Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Morrison Creek Lamprey

Appendix I - Record of Cooperation andConsultation

Morrison Creek lamprey is listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and as an aquatic species are under federal jurisdiction and managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO): 200 - 401 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC.

To assist in the development of an initial draft of this Recovery Strategy, as well as those for other listed freshwater fishes in British Columbia, DFO in cooperation with the Province of BC assembled a group of experts from various levels of government, academia, consultants, and non-governmental organizations to form the Pacific Region Non-Game Freshwater Fish Recovery Team. This team, co-chaired by DFO and the Province of BC, is responsible for drafting recovery strategies for Pacific Region freshwater fish species listed under SARA, including Morrison Creek lamprey.

Public and stakeholder consultation on the draft Recovery Strategy was provided through a Community Dialogue Session. Invitations were sent to 20 stakeholder groups related to Morrison Creek and area, including provincial and local government, conservations groups, and industry. Notices announcing the session were also placed in six local newspapers. The Community Dialogue Session, consisting of a presentation and discussion on the proposed Recovery Strategy for Morrison Creek lamprey, was held in Courtenay in May 2006, with 15 attendees. Comments from the session were recorded and archived.

First Nations input on the proposed Recovery Strategy was sought through an information exchange session with the Hamatla Treaty Society, which represents local bands near Morrison Creek, including the Comox, Campbell River, Cape Mudge, and Kwiakah First Nations. The session, consisting of a presentation and discussion on the proposed Recovery Strategy for Morrison Creek lamprey, was held in Vancouver in May 2006, with two representatives of the Hamatla Treaty Society. Dialogue from the information exchange was recorded and archived.

Additional input on the draft Recovery Strategy was sought through a discussion guide and feedback form available on the internet (May – June 2006). Two responses were received, from Hancock Forest Management and the Morrison Creek Streamkeepers. Input from the Province of BC was received through recovery team participation. An external peer review was conducted by Dr. Margaret Docker of the University of Manitoba. All feedback received was considered in the finalization of the Recovery Strategy.

Recovery Team:
NameFunctions or association
Jordan RosenfeldBritish Columbia Ministry of Environment (Co-chair)
Dan SneepFisheries & Oceans Canada (Co-chair)
Todd HatfieldSolander Ecological Research (Coordinator)
Dick BeamishFisheries & Oceans Canada
Don McPhailUniversity of British Columbia
John RichardsonUniversity of British Columbia
Dolph SchluterUniversity of British Columbia
Eric TaylorUniversity of British Columbia
JimPalmerMorrison Creek Streamkeepers
External Review: Dr. Margaret DockerUniversity of Manitoba
Page 10

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison

Annexe 1 – Coopération et consultation

La lamproie du ruisseau Morrison est inscrite à l’Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et, en tant qu’espèce aquatique, elle relève de la compétence fédérale et est administrée par le ministère des Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), 200 – 401, rue Burrard, Vancouver, C.-B.

Pour nous aider dans la rédaction d’un projet initial de la présente Stratégie de rétablissement, ainsi que les autres espèces d’eau douce de la Colombie-Britannique, le MPO en collaboration avec la Province de la Colombie-Britannique ont assemblé un groupe d’experts de divers niveaux provenant du gouvernement, des universités, des consultants et des organisations non gouvernementales pour former l’Équipe de rétablissement du poisson d’eau douce non pêché de la région du Pacifique. Coprésidée par le MPO et la province de la C.-B., cette équipe est responsable de rédiger la stratégie de rétablissement pour les poissons d’eau douce de la région du Pacifique inscrites sur la liste de la LEP, y compris la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison.

La consultation du public et des parties intéressées au projet de Stratégie de rétablissement a été effectuée par l’entremise de séances de dialogues avec la collectivité. Des invitations ont été lancées à une vingtaine de groupes d’intérêts intéressés au ruisseau Morrison, à savoir le gouvernement provincial, les administrations locales, les groupes de conservation et l’industrie. Des avis annonçant les assemblées ont été publiés dans six journaux locaux. Des séances de dialogue avec la collectivité, comprenant une présentation et une discussion sur la proposition de Stratégie de rétablissement de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison, ont été tenues à Courtenay en mai 2006, à laquelle 15 personnes ont participé. Les commentaires de la rencontre ont été enregistrés et consignées aux archives.

La contribution des Premières nations sur le projet de Stratégie de rétablissement a été recherchée par le biais d’une session d’échanges d’information avec la Hamatla Treaty Society, qui représente les bandes locales près du ruisseau Morrison, incluant les Comox, Campbell River, Cape Mudge et la Première nation Kwiakah. La séance, comprenant une présentation et une discussions de la proposition de Stratégie de rétablissement du ruisseau Morrison, a été tenue à Vancouver en mai 2006 avec deux représentants de la Hamatla Treaty Society. Le dialogue issu de l’échange d’information a été enregistré et consigné aux archives.

Des contributions additionnelles sur le projet de Programme de rétablissement ont été encouragés par le biais d’un guide de discussion et d’un formulaire de commentaires, disponible sur Internet (mai à juin 2006). Deux réponses ont été reçues, de la Hancock Forest Management et des Gardiens du ruisseau Morrison Creek. La contribution de la province de la C.-B. a été reçue par le biais de sa participation à l’équipe du rétablissement. Un examen par des pairs indépendants a été mené par le Dr Margaret Docker, de l’université du Manitoba. Tous les commentaires reçus seront pris en compte dans la finalisation de la Stratégie de rétablissement.

Équipe du rétablissement :
NomFonctions ou association
Jordan Rosenfeldministre de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique (coprésident)
Dan SneepPêches et Océans Canada (coprésident)
Todd HatfieldSolander Ecological Research (coordinateur)
Dick BeamishPêches et Océans Canada
Don McPhailUniversity of British Columbia
John RichardsonUniversity of British Columbia
Dolph SchluterUniversity of British Columbia
Eric TaylorUniversity of British Columbia
JimPalmerGardiens des ruisseaux du ruisseau Morrison
Examen externeDr Margaret Docker, University of Manitoba