosselin et al., 2001). Les bélugas sont presque inexistants en aval de l’île du Bic et en amont de l’île aux Coudres (Reeves et Mitchell, 1984).


Figure 4 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Figure 4 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint‑Laurent.

Des bélugas sont aperçus sporadiquement à l’extérieur de l’aire de répartition principale, notamment du cap Gaspé à la baie de Fundy, mais ils sont considérés comme des animaux errants.

On sait peu de choses sur l’aire d’hivernage des bélugas du Saint-Laurent. Il semble y avoir une légère augmentation du nombre de bêtes qui fréquentent les secteurs situés un peu plus loin en aval pendant les mois d’hiver (Kingsley, 1998).

Les bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent n’occupent plus qu’une petite partie de leur ancien territoire, qui s’étendait en aval jusqu’à Pointe-des-Monts et Cap-Chat et en amont bien au-delà de l’île aux Coudres (Vladykov, 1944; Reeves et Mitchell, 1984).  Kingsley (2002) a émis l’hypothèse qu’il y aurait peut-être eu deux populations distinctes de bélugas dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, l’une concentrée à l’embouchure du Saguenay et l’autre à l’embouchure de la Manicouagan (Kingsley, 2002). Cette dernière population a fait l’objet d’une chasse intensive (Laurin, 1982), et il se peut que le harnachement de la rivière ait entraîné sa disparition.


Population de la baie d’Ungava

Des recensements aériens ont été effectués en 1985 (Smith et Hammill, 1986), en 1993 (Kingsley, 2000) et en 2001 (Gosselin et al., 2002) le long des mêmes lignes de transect couvrant 25 % de la baie d’Ungava (figure 5). Aucun béluga n’a été aperçu sur ces lignes de transect traversant la baie d’est en ouest.


Figure 5 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de la baie d’Ungava

Figure 5 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de la baie d’Ungava.

 


Pendant les mêmes recensements, dans le cadre de vols de reconnaissance effectués au-dessus des estuaires autrefois fréquentés par des troupeaux de bélugas, tels que celui de la rivière Mucalic, les chercheurs n’ont repéré que seulement quelques bélugas. En 1986, un petit groupe de scientifiques installé à l’embouchure de la rivière Mucalic a étudié intensivement la région depuis une tour pendant 18 jours, du 18 juillet au 7 août. Seuls 12 individus ont été aperçus pendant cette période, le groupe le plus nombreux comptant 8 bélugas (T.G. Smith, E.M.C. Eco Marine Corp., observations inédites,1986).

Les chercheurs possèdent peu de données directes sur les déplacements saisonniers des bélugas dans la baie d’Ungava. Des animaux appartenant à plusieurs populations différentes hivernent dans la région du détroit d’Hudson, qui rejoint l’extrémité nord de la baie d’Ungava. Certains bélugas abattus au début du printemps et à la fin de l’automne dans la baie d’Ungava sont probablement issus de cette population mélangée (de March et Postma, 2003).

Les Inuits de la baie d’Ungava signalent la présence de bélugas qui se déplacent vers le nord lorsque la banquise recule au printemps. À l’automne, ils observent des bélugas qui se déplacent vers le sud, mais au large des côtes. On s’entend généralement pour dire que ces bélugas sont aujourd’hui moins nombreux, étant rarement aperçus aux environs des rivières où ils avaient autrefois l’habitude de se rassembler (Lee et al., 2002).


Population de l’est de la baie d’Hudson

Trois grands recensements aériens (Smith et Hammill, 1986; Kingsley, 2000; Gosselin et al., 2002) témoignent du fait que les bélugas fréquentent les zones côtières et extracôtières de l’arc des îles Nastapoka, d’Inukjuak à Kuujjuarapik, pendant les mois d’été (figure 6). On en aperçoit également au large jusqu’aux îles Belcher (Sanikiluaq). Les estuaires de la rivière Nastapoka et de la Petite rivière de la Baleine sont les principaux lieux d’estivage, et ils sont fréquentés par les bélugas de la mi‑juillet à la fin d’août (Caron et Smith, 1990; Doidge, 1994, Doidge et Lesage, 2001).


Figure 6 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’est de la baie d’Hudson

Figure 6. Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’est de la baie d’Hudson (données modifiées par rapport à celles du MPO, 2002b).

 

Données modifiées par rapport à celles du MPO, 2002b.

Le pistage satellitaire a fourni un certain volume de données scientifiques directes sur les déplacements saisonniers des bélugas. Quatre animaux marqués en 1993 dans la Petite rivière de la Baleine sont demeurés dans le secteur de Nastapoka jusqu’à la fin de septembre, époque où leurs signaux ont été perdus (Kingsley et al., 2001). Aucun des animaux ne s’est rendu dans la région des îles Belcher. Un individu marqué dans le détroit d’Hudson au début d’octobre 1995 est demeuré en eau profonde et s’est graduellement déplacé vers l’est jusqu’à ce que les chercheurs perdent ses signaux un mois plus tard (Kingsley et al., 2001). De juillet 2002 à janvier 2003, on a pu suivre les déplacements de sept bélugas marqués dans l’est de la baie d’Hudson. La plupart d’entre eux avaient quitté l’est de la baie d’Hudson en octobre et s’étaient rendus jusque dans la baie d’Ungava, pour y rester jusqu’en décembre. En janvier, deux d’entre eux se trouvaient dans la région de Nain, au Labrador (Lewis et al., 2003), leur dernier emplacement connu. Au moins quelques-uns des bélugas observés près de la côte nord du Labrador en hiver et au printemps seraient issus de cette population (Brice-Bennett, 1978).

Les Inuits des collectivités qui bordent le détroit d’Hudson et la côte est de la baie d’Hudson s’accordent pour dire que les bélugas ont déserté un grand nombre des rivières qui leur servaient autrefois d’habitat. La plupart d’entre eux estiment que c’est le bruit qui a poussé les cétacés à quitter la côte pour les zones extracôtières. Deux personnes âgées d’Inukjuak mentionnent qu’un stock de bélugas qui passait les mois d’été au nord de leur village a été décimé (Doidge et al., 2002).


Population de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson

Les bélugas se rassemblent dans les estuaires du Churchill, du Nelson et de la Seal sur la côte sud-ouest de la baie d’Hudson. Ils y arrivent à la mi-juin et leur nombre augmente jusqu’à la fin de juillet, après quoi ils commencent à se déplacer vers le nord le long de la côte jusqu’à la baie Repulse (Sergeant, 1973) (figure 7). La période exacte de cette migration d’automne et le parcours emprunté demeurent pour l’instant inconnus. De récents travaux de pistage télémétrique satellitaire montrent que les bélugas de l’estuaire du Churchill passent tout l’été dans les eaux peu profondes de la côte. Au début de septembre, ils entament une migration vers l’est pendant laquelle ils effectuent des plongées en eau profonde (Martin et al., 2001). Les quatre émetteurs ont cessé de fonctionner à la fin de septembre et n’ont donc fourni aucune information sur les voies migratoires empruntées à la fin de l’automne. Ce parcours les amène probablement au détroit d’Hudson et peut‑être aussi sur la côte du Labrador (voir Brice-Bennett, 1978).


Figure 7 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson

Figure 7 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson.

Données modifiées par rapport à celles du MPO, 2002b).

Les Inuits de la baie d’Hudson connaissent depuis longtemps la période de migration et les parcours côtiers des bélugas, qui hivernent dans le détroit d’Hudson avant de pénétrer dans la partie est de la baie d’Hudson, la baie James et l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson pour les mois d’été. Les Inuits sont d’avis qu’une ou deux autres populations passent l’hiver dans la partie sud de la baie d’Hudson et la baie James, et peut-être la partie nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson (Jonkel, 1969; McDonald et al., 2002).


Population de l’est du haut Arctique et de la baie de Baffin

En mars, les recensements aériens ont révélé qu’un petit nombre de bélugas se trouvaient au nord de la baie de Baffin, dans le secteur de la polynie des eaux du Nord (Finley et Renaud, 1980; Stirling, 1980; Richard et al., 1998a). De 1987 à 2000, les études sur les déplacements des bélugas marqués ont montré que la plupart des individus pourvus d’émetteurs en été dans l’archipel du haut Arctique n’ont pas quitté la région du haut Arctique et de la polynie des eaux du Nord, du moins jusqu’à ce que les émetteurs cessent de transmettre des signaux au début de l’hiver (Richard et al., 2001a; figure 8).


Figure 8 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’est du haut Arctique et de la baie de Baffin

Figure 8 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’est du haut Arctique et de la baie de Baffin.

Données modifiées par rapport à celles du MPO, 2002b.

Les chasseurs de l’île de Baffin constatent le départ graduel des bélugas à mesure que les glaces se forment le long des côtes. Du côté nord-est de l’île, les bélugas semblent se déplacer vers l’est à cette même époque. Les Inuits de Grise Fiord, dans l’île d’Ellesmere, sont le seul groupe de chasseurs qui aperçoivent des bélugas tout au long de l’hiver à la lisière de la banquise du détroit de Jones. Au printemps, dès la rupture des glaces, les bélugas se frayent un passage dans les territoires de chasse le long de la côte est et de la côte nord de l’île de Baffin (Remnant et Thomas, 1992; Stewart et al., 1995; Stewart, 2001).

On sait depuis longtemps que certains bélugas passent l’hiver sur la côte ouest du Groenland (Degerbøl et Nielsen, 1930), et les Inuits de la région en font toujours une chasse de subsistance (Thomsen, 1993). Selon les résultats d’une récente étude de pistage télémétrique dans une importante zone d’estivage (la baie Creswell, dans l’île Somerset), les bélugas de ce secteur feraient partie de la population qui migre sur la côte ouest du Groenland en hiver. Heide-Jørgensen et al. (2003) estiment, à la lumière de cette étude, qu’environ 15 % des bélugas qui estivent dans le haut Arctique se rendent sur la côte ouest du Groenland pour l’hiver.

Pendant l’hiver 1998-1999, des recensements aériens ont été réalisés le long du littoral ouest du Groenland entre Qeqertarsuaq (69º 30’ N) et Paamiut (62º 00’ N), certains jusqu’à 80 km au large des côtes (Heide-Jørgensen et Aquarone, 2002).  D’autres recensements aériens semblables ont été effectués dans ce même secteur en 1981‑1982 et en 1993-1994 (Heide-Jørgensen et Reeves, 1996). Dans tous les recensements réalisés depuis 1981 le long de la côte ouest du Groenland, le profil de répartition hivernale des bélugas est demeuré relativement constant. La plupart des animaux sont aperçus à moins de 50 km de la côte. C’est dans la strate nord que le plus grand nombre d’animaux ont été observés, en particulier à l’extrémité nord du Store Hellfiske Banke, qui marque la limite de la plateforme continentale et de la banquise dense qui couvre la baie Disko (Heide-Jørgensen et Aquarone, 2002). Dans les régions situées plus au sud, entre Maniitsoq et Paamiut (de 65º N à 62º N), le profil de répartition des bélugas semble demeurer inchangé d’un recensement à l’autre (Heide-Jørgensen et Reeves, 1996).

Les bélugas apparaissent sur la côte ouest du Groenland à la fin de l’automne, et ils passent l’hiver dans une vaste étendue de banquise et d’eaux libres entre la baie Disko et Upernavik. La chasse a lieu principalement pendant la migration des bélugas vers le sud, à la fin d’octobre, ou pendant leur retour vers le nord, en mai et en juin (Thomsen, 1993).


Population de la baie Cumberland

Les recensements aériens effectués dans la baie Cumberland et le long de la côte sud-est de l’île de Baffin montrent que la majeure partie des bélugas estivent au fjord Clearwater, où ils occupent l’estuaire de la rivière Ranger de la mi-juillet à la mi‑septembre. Des études antérieures ont amené certains chercheurs à présumer que certains bélugas aperçus dans des régions éloignées comme la baie Frobisher et les environs de Kimmirut pendant les mois d’été venaient de la baie Cumberland; ce groupe portait alors le nom de population du sud-est de l’île de Baffin (Richard et Orr, 1986). Toutefois, des recensements aériens plus récents et des études de pistage télémétrique donnent à penser que les bélugas demeurent dans la baie Cumberland à longueur d’année (P. Richard, MPO, Winnipeg, comm. pers.) (figure 9).


Figure 9 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de la baie Cumberland

Figure 9 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de la baie Cumberland.

Données modifiées par rapport à celles du MPO, 2002b.

Les Inuits de la baie Cumberland signalent que les bélugas passent moins de temps dans le fjord Clearwater qu’auparavant. Ils attribuent ce phénomène aux perturbations accrues causées par les bateaux à moteur. Les Inuits croient aussi que les bélugas quittent le fjord plus tôt dans la saison que par le passé (Kilabuk, 1998).


Population de l’est de la mer de Beaufort

On sait que les bélugas se rassemblent dans l’estuaire du fleuve Mackenzie en juillet, mais qu’ils se disséminent aussi dans les zones extracôtières adjacentes (Fraker et al., 1979; Harwood et al., 1996; Richard et al., 2001b). À la fin de juillet, ils commencent à se disperser vers l’est, principalement dans le golfe d’Amundsen et plus au nord (figure 10). Pendant deux années d’études télémétriques satellitaires, 11 des 14 mâles marqués ont parcouru de longues distances pour se rendre jusqu’au détroit du Vicomte de Melville, et ils ont poursuivi leur route vers l’est jusqu’à l’île Stefansson, dans un secteur où la concentration des glaces était de 9/10 (MPO, 2000). Aucune des neuf femelles marquées n’a effectué ce parcours. En septembre, les bélugas marqués se sont tous déplacés vers l’ouest jusque dans l’ouest de la mer des Tchouktches, et certains ont poursuivi leur migration jusqu’au détroit de Béring. À la fin de novembre, toutes les marques télémétriques avaient cessé d’émettre des signaux.


Figure 10 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’est de la mer de Beaufort

Figure 10 : Zone d’occurrence et aire d’estivage principale de la population de bélugas de l’est de la mer de Beaufort.

Données modifiées par rapport à celles du MPO, 2002b.

Les Inuvialuits signalent que, à la fin de l’hiver et au début du printemps, ils aperçoivent souvent les premiers bélugas dans la zone de cisaillement des glaces, au large de la côte ouest de l’île Banks. Selon l’état des glaces, il arrive qu’ils se rendent d’abord près de l’île Herschel à la fin d’avril ou au début de mai. Les bélugas pénètrent dans les eaux peu profondes du delta du Mackenzie en juin ou au début de juillet. Ils passent un certain temps dans le delta, puis se dispersent au large pour réapparaître dans la baie Darnley et dans le golfe d’Amundsen. La migration vers l’ouest commence à la fin d’août ou au début de septembre (Byers et Roberts, 1995).